RT Daily Blog

Jessica Shirvington Hits The Road On Her First American Tour

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 21, 2012 | PERMALINK

In celebration of her latest release Entice about the adventures of Violet, a hunter of exiled angels — Australian author Jessica Shirvington is embarking on her first U.S. tour this week with stops all over the country. But her Embrace series second isn't the only thing Jessica is celebrating. The author's hot YA series is currently being developed for a TV show on The CW! Today the author shares what she's most excited about and what she hopes to experience during her U.S. tour.

I’m counting down the days to my fast approaching tour in America and whilst my dominant emotion is excitement, I am also a touch anxious and nervous. As a writer I spend a lot of time behind closed doors, my main source of company being fictional characters and the sound of a tapping keyboard. It is a quietly comforting environment, but also, as the time nears for a new book release I become overwhelmingly keen to share it with the readers I’ve always intended the stories for.


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Ten Things To Love About Ten

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 17, 2012 | PERMALINK

When RT's Elissa raved about Ten, the thrilling new YA horror story from Gretchen McNeil about a group of teens who escape to an island for a weekend-long house party — only to find their weekend ruined by a raging storm and a deadly serial killer, we knew it was special. So much so that the book was nominated for September's Seal of Excellence! Today Elissa shares why Ten is a book not to be missed. 

How much do I love Gretchen McNeil’s Ten? Let me count the ways. (Spoiler, there are 10 ways.)

1. The setting, a beautiful house on a nearly deserted island off of Seattle, is both drool-worthy (gorgeous mansion on the water) and terrifying (remote as all get out).


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Meet The Hero Of C.J. Redwine's Defiance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

New author C.J. Redwine debuts this month with Defiance, a futuristic tale set in a dystopian world where young women must obey their male protectors. When Rachel Adams' father dies, she is assigned a new protector, Logan McEntire. However, just as Rachel is no proper lady, Logan proves himself to be equally defiant. Logan is dead-set on escaping and he is determined to work with Rachel to fight their city's oppressive ruler for freedom. Today, the author tells us about Logan's background and why readers will find him so appealing. 

Logan McEntire is many things—orphan, inventor, outcast. He’s a brilliant, self-taught inventor who can discuss the laws of physics for hours but can’t figure out how to have a non-awkward conversation with a girl. He’s an opinionated boy who doesn’t speak up unless he’s sure he has something important to say. And he approaches every problem with logic and careful planning.

Basically, if MacGuyver and Sherlock Holmes had a baby, it would be Logan.


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Read An Excerpt: Tiger's Destiny By Colleen Houck

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 10, 2012 | PERMALINK

Breakout author Colleen Houck has taken the Young Adult world by storm with her Tiger's Curse series. Beginning last year with Tiger's Curse, the series introduced readers to recent high school graduate Kelsey who is ready to enjoy a typical summer after she takes a new job at a circus. However, there is nothing typical about her discovering that the circus' white tiger is actually a cursed Indian prince who is almost entirely trapped in animal form.

Adventures abound in the series starter as well as the follow up books Tiger's Quest and Tiger's Voyage. Journeying to India and beyond, Kelsey attempts to break the curse while meeting new friends and navigating relationships with two love interests.


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Review: The Raft by S.A. Bodeen

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 29, 2012 | PERMALINK

Feeling overwhelmed by the abundance of recently released young adult novels and looking for a relatable young protagonist? RT reviewer Ellen Parsons believes she has found the character for you in the pages of S.A. Bodeen’s The Raft. Heroine Robie Mitchell is an everyday sort of girl who finds herself in the most challenging of predicaments - and that’s putting it lightly. When Robie's plane goes down, she is forced to cling to the one thing keeping from a watery grave: a raft. But as the days drift on with no hope of rescue in sight, it isn’t only her life she fears losing. It’s her mind. Read on to discover why Parsons found this character and story so compelling.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sarah J. Maas On Her Teen Assassin Heroine And Throne Of Glass

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Sarah J. Maas' debut, Throne of Glass, is a stunning fantasy YA tale that not only earned a Top Pick!, but was also earned a nomination for our August Seal of Excellence Award. The story follows the adventures of young Celaena, a deadly assassin who has been imprisoned but is given a chance at freedom by her nation's prince as the king's royal assassin. She must battle 23 other people for the job, and the other competitors are just as dangerous as Celaena. Today the author reveals her inspiration behind her extraordinary heroine and the rest of the Throne of Glass universe.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Young Adult Contemporaries: Relatable Fiction for Today's Teens

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 16, 2012 | PERMALINK

As teens reluctantly head back to school this fall, they’ll luckily have a great selection of new, contemporary Young Adult reads to keep them company. With such a wide array on offer, there’s something for everyone. And these contemporary tales are sure to snag readers' attention because these stories are relatable to today’s teens — no vamps, weres or dragons in sight. Just the everyday, and not-so-everyday, issues that young adults face.

 


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Alloy Entertainment To Publish YA E-books

BY Elissa Petruzzi, AUGUST 09, 2012 | PERMALINK

Fire up your e-readers, YA fans, because some e-only titles are coming your way from publishing juggernaut Alloy. 

Alloy — think, oh, Gossip Girl, Vampire Diaries, Pretty Little Liars — is capitalizing on the growing popularity of e-books by starting an e-only initiative. “With more people turning to e-books to get their summer reading fix this season, we’re excited to offer these two perfect escapes to satisfy readers,” says Alloy Entertainment Brand Manager Kristin Marang of the titles, It’s the End of the World as We Know It by Iva-Marie Palmer, and The Art of Disappearing by Elena Perez. 

“A fan of Alloy’s TV and film content, I thought my story about a teen with emerging psychic powers would connect with their audience,” says Perez of the title, which tells the tale of a high school girl whose dream predicts the death of a classmate. The End of the World As We Know It, meanwhile, is billed as “The Breakfast Club meets War of the Worlds.”


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, Young Adult
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: Suzanne Lazear

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 07, 2012 | PERMALINK
Name: Suzanne Lazear

Book: Innocent Darkness

Current Home: Los Angeles

Author Icon: Kim Harrison

Number of manuscripts hidden under the bed: Nine. It took me awhile to realize that books needed plots.

What was it like writing Innocent Darkness? What was the easiest part? The most difficult?

I wrote Innocent Darkness in two chunks - the first part was during one of Candace Haven's fast draft classes, the second part during NaNoWriMo of 2009. Writing large amounts of words each day - especially with a job and a family - can be really stressful. I remember having an 8k goal on Thanksgiving, as I desperately tried to finish the book during NaNoWriMo so I could enter it in the Golden Heart awards. Not getting distracted by research was also hard, giving that it's set in a quasi-Victorian alternate version of 1901 Los Angeles and San Francisco and the realm of faerie, I had to do a ton of research as I wrote. The characters were the easy part, Noli, V, and even Kevighn, just sort of leapt onto the page from my imagination.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Neil Gaiman To Pen Five Books For Kids

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 25, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Neil Gaiman has made a name for himself with several adult series, standalones and graphic novels. He also has produced works for young readers, such as his acclaimed story Coraline, which was recently adapted into a popular movie, and the award-winning 2010, The Graveyard Book. So we were thrilled to hear the news that this best selling author will be turning his full attention to children's books. Gaiman has just signed a five-book deal with HarperCollins Children's Books division. It includes two picture books and three novels for ‘tween readers, otherwise known as middle-grade books.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST