RT Daily Blog

Harry Potter Director Chris Columbus To Pen Middle Grade Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

Harry Potter film director Chris Columbus is taking on a new medium to express his next story for young minds, books. Columbus will be team up with author Ned Vizzini for a new middle grade fantasy series from HarperCollins, called House of Secrets.

The series will follow the Pagett family as they move into the Kristoff House, a mansion that used to belong to an author of fantasy books. The author is gone, but the house is still full of spooky feelings. And it soon becomes apparent that there truly are dark forces afoot. But can the siblings uncover the location of a powerful book in time to save their parents’ lives? We know the answers won't come quickly, the co-written series is contracted to be at least three books long.

Chris Columbus spoke with Entertainment Weekly about the project and said that the decision to co-write with Ned Vizzini was his idea. Vizzini's previous writing spoke to Columbus, he told them, “I loved his voice, I loved that he had a real strong ear, I loved his youthfulness, his strong ear for teenage dialogue, and I thought it would be good to partner with someone who has a real sense of contemporary culture and a real imagination.” 


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Hunger Games Series Gets An Official Guide!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 10, 2012 | PERMALINK

The ever popular YA series Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins is getting an official guide, The World of the Hunger Games. This guide will take fans inside the districts of Panem and beyond. The focus will, of course, be on heroine Katniss Everdeen who is forced to fight in the deadly Games in order to save her younger sister. However, readers will also get to learn more about other teen participants from the Games.  

The World of the Hunger Games was written by the Scholastic publishing team that worked on the series with Collins, and the book will also include additional material from the author herself. The cover features Jennifer Lawrence, aka Katnis and Josh Hutcherson, who plays Peeta in the movie. And of course, the flaming Mockingjay symbol is up front and center.

The official guide will be released on March 23, the same day the film will be in theaters. 


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

What To Do While Waiting For John Green's Latest — Updated 1/10/2012

BY Elissa Petruzzi, JANUARY 10, 2012 | PERMALINK

BLOG UPDATE 1/10/2012: We're happy to announce that the wait is over and John Green's newest novel, The Fault in Our Stars is now available. You can check out the *Web Exclusive Review* of the story to find out why RT's Raven gave this read a Top Pick! And if you didn't have time to take RT Editor Elissa's suggestions of things to do while waiting for The Fault in Our Stars' pub date, be sure to check out these options for a post-read fix of John Green-greatness ...


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Robin Bridges On Her Historical Paranormal Russian YA — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 10, 2012 | PERMALINK

Debut author Robin Bridges hits the ground running with this month's release The Gathering Storm, the first in her Katerina Trilogy. The story follows Katerina Alexandrovna, teen Duchess of Oldenberg, who has the supernatural ability to raise the dead. Inspired by Russian fairy tales and Slavic mythology, Bridges shares how she penned such a unique, magical tale in this exclusive interview. And then be sure to check out an excerpt of the story and enter to win your own copy of The Gathering Storm below!

RT BOOK REVIEWS: The Katerina Trilogy is all about Katerina Alexandrovna, the teenage Duchess of Oldenberg. What first intrigued you about her character? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
16COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five On Friday: Young Adult Edition

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2012 | PERMALINK

As 2012 gets under way, today’s Five on Friday: Young Adult Edition features authors we love that have just announced new projects. From paranormal to historical and every subgenre in between, these projects have us anxious for their release dates!

Author Joy Preble had a strong presence on bookshelves last year with her Dreaming Anastasia trilogy. Now she’s hard at work on The Sweet Dead Life about a teenage stoner who becomes his dying sister’s guardian angel after he is killed in a car crash. But will this duo be able to unravel a dark family mystery? Unfortunately, we will have to wait until Spring 2013 to find out!

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children was a smash hit in 2011 and so we were thrilled to learn that not only will there be a film adaptation, but that the book’s author Ransom Riggs is hard at work on Arcanum the tale of two teenage brothers who unearth several sinister magical artifacts and become the target of a mysterious killer. Fans can expect to see this tale in stores in 2014.


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Exclusive: Author Colleen Houck On The Upcoming Tiger’s Curse Movie

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 04, 2012 | PERMALINK

We were thrilled to learn that Colleen Houck’s YA novel Tiger’s Curse has been purchased by Paramount Pictures for a film adaptation. The story about a girl and the two Indian princes she is trying to save from an ancient curse has garnered immense publicity — and quite a cult following — over the last year. And the audience for the book is about to get bigger when the story is adapted for the big screen, so in order to get a jump start on the excitement, we went straight to the author herself to find out more about the film project. 

***

RT: In the best of all worlds, who would you see playing the characters from Tiger's Curse?

Colleen Houck: I don't really have any specific actors I'd like to see in the different roles but I would want a cast that can not only capture the imagination in fast-paced action scenes but who would also capture the hearts of the viewers. 

RT: As you were writing the story did you imagine it playing out on stage in your head?

CH: I think I'm a visual learner, so for me, I imagine a scene first and then figure out how to break it down into a linear language. I've always believed that the Tiger Series lends itself very easily to a visual medium.


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Holiday Gift Guide: For The Young Adult Fans On Your List

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

It’s that time of year again, when you’ve got to make a list and check it twice to figure out what you’re going to get your loved ones. But don’t worry, we’re here to help with suggestions for each type of person on your list. Today we bring you our top suggestions of what to get for the hard to gift-to Young Adult reader in your life …


Novel Ideas:

Hey, allowance only goes so far when buying books (and every booklover knows, it never goes far enough) so thrill the reader on your list by picking them up one of these snazzy gift sets! You are sure to score a smile with the Hunger Games Box Set from Suzanne Collins, but if your reader is already wise to the ways of Katniss and co., there are many other options out there. The fantasy lover is sure to enjoy the Christopher Paolini box set. This Cassandra Clare e-book collection will thrill the adventure seeking paranormal reader. But if your reader prefers a contemporary story, you’ll be a star with either this Pretty Little Liars set, this Gallagher Girls set or this Gossip Girl book bundle. Alternatively, you can keep it classic by gifting this fantastic (and shockingly inexpensive) collection of LM Montgomery works — including the Anne of Green Gables tales that made her famous!

And just like there are a variety of books, there are a variety of bookplates for every reader’s growing library. For the fantasy fan we love this epic looking Bird Queen and these vintage Jungle plates. The mystery reader will get inspired by this Magnifying Glass design that proudly pronounces who the book belongs to. Alternatively, the contemporary reader will adore this collection of preppy and fun plaid woodland animal plates. And we think that the paranormal enthusiast it could go either way, for the dark and disturbing tales, these masquerading women will inspire gothic daydreams but the reader who seeks softer supernatural stories is likely to prefer these fairies. And of course you can always opt to stay genre-neutral with these classic ex libris plates, the timeless Alice in Wonderland inspired prints or this fun personalized stamp.


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords: A Look At Upcoming Contemporary YA Novels

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Inspired by yesterday's post from RT's Elissa about the trend she’s seeing in contemporary Young Adult titles, today we’ve picked ten upcoming contemporary reads with intricate titles (and intriguing premises) that have us anxious for their publication!

My Yiddish Vacation, the forthcoming book by actor/ author Ione Skye (best known for her roles in Say Anything and Arrested Development) recounts a weekend that a young girl and her brother spend with their Jewish grandparents. It’s Yiddish galore for this new read that will be illustrated by Scott Menchin. Publication date TBA.

Nicole McInnes’ Brianna on the Brink introduces readers to sixteen-year-old Brianna, who has a one-night stand that turns her into a soon-to-be teen mom. Now she must figure out who to trust when an unlikely ally steps up but can she step away from her fear of the unknown to embrace an uncertain future? Readers will find out in Fall 2013 when the book hits shelves!


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Trend Alert: Return Of The YA Contemporaries

BY Elissa Petruzzi, DECEMBER 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

Young adult contemporaries are coming back! Have you heard? No? Probably because ... this is just a theory that I have. But as RT's YA editor, I also have a pretty accurate sense of the upcoming young adult fiction scene. And I'm excited to tell you that amongst the paranormal, dystopia, fantasy trilogies that keep on keepin' on (and don't get me wrong, some of them are just delicious), contemporaries are returning.

And just how are you going to tell when the contemporaries arrive? Well, for one thing? They all have awfully long titles as of late, as opposed to paranormal YA, which has been recently rocking the one-word titles. Don't believe me? Let’s go to the shelves!


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2011 Goodreads Choice Awards Winners Announced

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

Over 600,000 Goodreads users have voted, and their picks for best books of 2011 have been announced!

Goodreads is a social networking site (and bookworm heaven!) for readers, authors and publishers to share their favorite reads, write reviews and discover new books. With over 6.5 million users, the site has established itself as one of the largest communities of online readers to share their thoughts and where authors and publishers to determine what’s working and what isn’t based on reader input. The Goodreads Choice Awards are a prime example of crowd sourcing valuable fan opinions.

Several of our favorite authors won Goodreads awards this year, with tremendous representation from the Young Adult genre. Here are some notable YA wins for the 2011 Goodreads Choice Awards:

Best Book of the Year: Divergent by Veronica Roth (this title also won best YA sci fi/fantasy)

Best Author of the Year: Cassandra Clare, author of The Mortal Instruments series

Best YA Fiction: Where She Went by Gayle Forman


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST