RT Daily Blog

RT Casting Couch: Kathleen Hale's No One Else Can Have You

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 07, 2014 | PERMALINK

Oh hey there! It’s January 7! Have you bought/downloaded/received your pre-ordered copy of No One Else Can Have You, Kathleen Hale’s YA mystery debut? No? <taps foot> We’ll wait.

Seriously, we love this book so much. If we still had a trapperkeeper — and would that we did have a trapperkeeper — we’d be drawing Kathleen Hale’s name all over it with hearts and bunnies and rainbows.

Still not convinced? Okay, fine. We’re going to cast this YA-esque Fargo for you, and you shall be unable to resist. Sound good?

Kippy Bushman: Kippy’s trying to deal with the murder of her best friend, all while realizing that her small town is not actually interested in, you know, solving the crime. iCarly actress Jennette McCurdy has the perfect Midwestern look, dontchya think?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Final Puzzle Piece: You Could Win Abbi Glines's Backlist!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2014 | PERMALINK

New Adult fans, prepare yourselves! Today for you we have the final puzzle piece for Abbi Glines's upcoming Take a Chance cover! (We're sorry we can't stop using exclamation points, we're too excited.) Abbi's been leaving puzzle pieces all over the Internet for the past few days. And here's the deal: the first reader to tweet us (@RT_Magazine) the completed cover, with all nine puzzle pieces put together to create the full cover, will win Abbi's backlist (U.S. and Canadian residents only, please). Do you know how many books that is?! It's a lot. 

Check it out:

Sea Breeze Series

Breathe

Because of Low

While It Lasts

Just for Now

Sometimes it Lasts (bound manuscript – only available in ebook right now)

Misbehaving (bound manuscript – only available in ebook right now)

The Vincent Boys Series

The Vincent Boys

The Vincent Brothers

Perfection Series

Twisted Perfection

Simple Perfection

Rosemary Beach Series

Fallen Too Far (Bound manuscript with new cover!)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
115COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Free For All: Out of this World YA!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

Well the weather outside RT HQ today is indeed frightful — Can we still make that joke now that the holidays are over? We vote yes. — so we're doing our best to brighten your day with a Friday giveaway! Today for you we've got a collection of otherworldly YA, featuring everything from zombies to mages to radioactive humans to quarkbeats and more! Kids today, what will they think of next? 

 

One lucky winner will receive finished copies of: 

Inhuman by Kat Falls

The Song of the Quarkbeast by Jasper Fforde

Unfed by Kristy McKay

The 100 by Kass Morgan

Battle Magic by Tamora Pierce

So if you feel like taking a break from this frigid, snowy world — though we hope it's certainly warmer where you are, enter to win! U.S. residents only, please. 


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Free For All: Out of this World YA!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

Well the weather outside RT HQ today is indeed frightful — Can we still make that joke now that the holidays are over? We vote yes. — so we're doing our best to brighten your day with a Friday giveaway! Today for you we've got a collection of otherworldly YA, featuring everything from zombies to mages to radioactive humans to quarkbeats and more! Kids today, what will they think of next? 

 

One lucky winner will receive: 

Inhuman by Kat Falls

The Song of the Quarkbeast by Jasper Fforde

Unfed by Kristy McKay

The 100 by Kass Morgan

Battle Magic by Tamora Pierce

 

So if you feel like taking a break from this frigid, snowy world — though we hope it's certainly warmer where you are, enter to win! U.S. residents only, please. 


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Book Hankerings: Our Most Anticipated Young Adult Books Coming In 2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 02, 2014 | PERMALINK

Happy New Year, readers! The best thing about the new year, in our humble opinions anyway, is all the new books to look forward to! We don’t know about you, but there are an awful lot of books we’re hankering for in 2014. In the hopes that you’ll join us in obsessing, over the next week we’ll be listing our most anticipated books of 2014, by genre. Today, we start with YA!


 

No One Else Can Have You by Kathleen Hale 

Releases January 7, 2014

This debut releases next week, and just about our entire office has read it. The consensus? It's amazing. Earning a rare Top Pick! Gold rating, this wacky contemporary murder mystery is best described as a teen version of Fargo, but that simplification doesn't do the story justice. If you enjoy hilarious coming of age stories that are lighter on the romance, don't skip this one!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Chair Dancing Alert! Molly McAdams Shares Her Playlist

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 30, 2013 | PERMALINK

You aren’t the only one rocking out to some tunes at work — authors do it, too! Today for you we have a treat — Molly McAdams’s playlist for her latest novella, “Needing Her." Molly even included a small excerpt for each song! The book alternates between Connor and Maci's POVs, so we've specified which excerpt is from which character. Let’s get up on the dance floor, folks!

"Bad Girls" – M.I.A.

Connor: “Maci, look at me,” I bit out. When she didn’t look up, I snapped. Stalking over to her, I grabbed the bottle of clear polish and threw it across the room.

“Connor!”

“I said fucking look at me!”

Her eyes widened and she leaned back into the couch as I crowded over her.

“This isn’t funny. I have a job ... a real job, something you would know nothing about, but I can’t go to work with a green fucking face, Maci!”

"Blow Me (One Last Kiss)" – P!nk


Read More>>

Tags: New Adult, Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Ni-Ni Simone to the Rescue! Pop Quiz: Are You Still In Love With Your Ex?

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 27, 2013 | PERMALINK

Getting over your ex can be hard, especially when you're still in love with them. But how do you know if you should move on or do your best to get back together? Well, if you're feelings are all jumbled up, YA author Ni-Ni Simone is here to help with her quiz that will help you figure out if you're still holding onto your feelings for that ex. Take it away, Ni-Ni!

1. How often do you think about him?

A. I … don't want to tell you. That often.

B. Dead to the bed. Never. Ever.

C. Only on holidays and our anniversary.

2. What happens when you see his relationship status has changed on Facebook?

A. Your heart drops to the floor.

B. You wonder if your break up was the right decision, then you go through his pics and remember why you broke up.

C. You send the new girlfriend a Thank You card.

3. What happens when you see the new girlfriend?

A. You immediately want him back.

B. You’re a little jealous but you don’t want him back.

C. You’re happy to see he’s moved on (even if she is a downgrade).

4. When you know he’s going to be at a party you … ?


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Free For All: YA Grab Bag!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 27, 2013 | PERMALINK

Oh reader, we're not going to lie. A huge perk of working at RT is the copious — and we do mean copious — amount of books we're sent every day. We're friends with our UPS guy. His name is Mario, and he is delightful. And today, imbued with the holiday spirit — or is that spiked eggnog? We'll let you know after the New Year arrives — we'd like to share the wealth. So we dove into our gigantic pile of YA titles (we know, we know, we're lucky) and picked out a pile o' favorites to give away today. Take a look: 

 

That there's:

Daylighters by Rachel Caine

The Book of Love by Lynn Weingarten

A Beautiful Wedding by Jaime McGuire

The Burning Sky by Sherry Thomas

Marie Antionette, Serial Killer by Katie Alender

Family Tree by Ann M. Martin 

How to Love by Katie Cortungo

 


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
16COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Ciara Knight and Her Evil Queen

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 26, 2013 | PERMALINK

A book's villain can really make or break a story, and a strong, well-rounded antagonist is as central to a book as the protagonist. Ciara Knight, author of The Neuamrian Chronicles, knows a thing or two about creating fully developed villains thanks to her deliciously evil Queen Mandessa Valderak. Today, Ciara discusses how her antagonist came to be and how she came to write such a fleshed out villain. So sit back, relax and read on! Take it away, Ciara!

When I wrote Queen Mandessa Valderak in The Neumarian Chronicles, I knew more about her than I described in book one, Escapement. The queen wasn’t just a character born at the start of the series, but a living, breathing creature with a history.

Authors tend to avoid too much back story, worrying that they’ll lose their reader, but writing convincing characters makes it imperative to know and understand their social, economic, religious and family history — even if we don’t immediately share it with readers.


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Look Inside The World of Aimeé Carter's Pawn!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 20, 2013 | PERMALINK

With her latest novel, Pawn, Aimeé Carter has wowed readers with her unique dystopian society in which people are divided into different social classes using a numbered ranking system. Today, Aimeé takes us inside the dystopian world and describes how she created this fascinating and dangerous society.

The dystopian society in Pawn, the first book in my new Young Adult series The Blackcoat Rebellion, is built on a ranking system that was scarily intuitive to create. Even though the book is set more than 70 years in the future, everything about this world and story was based on something that exists today. For the ranking system, nothing was more influential than a standard IQ test.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST