RT Daily Blog

Debut Author Spotlight: Suzanne Lazear

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 07, 2012 | PERMALINK
Name: Suzanne Lazear

Book: Innocent Darkness

Current Home: Los Angeles

Author Icon: Kim Harrison

Number of manuscripts hidden under the bed: Nine. It took me awhile to realize that books needed plots.

What was it like writing Innocent Darkness? What was the easiest part? The most difficult?

I wrote Innocent Darkness in two chunks - the first part was during one of Candace Haven's fast draft classes, the second part during NaNoWriMo of 2009. Writing large amounts of words each day - especially with a job and a family - can be really stressful. I remember having an 8k goal on Thanksgiving, as I desperately tried to finish the book during NaNoWriMo so I could enter it in the Golden Heart awards. Not getting distracted by research was also hard, giving that it's set in a quasi-Victorian alternate version of 1901 Los Angeles and San Francisco and the realm of faerie, I had to do a ton of research as I wrote. The characters were the easy part, Noli, V, and even Kevighn, just sort of leapt onto the page from my imagination.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Neil Gaiman To Pen Five Books For Kids

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 25, 2012 | PERMALINK

Author Neil Gaiman has made a name for himself with several adult series, standalones and graphic novels. He also has produced works for young readers, such as his acclaimed story Coraline, which was recently adapted into a popular movie, and the award-winning 2010, The Graveyard Book. So we were thrilled to hear the news that this best selling author will be turning his full attention to children's books. Gaiman has just signed a five-book deal with HarperCollins Children's Books division. It includes two picture books and three novels for ‘tween readers, otherwise known as middle-grade books.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Amy Lignor On Her YA Debut Until Next Time

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 25, 2012 | PERMALINK

New author Amy Lignor's YA debut, Until Next Time, kicks off her Angel Chronicles series. The story follows angel pair Matt and Emily as they go to earth in order to protect humans. Inhabiting the bodies of their assigned mortals, this supernatural team experiences an array of human emotions that threatens to complicate both their jobs and their relationship. Today the author reveals more about Matt and Emily and their heavenly adventures. 

To me, angels were always unlike the other mystical and/or paranormal characters that seem to be all the rage, simply because this is one particular entity where a writer has to walk a very fine line. Some will say angels are automatically religious or inspirational, whereas others will want to see only the ‘fallen’ and their trials and tribulations.

When the angel/warrior team of Matthew and Emily came to me I was only thirteen (seeing as that I’m forty-two now, I would say the duo really had time to sink in).


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Sweet Life On The Big Screen: What's Next For Francine Pascal's Sweet Valley Saga

BY Elissa Petruzzi, JULY 24, 2012 | PERMALINK

For a generation of women, Elizabeth and Jessica Wakefield were it. Their blonde hair, their size-six frames, their high jinks — we loved everything about them. Which is why the twins’ recent resurgence, thanks to creator Francine Pascal’s 2011 sequel Sweet Valley Confidential: Ten Years Later, as well as her current e-serial, The Sweet Life, has been greeted with such excitement.

Seeing Jessica, Elizabeth and the gang navigate their 20s has been tons of fun, but if you’d prefer a throwback to the old days, look no further than Diablo Cody’s upcoming film adaptation of our favorite twins, which Pascal told us all about at the recent RT Convention in Chicago.

“Diablo has been a fan for years,” Pascal said. “When we first met she was so nervous. I just loved her. She’s got humor, wit and heart.”

Cody’s adaptation focuses on the plot of one of the best Sweet Valley Highs (if we do say so ourselves), No. 7, Dear Sister — where Elizabeth, after a motorcycle accident, awakens from a coma behaving like her erstwhile twin Jessica. “She becomes more Jessica than Jessica!” Pascal laughed.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Industry Innovation: The Cassandra Clare Cover Reveal Leaves Fans Buzzing

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

Once again, the Young Adult genre is innovating the publishing industry. For the cover reveal for Cassandra Clare’s new Infernal Devices book, Clockwork Princess, publisher Simon and Schuster hosted a new type of release, one that certainly garnered a lot of interest.

Clare’s Mortal Instruments books are one of the young adult genre’s most popular long-running series, and the Infernal Devices books are the prequel stories to this series. However, books one and two have been equally popular. (Infernal Devices book one, Clockwork Angel got an RT Top Pick! review and a nomination for a 2010 RT Reviewers’ Choice Award.) So we are not surprised that the artwork for Clockwork Princess, which will hit stores in early March 2013, has fans buzzing. However, we certainly didn’t expect to be treated to such an exciting cover release.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cat Kalen Introduces Her New Heroine

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 19, 2012 | PERMALINK

We were intrigued when RT reviewer Amy raved that Cat Kalen's self-published series first was something special. "Completely different from the other werewolf novels out there, this one's a keeper," she said about Pride's Run. Teen shifter heroine Pride is trapped by a cruel master, but when her life is on the line will this runt of the litter decide that it's time to take control of her life? With this intriguing premise in mind, we went straight to the author to find out just what it is that inspired her heroine.

People have been fascinated by werewolves for years. Pride’s Run, the first book in my Wolf’s Pride series offers a deeper focus, a situation that seems to have caught the curiosity of readers, especially when they understand these wolves have been confined their whole lives and used as assassins by a cruel drug lord master.


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Young Adult
12COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Diva Author Jillian Larkin Shares Ten 1920s Phrases You Should Know

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

If you're looking to be transported back to the glitz and glamour of Prohibition era America, Jillian Larkin's The Flappers series will give you an inside look at the classy lives of 1920s girls. The last in the series, Diva, follows teens Clare, Gloria and Lorraine as they shake up Manhattan and experience a whirlwind adventure. But we all know any historical fiction wouldn't be complete without the lingo of the period, so today the author shares some of her favorite 1920s slang and why they should make a comeback!

Thanks to The Flappers series, I’ve spent a decent portion of the past few years wandering through a time period that looked and sounded quite different from our own. Legs were gams, cigarettes were butts, and there were so many names for alcohol that it often proved difficult to choose between them.


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Michele Jaffe Talks Ghost Flower And Beyond!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 06, 2012 | PERMALINK

If you're hunting for that perfect beach book, we suggest that readers of all ages take a peek at author Michele Jaffe's summer 2012 release, Ghost Flower. This YA mystery won RT's Seal of Excellence in May and we can't get the compelling tale out of our heads. So for all those readers who haven't checked out this story about a runaway who assumes the identity of a missing rich girl, today we're bringing you an interview with the author! At the 2012 RT Booklovers Convention, Jaffe sat down with RT's Elissa to talk about how stealing someone's identity means changing yourself — sometimes in fundamental ways. But that's not all the pair discuss. Get an insider's look at Ghost Flower and then find out what Jaffe is working on next. (Here's a hint: this adult book will include Nazis, a New York socialite and the cabaret!)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Veronica Roth

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 28, 2012 | PERMALINK

YA author Veronica Roth stole our hearts with last year's Divergent series starter. The book, by the same name, won the 2011 RT Reviewers' Choice Award for best Young Adult protagonist. Roth recently released book two, Insurgent and so we're pleased to bring you this RT-exclusive interview with the author to give you a special insider's look at the series. Roth sat down with RT's Elissa during the 2012 RT Booklovers Convention to go in-depth about this popular series. The author talks about the factions (and the factionless) and delivering the same kind of emotional high stakes in book two, or a situation that will put Tris in the middle of what Roth calls, "a big, exploding kablooie of awful." Plus, the author chats about why she'd make a horrible Dauntless faction member and shares which question fans ask her the most. (Hint: It has to do with one very intriguing character we all love!)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Andrea Cremer On Her New Release Rift And An Exclusive Cover Reveal Of The Sequel Rise

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 27, 2012 | PERMALINK

Andrea Cremer has dazzled YA fans with her Nightshade series, which follows the supernatural adventures of Guardian wolf shifter Calla and her human love interest Shay. But for readers who are curious about the origins of the magic that fills the Nightshade books, Cremer has penned the Nightshade prequel Rift, which takes place hundreds of years before the first Nightshade book. Today the author shares how Rift ties into the Nightshade series, what readers can expect from the prequel and we give you an exclusive first look at the cover of Rift's sequel, Rise!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
19COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST