RT Daily Blog

Lucky 13: Our Most Anticipated Young Adult Books Coming in 2013

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 14, 2013 | PERMALINK

With a new year comes resolutions, new beginnings and best of all ... new books! This month we'll be sharing thirteen titles across the genres we're looking forward to in 2013, continuing with Young Adult releases! So just in case your TBR list wasn't already a mile long, here are a dozen (plus one!) YA titles we're anticipating in 2013:


 

Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

Releases February 2013

We are thrilled that in Marissa Meyer’s second Lunar Chronicles outing we don’t have just one heroine to root for, but two! Yes, Cinder, the cyborg with a heart of gold and a spine of steel, is back and ready to break herself out of prison. But in whole other country there is another heroine, Scarlet, also fighting for survival in this futuristic world ruled by the evil Lunar Queen.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Q&A With Rise Author Andrea Cremer

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 09, 2013 | PERMALINK

Fans of author Andrea Cremer's Nightshade trilogy were thrilled last year when the author released Rift, a prequel to her paranormal series. The novel, set in a past filled with witches and warlocks, follows Ember and Barrow as they risk everything to be together. The sequel to Rift, Rise, released yesterday and continues this couple's story. Today the author answers our questions about Ember and Barrow, what it was like writing a historical setting and if there are any more Nightshade stories in her (and our!) future.

***

You debuted in 2010 with the Nightshade series. After the trilogy's riveting ending you decided to write a prequel to the series. What made you realize that Ember and Barrow needed their own story? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

E-Sale: Paranormal Young Adult Titles

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 02, 2013 | PERMALINK

Looking for some great digital books to fill up that brand new e-reader you got for the holidays? Then check out these otherworldly YA titles that are on e-sale. With some kick-butt heroines, crazy talents and futuristic settings, these tales are for both young adults and the young at heart.

***

Nominated for an RT Reviewers' Choice Award for Best YA Paranormal/Urban Fantasy read of 2012, Melissa Marr's Carnival of Souls was one of the standout novels of last year. When you download this book, make sure you are ready to be immersed in a futuristic world where teens, helped by magical heritages, fight in a fatal Competition in order to break out of their designated castes.

Purchase for $1.99 from Amazon or Barnes & Noble


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Editors' Best of 2012: Elissa's Picks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 26, 2012 | PERMALINK

This blog post is part of a series that the RT Editors will be taking part in during the month of December. Please check back all month long for each editor's installment!

***

With 2012 winding down, the RT editors thought December would be a good time to reflect on what each of us read this year and which books stuck with us long after we finished them. While this year's RT Awards winners won't be announced until our convention in May, we've decided to share our personal favorites of 2012, in no particular order. Today RT's YA editor Elissa Petruzzi brings us her year in books:

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Young Adult Fiction Bestseller List From The NYT

BY Morgan Doremus, DECEMBER 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

Kids these days, they have it so good. With their fancy smart phones, instantly downloadable movies and books written just for them. When I was younger, we had corded phones, VHS tapes and the book situation … not so good. I distinctly remember going from the middle grade Baby-sitters Club and Nancy Drew series right into the adult romances of Jude Deveraux and Julie Garwood. There just didn’t seem to be much reading material for those “in between” years. But about a decade ago, this all started to change. The young adult genre, geared specifically towards teens, exploded with dozens of bestselling books that included real life issues that high schoolers face. Then the paranormal and dystopian phenomenons Twilight and The Hunger Games hit and there was no looking back for YA.

While everyone in the industry knows that these types of books are here to stay, this week The New York Times helped to solidify all things young adult when the newspaper announced that it would be splitting up its children’s chapter book bestseller list into a middle grade and young adult categories beginning on December 16th.

Interested in finding out which YA books are being bought up? Don’t wait until Sunday — I’ve got the inside scoop on the very first young adult bestseller list from the NYT and I've found some very interesting trends ...

Authors With Multiple Titles


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, Young Adult
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cora Carmack On The Awkward, Lovable Heroine Of Losing It

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 06, 2012 | PERMALINK

If you hadn't already heard, "New Adult" is the latest genre craze sweeping the publishing industry. Featuring slightly older protagonists than the ones you find in traditional YA stories, new adult heroes and heroines are usually college-aged, ranging from 19 to 21. You can check out our feature on the genre in the February 2013 issue of RT, but in the meantime we decided to ask New Adult author Cora Carmack to learn more about her latest release, Losing It. Bliss Edwards is a senior in college and still has her virginity, but not for long! Bliss is determined to lose it, and spots the perfect guy to help her. But her nerves get the best of her and she leaves the stranger alone in her bed — only to discover that he's her new theater professor! The author shares what made writing this awkward heroine so fun, and how she can relate:

We’ve all been that person.

Tripping in the lunchroom. Walking in on someone in the bathroom. Thinking a guy is checking you out, when he’s totally checking out the girl behind you.

These things happen. They are the awkward facts of life. I’ve been there… A LOT.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Suzanne Collins Goes To War In Her Upcoming Picture Book

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 30, 2012 | PERMALINK

While many children’s authors are turning their attention to penning “New Adult” works that target older teens and college aged readers, bestselling author of the Hunger Games series, Suzanne Collins, has decided to focus on the younger crowd. Yesterday Collins’ publisher, Scholastic, announced that the author is collaborating with illustrator James Proimos to write an autobiographical picture book titled Year of the Jungle.

However, while Collins’ audience will be younger, the topic of war will still be the main thrust of her writing. Year of the Jungle, set to release on September 10, 2013, focuses on a young girl named Suzy as she struggles with father deployed to Vietnam. In a statement, David Levithan, editorial director at Scholastic, says that the tone for this picture book will be appropriate for a younger age group and Collins is able to portray the effect of war as “sympathetic rather than scary, relatable rather than raw.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Paranormal Young Adult Series Starters On Our Radar

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 29, 2012 | PERMALINK

Launching this month are several great YA series. The three we are highlighting today are all thrilling paranormal reads that pit teen protagonists against life-changing (and many times life-threatening) obstacles. Looking for some new Young Adult reads to add to your TBR pile? Then read on to learn more about the dark, disturbing yet highly entertaining worlds you will want to visit next!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

More Of RT's 2012 Award Nominees - Young Adult

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 05, 2012 | PERMALINK

This week RT BOOK REVIEWS is revealing our nominees for 2012 Reviewers' Choice Awards. (We have already listed our Historical Romance picks here, with other genres including Paranormal, Mystery, Contemporary Romance and more to come later this week.) But right now, we are focused on the young — and the young at heart — when we share our picks for the best Young Adult novels of the year. Readers can click on the book covers below to learn more about the book including the RT review, summary and rating.

***

 

Nominated for Young Adult Contemporary Novel


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
15COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Young Adult Author Lea Nolan Conjures Up Some Hoodoo - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 30, 2012 | PERMALINK
Looking to stay safe on All Hallow's Eve? Author Lea Nolan has some advice. Today she shares her best tricks for combating things that go bump in the night. And just how did Nolan learn these otherworldly tips? She gained her knowledge while researching her debut novel Conjure. Featuring an ancient Gullah curse, a flesh-eating creature and lots of magic, this novel will have readers glad that they have this helpful guide on combating evil! And after reading Nolan's tips, make sure to enter the giveaway at the end of the post for a chance to win a copy of Conjure!  

Halloween is upon us and it’s got me thinking about scary things. Sure, doling out candy to hordes of mini-monsters, superheroes, and princesses can be terrifying, but I’m talking about the really frightening stuff: ghosts, ghouls, and goblins, and anything else that might be lurking in the dim, waiting to jump out and snatch you when you least expect it. 

Luckily, I’ve got a few hoodoo charms and spells up my sleeve that might help you combat these and other baddies. What’s hoodoo? And does it have anything to do with voodoo? I’m glad you asked! 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
14COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST