RT Daily Blog

Sybil Bartel Reveals Why Bad Boys Are So Loveable

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 23, 2014 | PERMALINK

There's no denying that bad boys are irresistible, even to those of us who "know better" than to get involved with one. With their devilish charms and looks, they pull us in and we fall without hesitation. But why? New Adult author Sybil Bartel knows a thing or two about bad boys, especially since her latest book, No Apologies, stars Graham Allen, a bad boy through and through. We tasked Sybil with figuring out why readers love bad boys so much. Here's what she had to say:

Cover of No Apologies by Sybil Bartel Why are these heroes so appealing?

It’s that moment. That moment when your heart is racing, your breath is ragged and you can’t think one second beyond the page in front of you. He’s broken and damaged and oh so hot, he makes your knees weak. You’re questioning your sanity, you’re biting your lip and then you do what you know you never should. You give your heart away.

Why? Because you can’t resist. He’s just. That. Bad. Tall and muscular, demanding and unattainable, he’ll never apologize for his behavior and he’ll leave you with nothing — nothing except the desire for more.

We love our literary bad boys.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Giveaway: Signed Copy of Four: A Divergent Collection by Veronica Roth

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

source

What's got Theo James dancing all crazy? Well, it very well could be today's giveaway. Up for grabs is one signed copy of Veronica Roth's Four: A Divergent Collection. Yes, you read that right. A signed book all about Divergent's hunky hero, Four! The new collection, which releases July 8, features four short stories and additional exclusive scenes told from Four's point-of-view, which give readers a fresh and exciting new look at the hero and world they've come to love.

To enter, simply use the widget below! This contest is open to US readers only and the winner will receive the book once it's released on July 8. The giveaway ends next Friday, June 27. Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

And to make you feel even luckier, here's more Theo:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
17COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A.C.T.I.O.N. - Keeping Readers Engaged the Eve Silver Way

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

Keeping readers hooked and engaged for a whole novel isn't always the easiest thing to do while writing a book. We all know it's best to show, not tell, and that action and suspense keep the story interesting. But how should writers approach this? Author extraordinaire Eve Silver, who's celebrating the release of Push, has a memorable mnemonic device to help you keep readers engaged. Take a look:

Engage readers through action and suspense. Sounds simple, right? Put a ton of fight scenes, explosions, car chases or steamy love scenes on the page and you have action and suspense. Or do you? The truth is, readers have already read scenes like this over and over again. So what makes your story stand out? What makes it lure the reader to anticipate every word?

The answer is A.C.T.I.O.N.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jay Crownover and the Do's and Don'ts of Dating a Bad Boy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

Everybody loves reading about a bad boy and some of you might even be dating or have dated one in real life. But loving a bad boy isn't always easy, as many fictional heroines can atest. So we thought we'd ask New Adult author and bad boy expert Jay Crownover for some bad boy dating tips. Here's what she had to say:

Cover of Better When He's Bad by Jay Crownover I spend a good portion of every single day neck deep in book bad-boys. I really do have the best job ever! By now I think I’ve gotten a pretty good handle on what makes bad-boys tick and what makes them so much fun not only to write, but to love as well. I can’t say that there are any hard and fast rules when it comes to getting involved with a bad-boy because let’s face it, in the world of a true bad-boy, rules are always made to be broken. However, these are some do’s and don’ts that I think are pretty common if a lady or a book heroine wants to survive a relationship with a bad-boy.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Michael Barakiva On Fatherhood and Family History

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

One of the many delights of Michael Barakiva's One Man Guy is the inclusion of Armenian culture amidst the charming coming of age story. We wanted to learn more about Michael's decision to weave his own cultural history into the novel and how his own life influenced the novel. Here's what he had to say:

When you grow up Armenian, even half-Armenian like me, you grow up with certain obligations. First and foremost, you have to procreate. Ideally this would be with another Armenian, but I suspect anyone swarthy would do. When I told my mom I was gay, she told me I still had to provide her grandchildren — those of you who have read One Man Guy will appreciate the scene for which this exchange is lifted identically.

I’m not sure if this obligation to procreate existed before the Armenian genocide of the early 20th century, during which over one million Armenian citizens where systemically killed by the Ottoman Government. Turkey still denies these mass killings as genocide, although 26 countries do (including France, Russia and 43 U.S. States), adding insult to injury to what Armenians call Medz Yeghern (“The Great Crime”).


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five Booktubers Who Aren't Overwhelmingly Annoying

BY Elisa Verna, JUNE 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Six years ago my YouTube-obsessed (then) teenage sister told me about this amazing YouTube channel called Vlogbrothers, and she subsequently bought and inhaled several John Green books as a result. She was enamored with the brothers for a good year, and understandably so. They're hilarious. While John and Hank didn’t talk much about books at first, the Vlogbrothers were my first exposure to all things book-related on YouTube.

Dubbed “booktubers,” several younger readers have started vlogging about books. And frankly, most of them are downright annoying. I feel like when I watch a booktuber video, there’s an 80% chance it’ll feel like someone is yelling in my face. It’s not that these people are naturally annoying — it’s just the style of video that’s become popular. And on YouTube, seemingly everyone wants to be popular. Many booktuber videos are filled with cluttered text, yelling and over-the-top attempts to be funny, all of which take away from why I wanted to watch the video in the first place: I want to watch someone talk (in a relatively calm way) about books!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lucy Saxon's Tips For Building A Better (Fictional) World

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

One of the most thrilling parts about being a writer is creating a world from scratch. But, like most endeavors, it's not always easily accomplished. Luckily, YA author Lucy Saxon is here to help! With the recent release of her debut novel, Take Back the Skies, the first in her epic six-book series, Lucy knows a thing or two about worldbuilding. And be sure to take notes, because these tips will come in handy.

Take Back the Skies by Lucy Saxon 1. Make sure you set your limits and laws, and stick to them. This particularly applies to worlds with magic, but really with any fantasy world you need to make sure that things are consistent. If you’ve said something works a certain way, make sure you keep it up through the entire story. To use magic as an example, don’t have a character say ‘magic can’t be used to create food’ and then have them conjuring a pizza three chapters later. That can lead into dangerous deus ex machina territory before you’ve even realised.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

ReShonda Tate Billingsley, A Party Girl? Not Quite

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 16, 2014 | PERMALINK

It's okay, admit it, you have an inner wild child. We all do, so no judgement here. For most of us, our wild sides tend to appear during vacations and for younger folks, that tends to be spring break. In ReShonda Tate Billingsley's Rumor Central: Truth or Dare, Maya hopes for a relaxing spring break in Cancun, but with the camera crew tagging along and the kidnapping of one of her former castmates, Maya's vacation is anything but relaxing. Today, ReShonda dishes on her wild side.

Cover of Rumor Central: Truth or Dare I have always been a good girl. In high school, when my friends did wrong, I was doing right. When they were worried about the latest parties and the hottest fashions, I was focused on my grades, reading and being the model child. My close friends pretty much accepted that’s who I was, but when it came time for our senior trip, they’d had enough.

“Look,” my best friend, Kelly, said, sitting me down one evening, “we are about to go to Acapulco for our Spring Break Senior Trip, so you’re going to need to leave ReShonda at home.”

“Huh?” I replied. “I’ve already paid my fee.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The 100 Recap: Episode 1.13 - "We Are Grounders, Part 2"

BY DJ DeSmyter, JUNE 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

Bellamy and Clarke prepare to march off.

source

We begin the highly anticipated finale with Clarke cauterizing Raven’s gunshot wound while Bellamy and Finn butt heads. Even after Clarke tells him she and the others need him, Bellamy’s still gung ho on staying behind. Finally, he relents and goes with them. Watching the remaining 82 delinquents march off into the forest is a bit melodramatic, but it’s the CW, so…

Their exodus is halted when one of the campers gets an axe blade lodged into his face. Frantic and freaked, they all retreat back to the camp and argue about what to do next. Octavia and Finn want to fight their way through the Grounder scouts, but Clarke doesn’t think that’s a stellar idea and gives into Bellamy’s wish to stay and fight. Octavia, Jasper and a few others leave to do some recon.

Bellamy, Clarke and Raven go through their remaining weapons and battle plans. Clarke makes the startling realization that they can use the remaining rocket jets in the dropship create an explosion.

source


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Call of the Sea: Kat Rosenfield Fields Our Burning Questions

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

Kat Rosenfield's Inland is one of those books you can't put down and when you finish you immediately want to re-read it. With beautiful writing and a complex premise, we wanted to know more about the story's origins and themes. So we took our questions straight to the source and today, Kat sheds some light on her eerie new novel.

Inland is such a striking and thought-provoking novel. What was the initial inspiration for the novel, and how did the story grow and change while writing it?

At the very beginning, the idea for Inland was sort of a thought experiment. This was a few years ago, when the big thing in YA was supernatural romance, which is like a foreign country to me — it's not at all where my natural inclinations are as a writer. So I'd already accepted that I would never be able to capitalize on this particular trend, but at the same time, I really wondered if there were some way to take that sort of subject matter and make it interesting to me, if there were a way through it to a story that I wanted to tell.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST