RT Daily Blog

Ciara Knight and Her Evil Queen

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 26, 2013 | PERMALINK

A book's villain can really make or break a story, and a strong, well-rounded antagonist is as central to a book as the protagonist. Ciara Knight, author of The Neuamrian Chronicles, knows a thing or two about creating fully developed villains thanks to her deliciously evil Queen Mandessa Valderak. Today, Ciara discusses how her antagonist came to be and how she came to write such a fleshed out villain. So sit back, relax and read on! Take it away, Ciara!

When I wrote Queen Mandessa Valderak in The Neumarian Chronicles, I knew more about her than I described in book one, Escapement. The queen wasn’t just a character born at the start of the series, but a living, breathing creature with a history.

Authors tend to avoid too much back story, worrying that they’ll lose their reader, but writing convincing characters makes it imperative to know and understand their social, economic, religious and family history — even if we don’t immediately share it with readers.


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Look Inside The World of Aimeé Carter's Pawn!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 20, 2013 | PERMALINK

With her latest novel, Pawn, Aimeé Carter has wowed readers with her unique dystopian society in which people are divided into different social classes using a numbered ranking system. Today, Aimeé takes us inside the dystopian world and describes how she created this fascinating and dangerous society.

The dystopian society in Pawn, the first book in my new Young Adult series The Blackcoat Rebellion, is built on a ranking system that was scarily intuitive to create. Even though the book is set more than 70 years in the future, everything about this world and story was based on something that exists today. For the ranking system, nothing was more influential than a standard IQ test.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

First Look and Giveaway: A Breath of Frost by Alyxandra Harvey

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 13, 2013 | PERMALINK

News of a new Alyxandra Harvey release always causes a flurry of excitement here at RT, so it's no surprise that we're all over her witchy January YA release, A Breath of Frost! Set in Regency London, this first installment in the Lovegrove Legacy series combines witches, action and addictive romance.

If you're dying to learn more, then you're in for a treat today because we have an exclusive first look! Read on to see which witches Alyxandra loves the most and then watch an exciting video where she discusses the book and its characters. But that's not all! At the end of the post enter for a chance to win A Breath of Frost! Take it away, Alyx!

Who hasn't stared up at the sky, wondering if you could move the clouds with your mind? Or is that just me admitting to listening to too much Kate Bush in university?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
14COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner's 5 Need-To-Know Tips for Surviving on a Spaceship

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 12, 2013 | PERMALINK

Traveling on a spaceship can be fraught with many dangers, whether you’re headed for a black hole or under attack from intergalactic space pirates. Luckily for you, Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner have done the research for you and put it all into their RT Top Pick! rated These Broken Stars. And today, they’ve laid out their top tips in handy-dandy list form. Print it out and stick it in your purse next to your towel, that way next time you’re flying to Alpha Centauri, you'll be prepared!

***

5. Always read the safety card instructions. In the event that your ship malfunctions (or gets torn out of inter-dimensional space) it’s handy to know exactly what escape pod you’re meant to be in. Particularly in ships with more than a few thousand passengers, the ensuing panic following an “Abandon Ship” order is often worse than the crash itself!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Giveaway: Attend A Beautiful Wedding with Jamie McGuire!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 10, 2013 | PERMALINK

New Adult fans, do we have a treat for you. You know how you grow attached to characters over time, and you sigh heavily when you reach that very last page? Well, for fans of Jamie McGuire's Abby and Travis, we have a wedding for you to attend. 

Did you ever wonder why, exactly, the skittish Abby proposed to Travis and whisked him off to Vegas after the tragic fire in Beautiful Disaster (and Walking Disaster)? And why Travis never went to jail for his role in the fire? In the novella, "A Beautiful Wedding", out today, you'll find out.

And because we love you so, we've got three copies to give away! Enter below for a chance to win. U.S. residents only. 

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Read More>>

Tags: New Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
11COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Katie McGarry: Straddling the YA and NA Line

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 05, 2013 | PERMALINK

As New Adult literature grows in popularity and quantity, the lines between NA and young adult stories seem to be getting more and more blurry, which makes for a wider selection of crossover titles. One author who knows a thing or two about crossover appeal is RT favorite, Katie McGarry! Most recently, Katie released the third in her stellar series, Crash Into You, which our reviewer called "hot" and "full of speed." Today, Katie shares her thoughts on writing her debut novel, Pushing the Limits, and pushing the YA boundaries. Check it out:

Several years ago, when I was writing Pushing the Limits, I was terrified. Who on earth was going to publish this manuscript? I mean, these two characters that I had created … well … they were dark.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Editors' Best of 2013: DJ's Picks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 04, 2013 | PERMALINK

This blog post is part of a series that the RT Editors will be taking part in during the month of December. Please check back all month long for each editor's installment!

***

With 2013 winding down, the RT editors thought December would be a good time to reflect on what each of us read this year and which books stuck with us long after we finished them. While this year's RT Awards winners won't be announced until our convention in May, we've decided to share our personal favorites of 2013, in no particular order. Today RT Assistant Web Editor DJ DeSmyter shares his top five favorites of this past year:

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Holiday Giveaway: Win A Kindle Loaded With Haunting YA Reads

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 26, 2013 | PERMALINK


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Young Adult
39COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Excerpt: Courtney Cole's Before We Fall

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 26, 2013 | PERMALINK
Oh reader, stuck at work on this short holiday week? It's probably time for an excerpt break! Today for you we've got Courtney Cole's Before We Fall, which hits shelves next week. The third book in the addictive, New Adult Beautifully Broken series, Before We Fall tells the story of Dominic, a famous actor with a hardened heart, who's never recovered from a tragedy the night of his high school graduation, and Jacey, who's working to overcome her daddy issues. The two collide — and sexiness and drama ensue. 

Don't want to wait until Tuesday, December 3, for a taste? Then read on!

Jacey is standing still in the middle of the room, dressed in her uniform, letting a party guest lick salt off of her forearm for a tequila shot. She’s heavily made up tonight- thick mascara, red lipstick. She smiles up at him with those red lips and a fake smile and as she does, she catches sight of me.

She freezes in shock, although what the fuck? I’m the one living here temporarily. I belong here, she doesn’t.

Suddenly, a guy comes rushing up to me, someone I don’t know. A very drunk someone.


Read More>>

Tags: New Adult, Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Free for All: Awaken by Katie Kacvinsky

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 19, 2013 | PERMALINK

Young adult author Katie Kacvinsky is gearing up for the 2014 release of Still Point, the third and final entry in her exciting and harrowing dystopian romance series. And to help her celebrate, we're giving away one e-book copy of the first book, Awaken! First, let's take a look at what Awaken is all about:

Maddie lives in a world where everything is done on the computer. Whether it’s to go to school or on a date, people don’t venture out of their home. There’s really no need. For the most part, Maddie’s okay with the solitary, digital life—until she meets Justin. Justin likes being with people. He enjoys the physical closeness of face-to-face interactions. People aren’t meant to be alone, he tells her.

Suddenly, Maddie feels something awakening inside her—a feeling that maybe there is a different, better way to live. But with society and her parents telling her otherwise, Maddie is going to have to learn to stand up for herself if she wants to change the path her life is taking.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Young Adult
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST