RT Daily Blog

Jasper Fforde's Paranormal YA Series Is Coming To The U.S.

BY Elissa Petruzzi, JANUARY 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

Clear your September schedule, friends, because you're going to be busy reading Jasper Fforde's debut YA, The Last Dragonslayer. That's right: Jasper Fforde — whom you already love from his Thursday Next series, where he introduces readers to an alternate reality where people keep dodos as pets, cavemen are second citizens and people fall in and out of books — is writing YA. And it sounds amazing. We can't wait.

The series stars Jennifer Strange, a teen who runs Kazam Mystical Arts Management, a company which, according to the author's website, uses "the now-failing power of wizards to do such mundane jobs as installing domestic electrical circuits by telepathy or delivering live organs by flying carpet." See, the magic in Jennifer's world is fading, until suddenly it's not.


Read More>>

Tags: Science Fiction, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Figment Recruits Bestselling Authors To Help Aspiring Writers Start 2012 Off Right!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 19, 2012 | PERMALINK

Figment, the online community for writers, is helping aspiring authors follow through on their New Year's resolution to write more. The beginning of the month marked the start of their new program Daily Themes, which provides writers with a daily prompt to help inspire their creativity. And to make the news even better, many of these prompts have been crafted by bestselling authors!

It's no secret, sometimes it's hard to take the often-repeated advice, "write every day". If you just can't manage to make writing a habit without some extra incentive, Figment's new, easy-to-use Daily Themes will help you get your creativity in gear during the week. The editors at the online community are making getting inspired just as simple as opening an email. Daily Theme subscribers receive a new writing prompt in their inbox Monday through Friday.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT's Elissa Reports Back From Twilight: The Musical

BY Elissa Petruzzi, JANUARY 17, 2012 | PERMALINK

Twilight: the Musical? That’s right, that most angsty of paranormal love stories, featuring Bella, Edward and Jacob has hit the stage — complete with songs like “Supernatural Love Triangle,” “Die Bella Die” and “I Imprinted on an Infant.”

The resulting stage read, performed last night at New World Stages in Manhattan, delighted Twilight fans and detractors alike. Indeed the tagline for the production, directed by Gabriel Barre, promises “If you love Twilight, you’ll love this musical. If you hate Twilight, you’ll love this musical” — and judging from the cheers and laughs from the audience, it delivered. Though the actors rehearsed together for only 24 hours, the cast members — who donated their time to the show, which benefited the charity Blessings in a Backpack — gamely sang and danced their undead hearts out. Colin Hanlon (literally) sparkled as Edward, Jared Zirilli flexed his pecs as an earnest Jacob and Meghann Fahy’s Bella made you understand just why all those guys were gaga for Miss Swan in the first place.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Harry Potter Director Chris Columbus To Pen Middle Grade Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

Harry Potter film director Chris Columbus is taking on a new medium to express his next story for young minds, books. Columbus will be team up with author Ned Vizzini for a new middle grade fantasy series from HarperCollins, called House of Secrets.

The series will follow the Pagett family as they move into the Kristoff House, a mansion that used to belong to an author of fantasy books. The author is gone, but the house is still full of spooky feelings. And it soon becomes apparent that there truly are dark forces afoot. But can the siblings uncover the location of a powerful book in time to save their parents’ lives? We know the answers won't come quickly, the co-written series is contracted to be at least three books long.

Chris Columbus spoke with Entertainment Weekly about the project and said that the decision to co-write with Ned Vizzini was his idea. Vizzini's previous writing spoke to Columbus, he told them, “I loved his voice, I loved that he had a real strong ear, I loved his youthfulness, his strong ear for teenage dialogue, and I thought it would be good to partner with someone who has a real sense of contemporary culture and a real imagination.” 


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Hunger Games Series Gets An Official Guide!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 10, 2012 | PERMALINK

The ever popular YA series Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins is getting an official guide, The World of the Hunger Games. This guide will take fans inside the districts of Panem and beyond. The focus will, of course, be on heroine Katniss Everdeen who is forced to fight in the deadly Games in order to save her younger sister. However, readers will also get to learn more about other teen participants from the Games.  

The World of the Hunger Games was written by the Scholastic publishing team that worked on the series with Collins, and the book will also include additional material from the author herself. The cover features Jennifer Lawrence, aka Katnis and Josh Hutcherson, who plays Peeta in the movie. And of course, the flaming Mockingjay symbol is up front and center.

The official guide will be released on March 23, the same day the film will be in theaters. 


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

What To Do While Waiting For John Green's Latest — Updated 1/10/2012

BY Elissa Petruzzi, JANUARY 10, 2012 | PERMALINK

BLOG UPDATE 1/10/2012: We're happy to announce that the wait is over and John Green's newest novel, The Fault in Our Stars is now available. You can check out the *Web Exclusive Review* of the story to find out why RT's Raven gave this read a Top Pick! And if you didn't have time to take RT Editor Elissa's suggestions of things to do while waiting for The Fault in Our Stars' pub date, be sure to check out these options for a post-read fix of John Green-greatness ...


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Robin Bridges On Her Historical Paranormal Russian YA — With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 10, 2012 | PERMALINK

Debut author Robin Bridges hits the ground running with this month's release The Gathering Storm, the first in her Katerina Trilogy. The story follows Katerina Alexandrovna, teen Duchess of Oldenberg, who has the supernatural ability to raise the dead. Inspired by Russian fairy tales and Slavic mythology, Bridges shares how she penned such a unique, magical tale in this exclusive interview. And then be sure to check out an excerpt of the story and enter to win your own copy of The Gathering Storm below!

RT BOOK REVIEWS: The Katerina Trilogy is all about Katerina Alexandrovna, the teenage Duchess of Oldenberg. What first intrigued you about her character? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
16COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five On Friday: Young Adult Edition

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2012 | PERMALINK

As 2012 gets under way, today’s Five on Friday: Young Adult Edition features authors we love that have just announced new projects. From paranormal to historical and every subgenre in between, these projects have us anxious for their release dates!

Author Joy Preble had a strong presence on bookshelves last year with her Dreaming Anastasia trilogy. Now she’s hard at work on The Sweet Dead Life about a teenage stoner who becomes his dying sister’s guardian angel after he is killed in a car crash. But will this duo be able to unravel a dark family mystery? Unfortunately, we will have to wait until Spring 2013 to find out!

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children was a smash hit in 2011 and so we were thrilled to learn that not only will there be a film adaptation, but that the book’s author Ransom Riggs is hard at work on Arcanum the tale of two teenage brothers who unearth several sinister magical artifacts and become the target of a mysterious killer. Fans can expect to see this tale in stores in 2014.


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Exclusive: Author Colleen Houck On The Upcoming Tiger’s Curse Movie

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 04, 2012 | PERMALINK

We were thrilled to learn that Colleen Houck’s YA novel Tiger’s Curse has been purchased by Paramount Pictures for a film adaptation. The story about a girl and the two Indian princes she is trying to save from an ancient curse has garnered immense publicity — and quite a cult following — over the last year. And the audience for the book is about to get bigger when the story is adapted for the big screen, so in order to get a jump start on the excitement, we went straight to the author herself to find out more about the film project. 

***

RT: In the best of all worlds, who would you see playing the characters from Tiger's Curse?

Colleen Houck: I don't really have any specific actors I'd like to see in the different roles but I would want a cast that can not only capture the imagination in fast-paced action scenes but who would also capture the hearts of the viewers. 

RT: As you were writing the story did you imagine it playing out on stage in your head?

CH: I think I'm a visual learner, so for me, I imagine a scene first and then figure out how to break it down into a linear language. I've always believed that the Tiger Series lends itself very easily to a visual medium.


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Holiday Gift Guide: For The Young Adult Fans On Your List

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

It’s that time of year again, when you’ve got to make a list and check it twice to figure out what you’re going to get your loved ones. But don’t worry, we’re here to help with suggestions for each type of person on your list. Today we bring you our top suggestions of what to get for the hard to gift-to Young Adult reader in your life …


Novel Ideas:

Hey, allowance only goes so far when buying books (and every booklover knows, it never goes far enough) so thrill the reader on your list by picking them up one of these snazzy gift sets! You are sure to score a smile with the Hunger Games Box Set from Suzanne Collins, but if your reader is already wise to the ways of Katniss and co., there are many other options out there. The fantasy lover is sure to enjoy the Christopher Paolini box set. This Cassandra Clare e-book collection will thrill the adventure seeking paranormal reader. But if your reader prefers a contemporary story, you’ll be a star with either this Pretty Little Liars set, this Gallagher Girls set or this Gossip Girl book bundle. Alternatively, you can keep it classic by gifting this fantastic (and shockingly inexpensive) collection of LM Montgomery works — including the Anne of Green Gables tales that made her famous!

And just like there are a variety of books, there are a variety of bookplates for every reader’s growing library. For the fantasy fan we love this epic looking Bird Queen and these vintage Jungle plates. The mystery reader will get inspired by this Magnifying Glass design that proudly pronounces who the book belongs to. Alternatively, the contemporary reader will adore this collection of preppy and fun plaid woodland animal plates. And we think that the paranormal enthusiast it could go either way, for the dark and disturbing tales, these masquerading women will inspire gothic daydreams but the reader who seeks softer supernatural stories is likely to prefer these fairies. And of course you can always opt to stay genre-neutral with these classic ex libris plates, the timeless Alice in Wonderland inspired prints or this fun personalized stamp.


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST