RT Daily Blog

Genre Fiction Power Couples

BY Elisa Verna, JUNE 24, 2014 | PERMALINK

Many readers know the power couples of literary fiction — Jonathan Safran Foer and Nicole Krauss (who, technically, aren’t anymore after they recently revealed their split), Zadie Smith and Nick Laird, Michael Chabon and Ayelet Waldman — but what about genre fiction? There’s plenty of romance in romance … and urban fantasy, science fiction and YA! Below are some genre fiction power couples who just ooze mushy love.

Ilona and Gordon Andrews

A photo of Ilona and Gordon Andrews

The first genre fiction power couple that comes to mind is, of course, Ilona Andrews — the writing team of Ilona and Gordon Andrews. Ilona immigrated to the U.S. from Russia and met Gordon (whose real name is Andrew Gordon, fun fact), and together they wrote Magic Bites. Their Kate Daniels series is extraordinarily popular and the two have such a fun, playful dynamic in person. I’ve seen them on several panels at RT Con, and they’re absolutely delightful.

Tahereh Mafi and Ransom Riggs


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

DJ and Christin Sound Off on the Delirium Pilot

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 24, 2014 | PERMALINK

source

A few weeks ago, Hulu and WIGS announced their plans to release the passed over pilot for Delirium, which is based on Lauren Oliver’s bestselling book of the same name, online for a limited time. Book fans went crazy in anticipation and on Friday, the world was finally able to see Oliver’s beloved book come to life. And as major fans of the book, RT’s Assistant Web Editor DJ and reviewer Christin had high expectations, and today, they share their post-viewing thoughts. Warning: spoilers ahead!

THE GOOD

DJ: What I love most about the pilot is that, for the most part, it captures the feel and tone of the book. There’s a creepy sterility to the world and the characters that really drives home the idea that a central emotion - in this case, love - is absent. In particular, Senator Hargrove, played by Michael Michele, seemed the most “cured” and I really enjoyed her scenes.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Rachael Allen Tells Us Her Best And Worst Kisses

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 24, 2014 | PERMALINK

Bad kisses can be just as memorable as great ones, and YA author Rachael Allen has experienced both! Her debut, 17 First Kisses, follows Claire as she sets out to find a decent boyfriend after one too many failed attempts and first kisses. But when she and her best friend fall for the same guy, Claire must decide to save her friendship or chase her chance at true love. Today, Rachael dishes on her best and worst kisses! Take a look:

Cover of 17 First Kisses by Rachael AllenWorst Kiss:

My boyfriend and I had just broken up. I was at a party. And there was this guy.

He had the most gorgeous, powerful brown eyes. Electric eyes. They reeled me over. We talked for a while, and then the rushing sensation in my stomach told me we were going to kiss. My first kiss in three years that wasn’t with my boyfriend. My lips went warm with anticipation.

And then, he kissed me.

I waited for fireworks, but instead felt ... his tongue. And it was huge. No, seriously, it was mammoth. It took up almost my entire mouth, until it was practically gagging me.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Q&A: Lauren Oliver Discusses the Delirium Pilot

BY DJ DeSmyter, JUNE 23, 2014 | PERMALINK

Fans went crazy when Hulu and WIGS announced their plans to make the unaired pilot for Delirium, based on Lauren Oliver's bestselling novel of the same name, available for streaming. And when the pilot went live last Friday, everybody settled in to see if their expectations were met. I'll be sharing my thoughts on it later this week with Web Reviewer Christin, but I was dying to know what Lauren thought. Today, we have an exclusive interview with her where she discusses the hotness of Emma Roberts and Daren Kagasoff, the setting and her favorite part! Take a look:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sybil Bartel Reveals Why Bad Boys Are So Loveable

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 23, 2014 | PERMALINK

There's no denying that bad boys are irresistible, even to those of us who "know better" than to get involved with one. With their devilish charms and looks, they pull us in and we fall without hesitation. But why? New Adult author Sybil Bartel knows a thing or two about bad boys, especially since her latest book, No Apologies, stars Graham Allen, a bad boy through and through. We tasked Sybil with figuring out why readers love bad boys so much. Here's what she had to say:

Cover of No Apologies by Sybil Bartel Why are these heroes so appealing?

It’s that moment. That moment when your heart is racing, your breath is ragged and you can’t think one second beyond the page in front of you. He’s broken and damaged and oh so hot, he makes your knees weak. You’re questioning your sanity, you’re biting your lip and then you do what you know you never should. You give your heart away.

Why? Because you can’t resist. He’s just. That. Bad. Tall and muscular, demanding and unattainable, he’ll never apologize for his behavior and he’ll leave you with nothing — nothing except the desire for more.

We love our literary bad boys.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Giveaway: Signed Copy of Four: A Divergent Collection by Veronica Roth

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

source

What's got Theo James dancing all crazy? Well, it very well could be today's giveaway. Up for grabs is one signed copy of Veronica Roth's Four: A Divergent Collection. Yes, you read that right. A signed book all about Divergent's hunky hero, Four! The new collection, which releases July 8, features four short stories and additional exclusive scenes told from Four's point-of-view, which give readers a fresh and exciting new look at the hero and world they've come to love.

To enter, simply use the widget below! This contest is open to US readers only and the winner will receive the book once it's released on July 8. The giveaway ends next Friday, June 27. Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

And to make you feel even luckier, here's more Theo:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
17COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A.C.T.I.O.N. - Keeping Readers Engaged the Eve Silver Way

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

Keeping readers hooked and engaged for a whole novel isn't always the easiest thing to do while writing a book. We all know it's best to show, not tell, and that action and suspense keep the story interesting. But how should writers approach this? Author extraordinaire Eve Silver, who's celebrating the release of Push, has a memorable mnemonic device to help you keep readers engaged. Take a look:

Engage readers through action and suspense. Sounds simple, right? Put a ton of fight scenes, explosions, car chases or steamy love scenes on the page and you have action and suspense. Or do you? The truth is, readers have already read scenes like this over and over again. So what makes your story stand out? What makes it lure the reader to anticipate every word?

The answer is A.C.T.I.O.N.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jay Crownover and the Do's and Don'ts of Dating a Bad Boy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

Everybody loves reading about a bad boy and some of you might even be dating or have dated one in real life. But loving a bad boy isn't always easy, as many fictional heroines can atest. So we thought we'd ask New Adult author and bad boy expert Jay Crownover for some bad boy dating tips. Here's what she had to say:

Cover of Better When He's Bad by Jay Crownover I spend a good portion of every single day neck deep in book bad-boys. I really do have the best job ever! By now I think I’ve gotten a pretty good handle on what makes bad-boys tick and what makes them so much fun not only to write, but to love as well. I can’t say that there are any hard and fast rules when it comes to getting involved with a bad-boy because let’s face it, in the world of a true bad-boy, rules are always made to be broken. However, these are some do’s and don’ts that I think are pretty common if a lady or a book heroine wants to survive a relationship with a bad-boy.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Michael Barakiva On Fatherhood and Family History

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

One of the many delights of Michael Barakiva's One Man Guy is the inclusion of Armenian culture amidst the charming coming of age story. We wanted to learn more about Michael's decision to weave his own cultural history into the novel and how his own life influenced the novel. Here's what he had to say:

When you grow up Armenian, even half-Armenian like me, you grow up with certain obligations. First and foremost, you have to procreate. Ideally this would be with another Armenian, but I suspect anyone swarthy would do. When I told my mom I was gay, she told me I still had to provide her grandchildren — those of you who have read One Man Guy will appreciate the scene for which this exchange is lifted identically.

I’m not sure if this obligation to procreate existed before the Armenian genocide of the early 20th century, during which over one million Armenian citizens where systemically killed by the Ottoman Government. Turkey still denies these mass killings as genocide, although 26 countries do (including France, Russia and 43 U.S. States), adding insult to injury to what Armenians call Medz Yeghern (“The Great Crime”).


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five Booktubers Who Aren't Overwhelmingly Annoying

BY Elisa Verna, JUNE 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Six years ago my YouTube-obsessed (then) teenage sister told me about this amazing YouTube channel called Vlogbrothers, and she subsequently bought and inhaled several John Green books as a result. She was enamored with the brothers for a good year, and understandably so. They're hilarious. While John and Hank didn’t talk much about books at first, the Vlogbrothers were my first exposure to all things book-related on YouTube.

Dubbed “booktubers,” several younger readers have started vlogging about books. And frankly, most of them are downright annoying. I feel like when I watch a booktuber video, there’s an 80% chance it’ll feel like someone is yelling in my face. It’s not that these people are naturally annoying — it’s just the style of video that’s become popular. And on YouTube, seemingly everyone wants to be popular. Many booktuber videos are filled with cluttered text, yelling and over-the-top attempts to be funny, all of which take away from why I wanted to watch the video in the first place: I want to watch someone talk (in a relatively calm way) about books!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST