RT Daily Blog

How Two Notable Debut Fantasy Authors' Characters Take Down Their Enemies

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 19, 2012 | PERMALINK

This month two new authors debut two very different fantasy tales that take readers from dystopian Atlanta to a Japanese-influenced steampunk universe. Although both tales are very different, we decided to examine how the characters of each story take down their foe.

In Alex Hughes’ debut fantasy Clean, talented telepath Adam is kicked out of The Guild, a special organization of supernaturals, for drug use and must work for the local cops in order to continue solving crimes. Adam must juggle staying clean with earning the trust of the local police department — and that means investigating a series of murders tied to The Guild. Curious about Adam’s gift, we asked the author if she had any suggestions for what it takes to catch criminals using telepathy:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Romance Author Beverly Jenkins Interviews Sandman Slim Creator Richard Kadrey

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 18, 2012 | PERMALINK

We love it when authors remind us that they're readers, too. When romance author Beverly Jenkins confessed that she was a huge fan of urban fantasy writer Richard Kadrey — author of the Sandman Slim series — we were more than a little surprised. Said Jenkins of Kadrey: “I didn't think anyone could replace Jim Butcher's Harry Dresden at the top of my hit parade but Stark is bearing down on Harry like a semi rolling at 80!” We asked Jenkins if she'd like to interview Kadrey, and based on this thoughtful, hilarious interview, she is definitely a fan!

***

Beverly Jenkins: In looking at your bio, you come off as a twenty-first century renaissance man. You’re an award winning writer, artist, photographer, lecturer, a “degrader of perfection” according to one interview, and you’ve been immortalized as an action figure. You’ve bellied up to enough cultural bars for four or five people. How would you describe yourself?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

September Science Fiction Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

This month science fiction and fantasy readers can expect releases from several fan favorite authors, as well as some new faces. Today we're playing tour guide and pointing out some September hot spots of the genre. First up, we feature a fresh story from a Hugo-winning author that will appeal to readers across the genres. Next, two bestselling authors join forces to deliver a book that is truly extraordinary. After that, we turn our focus to a brand new series starter from Kate Griffin. And finally, we take a look at some memorable sci fi/fantasy romances hitting shelves thing month.


Read More>>

Tags: Science Fiction
13COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2012 Hugo Award Winners

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 05, 2012 | PERMALINK

This past weekend, the 2012 Hugo Awards were announced at WorldCon 7 in Chicago, honoring some of the best science fiction and fantasy works of the past year. Hosted by SFWA President, WorldCon 7 Toastmaster and sci fi author John Scalzi, the ceremony awarded authors and writers for best novel, best screenplay, best fanzine and several other categories. Some of the notable 2012 Hugo winners are:

Best Novel: Among Others by Jo Walton

Best Novella: “The Man Who Bridged the Mist” by Kij Johnson

Best Novelette: “Six Months, Three Days” by Charlie Jane Anders

Best Short Story: “The Paper Menagerie” by Ken Liu

Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form): Game of Thrones (Season 1)

Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form): “The Doctor's Wife” (Doctor Who), written by Neil Gaiman


Read More>>

Tags: Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

August Science Fiction And Fantasy Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

This month’s science fiction and fantasy releases will leave readers over the moon! Today we're playing tour guide and pointing out some August hot spots of the genre. First up, we give fantasy the royal treatment by spotlighting stories that feature adventures of kings, queens and other members of the court. Next, steampunk is in style this month with three new releases in the genre, so we went straight to the authors to find out what their favorite piece of steampunk apparel is! After that, we turn our focus to a brand new fantasy E-book release from Anna Scarlett. And finally, it’s back to Shannara with the first installment in Terry Brooks’ new The Dark Legacy of Shannara trilogy!


Read More>>

Tags: Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jim C. Hines On Fire Spiders, Ponce De Leon And Libriomancer - With Giveaway!

BY Elisa Verna, AUGUST 08, 2012 | PERMALINK

I originally found out about author Jim C. Hines after coming across a few of his blog posts where he recreated cover model poses from fantasy and romance covers (which you can see here and here). After laughing uncontrollably, I figured someone with this much imagination must write some great stories. I got my chance to read Jim's books with Libriomancer, a fantasy tale that follows Isaac Vainio, a Libriomancer with the power to conjure fictional items from books, bringing them to life. The book was an absolute delight and stuck with me for days, but left me with a few questions that Jim has kindly agreed to answer. And to help spread my love of this story, readers can enter to win their own hardcover copy of Libriomancer at the end of this post!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
23COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Ian Tregillis Talks History, Warlocks And The Coldest War

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 17, 2012 | PERMALINK

History as a tool for storytelling can not only provide authors with a frame of reference for their tales, but can give them something to rewrite entirely. Ian Tregillis' Milkweed Triptych is more than just a reimagining of times past, it's an adventure that throws readers into the middle of the Cold War populated by demons and warlocks. In the series second, The Coldest War, warlocks maintain peace between Britain and the USSR, but when they start dying, Milkweed agents must discover who — or what — is to blame. With such a dark, captivating setting, we asked the author to share why he thought the Cold War was the perfect environment for his supernatural story.

The Coldest War is a ghoul. Outwardly, it wears the bloody skin of a trilogy's middle book; underneath, however, it's something else, nourished by devouring the bones of a former standalone novel.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

July Science Fiction And Fantasy Overview

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

This month’s science fiction and fantasy releases are out of this world! So today we're playing tour guide and pointing out some of the hot spots of the genre. First up, Beth Bernobich gives us an insider's look at the sequel to her RT Award winning 2010 release Passion Play, this July’s Queen’s Hunt. Next, we spotlight some of the interesting supernatural creatures you can find in the month's new releases. Then Philippa Ballantine shares a behind the secenes look at the universe of her new fantasy series starter, Hunter and Fox. After that, we share our favorite space-y songs inspired by Rob Reid’s Year Zero. And finally, we bring you up to speed on the genre-related industry news that you need to know!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Series So Far: Catching Up With Devon Monk's Age Of Steam

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 03, 2012 | PERMALINK

Devon Monk kicked off her Age of Steam series with last year's Dead Iron, which began the adventures of bounty hunter Cedar Hunt. Set in an alternate American western frontier, Cedar is faced with not only capturing monsters, but he also must deal with transforming into one himself during every full moon. For those new to the series, we asked the author to share what readers will need to know about Cedar, his story and steam age America before picking up a copy of the series second, Tin Swift which releases today.

In steam age America, men, monsters, machines and magic battle to claim the same scrap of earth and sky. In this chaos, one man must fight to hold on to what is left of his humanity ...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

N.K. Jemisin's Recipe For How To Make A Religion For A Fantasy Universe

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 29, 2012 | PERMALINK

Fantasy fans know that a well-built world is crucial for an irresistible story. And author N.K. Jemisin always immerses readers into new and interesting worlds. The author's recent Dreamblood books tell the tale of Gujaareh, a nation torn apart by war in which the Gatherers, priests of the dream-goddess, are responsible for ensuring peace. Reviewer Natalie Luhrs boasts that "Jemisin excels at worldbuilding and the inclusion of a diverse mix of characters makes her settings feel even more real and vivid," and part of her excellent worldbuilding is her intricately crafter religion. Today the author reveals her "recipe" for whipping up a religion fit for a fantasy universe.

The folks at RT asked me to describe how I came up with the Egyptian-flavored religion in the Dreamblood books. The straightforward answer is, simply: I made it up. There's some Jungian dream theory in there, a little Egyptian religion, and a whole lotta "Yeah, this sounds cool, let's try that." But that's not much of an explanation, and since I was making dinner while writing this, I thought I'd try a different tack to explain what was involved in the "making it up" process.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST