RT Daily Blog

From Newspapers to New Adult: A Q&A with Christina Lee

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 18, 2013 | PERMALINK

When we first heard about Christina Lee's new adult romance, All of You, we were immediately drawn in by the story's unique premise. The way she has taken the usual bad-boy, good girl trope and turned it on its head is refreshing and intriguing. Today, Christina chats about All of You, her transition from newspaper columnist to fiction writer and new adult literature — she even spills some details on the upcoming companion novel, Before You Break!

Your first official foray into writing was as a newspaper columnist. How have your experiences in journalism influenced your novel writing?

Even in newspaper writing, where fact-gathering is essential, every column had a beginning, middle and end, with hopefully a compelling enough story to keep the reader’s interest. But probably the biggest way my experience as a columnist influenced me was that it helped me realize that I truly wanted to write fiction. I wanted to create imaginary worlds with realistic characters, and so I completed my first full-length novel in 2008.


Read More>>

Tags: New Adult, E/book, Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Q&A and Giveaway: Ally Carter On the End of the Gallagher Girls Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 17, 2013 | PERMALINK

Since 2007, Ally Carter has enthralled us with her fun, action-packed Gallagher Girls series, and we've been wishing we got to attend the Gallagher Academy ever since. Cammie and the girls have enthralled and entertained us for six books, so it's bittersweet that today the series draws to a close with with the final book, United We Spy. We thought we'd chat with Ally about United We Spy, her thoughts on her career so far and how the YA scene has changed since the series began. We're also giving away an entire set of the Gallagher Girls series, as well as some extra goodies. Contest details are at the end of the post.

***

This is the last book in the series. Did you find it hard to write knowing it was the last?


Read More>>

Tags: Contemporary Young Adult, Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
15COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Win A Trip To The 2014 RT Convention From Jennifer L. Armentrout

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 13, 2013 | PERMALINK

Bestselling Young Adult and New Adult author Jennifer L. Armentrout (aka J. Lynn) is a pretty big fan of her fans. And now she's ready to prove it! She’s offering a prize that is not only epic, but definitely RT-approved, especially since our very own Elissa Petruzzi is one of the judges!

Just what is the prize, you ask?

One lucky reader will win an all-expenses paid trip to the 2014 RT Booklovers Convention, May 13-18, in New Orleans! Exciting, no?

All you have to do to enter is write a piece of fan fiction (1,500 words or less) featuring characters from the following authors’ books:

  1. Jennifer L. Armentrout/J. Lynn

  2. Cora Carmack

  3. Laura Kaye

  4. Sophie Jordan

For the full details, head on over to Jennifer’s blog. Good luck to all who enter! Now go forth and write! We can't wait to see YOU in NOLA! 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A New Voice in New Adult: An Interview with Mila Ferrera

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 13, 2013 | PERMALINK

With a blend of psychological twists, romance and art, Mila Ferrera's Only Between Us had no trouble catching our attention. Neither did Mila herself. With a psychologist day job and a love for authors like Jeaniene Frost, we knew we wanted to pick Mila's brain about her journey as a writer, her thoughts on the New Adult craze and the inspiration behind her book. So sit back and relax with this exclusive interview!

***

Is there a specific author or book that inspired you to become a writer?

I had been on an absolute romance binge after reading very little for pleasure while in graduate school. I don't know that there's a specific author or book that got me going, but Jeaniene Frost, Sherrilyn Kenyon and Gena Showalter were certainly my go-to authors for escapist fiction. I think I eventually decided that those novels were so much fun that I wanted to try writing, too. I wrote some speculative fiction before turning to contemporary romance. 

What do you love most about writing New Adult?


Read More>>

Tags: New Adult, E/book, Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Q&A: Robyn Schneider Talks The Beginning of Everything, Gilmore Girls, and Gatsby

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 12, 2013 | PERMALINK

In addition to providing lovable characters and an innovative plot, Robyn Schneider's The Beginning of Everything is sure to entertain readers with its many pop culture references. From Harry Potter to Shakespeare and The Great Gatsby to Ender's Game, the references make the characters relatable and leave the audience eagerly searching for more. RT Books talked with Schneider about her reason for writing in this style, how it adds to her characters' personas, and her inspiration as a writer.

***

What kind of audience do you think will enjoy the numerous references you include? Does this group differ from the kind of audience you would expect to enjoy a more traditional coming of age or manic pixie dream girl story?


Read More>>

Tags: Contemporary Young Adult, Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lauren Myracle on the Importance of Love, the Difficulty of Growing Up Today and Why Olives are Evil

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 11, 2013 | PERMALINK

Lauren Myracle has long been a go-to author for teens. With her honest portrayals of growing up and the ups-and-downs of teen relationships, Lauren's unique voice has won over tons of readers. Now, with this month's The Infinite Moment of Us, she's ready to take readers on another whirlwind of a story as people pleaser Wren graduates from high school and collides with Charlie Parker, a boy who doesn't think he's good enough for a girl like Wren. Today, Lauren's here with us reminisce about her own teen years and the challenges teens — both fictional and real — face today.

***

What were you like as a teenager? How were you similar and different from Wren?


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Unicorn Princess or Telekinesis?: Sarah Beth Durst Talks Supernatural Powers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 09, 2013 | PERMALINK

Sarah Beth Durst turns the YA paranormal genre on its head with Conjured, an exciting tale of Eve, a teenage girl with powers that, when used, knock her out and give her creepy carnival nightmares. Throw in a serial killer determined to find her and a boy who wins her heart, and this is one book you don't want to miss. Today, Sarah talks about supernatural powers, and which ones she would — and wouldn't — want to possess. 

When I was ten years old, I asked my mother for a stack of index cards. I had decided that I wanted to be a writer. (Before that, I wanted to be either Wonder Woman or a Unicorn Princess.) And I wanted the index cards for inventing characters.

Squirreling myself away in my room, I went through the phone book, wrote down every interesting name I could find (one per card), and then proceeded to assign them all magical powers.

And now, many years later … I'm still doing that, inventing people and giving them powers.

For my new YA novel Conjured, I took that to the extreme and gave my protagonist Eve tons of bizarre powers. Like this one:


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal, Young Adult, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Beware of Dragons: Mari Mancusi On Scorched

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 05, 2013 | PERMALINK

We at RT have always been big fans of Mari Mancusi, and today we're sure you'll join the fold. Mari's stopping by to talk about the inspiration of her new YA, Scorched, an electrifying tale about a girl and a dragon who could save the world — or destroy it. And in just one post, Mari namechecks Christian Bale, Robin McKinley — and throws in some dragon GIFs. And if there's one thing the Internet has taught us, it's that everything is better with GIFs. Take it away, Mari!

***

For a writer, inspiration comes from everywhere. And my new dragon series Scorched is no exception. In fact, the books take some of my favorite things: dragons, time travel, the apocalypse, and hot twins from the future (!) and mashes them all up together in one book.

So where did my inspiration come from? Well, here are a few places.

The Terminator

Growing up I loved the movie Terminator and its sequels. I’m also a big fan of the Sarah Connor Chronicles. There’s just something about the idea of people coming back in time to change their apocalyptic future that is so darn cool. But in my book, instead of Skynet and killer robots, there are dragons.


Read More>>

Tags: Futuristic, Fantasy, Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: J. Lynn Talks Wait For You

BY Elissa Petruzzi, SEPTEMBER 04, 2013 | PERMALINK

We already loved Jennifer L. Armentrout for her action-packed, snarky paranormal YA. But then she burst onto the New Adult, self-publishing scene earlier this year as J. Lynn with Wait for You, and, oh reader, we swooned. The masses agreed with us and Wait for You quickly topped The New York Times bestseller list. So of course when we had the chance we tracked her down at the RT convention to talk New Adult, Wait for You and what's next. 

J. Lynn talks Wait for You and more >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>

If you aren't part of the digital reading revolution yet, or you just want your own paper copy of Cam, you can get the trade paperback of Wait for You, in stores this week. For more YA and NA news you can use, be sure to visit our Everything Young Adult page!


Read More>>

Tags: New Adult, Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

More YA Book-To-Movie Trailers We're Excited About

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 29, 2013 | PERMALINK

While reading may be our one true passion, we never say no to a great movie — especially a movie based on one of our favorite books. And since the first look at the upcoming adaptation of Divergent was so fun and awesome, we thought we’d share a few more trailers for upcoming films with YA lit roots. Sit back and enjoy!

***

Romeo & Juliet | October 11, 2013

Ender’s Game | November 1, 2013

The Book Thief | November 15, 2013

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire | November 22, 2013


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST