RT Daily Blog

Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian Spill on Co-Authoring

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 16, 2014 | PERMALINK

Writing a book by yourself can be rather lonely — but that all changes when you team up with a co-author to pen a story. Or, in Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian's case, an entire trilogy! To celebrate today's release of Ashes to Ashes, the third and final entry in their Burn for Burn series, Jenny and Siobhan discuss the ins and outs of their partnership, complete with GIFs! Take a look:

We have been reading each other’s work almost since day one of our friendship. We wrote together, we traded pages and gave each other notes, and maybe most importantly, we fell in love with each other’s stories. We were so in-sync that it made perfect sense to collaborate on a book together.


source


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Casting Couch: Gretchen McNeil Casts Get Even

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

Gretchen McNeil knows a thing or two about Hollywood as a Los Angeles resident and a former television producer. So we wanted her to take a seat on the casting couch to select her dream cast for Get Even, her latest YA novel about revenge, murder and secrets. Take it away, Gretchen!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Giveaway: Make It Count by Megan Erickson

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

When Make It Count released earlier this summer, Megan Erickson was thrown into the New Adult spotlight and readers quickly fell for her fun and sexy story about Kat Caruso, who falls in love with her tutor, who happens to be her boyfriend's best friend. And now the wait for the sequel, Make It Right, is finally over. To celebrate the book's release tomorrow, we're giving away copies of Make it Count.

Thanks to Avon, we have three e-copies of Make It Count to give away, which means three lucky readers will get to dive in just in time for Make It Right! The giveaway is open to U.S. and Canadian readers and will conclude next Monday! Good luck and happy reading!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Don't forget, Make It Right is available digitally now! And for more New Adult books and authors, visit our Everything Young Adult page!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Wednesday Jams: Chelsea Fine's Right Kind Of Wrong Playlist

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

Although books and music are different mediums, they both can illicit strong responses from listeners and readers. The right lyric can make someone cry just as much as a heartbreaking scene in a novel. A triumphant moment for the heroine or hero of a book might make readers jump for joy, and an upbeat song can do the same. And when you put music and books together, you get a powerful mix. Today, we're sharing a playlist of songs curated by Chelsea Fine to match her latest New Adult novel, Right Kind of Wrong. Take a listen and learn more about the book below!

 

Jenna Lacombe needs complete control, whether it's in the streets ... or between the sheets. So when she sets out on a solo road trip to visit her family in New Orleans, she's beyond annoyed that the infuriatingly sexy Jack Oliver wants to hitch a ride with her. Ever since they shared a wild night together last year, he's been trying to strip away her defenses one by one. He claims he's just coming along to keep her safe — but what's not safe for her is prolonged exposure to the tattooed hottie. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Game On: Jen Alexander on Video Games and The Aftermath

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

Inspiration comes in many forms and for YA author Jen Alexander, video games serve as a main source. For her debut novel, The Aftermath, Jen drew on her love for gaming to create an intriguing world in which Claudia, the book's heroine, discovers she's merely a character in a game controlled by gamers. The line between what's real and what isn't soon becomes blurred. Today, Jen discssues her passion for video games and how this love has inspired her writing.

I have loved video games since I was a child. I know that makes me sound like I might have been out of touch with typical “90’s Child” activities, but I wasn’t. In the summer, I played outside all day and while school was in session, I hung out with my friends and participated in a variety of after school activities. Still, at the end of the day I would power on my latest console and play my video games. At first, there was the Nintendo (at least for me, my husband is quick to point out Atari was his first). I was obsessed with a certain game that revolved around two plumber brothers — so much that the theme song was often stuck in my head for days at a time.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Reveal and Q&A: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you get when you take Dan Brown's The Da Vinci Code and throw in two hot guys with accents, globe-trotting adventures, a secret society and masked balls? Well, you'd most likely get Maggie Hall's The Conspiracy of Us, an exciting Young Adult thriller coming your way on January 13, 2015. And today, we have an exclusive reveal of the book's gorgeous cover and a Q&A with Maggie. Let's get started!

The Conspiracy of Us seems like a pretty complex story. So let's put you to task! Describe the novel in three to five words.

You’ve done a good job describing some of the plot in question #2, so I’ll go with descriptive words: Danger. Glamour. Romance. Ancient secrets.

Avery's the lost heir to the Circle of Twelve, a secret society whose members may or may not want her dead. Can you tell us a little bit about the Circle?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Love Those Witches: Jennifer Murgia on Her Favorite Spellcasters

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

With the growing love and popularity for hit shows and books like Charmed, Harry Potter and Witches of East End, witches have proven they're here to stay. And with so many cult classics, new takes and exciting magic, we love that witches continue to enthrall audiences left and right. And now, thanks to Jennifer Murgia, we can throw another witch into the mix — Rune, the heroine in Jennifer's latest, Forest of Whispers, a historical fantasy set in the 17th century. The book is out today and to celebrate, Jennifer's here to share which witches she loves most. Take it away, Jennifer!

Topping the YA trend chart these days is a bewitching character. Call her what you will: spellcaster, charmer, mystic ... witches are garnering quite a bit of attention lately! Aside from my very favorite witch at the moment — my heroine, Rune, from my 17th century Bavarian thriller, Forest of Whispers — are a number of toad-turning, power-wielding women who are equally enchanting and hold a special place in my heart.

My all-time favorite witches: Goth girl, Nancy Downs (Fairuza Balk) and Sarah Bailey (Robin Tunney) from the movie, The Craft.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Giveaway: Egmont's 5-Year Anniversary Bundle

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

A photo of the Egmont tote bag and books we're giving away

YA and children's book publisher Egmont USA turns 5 this year, and to celebrate we're giving away a tote bag filled with some of their recent releases. This giveaway is open to U.S. readers only and includes the following books:

Amity by Micol Ostow (HC)

Of Monsters and Madness by Jessica Verday (HC)

Tabula Rasa by Kristen Lippert-Martin (HC)

Mercy Mode by Em Garner (HC)

Infinityglass by Myra McEntire (paperback)

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
14COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Isabel Gillies Talks Starry Night, Love and LIfe

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

Actress, writer, mother — Isabel Gillies seemingly does it all! With a succesful run on Law and Order: SVU and two memoirs under her belt, Isabel now makes her fiction and YA debut with Starry Night, a novel of young love, New York City and growing up. We had the chance to speak with the multi-talented writer over the phone and asked her about her creative process, writing Starry Night and, of course, about love. See what she had to say:

***

Starry Night is your first novel for teens, though you’ve written two non-fiction titles. How did your writing process change for Starry Night? How did it remain the same?

Well, it remained the same because of one overriding reason: I wrote it everyday. I worked on it every day, and when I wrote my first book, I had read Stephen King’s On Writing and he says if you’re going to write, write every day. So I wrote every day while I was writing this. Though, not every, every day, because I have children and I don’t write on weekends.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Giveaway: The Maze Runner Movie Prize Pack

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 29, 2014 | PERMALINK

Young Adult novels have been treated pretty well by Hollywood this year. With Divergent, The Fault in Our Stars and If I Stay all hitting the big screens and performing rather well, readers have had a lot to be excited about. And now, as September rolls in, we can officially begin the countdown to The Maze Runner, the movie adaptation of James Dashner’s hit YA dystopian novel. To celebrate, we have an exciting giveaway today!

Enter below for a chance to win a prize pack that includes a movie-tie-in edition of The Maze Runner book, a $25 Visa Gift Card and a Money Maze piggy bank! The Money Maze bank is pretty cool, too. See one in action here.

Open to U.S. residents only, one winner will be chosen at random when the contest concludes next Friday, September 5. To enter, simply fill out the widget below! Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

And watch the trailer:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST