RT Daily Blog

Beware of Dragons: Mari Mancusi On Scorched

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 05, 2013 | PERMALINK

We at RT have always been big fans of Mari Mancusi, and today we're sure you'll join the fold. Mari's stopping by to talk about the inspiration of her new YA, Scorched, an electrifying tale about a girl and a dragon who could save the world — or destroy it. And in just one post, Mari namechecks Christian Bale, Robin McKinley — and throws in some dragon GIFs. And if there's one thing the Internet has taught us, it's that everything is better with GIFs. Take it away, Mari!

***

For a writer, inspiration comes from everywhere. And my new dragon series Scorched is no exception. In fact, the books take some of my favorite things: dragons, time travel, the apocalypse, and hot twins from the future (!) and mashes them all up together in one book.

So where did my inspiration come from? Well, here are a few places.

The Terminator

Growing up I loved the movie Terminator and its sequels. I’m also a big fan of the Sarah Connor Chronicles. There’s just something about the idea of people coming back in time to change their apocalyptic future that is so darn cool. But in my book, instead of Skynet and killer robots, there are dragons.


Read More>>

Tags: Futuristic, Fantasy, Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: J. Lynn Talks Wait For You

BY Elissa Petruzzi, SEPTEMBER 04, 2013 | PERMALINK

We already loved Jennifer L. Armentrout for her action-packed, snarky paranormal YA. But then she burst onto the New Adult, self-publishing scene earlier this year as J. Lynn with Wait for You, and, oh reader, we swooned. The masses agreed with us and Wait for You quickly topped The New York Times bestseller list. So of course when we had the chance we tracked her down at the RT convention to talk New Adult, Wait for You and what's next. 

J. Lynn talks Wait for You and more >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>

If you aren't part of the digital reading revolution yet, or you just want your own paper copy of Cam, you can get the trade paperback of Wait for You, in stores this week. For more YA and NA news you can use, be sure to visit our Everything Young Adult page!


Read More>>

Tags: New Adult, Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

More YA Book-To-Movie Trailers We're Excited About

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 29, 2013 | PERMALINK

While reading may be our one true passion, we never say no to a great movie — especially a movie based on one of our favorite books. And since the first look at the upcoming adaptation of Divergent was so fun and awesome, we thought we’d share a few more trailers for upcoming films with YA lit roots. Sit back and enjoy!

***

Romeo & Juliet | October 11, 2013

Ender’s Game | November 1, 2013

The Book Thief | November 15, 2013

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire | November 22, 2013


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Crown of Midnight Celebration: Part Two

BY DJ DeSmyter, AUGUST 27, 2013 | PERMALINK

Yesterday, we brought you part one of our special two-part discussion of young adult author Sarah J. MaasCrown of Midnight, the highly-anticipated sequel to her debut, Throne of Glass. Today, we not only chat with Maas about her Pinterest boards for the series, but also with Kelly de Groot, the artist behind the map found in the book. And to cap it all off, Maas talks about her upcoming series, A Court of Thorn and Roses!

***


Read More>>

Tags: Fantasy, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Crown of Midnight Celebration: Part One

BY DJ DeSmyter, AUGUST 26, 2013 | PERMALINK

Full of court politics, high-stakes action, and endearing romance, it’s no surprise that readers have latched onto Sarah J. Maas’ Throne of Glass characters and world. And with Crown of Midnight, the second in this bestselling series, readers are in for another rousing adventure. In this first of a two-part story, we take go inside Crown of Midnight and what readers can expect to see in this sequel. Take a look!

***

In the first book, Throne of Glass, readers were introduced to Maas’ rich, dark, and sweeping fantasy world of magic and witty assassins. When asked how she’s expanded on this world in Crown of Midnight, Maas said, “ ... it’s hard to say without giving much away, but readers will definitely get a chance to see more of the world thanks to a few new characters.” Maas also teased that “ ... readers will learn more about the capital city’s underbelly” and Celaena’s past, including her life before being an assassin.


Read More>>

Tags: Fantasy, Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Divergent First Look Video - What Do You Think?

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 26, 2013 | PERMALINK

Calling all Initiates! Last night during the Video Music Awards, MTV premiered the first official look at the upcoming film adaptation of Veronica Roth’s bestselling book, Divergent! The film’s stars, Shailene Woodley (Tris) and Theo James (Four), hit the red carpet to introduce the clip, and boy is it action packed! We can't wait. Take a look:

 

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

So You Want To Write A YA?: Jennifer Estep Shares Her Tips

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 22, 2013 | PERMALINK

Aspiring authors, this one’s for you! YA continutes to be one of the hottest genres out there. Interested in breaking in? Today we've got bestselling author Jennifer Estep, author of the Mythos Academy series, here to share her tips on writing YA. 

***

Greetings! This summer, my fifth Mythos Academy book, Midnight Frost, was released, as well as "Spartan Frost," an e-novella in the series. So as someone who has some experience writing YA, today I'm going to share some tips. Here goes:

Follow your process: Just because you might be writing a YA book for the first time doesn’t mean that you should do things completely differently. If you have a process for writing a book or short story that works for you with adult fiction, consider sticking with that same process for YA.


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal, Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Why Didn't She Just Call The police?: A Discussion With Kara Taylor

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 20, 2013 | PERMALINK

Harriet the Spy, Veronica Mars, Nancy Drew and Anne Dowling all have something in common: they're teens who are more than capable of solving a crime on their own. Yet, while we all admire these girls' bravery, wit and resourcefulness, I'm sure we've also wondered: Why didn't they just go to the police? Kara Taylor, author of Prep School Confidential, which features the aforementioned Anne, tells us how she wrote a convincing teen mystery.

***

The first time I saw Home Alone, I asked my father why Kevin McAllister (McCauley Caulkin) didn’t simply call the police when he overheard two burglars plotting to invade his house. My dad chewed on this for a second before settling on his form response: “Because then it would have been a very boring movie.”


Read More>>

Tags: Mystery, Young Adult, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Fiascos, Reality TV and Insights: An Interview With Kelli London

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 16, 2013 | PERMALINK

Kelli London knows how to stir up trouble — at least for her characters. London's fun and entertaining Epic Fiascos series stars Charly, a teen reality TV star who finds herself in more than one, well, epic fiasco. Today, London chats with us about the inspiration for her series, her new book Star Power and which reality TV shows she’s addicted to!

***

Where did the idea for your Charly's Epic Fiascos series come from?

Two words: Dreams and goals. In life, we all want something, and in order to get that something we must go after it, we must make it happen. The need to become — a need every teenager is faced with when transitioning from adolescence to adulthood — is how Charly and her fiascos were born.

Charly is a pretty headstrong young woman. Did you draw on any personal experiences to shape her character?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Courtney Cole

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 15, 2013 | PERMALINK

Courtney Cole’s If You Stay, the first in her Beautifully Broken series, catapulted the author into the spotlight and captivated readers with its broken characters and surprisingly raw story. She has since become a sensation within the New Adult world, and has attracted a passionate readership who are always eager for more. Earlier this summer, Morgan Doremus sat down with Courtney to discuss Pax and Mila’s relationship, what readers can expect from If You Leave and all about her transition to writing New Adult! Check it out!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST