RT Daily Blog

Extended Review: A Little Too Far By Lisa Desrochers

BY Elisa Verna, NOVEMBER 06, 2013 | PERMALINK

I have been bitten by the New Adult bug — and its name is A Little Too Far by Lisa Desrochers. I now know what NA readers mean when they say "this book is crack," because, you guys, this book is crack. It normally takes me five to seven days to read a book (hey, I'm a slow reader), but I finished this one in two. RT's features editor, Mala, finished the book in an afternoon after I insisted everyone read it (believe it or not, there are some people who don't want to read about stepbrother sex).

Let me back up for a minute: yes, stepbrother sex. In the beginning of the book, Lexie's boyfriend of several years dumps her and she goes running into the arms of her stepbrother and best friend, Trent. Their parents married when they were in their early teens, which slightly removes some of the ick factor. She knows she's loved Trent for a long time, but realizes that love is changing from familial to something more. Days after they do the deed, she's whisked off to Italy for a year of studying abroad.


Read More>>

Tags: New Adult, Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Marie Lu's Milestone Moments Writing Her Legacy Trilogy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 05, 2013 | PERMALINK

Marie Lu burst onto the YA scene with her Legend trilogy, earning herself many fans with the series, which captivated readers with its unique characters and dystopian setting. With Champion, the third and final book in the series, gracing shelves today, we asked Marie to share her top five memorable milestone moments from the trilogy. Here's what she had to say:

Champion, the last book in my debut Legend trilogy, releases today. Even typing that sentence out shocks me. Where’d the time go? Wasn’t it just yesterday when I was a wide-eyed newbie, twiddling my thumbs anxiously while my agent prepared my manuscript for submission? Has it really been three years since I got The Call that Penguin was going to publish my trilogy? Did I really manage to survive writing the second and third books without drowning myself in angsty cupcakes?

Thinking back on the entire process makes me a bit nostalgic. So many moments — both good and bad, exciting and terrifying. A few in particular stick out for me:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Gayle Forman

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 28, 2013 | PERMALINK

People don't usually like other people who make them cry — but we'll make an exception for Gayle Forman, the insanely talented YA author whose books make us feel so many feels. Gayle knows how to pack an emotional punch with her stories and always leaves readers breathless and aching for more. With her most recent release, Just One Year, she made us fall even more in love with her. We're so excited to share this exclusive interview with her where she discusses the new book and even shares some details about the movie adaptation of If I Stay! Take a look!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT's Casting Couch: J. Lynn's Wait for You — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 24, 2013 | PERMALINK

Oh reader, we think we've made it clear, we love overselves some New Adult. And one of our absolutes favorites is J. Lynn. We are for real obsessed with Wait for You, and are super excited about this week's novella release of Trust in Me, Cam's versions of the events in Wait for You. To celebrate, two members of RT's web team — Elissa and DJ — have put together their fantasy casts for the hypothetical movie version of Wait for You, and we want you to vote on whose cast is best. We've also got a giveaway at the bottom of the post!

 

Cameron Hamilton

Elissa says: I know Henry Cavill's name has been bandied about for Christian Grey a fair amount, but when I think of Cam I think of Superman. Not only does he save our girl Avery, but he's tall and broad, with dark hair and blue eyes. Add in Cavill's strong jaw, and we have a winner! 


Read More>>

Tags: New Adult, Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Event Recap: Veronica Roth Celebrates Allegiant in NYC

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 23, 2013 | PERMALINK

Veronica Roth with Christian Madsen (playing Al) and Ansel Elgort (playing Caleb)

Photo by Margot Wood

With a massive line of people that stretched from the entrance of the 92Y on Lexington Ave. in New York City and wrapped all the way around the corner, one would have thought a rock star was in town. Even passersby were curious and often stopped to ask who we were all waiting for. With much enthusiasm, our answer was simple: Veronica Roth — who, to be fair, is pretty much the author version of a rock star. Once inside the 92nd Street Y theater, fans eagerly awaited for Veronica to take the stage to discuss Allegiant, the highly anticipated third and final book in her sensational Divergent trilogy.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Q&A: Lauren Kate Trades Angels for Teardrops

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 23, 2013 | PERMALINK

With her hit Fallen series under belt, Lauren Kate is ready to hook readers on a new series. The first in an all new trilogy, Teardrop brings ancient myths and dark magic together for yet another spellbinding and romantic tale. Today, Lauren answers our burning questions about the new book and series, and hints at what readers can expect in book two! 

***

What inspired you to write Teardrop?

Teardrop is built of a combination of myths. Plato’s Atlantis (is it a myth?) features largely, as does Noah's Ark, Hero and Leander, Isis and Osiris and the Greek myth of a woman named Byblis' unrequited love — her broken-hearted tears turned her into a spring, which I found incredibly romantic.

I'd been thinking about how emotions create worlds, how we all inhabit the world of our emotions — be it sorrow, the ecstasy of new love or loneliness, to name a few. It made me want to write about a girl whose emotions physically created and destroyed worlds.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Get The Look: New Adult Eye Makeup Tutorials

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 22, 2013 | PERMALINK

One thing we've noticed about new adult covers — aside from the smoking hot models — is elaborate eye makeup on the heroines. We barely have time to grab our coffee in the morning, much less apply a few layers of mascara, but just for fun we decided to find out exactly what goes into getting these looks. If you've wondered how the new adult heroines do it, here are YouTube tutorials to match the eye makeup on some recent NA covers.

***

THE COVER: The Coincidence of Callie & Kayden by Jessica Sorensen

 

THE MAKEUP: Brown smokey eye

***

THE COVER: Off Sides by Sawyer Bennett

THE MAKEUP: Dramatic lashes


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Happy Allegiant Day! A Q&A with Veronica Roth — Plus Giveaway!

BY Elissa Petruzzi, OCTOBER 22, 2013 | PERMALINK

It’s here, it’s here! It’s finally here! Allegiant Day, as we’ve affectionately been calling October 22nd around the RT office, has finally arrived. As Veronica Roth’s Divergent trilogy finale releases, we have some treats for you! In addition to our web exclusive review of Allegiant (man, have we had a hard time biting our tongue about this book!), we’ve also got a Q&A with Veronica Roth — and a giveaway! Find out how to win at the end of the interview. Read on and enjoy!

***

Nature versus nurture is an important theme in Allegiant. Which do you think is more powerful, nature or nurture? Do you think your life is predetermined by your genes?

I think it’s really an even combination, at least in my own self-analysis, the ways in which both nature and nurture have influenced the person I’ve become, and the people around me.

Such as?


Read More>>

Tags: Futuristic, Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
32COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Free For All: YA Swag Bag Haul

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 17, 2013 | PERMALINK

One of the perks of working in media is getting to attend publisher parties and author events, and being sent fun promotional things in the mail. But after so many parties, conventions and conferences, you end up with a closet filled with tote bags and more ARCs than your bookshelf can handle. So we've decided to save our shelves from collapse and share the wealth with you!

Recently we were gifted bags of YA books from both Harlequin Teen and Soho Teen, so if you're a YA fan, listen up!

 

 

The Harlequin Teen bag features several of their fall and winter titles (a mix of ARCs and finished copies), all nestled in a big Harlequin Teen bag with a zipper closure and plenty of pockets for pens-n-things. The titles include:

White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout (Mar., New Adult, ARC)

The Iron Traitor by Julie Kagawa (Nov., final copy)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Q&A: Nick Lake Talks Hostage Three and the State of YA Lit

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 15, 2013 | PERMALINK

As an editor and author, whose book In Darkness won the Printz Medal, Nick Lake knows how to draw readers in with grippingly rich, intense stories that you'll be thinking about long after you've read the last line. We spoke to Nick about his latest book, Hostage Three, an engrossing story about a teen and her family who are taken hostage by Somali pirates, in our November issue, which is available now. Today we'd like to share the rest of our interview, since Nick had so many smart and interesting things to say. 

***


Read More>>

Tags: Contemporary Young Adult, Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST