RT Daily Blog

November Seal Of Excellence

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 14, 2013 | PERMALINK

Each month the RT editors select one book that is not only compelling, but pushes the boundaries of genre fiction. This book stands out from all the others reviewed that month, in the magazine issue and on the website. November 2013's RT Seal of Excellence — the editors' pick for best book of the month — is awarded to CJ Lyons' thrilling debut YA novel Broken. 



Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Q&A: Annabel Pitcher On Convict Penpals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 13, 2013 | PERMALINK

Annabel Pitcher burst onto the YA scene with My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece, and fans will be thrilled to hear that she’s back with Ketchup Clouds, out now. It’s the story of Zoe, who was part of a love triangle gone terribly wrong. With no one to turn to, she begins writing letters to man on Death Row. We of course, had to hear more.

***

Have you ever had a pen pal?

My most interesting pen pal was a man on Death Row, who I wrote to for a number of years after getting involved in an Amnesty International scheme that offered companionship to isolated prisoners. It was a fascinating experience: because I didn't know the man, and because he'd done something terribly wrong, I felt able to be brutally honest about my own life, flaws and mistakes — far more so, in fact, than I could ever be with a friend I had known for years.

Do you think pen pals are still popular?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Chat: Forged by Jennifer Rush (AKA The Novella With a Hot Guy On It)

BY DJ DeSmyter, NOVEMBER 08, 2013 | PERMALINK

If you follow me on Twitter or on my own personal blog, then you know I'm kind of obsessed with Jennifer Rush's Altered series. With its high-stakes action, secret government operations and swoon-worthy guys (yes, plural), what's not to love? Now, what makes this YA series even better is the fact that the books have rather lovely covers that not only tie into the stories inside, but are also incredibly sexy and lovely to stare at. And the latest cover in the series, for the upcoming novella "Forged," is no exception! Let's take a look:

First, let's just admire the shirtless guy for a moment.

Maybe we should take another moment, yeah?

Okay, now that we've sufficiently ogled, let's talk about the rest of the cover. I absolutely love the hot pink color of the title and how it really pops against the image's general black and white scheme. And the vertical position of the title and Jennifer's name add yet another eye-catching element.

So, fellow readers, what do you think? Are you as in love with this series as I am, and can't wait for the December 3 release of "Forged"? For more YA covers, visit our Everything Young Adult Page!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Reveal: Earthquake By Aprilynne Pike

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 06, 2013 | PERMALINK

Young adult author Aprilynne Pike first captivated us with Wings, a Top Pick! rated delightful story about faeries, family and love, which was also a 2009 Young Adult Paranormal/Fantasy Award Nominee. Since then, Aprilynne has continued to work her magic and this year saw the release of Earthbound, which our reviewer lauded for its "clever twists and turns and nice flashes of humor." Readers have been desperate for the sequel, Earthquake, and while it doesn't release until July 15, 2014, we have something to help tide fans over: THE COVER! Hooray! But before we get to the gorgeouesness, let's take a look at what the book is about. Beware of spoilers!

Tavia Michaels has discovered that she’s an Earthbound — a fallen goddess with the power to remake the Earth — and that a rival faction of Earthbounds, the Reduciata, has created a virus that is literally wiping swaths of the planet out of existence. Tavia is captured and imprisoned before she can act on this information, along with her eternal lover, Logan. Huddled in a claustrophobic cell, they lose track of the days, their attempts to escape proving as ephemeral as Tavia’s newly gestating powers. But then Tavia and Logan are mysteriously rescued ...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Rachel Caine On the End of Her Morganville Vampires Series & Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 06, 2013 | PERMALINK

Much to our dismay, it's time to say farewell to another YA series. With Daylighters, Rachel Caine brings her Morganville Vampires series to a close. For seven years and 15 books, readers continually fell in love with Rachel's unique vampire world, her characters and her master storytelling. Today, Rachel shares her thoughts on the series and its end. But that's not all! Stay tuned at the end of the post to learn how to enter to win a complete set of the Morganville Vampires series!

I've said "I'll never ... " a lot in my life, and you know what? I've almost always been wrong. When I said "I'll never eat broccoli!" to my mother at 7, she smiled and shook her head. She was right. And when I was enthusiastically 18, I said, "I'll never get married!" ... yeah. I’ve been happily married for more than 20 years now. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
13COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: A Little Too Far By Lisa Desrochers

BY Elisa Verna, NOVEMBER 06, 2013 | PERMALINK

I have been bitten by the New Adult bug — and its name is A Little Too Far by Lisa Desrochers. I now know what NA readers mean when they say "this book is crack," because, you guys, this book is crack. It normally takes me five to seven days to read a book (hey, I'm a slow reader), but I finished this one in two. RT's features editor, Mala, finished the book in an afternoon after I insisted everyone read it (believe it or not, there are some people who don't want to read about stepbrother sex).

Let me back up for a minute: yes, stepbrother sex. In the beginning of the book, Lexie's boyfriend of several years dumps her and she goes running into the arms of her stepbrother and best friend, Trent. Their parents married when they were in their early teens, which slightly removes some of the ick factor. She knows she's loved Trent for a long time, but realizes that love is changing from familial to something more. Days after they do the deed, she's whisked off to Italy for a year of studying abroad.


Read More>>

Tags: New Adult, Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Marie Lu's Milestone Moments Writing Her Legacy Trilogy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 05, 2013 | PERMALINK

Marie Lu burst onto the YA scene with her Legend trilogy, earning herself many fans with the series, which captivated readers with its unique characters and dystopian setting. With Champion, the third and final book in the series, gracing shelves today, we asked Marie to share her top five memorable milestone moments from the trilogy. Here's what she had to say:

Champion, the last book in my debut Legend trilogy, releases today. Even typing that sentence out shocks me. Where’d the time go? Wasn’t it just yesterday when I was a wide-eyed newbie, twiddling my thumbs anxiously while my agent prepared my manuscript for submission? Has it really been three years since I got The Call that Penguin was going to publish my trilogy? Did I really manage to survive writing the second and third books without drowning myself in angsty cupcakes?

Thinking back on the entire process makes me a bit nostalgic. So many moments — both good and bad, exciting and terrifying. A few in particular stick out for me:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Gayle Forman

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 28, 2013 | PERMALINK

People don't usually like other people who make them cry — but we'll make an exception for Gayle Forman, the insanely talented YA author whose books make us feel so many feels. Gayle knows how to pack an emotional punch with her stories and always leaves readers breathless and aching for more. With her most recent release, Just One Year, she made us fall even more in love with her. We're so excited to share this exclusive interview with her where she discusses the new book and even shares some details about the movie adaptation of If I Stay! Take a look!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT's Casting Couch: J. Lynn's Wait for You — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 24, 2013 | PERMALINK

Oh reader, we think we've made it clear, we love overselves some New Adult. And one of our absolutes favorites is J. Lynn. We are for real obsessed with Wait for You, and are super excited about this week's novella release of Trust in Me, Cam's versions of the events in Wait for You. To celebrate, two members of RT's web team — Elissa and DJ — have put together their fantasy casts for the hypothetical movie version of Wait for You, and we want you to vote on whose cast is best. We've also got a giveaway at the bottom of the post!

 

Cameron Hamilton

Elissa says: I know Henry Cavill's name has been bandied about for Christian Grey a fair amount, but when I think of Cam I think of Superman. Not only does he save our girl Avery, but he's tall and broad, with dark hair and blue eyes. Add in Cavill's strong jaw, and we have a winner! 


Read More>>

Tags: New Adult, Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Event Recap: Veronica Roth Celebrates Allegiant in NYC

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 23, 2013 | PERMALINK

Veronica Roth with Christian Madsen (playing Al) and Ansel Elgort (playing Caleb)

Photo by Margot Wood

With a massive line of people that stretched from the entrance of the 92Y on Lexington Ave. in New York City and wrapped all the way around the corner, one would have thought a rock star was in town. Even passersby were curious and often stopped to ask who we were all waiting for. With much enthusiasm, our answer was simple: Veronica Roth — who, to be fair, is pretty much the author version of a rock star. Once inside the 92nd Street Y theater, fans eagerly awaited for Veronica to take the stage to discuss Allegiant, the highly anticipated third and final book in her sensational Divergent trilogy.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST