RT Daily Blog

Video Interview: Veronica Roth

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 09, 2013 | PERMALINK

Young Adult author Veronica Roth, known for her award winning Divergent series, will be releasing the third in the trilogy, Allegiant, this fall. Recently the author has been on tour sharing what fans can expect as her futuristic dystopian series wraps up. In this interview at the RT Booklovers Convention last week with RT's Elissa Petruzzi, Veronica discusses heroine Tris and what makes her such a great role model. The author also reveals what it was like to visit the movie set to watch actress Shailene Woodley bring her character to life.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

J.A. Redmerski Takes Us To The Edge Of Never

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 07, 2013 | PERMALINK

The New Adult is a genre rife with stories of young 20-somethings learning more about themselves and finding lasting relationships, and in J.A. Redmerski's The Edge of Never, heroine Camryn takes a big risk that pays off. Camryn leaves her North Carolina hometown abruptly when she decides to escape on a Greyhound bus after a wild night. Little does she know that the bus will lead her straight to Andrew, a guy who pushes Camryn to do more with her life, but also harbors some deep secrets. Today the author shares how much she has in common with her impulsive heroine and how her own life influenced her story. Plus, we offer readers a chance to try the story with an excerpt at the end of this post!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2013: Moments From YA Alley

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 04, 2013 | PERMALINK

This year at the Giant Saturday Bookfair during the 2013 RT Booklovers Convention, YA Alley was the place to be if you were a young reader or simply young at heart! The area was packed full of authors, there were over 90 in attendance and authors and fans had a great time interacting. We chatted with some of the teens (and their chaperones) in attendance to get an idea of who readers were excited to meet and how young adult books have influenced their lives.

***

First, we met Kaylee, a 12-year-old reader from the Chicago area who was especially excited to meet Beautiful Creatures authors Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl. She also told us she was looking forward to a special lunch with Rachel Caine later in the day!

Kaylee with a stack of books she got signed

Then, we met superfan Hailey, age 13, who was rocking a fun animal hat, totally appropriate for meeting Colleen Houck, an author known for the amazing shifter characters in her Tiger's Curse series. Hailey told us her favorite things about Houck's books are " ... all the curses and the adventures ... and the romance." We can't argue with that!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Q&A With Julie Kagawa's Immortal Rules Character Zeke

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 30, 2013 | PERMALINK

The end of Julie Kagawa's Young Adult novel The Immortal Rules left readers wondering if they'd ever see hero Zeke again. In a world where vampires reign supreme, Zeke led a group of humans on a quest for the safe haven Eden, while getting involved with human-turned-vampire Allie. The end of book one left readers with countless questions and we're thrilled that the release day for The Eternity Cure is finally here. We had to catch up with Zeke and learn what happened to him after arriving in Eden, and RT reviewer Andye Eppes gets the details in this interview with the character. 

***

Zeke, the last time we heard from you, Allie had left you in Eden. What are things like there? Is it everything you expected?


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Aprilynne Pike's Tips For Keeping It Real In Paranormal Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 29, 2013 | PERMALINK

Author of the Wings series, among other fantasy YA titles, Aprilynne Pike certainly knows a thing or two about penning fantastic paranormal romances. But her latest release, Life After Theft, veers towards contemporary, while still maintaining a touch of supernatural flavor. Pike's newest heroine Kimberlee is a ghost who haunts her former high school. No one's the wiser until new guy Jeff shows up and reveals he can see Kimberlee. In order to move on into the afterlife, Kimberlee, with Jeff's help, must right her wrongs. Today the author shares her tips for crafting a paranormal story with a realistic feel, something that's not always an easy feat.

It’s been five years since my agent first read my manuscript of Life After Theft, but in those five years, there’s one phrase that I must have heard from her a dozen times. “It feels so real I forget that it’s paranormal.” And maybe you don’t think that’s a compliment, but I do. Because making a contemporary fantasy feel . . . well, real, is one of the hardest parts of writing it.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Kiera Cass' Love Triangle Heats Up

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 25, 2013 | PERMALINK

Last year author Kiera Cass exploded onto the young adult scene with her futuristic novel, The Selection. The story follows artist America Singer, a young lady vying for the honor of becoming the next queen by marrying Prince Maxon. The only problem — America is already in love with Aspen who is definitely NOT royal.

This bestselling novel was quickly snatched up by Hollywood and is in the process of being adapted into a television series (read more about this here).

This month Cass follows up her blockbuster with the second in the series, The Elite. Only six girls remain in the running for Maxon's engagement ring, and America is a front runner. But the question remains, will the lure of wealth and notoriety, not to mention a handsome prince, turn America's head. Or will she choose her old life and first love Aspen?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Anna Carey Looks Back On Writing Her Eve Trilogy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 23, 2013 | PERMALINK

This month marks the end of Anna Carey's Eve Trilogy with Rise. Saying goodbye to a series is always bittersweet, so we decided to ask the author to share her favorite moments from the time she spent writing the trilogy. Here's what she had to say:

I’ve never been good at creating “Favorite” lists, at narrowing down the best place I’ve been or the most delicious meal I’ve ever eaten. But as I celebrated the release of Rise, the final book in the Eve Trilogy, there were moments in this process that felt possessed by a certain magic I’d never experienced before. Here are the highlights from the past three years, from the times I’ve spent writing and loving these characters.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

What's Next For Harlequin Teen - With Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 19, 2013 | PERMALINK

At a recent event in New York City, we joined the Harlequin Teen team along with dozens of bloggers and the media to celebrate the publisher's upcoming young adult books releasing in 2013. We saw lots of friendly faces and got some great insider info on what's next for the publisher. Read on if you are ready to fill up your TBR pile and make sure to check out the end of the post where there is a chance to win the entire Iron Fey series by Harlequin Teen superstar Julie Kagawa!

Loriana Sacilotto, Harlequin Executive VP, addresses the crowd


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
11COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2013 RT Convention Guide: Why Teen Day Makes An Excellent Mother/Daughter Date

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 16, 2013 | PERMALINK

There's nothing quite as special as spending time with a loved one, and if you're the parent of a teen, you know getting quality one-on-one time with your child isn't always easy. Whether you're a mother or father looking to spend time with your daughter or son, if your kid is a bookworm, RT Booklovers Convention 2013 Teen Day, on May 4 from 11:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. would make the ideal day trip for anyone in the Kansas City area. Below are five reasons why this event can't be missed.

Teen readers with their swag bags from the 2012 Teen Day


Reason #1:

It's cheap. We know entertainment can be costly (Have you seen some of those e-book prices lately?), but for less than the cost of two movie tickets and a large popcorn, one young reader (20 or under) and their parent or chaperone can get 9 hours of mixing and mingling with their favorite authors and fellow readers. Registration is only $25 and the event lasts from 11:00 a.m. until 8:00 p.m. Have we convinced you already? Register for the event here by selecting "Teen Day Pass" from the drop-down menu.

Reason #2:


Read More>>

Tags: Convention, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Q&A: Erin Bowman On Her New Dystopian YA Taken

BY DJ DeSmyter, APRIL 16, 2013 | PERMALINK

Ever since Suzanne Collins' Hunger Games trilogy, readers have been devouring dystopian tales left and right. Now, debut author Erin Bowman has entered the arena with her highly anticipated Young Adult novel, Taken, which takes place in Claysoot, a society where boys vanish on their eighteenth birthday. Readers who have already read the book have fallen in love with Gray, the main character, and his struggle to unravel the many secrets of Claysoot. Today, Erin Bowman discusses her new book, her journey as a writer and the dystopian genre.

***

Like most writers, your love for storytelling goes back to your childhood. What is your earliest writing-related memory?

I’m not sure about my first-ever writing experience, but I can recall my first attempt at drafting a novel as a kid. In a hardcover, spiral-bound notebook, I handwrote several chapters of Sherlock Hound — à la Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes — only my crime-solving detective was a bloodhound, and Watson a beagle. If I’m remembering correctly, the basic premise involved a stolen bone.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST