RT Daily Blog

Whitney & Elisa Dish: Lia Habel's Dearly, Departed

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 20, 2011 | PERMALINK

Zombies, futuristic inventions and kidnappings, oh my! This month's paranormal YA novel Dearly, Departed, by debut author Lia Habel, is full of all this and more. Get a look at Habel's captivating world, and her unsusual heroine, in today's special guest Dish!

Whitney: I’ll be the first to say it, this is a big book. I refused to put this book down as I was reading it — I even walked through the streets of Brooklyn with my nose between its pages! Although the story clocks in at 471 pages, it feels like you are involved in the story for much longer.

Elisa: It’s not a pick-up, put-down type of reading situation, Habel discusses heavy issues like race and segregation, conspiracies, fringe science and what makes someone human.

Whitney: And she skilfully weaves all of it into a really compelling story about zombies and the human race’s fight for survival. Habel just throws you into her world and and says, “Sink or swim!” Luckily, her worldbuilding is so good you’ll be swimming in no time, even if this is your first steampunk-esque story.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Chatting Between Classes With Author Tessa Gratton

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 20, 2011 | PERMALINK

Tessa Gratton's Blood Magic had RT's Senator raving about the way that the author wove real-life issues into a captivating paranormal plot. Heroine Silla is still mourning her beloved father when she receives a book written in his handwriting full of a dark and mysterious magic. To get an even better look at this YA author's latest novel, we set up a mini-interview — a quick chat between classes, if you will — with RT's Senator and Tessa Gratton.

***

Without using the title words, how would you describe Blood Magic in five words or less?

Scary, delicious, gothic, sweet, and sad.

Blood Magic has such a vibrant and exhilarating plot. What was your inspiration for the story?


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Alyxandra Harvey — Updated 10/10/2011!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

BLOG UPDATE 10/10/2011: Just a head's up for anyone who doesn't have their own copies of the first three stories in this series, Barnes & Noble is currently having a book-bundle sale on the series. You can purchase all of the Drake Chronicles books as e-books for $7.99 or as print books for $9.49. Check out the deal here!

Author Alyxandra Harvey has made a name for herself with her innovative Young Adult vampire series, The Drake Chronicles. The series began in July and the third novel in the series, Out for Blood, will hit shelves on December 21st. In this video interview, the author goes behind the scenes of The Drake Chronicles with RT's Assistant Web Editor Whitney Sullivan. Learn about Harvey's classic fairytale inspiration, her diverse Drake siblings and more!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Stephanie Perkins' Top 5 Must-See San Francisco Spots

BY Whitney Sullivan, OCTOBER 10, 2011 | PERMALINK
Readers, including me, flipped for Stephanie Perkins' debut novel Anna and the French Kiss the story of teen Anna who left everything she loved — including her best friend Lola — behind to attend a French boarding school for a year. This month we are finally getting Lola's story with Lola and the Boy Next Door. And don't be surprised when Lola, the boy she thinks she may love and the city she lives in all capture your heart. To get you ready to dive into this new release, today Stephanie shares her — and her characters' — top five destinations you absolutely much check out if you visit The City by the Bay.

Lola Nolan is not your average girl. Cricket Bell is not your average boy. And San Francisco? It’s not your average city.

Together, they create a perfect — and very different — kind of love triangle.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Interview With Jenny B. Jones On There You'll Find Me

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today author Jenny B. Jones answers RT reviewer Lindy J. Swanson's questions about Jones' latest novel, There You'll Find Me. This inspirational Young Adult tale follows Finley Sinclair, a teenage girl who travels to Ireland after a tragic loss. The story has a strong spiritual dimension and RT's Lindy suggests that it will serve many youth groups as a great discussion starter or teen book club selection.

How much of Finley Sinclair’s personality reflect some of your own traits and can you elaborate on her character development?


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Exclusive: Paranormal YA Dark Days Quiz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

Zombies, werewolves and angels, oh my! As Halloween creeps closer, we are getting our spook on with the five paranormal books included in the Dark Days tour. These fantastic tales each feature a different aspect of the paranormal world, as it is interpreted by authors such as Claudia Gray, Amy Garvey and Kiersten White. And you can enter to win each of these five new titles simply by leaving a comment on this blog post, telling us which of the Dark Days novels you can't wait to get your hands on. We know that choosing between this many exciting new reads can be a challenge, but we've got your back. Use this RT-exclusive quiz to help you figure out which of these novels you should dive into first. And then don't forget to enter to win all five novels!

“WHAT’S YOUR KIND OF DARK?”


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Exclusive: Dark Days Fall Tour Giveaway - With Book Trailers!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

Paranormal YA fans, do you crave adventure? Then this fall’s Dark Days books may be just what you are looking for. Whether you swoon for an angelic love triangle, want to be swept back in time or get immersed in an action packed adventure, these five new releases are sure to please. So we're giving away three chances to win all five books!

We know you are dying to find out how to score the newest novels from the YA authors Claudia GrayKiersten WhiteAnna Carey, Jocelyn Davis and Amy Garvey. The answer is simple; just tell us which of these five books you absolutely can’t wait to read. (Hint: You can check out the Dark Days Facebook Page or watch the book trailers below to help make your decision.)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
35COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Han Nolan On Teen Pregnancy And Pregnant Pause

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Han Nolan is famed for her numerous YA novels including Crazy, If I Should Die Before I Wake and Born Blue. She is the recipient of many awards from publishing institutions such as Booklist, School Library Journal and the YALSA, and she has been praised for her honest depictions of teenagers' lives. With the release of her latest novel, Pregnant Pause, Nolan tackles the sensitive subject of teen pregnancy. Today, the author reveals why she choose to write about such a hot button topic and shares a look at her writing process.

Many people have asked me why I decided to write about teen pregnancy. After all, there are so many books, television shows, and movies out there right now on this subject, enough already! The truth is I didn’t choose to write about this topic, it chose me—eventually. That’s the way it always is with my writing. I can never just sit down and say, “Today I’m going to write about teen pregnancy.” When I do that, my writing is boring and sounds stupid even to me! 


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Scholastic And Ruckus To Team Up For New Children's Imprint

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

YA readers have more books than ever available to them, but the novels that are slated to be released by the newly-created Scholastic Ruckus imprint will really stand out from the crowd. These books will be published in both traditional and e-book format and include special content such as interactive apps related to the stories, exclusive author interviews and more. To create this new line Scholastic is teaming up with Ruckus Media, a children's digital content developer. We were particularly intrigued to hear from Publishers Weekly about the ways that the new releases from Scholastic Ruckus will bring new dimensions to the reading experience. 


Read More>>

Tags: E-Book, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Ilsa J. Bick Talks Zombies, Monsters, and Ashes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

What goes bump in the night? Author Ilsa J. Bick may have the answer; it could be The Changed, the children who turn into the living dead in her latest novel, Ashes. These little monsters may have you hiding under your covers after Ilsa talks about the history of children falling victim to the supernatural in fiction.

Ask me about zombies, and I’ll flash to the afternoon an inmate looked me in the eye and said, blandly, “Doc, one of us is leaving this place with a toe tag—and it isn’t me.” 


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST