RT Daily Blog

Cat Kalen Introduces Her New Heroine

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 19, 2012 | PERMALINK

We were intrigued when RT reviewer Amy raved that Cat Kalen's self-published series first was something special. "Completely different from the other werewolf novels out there, this one's a keeper," she said about Pride's Run. Teen shifter heroine Pride is trapped by a cruel master, but when her life is on the line will this runt of the litter decide that it's time to take control of her life? With this intriguing premise in mind, we went straight to the author to find out just what it is that inspired her heroine.

People have been fascinated by werewolves for years. Pride’s Run, the first book in my Wolf’s Pride series offers a deeper focus, a situation that seems to have caught the curiosity of readers, especially when they understand these wolves have been confined their whole lives and used as assassins by a cruel drug lord master.


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Young Adult
12COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Diva Author Jillian Larkin Shares Ten 1920s Phrases You Should Know

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

If you're looking to be transported back to the glitz and glamour of Prohibition era America, Jillian Larkin's The Flappers series will give you an inside look at the classy lives of 1920s girls. The last in the series, Diva, follows teens Clare, Gloria and Lorraine as they shake up Manhattan and experience a whirlwind adventure. But we all know any historical fiction wouldn't be complete without the lingo of the period, so today the author shares some of her favorite 1920s slang and why they should make a comeback!

Thanks to The Flappers series, I’ve spent a decent portion of the past few years wandering through a time period that looked and sounded quite different from our own. Legs were gams, cigarettes were butts, and there were so many names for alcohol that it often proved difficult to choose between them.


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Michele Jaffe Talks Ghost Flower And Beyond!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 06, 2012 | PERMALINK

If you're hunting for that perfect beach book, we suggest that readers of all ages take a peek at author Michele Jaffe's summer 2012 release, Ghost Flower. This YA mystery won RT's Seal of Excellence in May and we can't get the compelling tale out of our heads. So for all those readers who haven't checked out this story about a runaway who assumes the identity of a missing rich girl, today we're bringing you an interview with the author! At the 2012 RT Booklovers Convention, Jaffe sat down with RT's Elissa to talk about how stealing someone's identity means changing yourself — sometimes in fundamental ways. But that's not all the pair discuss. Get an insider's look at Ghost Flower and then find out what Jaffe is working on next. (Here's a hint: this adult book will include Nazis, a New York socialite and the cabaret!)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Veronica Roth

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 28, 2012 | PERMALINK

YA author Veronica Roth stole our hearts with last year's Divergent series starter. The book, by the same name, won the 2011 RT Reviewers' Choice Award for best Young Adult protagonist. Roth recently released book two, Insurgent and so we're pleased to bring you this RT-exclusive interview with the author to give you a special insider's look at the series. Roth sat down with RT's Elissa during the 2012 RT Booklovers Convention to go in-depth about this popular series. The author talks about the factions (and the factionless) and delivering the same kind of emotional high stakes in book two, or a situation that will put Tris in the middle of what Roth calls, "a big, exploding kablooie of awful." Plus, the author chats about why she'd make a horrible Dauntless faction member and shares which question fans ask her the most. (Hint: It has to do with one very intriguing character we all love!)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Andrea Cremer On Her New Release Rift And An Exclusive Cover Reveal Of The Sequel Rise

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 27, 2012 | PERMALINK

Andrea Cremer has dazzled YA fans with her Nightshade series, which follows the supernatural adventures of Guardian wolf shifter Calla and her human love interest Shay. But for readers who are curious about the origins of the magic that fills the Nightshade books, Cremer has penned the Nightshade prequel Rift, which takes place hundreds of years before the first Nightshade book. Today the author shares how Rift ties into the Nightshade series, what readers can expect from the prequel and we give you an exclusive first look at the cover of Rift's sequel, Rise!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
19COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five Reasons To Read: Timepiece By Myra McEntire - With Giveaway!

BY Whitney Sullivan, JUNE 22, 2012 | PERMALINK

It’s no secret that teens aren’t the only people reading Young Adult novels. However, whether or not you consider yourself a teen at heart there are several reasons that you should pick up this Myra McEntire’s new YA, Timepiece. The story — a romance with elements of mystery, science fiction and more — hit stores earlier this month. But in case you missed this novel, today I’m giving three lucky readers a chance to win McEntire's series second and the series starter, Hourglass. But before we get to the giveaway, first I want to share my five reasons every romance fan should read Timepiece.


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
23COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Richelle Mead Continues The Vampire Academy Universe With Her Second Bloodlines Book The Golden Lily

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 20, 2012 | PERMALINK

Although author Richelle Mead's popular Vampire Academy series has ended, the author has not yet left the world behind, and continues the story with her new Bloodlines series. Book two, The Golden Lily, focuses on alchemist Sydney as she fights to keep the Strigori at bay. For those who may have missed the Vampire Academy books, or simply need a refresher on Jill, Eddie, Sydney, Adrian and their paranormal adventures, Richelle Mead gives us a crash course on the story so far.


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Susane Colasanti Discusses Abusive Teen Relationships And Keep Holding On

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 14, 2012 | PERMALINK

Today author Susane Colasanti talks about the very personal inspiration for her newest contemporary YA novel, Keep Holding On. The story features a heroine who is bullied by her classmates, and her boyfriend. With such an important topic, we wanted to go behind the scenes and ask the author to share some tips for recognizing the signs of an unhealthy relationship and what teens, and adults, can do to foster loving, caring relationships. 

***

“I wish I could lock you up in a room and keep you all to myself.”


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Young Adult Authors At BEA 2012

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 13, 2012 | PERMALINK

There’s a new class of YA (and middle grade) authors in town, and they blog over at The Apocalypsies. This group of over 100 debut authors all have their first books coming out in 2012, and during BEA several of these authors hosted a fantastic event with sweets, book treats and more! 

Each author was presented to the crowd with a look at their book

As they are such a large group of bloggers, not everyone was in attendance. But there were a large group of new writers representing the Apocalypsie authors. And each author on hand had a chance to be introduced to the audience and chat about their upcoming book.

This group was as big as it was diverse. These authors' novels feature contemporary issues and fantasy adventures, meanwhile between other covers readers can expect to find mystery and paranormal elements. There's literally something for everyone in this set of books from the Apocalypsies.

These novels are also written for many different types of readers. RT's Whitney shares, "There are middle grades that are good for advanced eight- and nine-year-olds to twelve-year-olds, and on the other end of the reading list, there are stories that will be a good fit for slightly older YA readers, such as Sarah J. Maas' Throne of Glass."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Margaret Stohl And Kami Garcia

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 12, 2012 | PERMALINK

YA fans are no strangers to Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl's co-written Beautiful Creatures series. The harrowing Southern Gothic tale filled with magic and intrigue has captured readers hearts and has climbed in popularity, so much so that it's currently being transformed for the big screen! We interviewed Kami Garcia about the Beautiful Creatures film back in August, but since we're so anxious for what's next in the Caster Chronicles, we caught up with the authors at this year's Teen Day at the RT Booklovers Convention! RT's Whitney got the details on what fans can expect from the upcoming film adaptation and what's ahead for each of the authors.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST