RT Daily Blog

Katie McGarry: Straddling the YA and NA Line

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 05, 2013 | PERMALINK

As New Adult literature grows in popularity and quantity, the lines between NA and young adult stories seem to be getting more and more blurry, which makes for a wider selection of crossover titles. One author who knows a thing or two about crossover appeal is RT favorite, Katie McGarry! Most recently, Katie released the third in her stellar series, Crash Into You, which our reviewer called "hot" and "full of speed." Today, Katie shares her thoughts on writing her debut novel, Pushing the Limits, and pushing the YA boundaries. Check it out:

Several years ago, when I was writing Pushing the Limits, I was terrified. Who on earth was going to publish this manuscript? I mean, these two characters that I had created … well … they were dark.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Editors' Best of 2013: DJ's Picks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 04, 2013 | PERMALINK

This blog post is part of a series that the RT Editors will be taking part in during the month of December. Please check back all month long for each editor's installment!

***

With 2013 winding down, the RT editors thought December would be a good time to reflect on what each of us read this year and which books stuck with us long after we finished them. While this year's RT Awards winners won't be announced until our convention in May, we've decided to share our personal favorites of 2013, in no particular order. Today RT Assistant Web Editor DJ DeSmyter shares his top five favorites of this past year:

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Holiday Giveaway: Win A Kindle Loaded With Haunting YA Reads

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 26, 2013 | PERMALINK


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Young Adult
39COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Excerpt: Courtney Cole's Before We Fall

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 26, 2013 | PERMALINK
Oh reader, stuck at work on this short holiday week? It's probably time for an excerpt break! Today for you we've got Courtney Cole's Before We Fall, which hits shelves next week. The third book in the addictive, New Adult Beautifully Broken series, Before We Fall tells the story of Dominic, a famous actor with a hardened heart, who's never recovered from a tragedy the night of his high school graduation, and Jacey, who's working to overcome her daddy issues. The two collide — and sexiness and drama ensue. 

Don't want to wait until Tuesday, December 3, for a taste? Then read on!

Jacey is standing still in the middle of the room, dressed in her uniform, letting a party guest lick salt off of her forearm for a tequila shot. She’s heavily made up tonight- thick mascara, red lipstick. She smiles up at him with those red lips and a fake smile and as she does, she catches sight of me.

She freezes in shock, although what the fuck? I’m the one living here temporarily. I belong here, she doesn’t.

Suddenly, a guy comes rushing up to me, someone I don’t know. A very drunk someone.


Read More>>

Tags: New Adult, Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Free for All: Awaken by Katie Kacvinsky

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 19, 2013 | PERMALINK

Young adult author Katie Kacvinsky is gearing up for the 2014 release of Still Point, the third and final entry in her exciting and harrowing dystopian romance series. And to help her celebrate, we're giving away one e-book copy of the first book, Awaken! First, let's take a look at what Awaken is all about:

Maddie lives in a world where everything is done on the computer. Whether it’s to go to school or on a date, people don’t venture out of their home. There’s really no need. For the most part, Maddie’s okay with the solitary, digital life—until she meets Justin. Justin likes being with people. He enjoys the physical closeness of face-to-face interactions. People aren’t meant to be alone, he tells her.

Suddenly, Maddie feels something awakening inside her—a feeling that maybe there is a different, better way to live. But with society and her parents telling her otherwise, Maddie is going to have to learn to stand up for herself if she wants to change the path her life is taking.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Young Adult
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Giveaway: Win Alyson Noel's Soul Seeker Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 19, 2013 | PERMALINK

Alyson Noël has quickly become a powerhouse voice in the YA world, especially with her unique and exciting Soul Seeker series! Today marks the release of Horizon, the final book in the series, and we're sure Noel superfans are rejoicing across the nation over the fact that the wait is finally over. And if you have yet to dive into the magical world of the Soul Seeker novels, then today's your lucky day!

 

       

UPDATE: The winner has been chosen. Congratulations to Ashley R.!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
16COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Giveaway: The Devil's Metal/The Devil's Reprise E-Book Bundle!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 15, 2013 | PERMALINK

1. Do you love new adult stories?

2. Are you a fan of music?

3. Are you looking for a new and unique series?

4. Do you love Karina Halle's The Artists Trilogy?

If you answered "yes" to any and all of those questions, you're in for a treat! Today we're giving away not one, not two, but THREE e-book bundles of The Devil's Metal and The Devil's Reprise, the first two books in Karina Halle's Devils series! Not only is this a sizzling new adult series, it also features a budding music journalist, a hot guitarist and is set in 1974, offering a unique and refreshing setting! And with a dash of horror and supernatural elements, these stories are sure to keep readers on the edges of their seats turning page after page until they've finished reading!

 



       

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

November Seal Of Excellence

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 14, 2013 | PERMALINK

Each month the RT editors select one book that is not only compelling, but pushes the boundaries of genre fiction. This book stands out from all the others reviewed that month, in the magazine issue and on the website. November 2013's RT Seal of Excellence — the editors' pick for best book of the month — is awarded to CJ Lyons' thrilling debut YA novel Broken. 



Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Q&A: Annabel Pitcher On Convict Penpals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 13, 2013 | PERMALINK

Annabel Pitcher burst onto the YA scene with My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece, and fans will be thrilled to hear that she’s back with Ketchup Clouds, out now. It’s the story of Zoe, who was part of a love triangle gone terribly wrong. With no one to turn to, she begins writing letters to man on Death Row. We of course, had to hear more.

***

Have you ever had a pen pal?

My most interesting pen pal was a man on Death Row, who I wrote to for a number of years after getting involved in an Amnesty International scheme that offered companionship to isolated prisoners. It was a fascinating experience: because I didn't know the man, and because he'd done something terribly wrong, I felt able to be brutally honest about my own life, flaws and mistakes — far more so, in fact, than I could ever be with a friend I had known for years.

Do you think pen pals are still popular?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: Forged by Jennifer Rush (AKA The Novella With a Hot Guy On It)

BY DJ DeSmyter, NOVEMBER 08, 2013 | PERMALINK

If you follow me on Twitter or on my own personal blog, then you know I'm kind of obsessed with Jennifer Rush's Altered series. With its high-stakes action, secret government operations and swoon-worthy guys (yes, plural), what's not to love? Now, what makes this YA series even better is the fact that the books have rather lovely covers that not only tie into the stories inside, but are also incredibly sexy and lovely to stare at. And the latest cover in the series, for the upcoming novella "Forged," is no exception! Let's take a look:

First, let's just admire the shirtless guy for a moment.

Maybe we should take another moment, yeah?

Okay, now that we've sufficiently ogled, let's talk about the rest of the cover. I absolutely love the hot pink color of the title and how it really pops against the image's general black and white scheme. And the vertical position of the title and Jennifer's name add yet another eye-catching element.

So, fellow readers, what do you think? Are you as in love with this series as I am, and can't wait for the December 3 release of "Forged"? For more YA covers, visit our Everything Young Adult Page!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST