RT Daily Blog

RT Exclusive: Author Colleen Houck On The Upcoming Tiger’s Curse Movie

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 04, 2012 | PERMALINK

We were thrilled to learn that Colleen Houck’s YA novel Tiger’s Curse has been purchased by Paramount Pictures for a film adaptation. The story about a girl and the two Indian princes she is trying to save from an ancient curse has garnered immense publicity — and quite a cult following — over the last year. And the audience for the book is about to get bigger when the story is adapted for the big screen, so in order to get a jump start on the excitement, we went straight to the author herself to find out more about the film project. 

***

RT: In the best of all worlds, who would you see playing the characters from Tiger's Curse?

Colleen Houck: I don't really have any specific actors I'd like to see in the different roles but I would want a cast that can not only capture the imagination in fast-paced action scenes but who would also capture the hearts of the viewers. 

RT: As you were writing the story did you imagine it playing out on stage in your head?

CH: I think I'm a visual learner, so for me, I imagine a scene first and then figure out how to break it down into a linear language. I've always believed that the Tiger Series lends itself very easily to a visual medium.


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Holiday Gift Guide: For The Young Adult Fans On Your List

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

It’s that time of year again, when you’ve got to make a list and check it twice to figure out what you’re going to get your loved ones. But don’t worry, we’re here to help with suggestions for each type of person on your list. Today we bring you our top suggestions of what to get for the hard to gift-to Young Adult reader in your life …


Novel Ideas:

Hey, allowance only goes so far when buying books (and every booklover knows, it never goes far enough) so thrill the reader on your list by picking them up one of these snazzy gift sets! You are sure to score a smile with the Hunger Games Box Set from Suzanne Collins, but if your reader is already wise to the ways of Katniss and co., there are many other options out there. The fantasy lover is sure to enjoy the Christopher Paolini box set. This Cassandra Clare e-book collection will thrill the adventure seeking paranormal reader. But if your reader prefers a contemporary story, you’ll be a star with either this Pretty Little Liars set, this Gallagher Girls set or this Gossip Girl book bundle. Alternatively, you can keep it classic by gifting this fantastic (and shockingly inexpensive) collection of LM Montgomery works — including the Anne of Green Gables tales that made her famous!

And just like there are a variety of books, there are a variety of bookplates for every reader’s growing library. For the fantasy fan we love this epic looking Bird Queen and these vintage Jungle plates. The mystery reader will get inspired by this Magnifying Glass design that proudly pronounces who the book belongs to. Alternatively, the contemporary reader will adore this collection of preppy and fun plaid woodland animal plates. And we think that the paranormal enthusiast it could go either way, for the dark and disturbing tales, these masquerading women will inspire gothic daydreams but the reader who seeks softer supernatural stories is likely to prefer these fairies. And of course you can always opt to stay genre-neutral with these classic ex libris plates, the timeless Alice in Wonderland inspired prints or this fun personalized stamp.


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords: A Look At Upcoming Contemporary YA Novels

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Inspired by yesterday's post from RT's Elissa about the trend she’s seeing in contemporary Young Adult titles, today we’ve picked ten upcoming contemporary reads with intricate titles (and intriguing premises) that have us anxious for their publication!

My Yiddish Vacation, the forthcoming book by actor/ author Ione Skye (best known for her roles in Say Anything and Arrested Development) recounts a weekend that a young girl and her brother spend with their Jewish grandparents. It’s Yiddish galore for this new read that will be illustrated by Scott Menchin. Publication date TBA.

Nicole McInnes’ Brianna on the Brink introduces readers to sixteen-year-old Brianna, who has a one-night stand that turns her into a soon-to-be teen mom. Now she must figure out who to trust when an unlikely ally steps up but can she step away from her fear of the unknown to embrace an uncertain future? Readers will find out in Fall 2013 when the book hits shelves!


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Trend Alert: Return Of The YA Contemporaries

BY Elissa Petruzzi, DECEMBER 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

Young adult contemporaries are coming back! Have you heard? No? Probably because ... this is just a theory that I have. But as RT's YA editor, I also have a pretty accurate sense of the upcoming young adult fiction scene. And I'm excited to tell you that amongst the paranormal, dystopia, fantasy trilogies that keep on keepin' on (and don't get me wrong, some of them are just delicious), contemporaries are returning.

And just how are you going to tell when the contemporaries arrive? Well, for one thing? They all have awfully long titles as of late, as opposed to paranormal YA, which has been recently rocking the one-word titles. Don't believe me? Let’s go to the shelves!


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2011 Goodreads Choice Awards Winners Announced

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

Over 600,000 Goodreads users have voted, and their picks for best books of 2011 have been announced!

Goodreads is a social networking site (and bookworm heaven!) for readers, authors and publishers to share their favorite reads, write reviews and discover new books. With over 6.5 million users, the site has established itself as one of the largest communities of online readers to share their thoughts and where authors and publishers to determine what’s working and what isn’t based on reader input. The Goodreads Choice Awards are a prime example of crowd sourcing valuable fan opinions.

Several of our favorite authors won Goodreads awards this year, with tremendous representation from the Young Adult genre. Here are some notable YA wins for the 2011 Goodreads Choice Awards:

Best Book of the Year: Divergent by Veronica Roth (this title also won best YA sci fi/fantasy)

Best Author of the Year: Cassandra Clare, author of The Mortal Instruments series

Best YA Fiction: Where She Went by Gayle Forman


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hannah Harrington On Overcoming Loss And Saving June

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

Debut author Hannah Harrington tells the tale of a young teen struggling to survive the aftermath of her older sister's suicide in Saving June. As Harper embarks on a journey to fulfill her sister's last wish and put June's ashes to rest, she makes some incredibly shocking discoveries about her family along the way. Today the author takes us behind the scenes of this novel to share the loss that inspired this story and how she coped with the pain of losing a loved one.

While it only took me approximately three months to hammer out a first draft of Saving June, the idea of it had been rolling around in my head for years before then — ever since I was in high school.

A relative of mine — only a few years older than me — committed suicide when I was seventeen. The family chose to split the ashes into two urns, despite it being against the final request of the deceased. It left me thinking a lot about last wishes and paying respects, on top of everything else such unexpected tragedies tend to leave those behind questioning: death, God, the universe in general. The meaning of life, and the fragility of it all.


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Jennifer Estep

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

Get all the details about Jennifer Estep's YA series Mythos Academy before you pick up the series second, Kiss of Frost, which hits shelves today. RT's Elissa had the opportunity to chat with the author about why she decided to write a paranormal YA. But don't expect this series to be your average paranormal fare, the stories include Roman and Norse myths, valkyries, Spartans and more. And then get an early look at Kiss of Frost as the author chats about what fans can expect and shares an excerpt of the story below!

Jennifer Estep Opens The Doors To Mythos Academy >>

Read The Excerpt Of Kiss of Frost >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Beginning Of The End For Meyer's Twilight Saga And What's Up Next

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

This weekend Stephenie Meyer’s Twihards flocked to the theaters for the beginning of the end. We mean to say, Breaking Dawn - Part 1 hit movie theaters across the country and raked in a cool $139.5 million in it's first weekend. 

Breaking Dawn – Part 1 tells the first half of the final chapter in Bella and Edward’s story including the couple’s long awaited wedding, the birth of their daughter and (spoiler alert) Bella’s transition into being part of her new husband’s fangy family.

However, like its characters, the film adaptations of the series have grown up since Twilight came to the big screen back in 2008. 

The movies have certainly grown in earning capability. $139.5 million in earnings for Breaking Dawn – Part 1 is certainly a marked improvement over the original Twilight’s $70.5 million. And although the latest movie fell short of the series’ second box office earnings its first week ($142.8 million), Breaking Dawn did land on the list of the top five movies with the best opening weekend sales.


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Leanna Renee Hieber Talks Her YA Series First

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 17, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month the author of the popular Strangely Beautiful fantasy series, Leanna Renee Hieber, moves to the YA genre with Darker Still. When Hieber sits down with her good friend, RT's Morgan, the author shares why the Magic Most Foul series has what she calls "a more intimate scope" than her adult series. And then discover what inspires Leanna's intricately detailed gothic settings and why she is dedicated to writing stories that empower the voiceless.

Leanna Renee Hieber Talks Darker Still >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

YA Fiction Guide For Adult Readers

BY Elissa Petruzzi, NOVEMBER 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

You know, you know, YA fiction is super popular right now. But surely it's not for you ... I mean, why would you want to remember high school? And I hear you, I do. I don't particularly revel in recalling my wallflower years either. But the great thing about YA is that you can delve into that high school world again, and experience all those dramatic feelings: the crushes, the heartbreak, the drama (oh, the drama!) and then close the book and poof! You're an adult again! No homework for you! So to help orient you into this most angsty of genres, I've detailed three outstanding selections that I think will help you understand what the YA craze is all about. You can even read past your bedtime. I won't tell, promise.

1. Impossible by Nancy Werlin. Oh my is this a gorgeous story. Just divine. Werlin weaves a modern-day fable around the song "Scarborough Fair," to wondrous results. You'll get lost in her rich world as you root for Lucy and her adopted family to solve the riddle and beat the bad guy before it's too late, and the same terrible fate befalls Lucy as did her mother, 17 years before.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST