RT Daily Blog

Trend Alert: Return Of The YA Contemporaries

BY Elissa Petruzzi, DECEMBER 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

Young adult contemporaries are coming back! Have you heard? No? Probably because ... this is just a theory that I have. But as RT's YA editor, I also have a pretty accurate sense of the upcoming young adult fiction scene. And I'm excited to tell you that amongst the paranormal, dystopia, fantasy trilogies that keep on keepin' on (and don't get me wrong, some of them are just delicious), contemporaries are returning.

And just how are you going to tell when the contemporaries arrive? Well, for one thing? They all have awfully long titles as of late, as opposed to paranormal YA, which has been recently rocking the one-word titles. Don't believe me? Let’s go to the shelves!


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2011 Goodreads Choice Awards Winners Announced

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

Over 600,000 Goodreads users have voted, and their picks for best books of 2011 have been announced!

Goodreads is a social networking site (and bookworm heaven!) for readers, authors and publishers to share their favorite reads, write reviews and discover new books. With over 6.5 million users, the site has established itself as one of the largest communities of online readers to share their thoughts and where authors and publishers to determine what’s working and what isn’t based on reader input. The Goodreads Choice Awards are a prime example of crowd sourcing valuable fan opinions.

Several of our favorite authors won Goodreads awards this year, with tremendous representation from the Young Adult genre. Here are some notable YA wins for the 2011 Goodreads Choice Awards:

Best Book of the Year: Divergent by Veronica Roth (this title also won best YA sci fi/fantasy)

Best Author of the Year: Cassandra Clare, author of The Mortal Instruments series

Best YA Fiction: Where She Went by Gayle Forman


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hannah Harrington On Overcoming Loss And Saving June

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

Debut author Hannah Harrington tells the tale of a young teen struggling to survive the aftermath of her older sister's suicide in Saving June. As Harper embarks on a journey to fulfill her sister's last wish and put June's ashes to rest, she makes some incredibly shocking discoveries about her family along the way. Today the author takes us behind the scenes of this novel to share the loss that inspired this story and how she coped with the pain of losing a loved one.

While it only took me approximately three months to hammer out a first draft of Saving June, the idea of it had been rolling around in my head for years before then — ever since I was in high school.

A relative of mine — only a few years older than me — committed suicide when I was seventeen. The family chose to split the ashes into two urns, despite it being against the final request of the deceased. It left me thinking a lot about last wishes and paying respects, on top of everything else such unexpected tragedies tend to leave those behind questioning: death, God, the universe in general. The meaning of life, and the fragility of it all.


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Jennifer Estep

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

Get all the details about Jennifer Estep's YA series Mythos Academy before you pick up the series second, Kiss of Frost, which hits shelves today. RT's Elissa had the opportunity to chat with the author about why she decided to write a paranormal YA. But don't expect this series to be your average paranormal fare, the stories include Roman and Norse myths, valkyries, Spartans and more. And then get an early look at Kiss of Frost as the author chats about what fans can expect and shares an excerpt of the story below!

Jennifer Estep Opens The Doors To Mythos Academy >>

Read The Excerpt Of Kiss of Frost >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Beginning Of The End For Meyer's Twilight Saga And What's Up Next

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

This weekend Stephenie Meyer’s Twihards flocked to the theaters for the beginning of the end. We mean to say, Breaking Dawn - Part 1 hit movie theaters across the country and raked in a cool $139.5 million in it's first weekend. 

Breaking Dawn – Part 1 tells the first half of the final chapter in Bella and Edward’s story including the couple’s long awaited wedding, the birth of their daughter and (spoiler alert) Bella’s transition into being part of her new husband’s fangy family.

However, like its characters, the film adaptations of the series have grown up since Twilight came to the big screen back in 2008. 

The movies have certainly grown in earning capability. $139.5 million in earnings for Breaking Dawn – Part 1 is certainly a marked improvement over the original Twilight’s $70.5 million. And although the latest movie fell short of the series’ second box office earnings its first week ($142.8 million), Breaking Dawn did land on the list of the top five movies with the best opening weekend sales.


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Leanna Renee Hieber Talks Her YA Series First

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month the author of the popular Strangely Beautiful fantasy series, Leanna Renee Hieber, moves to the YA genre with Darker Still. When Hieber sits down with her good friend, RT's Morgan, the author shares why the Magic Most Foul series has what she calls "a more intimate scope" than her adult series. And then discover what inspires Leanna's intricately detailed gothic settings and why she is dedicated to writing stories that empower the voiceless.

Leanna Renee Hieber Talks Darker Still >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

YA Fiction Guide For Adult Readers

BY Elissa Petruzzi, NOVEMBER 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

You know, you know, YA fiction is super popular right now. But surely it's not for you ... I mean, why would you want to remember high school? And I hear you, I do. I don't particularly revel in recalling my wallflower years either. But the great thing about YA is that you can delve into that high school world again, and experience all those dramatic feelings: the crushes, the heartbreak, the drama (oh, the drama!) and then close the book and poof! You're an adult again! No homework for you! So to help orient you into this most angsty of genres, I've detailed three outstanding selections that I think will help you understand what the YA craze is all about. You can even read past your bedtime. I won't tell, promise.

1. Impossible by Nancy Werlin. Oh my is this a gorgeous story. Just divine. Werlin weaves a modern-day fable around the song "Scarborough Fair," to wondrous results. You'll get lost in her rich world as you root for Lucy and her adopted family to solve the riddle and beat the bad guy before it's too late, and the same terrible fate befalls Lucy as did her mother, 17 years before.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Brenna Yovanoff On The Mythology Behind The Space Between

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Brenna Yovanoff's sophomore novel, The Space Between, follows Daphne, a half demon half angel, who must decide if she wants to commit her life to good or evil, all while struggling with her developing feelings for a human. Today, the author shares with us how she developed the mythology behind the story to create this beautiful, intricate world. 

First, just so we’re clear—I am absolutely crazy about folklore. I think it’s pretty much the best thing ever, and I would cuddle it and wear it and swim around in it if I could. I love remakes, modernizations, retellings, and most of all, reimaginings.

The idea behind The Space Between is one that took several years to really evolve. 

I was an English major in college and my school had a basic requirements class called Mythical and Biblical Backgrounds. All the reading was divided up by theme, rather than culture or time period, and one of the units was called “Journeys to the Underworld.” 


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Lisa Tawn Bergren On Her River of Time Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 07, 2011 | PERMALINK

Inspirational author Lisa Tawn Bergren has had great success with her current YA series, River of Time. Following the adventures of two time traveling teens that end up in medieval Italy, the River of Time books offer readers plenty of suspense and romance along with a message of faith. Today the author talks with RT about her inspiration, writing faith-based fiction for all ages and her experiences researching different time periods.

***

This year readers have gotten three books in your Young Adult inspirational series River of Time. Can you give us a bit of background on what inspired your time traveling sisters?

It was really a confluence of several factors: two teen daughters who only like rockin', page-turning stories with a good dose of romance; a fascination with history that always makes me wish I could travel through time; and the desire to try something different with my writing.

Much of the series takes place during medieval times and you have been able to wow readers with the sword fights as well as other fun details from this time period. What type of research went into creating your realistic world?


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Chatting Between Classes With Author Kendare Blake

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

We were intrigued by the haunting story of author Kendare Blake's Anna Dressed in Blood, RT reviewer Senator's first-ever Top Pick! For her sophomore novel, Kendare created a horror story that will leave you sleeping with the lights on. So to find out a little bit more about this dark tale, RT's Senator sat down with Kendare for a mini-interview — a quick chat between classes, if you will — to bring you guys a special behind the scenes look at this new series starter!

***

Some say it's the ambiance that makes something scary; others, the killer. What do you think is the most important factor that makes a story scary?

For me, fear is always enhanced by what you're not shown. By what you don't know. The leftover questions, the why's. Not so much the how's. I like to know the how's, sometimes. But things left off the page or off the screen, for you to imagine, or things that are implied and hinted at, that's scary. And you know, zombies!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST