RT Daily Blog

Friday Free For All: Out of this World YA!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

Well the weather outside RT HQ today is indeed frightful — Can we still make that joke now that the holidays are over? We vote yes. — so we're doing our best to brighten your day with a Friday giveaway! Today for you we've got a collection of otherworldly YA, featuring everything from zombies to mages to radioactive humans to quarkbeats and more! Kids today, what will they think of next? 

 

One lucky winner will receive: 

Inhuman by Kat Falls

The Song of the Quarkbeast by Jasper Fforde

Unfed by Kristy McKay

The 100 by Kass Morgan

Battle Magic by Tamora Pierce

 

So if you feel like taking a break from this frigid, snowy world — though we hope it's certainly warmer where you are, enter to win! U.S. residents only, please. 


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Book Hankerings: Our Most Anticipated Young Adult Books Coming In 2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 02, 2014 | PERMALINK

Happy New Year, readers! The best thing about the new year, in our humble opinions anyway, is all the new books to look forward to! We don’t know about you, but there are an awful lot of books we’re hankering for in 2014. In the hopes that you’ll join us in obsessing, over the next week we’ll be listing our most anticipated books of 2014, by genre. Today, we start with YA!


 

No One Else Can Have You by Kathleen Hale 

Releases January 7, 2014

This debut releases next week, and just about our entire office has read it. The consensus? It's amazing. Earning a rare Top Pick! Gold rating, this wacky contemporary murder mystery is best described as a teen version of Fargo, but that simplification doesn't do the story justice. If you enjoy hilarious coming of age stories that are lighter on the romance, don't skip this one!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Chair Dancing Alert! Molly McAdams Shares Her Playlist

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 30, 2013 | PERMALINK

You aren’t the only one rocking out to some tunes at work — authors do it, too! Today for you we have a treat — Molly McAdams’s playlist for her latest novella, “Needing Her." Molly even included a small excerpt for each song! The book alternates between Connor and Maci's POVs, so we've specified which excerpt is from which character. Let’s get up on the dance floor, folks!

"Bad Girls" – M.I.A.

Connor: “Maci, look at me,” I bit out. When she didn’t look up, I snapped. Stalking over to her, I grabbed the bottle of clear polish and threw it across the room.

“Connor!”

“I said fucking look at me!”

Her eyes widened and she leaned back into the couch as I crowded over her.

“This isn’t funny. I have a job ... a real job, something you would know nothing about, but I can’t go to work with a green fucking face, Maci!”

"Blow Me (One Last Kiss)" – P!nk


Read More>>

Tags: New Adult, Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Ni-Ni Simone to the Rescue! Pop Quiz: Are You Still In Love With Your Ex?

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 27, 2013 | PERMALINK

Getting over your ex can be hard, especially when you're still in love with them. But how do you know if you should move on or do your best to get back together? Well, if you're feelings are all jumbled up, YA author Ni-Ni Simone is here to help with her quiz that will help you figure out if you're still holding onto your feelings for that ex. Take it away, Ni-Ni!

1. How often do you think about him?

A. I … don't want to tell you. That often.

B. Dead to the bed. Never. Ever.

C. Only on holidays and our anniversary.

2. What happens when you see his relationship status has changed on Facebook?

A. Your heart drops to the floor.

B. You wonder if your break up was the right decision, then you go through his pics and remember why you broke up.

C. You send the new girlfriend a Thank You card.

3. What happens when you see the new girlfriend?

A. You immediately want him back.

B. You’re a little jealous but you don’t want him back.

C. You’re happy to see he’s moved on (even if she is a downgrade).

4. When you know he’s going to be at a party you … ?


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Free For All: YA Grab Bag!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 27, 2013 | PERMALINK

Oh reader, we're not going to lie. A huge perk of working at RT is the copious — and we do mean copious — amount of books we're sent every day. We're friends with our UPS guy. His name is Mario, and he is delightful. And today, imbued with the holiday spirit — or is that spiked eggnog? We'll let you know after the New Year arrives — we'd like to share the wealth. So we dove into our gigantic pile of YA titles (we know, we know, we're lucky) and picked out a pile o' favorites to give away today. Take a look: 

 

That there's:

Daylighters by Rachel Caine

The Book of Love by Lynn Weingarten

A Beautiful Wedding by Jaime McGuire

The Burning Sky by Sherry Thomas

Marie Antionette, Serial Killer by Katie Alender

Family Tree by Ann M. Martin 

How to Love by Katie Cortungo

 


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
16COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Ciara Knight and Her Evil Queen

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 26, 2013 | PERMALINK

A book's villain can really make or break a story, and a strong, well-rounded antagonist is as central to a book as the protagonist. Ciara Knight, author of The Neuamrian Chronicles, knows a thing or two about creating fully developed villains thanks to her deliciously evil Queen Mandessa Valderak. Today, Ciara discusses how her antagonist came to be and how she came to write such a fleshed out villain. So sit back, relax and read on! Take it away, Ciara!

When I wrote Queen Mandessa Valderak in The Neumarian Chronicles, I knew more about her than I described in book one, Escapement. The queen wasn’t just a character born at the start of the series, but a living, breathing creature with a history.

Authors tend to avoid too much back story, worrying that they’ll lose their reader, but writing convincing characters makes it imperative to know and understand their social, economic, religious and family history — even if we don’t immediately share it with readers.


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Look Inside The World of Aimeé Carter's Pawn!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 20, 2013 | PERMALINK

With her latest novel, Pawn, Aimeé Carter has wowed readers with her unique dystopian society in which people are divided into different social classes using a numbered ranking system. Today, Aimeé takes us inside the dystopian world and describes how she created this fascinating and dangerous society.

The dystopian society in Pawn, the first book in my new Young Adult series The Blackcoat Rebellion, is built on a ranking system that was scarily intuitive to create. Even though the book is set more than 70 years in the future, everything about this world and story was based on something that exists today. For the ranking system, nothing was more influential than a standard IQ test.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

First Look and Giveaway: A Breath of Frost by Alyxandra Harvey

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 13, 2013 | PERMALINK

News of a new Alyxandra Harvey release always causes a flurry of excitement here at RT, so it's no surprise that we're all over her witchy January YA release, A Breath of Frost! Set in Regency London, this first installment in the Lovegrove Legacy series combines witches, action and addictive romance.

If you're dying to learn more, then you're in for a treat today because we have an exclusive first look! Read on to see which witches Alyxandra loves the most and then watch an exciting video where she discusses the book and its characters. But that's not all! At the end of the post enter for a chance to win A Breath of Frost! Take it away, Alyx!

Who hasn't stared up at the sky, wondering if you could move the clouds with your mind? Or is that just me admitting to listening to too much Kate Bush in university?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
14COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner's 5 Need-To-Know Tips for Surviving on a Spaceship

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 12, 2013 | PERMALINK

Traveling on a spaceship can be fraught with many dangers, whether you’re headed for a black hole or under attack from intergalactic space pirates. Luckily for you, Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner have done the research for you and put it all into their RT Top Pick! rated These Broken Stars. And today, they’ve laid out their top tips in handy-dandy list form. Print it out and stick it in your purse next to your towel, that way next time you’re flying to Alpha Centauri, you'll be prepared!

***

5. Always read the safety card instructions. In the event that your ship malfunctions (or gets torn out of inter-dimensional space) it’s handy to know exactly what escape pod you’re meant to be in. Particularly in ships with more than a few thousand passengers, the ensuing panic following an “Abandon Ship” order is often worse than the crash itself!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Giveaway: Attend A Beautiful Wedding with Jamie McGuire!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 10, 2013 | PERMALINK

New Adult fans, do we have a treat for you. You know how you grow attached to characters over time, and you sigh heavily when you reach that very last page? Well, for fans of Jamie McGuire's Abby and Travis, we have a wedding for you to attend. 

Did you ever wonder why, exactly, the skittish Abby proposed to Travis and whisked him off to Vegas after the tragic fire in Beautiful Disaster (and Walking Disaster)? And why Travis never went to jail for his role in the fire? In the novella, "A Beautiful Wedding", out today, you'll find out.

And because we love you so, we've got three copies to give away! Enter below for a chance to win. U.S. residents only. 

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Read More>>

Tags: New Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
11COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST