RT Daily Blog

Author Q&A: James Dashner Talks The Eye of Minds and Maze Runner Film

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 08, 2013 | PERMALINK

James Dashner took the young adult world by storm with his super awesome series, The Maze Runner. Now he's ready to enthrall readers once more with The Eye of Minds, the first in a new thrilling and high-stakes series that illustrates the power and dangers of technology —particularly virtual reality. Today we have an exclusive interview with James where he discusses the new book, his hopes for the series and what longtime fans can expect from the film adaptation of The Maze Runner!

***

The Eye of Minds marks the beginning of a new series, The Mortality Doctrine. How did you approach planning this new world and set of characters? Has your process changed over the years?


Read More>>

Tags: Futuristic, Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Cover Reveal: Chelsea Fine's Best Kind of Broken

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 07, 2013 | PERMALINK

In a Monday slump? As always, we're here for you. Today we've got the exclusive cover reveal of Chelsea Fine's upcoming Best Kind of Broken. Let us count the ways that this cover and upcoming book might cheer you right out of your Monday doldrums:

1. Chelsea, known for her Archers of Avalon series, is making her New Adult debut. And we at RT are super into New Adult right now. 

2. The plot sounds super swoonworthy. Soon-to-be college sophomore Pixie takes a job at Willow Inn, basically for the room and board. Only she didn't count on living across the hall from handyman Levi. Her former best friend, who almost became something more. Before everything went to hell.

3. The cover ...

We love the adoring way the hero is gazing at the heroine — and we are super obsessed with the heroine's eye makeup. Would that we were so cosmetically gifted! 

4. Chelsea's into the cover as well. She told us, "The cover models not only look like my characters, they FEEL like them. Broken yet hopeful. Desperate yet loved."

Interested? Mark your calendars for March 4, when you can read this awesome romance! We'll just gaze upon this heroine and her perfect eye makeup in the meantime. And don't forget, for more young love stories, be sure to visit our Everything Young Adult page. 


Read More>>

Tags: New Adult, Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Simone Elkeles

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 03, 2013 | PERMALINK

Edgy YA and New Adult are the hotness right now. But you know who was writing edgy YA before the trend? RT favorite Simone Elkeles! We swooned over her Perfect Chemistry series, and this week she's back with a new series, starting with Wild Cards. We had to hear more, so when we ran into Simone at BookExpo America back in May, we made her tell us everything. Luckily, she obliged. 

Simone Elkeles dishes about Wild Cards >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>

Ready to ready? Wild Cards is available online and in stores today. And for more on the latest and greatest in YA, be sure to visit our Everything Young Adult page. 


Read More>>

Tags: Contemporary Young Adult, Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Julie Berry Shares Her Favorite Scene From All The Truth That's In Me

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 02, 2013 | PERMALINK

Julie Berry’s All The Truth That’s In Me is quickly garnering praise from critics and readers alike for its unique story and second-person narrative. The plot summary caught our attention immediately: Judith and her best friend disappear. Only Judith comes back alive, but she's been mutliated, and can no longer speak.

Today we have an electrifying excerpt from the book, and Julie shares her thoughts on what this scene means to her and what it was like to write it. Take a look:

***

EXCERPT:

You sink down on your haunches. I see the boy I once knew in your huddled limbs and face. Jip curls up beside you.

You’re soaking wet, and the wind is cold.

You lay yourself down in a hollow of ground, still clutching the handle of your ax.

Your eyes close, and still I watch. I am alarmed for you — this is not like you. I know you are assaulted on every side, by jeering youth and gossiping women, by wedding bells and memories. But this, and the bottle, these aren’t like you.

In time, you sleep.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kresley Cole's Top Five Greatest Things About Endless Knight

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 02, 2013 | PERMALINK

This week Kresley Cole's second foray into YA, Endless Knight,  the sequel to her young adult debut Poison Princess, hits shelves. Want to know more about Kresley's harrowing post-apocalyptic world, where a group of teens with special powers are caught in a power play between good and evil? Then you're in luck! Because today, Kresley shares the five things she's most excited about for the sequel. Take a look:

1. Evie’s in full-on Empress mode. Evie, understandably, had a lot to come to terms with in Poison Princess. The world as she knew it was decimated, her loved ones, all gone. And come to find out, she’s a powerful, epic, sometimes murderous, Empress? Anyone would need a minute to sort all that out. But in Endless Knight Evie knows her powers … and is not afraid to use them.

2. The game is on. The tarot cards are in play. And Evie made her first kill with Arthur. That means there are other cards on her tail … in Endless Knight we get to meet a whole slew of them, all with different strengths and weaknesses — some of which will be very surprising.

3. Big Bads abound. But the rival cards are not the only evils in this post-apocalyptic world. (Though some of them are truly frightening. I mean, Diablo is one scary dude.) Bagmen and cannibals are among the horrific threats tracking them. Never a dull moment on the road for Jack and Evie.


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: Perfect Ruin by Lauren DeStefano

BY DJ DeSmyter, OCTOBER 01, 2013 | PERMALINK

Lauren DeStefano's Perfect Ruin is exquisite. With its story of free will, love and the power of dreaming beyond one's boundaries, it's every bit as captivating as it is courageous. Intelligently written and thought provoking, it’s the start of yet another astounding series from DeStefano.

Sixteen-year-old Morgan Stockhour knows better than to dream of life outside the confines of Internment, the floating island she calls home. Life is perfect on Interment — at least that’s what the people have come to believe. But when a girl’s body is found, marking the first murder in years, Internment no longer feels safe. Morgan is hungry for answers and for the possibilities that lie beyond the island. With her best friend and her betrothed at her side, Morgan will dive deeper into Interment’s secrets. But is she prepared for everything she may lose along the way?


Read More>>

Tags: Futuristic, Science Fiction, Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

SPOILED: Gem & Dixie by Sara Zarr

BY DJ DeSmyter, SEPTEMBER 23, 2013 | PERMALINK

Nobody delivers an emotional punch to the heart quite like YA author Sara Zarr, whose How to Save a Life was an RT Top Pick! and 2012 Best Young Adult Novel Award Nominee. And now, with her newly announced book Gem & Dixie, Zarr is set to take readers on yet another rollercoaster ride of family drama and intrigue.

In Gem & Dixie, two sisters at war with each other wind up on the run. They must decide if they can put aside their issues to work together, or if some troubles are too much to ignore. Set against the picturesque Pacific Northwest, Gem & Dixie sounds awesome.

When asked what inspired her new book, Zarr told us, “The idea for Gem & Dixie came when I'd been playing around with these characters — sisters with a father who pits them against each other as part of how he manipulates the family. I wondered what kind of conflict would have the potential to either force them to become allies or tear them apart further, what would give the initially ‘weaker’ sister more power.”


Read More>>

Tags: Contemporary Young Adult, Young Adult, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Cora Carmack

BY Elissa Petruzzi, SEPTEMBER 23, 2013 | PERMALINK

Cora Carmack was one of the first New Adult success stories to hit the publishing world. Her Losing It, starring insecure theater major Bliss and her new, über-hot British professor Garrick, was an instant hit. Then came Faking It, starring Bliss's guy friend Cade and bad girl Max. RT loved them both! Which means we can't wait for next month's Finding It, where Bliss's wild child friend Kelsey gets her story. So of course, when we saw Cora at the RT Convention this year in Kansas City, we had to sit down to hear the scoop on how her life has changed, her thoughts on New Adult — and all things Garrick. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spoiled: Kami Garcia And Margaret Stohl's Dangerous Creatures

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 20, 2013 | PERMALINK

There’s no denying that Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl took the young adult world by storm when Beautiful Creatures first hit shelves in 2009, and as the series grew, so did the fanbase. And ever since the authors ended their Beautiful Creatures series in 2012, fans have been desperate for more — particularly when it comes to Link and Ridley, two side characters who won over as many hearts as main stars Ethan and Lena.

Well, Casters, Kami and Margaret heard your cries. And so they've announced their upcoming Dangerous Creatures, a new spin-off series that will focus on Link and Ridley. To give readers a taste of what’s to come, Little, Brown will release an e-novella, "Dangerous Dream," on December 17, followed by the first book in the series, Dangerous Creatures, which will hit shelves on May 6, 2014.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Holly Black Discusses Paranormal Creatures She'll (Probably) Never Write About

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 19, 2013 | PERMALINK

Werepanthers, selkies, vampires and zombies — sometimes it seems as if there isn't a paranormal creature out there that authors haven't written about. YA fan favorite Holly Black herself has penned novels starring angels, ghouls and ghosts — and this month, she's tackling one of the most written about characters of them all — the vampire — in her awesome new release, The Coldest Girl in Coldtown. With such an extensive paranormal repertoire, we had to wonder, what character would she not ever want to write about? To help celebrate the book's release, Holly shared the five creatures we will (probably) never ever see in one of her books:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST