RT Daily Blog

Molly McAdams' Hero Chase Writes A Special Love Note To Harper - With Exclusive Excerpt

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 10, 2013 | PERMALINK

On her own for the first time as a freshman in college, Harper from Molly McAdams' new adult novel Taking Chances deals with some major life changes. And one of the biggest is whether or not to give her heart to Chase, her roommate's older brother. The romance between Chase and Harper is not easy, but intense emotions make it impossible for them to stay apart. In Taking Chances, readers get the story from Harper's point of view, but what was Chase going through during the beginning of this tumultuous relationship? We will get to find out soon when companion novella "Stealing Harper" releases in a few weeks. But as we already know, communicating his feelings is difficult for Chase, so today this tattooed bad boy stops by the RT Daily Blog to share a mixtape he made for Harper along with a special message to show his true feelings. And then at the end of the post we have an exclusive excerpt from "Stealing Harper".


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2013: YA Authors And Readers Enjoy Teen Day

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 09, 2013 | PERMALINK

During the third annual Teen Day at the RT Booklovers Convention, readers enjoyed an entire day filled with authors, books and plenty of excitement. First young readers got a chance to buy books and get autographs in YA Alley at the Giant Book Fair. Then, attendees got to hear from authors during a series of panels, which included author speed reading, where authors read brief excerpts from their upcoming releases, and author speed dating, where fans sat and tables and authors rotated, spending some quality time with each group. Finally fans and authors headed off to the fabulous Teen Day Party. But if you couldn’t join us in Kansas City, today we bring you a peek inside the action with some photos of the fun that was had.

 

A busy YA Alley packed with readers and authors

 

Authors were on hand to sign books and chat with fans, including Jeri Smith-Ready

 

Richelle Mead had a long line of fans patiently waiting to get books signed

 


Read More>>

Tags: Convention, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Crossing Over: YA Authors Who Should Write for Adults

BY DJ DeSmyter, MAY 09, 2013 | PERMALINK

When Twilight and the Hunger Games first caused the Young Adult genre to explode, it seemed that many authors — both new and seasoned — began to realign their focus onto the teen world. Authors known for their adult work found new audiences and success with YA titles, like Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy novels or Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Chronicles of Nick prequel series. As a reader who primarily read YA, I soon found myself looking up these authors’ adult titles and it wasn’t long until I was fully immersed in both YA and adult romance.

I’m currently reading A.D. Robertson’s Captive, the first in a new erotic series by Andrea Cremer (under a different pen name) set in her Nightshade world. I am absolutely loving it and I started thinking about all the authors who write both YA and adult romances, and the YA authors I would love to see write more adult stories. So here are is my list of five YA authors I hope will cross over to the other side.

Kimberly Derting


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Veronica Roth

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 09, 2013 | PERMALINK

Young Adult author Veronica Roth, known for her award winning Divergent series, will be releasing the third in the trilogy, Allegiant, this fall. Recently the author has been on tour sharing what fans can expect as her futuristic dystopian series wraps up. In this interview at the RT Booklovers Convention last week with RT's Elissa Petruzzi, Veronica discusses heroine Tris and what makes her such a great role model. The author also reveals what it was like to visit the movie set to watch actress Shailene Woodley bring her character to life.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

J.A. Redmerski Takes Us To The Edge Of Never

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 07, 2013 | PERMALINK

The New Adult is a genre rife with stories of young 20-somethings learning more about themselves and finding lasting relationships, and in J.A. Redmerski's The Edge of Never, heroine Camryn takes a big risk that pays off. Camryn leaves her North Carolina hometown abruptly when she decides to escape on a Greyhound bus after a wild night. Little does she know that the bus will lead her straight to Andrew, a guy who pushes Camryn to do more with her life, but also harbors some deep secrets. Today the author shares how much she has in common with her impulsive heroine and how her own life influenced her story. Plus, we offer readers a chance to try the story with an excerpt at the end of this post!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2013: Moments From YA Alley

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 04, 2013 | PERMALINK

This year at the Giant Saturday Bookfair during the 2013 RT Booklovers Convention, YA Alley was the place to be if you were a young reader or simply young at heart! The area was packed full of authors, there were over 90 in attendance and authors and fans had a great time interacting. We chatted with some of the teens (and their chaperones) in attendance to get an idea of who readers were excited to meet and how young adult books have influenced their lives.

***

First, we met Kaylee, a 12-year-old reader from the Chicago area who was especially excited to meet Beautiful Creatures authors Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl. She also told us she was looking forward to a special lunch with Rachel Caine later in the day!

Kaylee with a stack of books she got signed

Then, we met superfan Hailey, age 13, who was rocking a fun animal hat, totally appropriate for meeting Colleen Houck, an author known for the amazing shifter characters in her Tiger's Curse series. Hailey told us her favorite things about Houck's books are " ... all the curses and the adventures ... and the romance." We can't argue with that!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Q&A With Julie Kagawa's Immortal Rules Character Zeke

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 30, 2013 | PERMALINK

The end of Julie Kagawa's Young Adult novel The Immortal Rules left readers wondering if they'd ever see hero Zeke again. In a world where vampires reign supreme, Zeke led a group of humans on a quest for the safe haven Eden, while getting involved with human-turned-vampire Allie. The end of book one left readers with countless questions and we're thrilled that the release day for The Eternity Cure is finally here. We had to catch up with Zeke and learn what happened to him after arriving in Eden, and RT reviewer Andye Eppes gets the details in this interview with the character. 

***

Zeke, the last time we heard from you, Allie had left you in Eden. What are things like there? Is it everything you expected?


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Aprilynne Pike's Tips For Keeping It Real In Paranormal Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 29, 2013 | PERMALINK

Author of the Wings series, among other fantasy YA titles, Aprilynne Pike certainly knows a thing or two about penning fantastic paranormal romances. But her latest release, Life After Theft, veers towards contemporary, while still maintaining a touch of supernatural flavor. Pike's newest heroine Kimberlee is a ghost who haunts her former high school. No one's the wiser until new guy Jeff shows up and reveals he can see Kimberlee. In order to move on into the afterlife, Kimberlee, with Jeff's help, must right her wrongs. Today the author shares her tips for crafting a paranormal story with a realistic feel, something that's not always an easy feat.

It’s been five years since my agent first read my manuscript of Life After Theft, but in those five years, there’s one phrase that I must have heard from her a dozen times. “It feels so real I forget that it’s paranormal.” And maybe you don’t think that’s a compliment, but I do. Because making a contemporary fantasy feel . . . well, real, is one of the hardest parts of writing it.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Kiera Cass' Love Triangle Heats Up

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 25, 2013 | PERMALINK

Last year author Kiera Cass exploded onto the young adult scene with her futuristic novel, The Selection. The story follows artist America Singer, a young lady vying for the honor of becoming the next queen by marrying Prince Maxon. The only problem — America is already in love with Aspen who is definitely NOT royal.

This bestselling novel was quickly snatched up by Hollywood and is in the process of being adapted into a television series (read more about this here).

This month Cass follows up her blockbuster with the second in the series, The Elite. Only six girls remain in the running for Maxon's engagement ring, and America is a front runner. But the question remains, will the lure of wealth and notoriety, not to mention a handsome prince, turn America's head. Or will she choose her old life and first love Aspen?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Anna Carey Looks Back On Writing Her Eve Trilogy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 23, 2013 | PERMALINK

This month marks the end of Anna Carey's Eve Trilogy with Rise. Saying goodbye to a series is always bittersweet, so we decided to ask the author to share her favorite moments from the time she spent writing the trilogy. Here's what she had to say:

I’ve never been good at creating “Favorite” lists, at narrowing down the best place I’ve been or the most delicious meal I’ve ever eaten. But as I celebrated the release of Rise, the final book in the Eve Trilogy, there were moments in this process that felt possessed by a certain magic I’d never experienced before. Here are the highlights from the past three years, from the times I’ve spent writing and loving these characters.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST