RT Daily Blog

Video Interview: Jennifer Lynn Barnes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 10, 2010 | PERMALINK
Young Adult author Jennifer Lynn Barnes is interviewed by RT's Assistant Web Editor Whitney Sullivan. The pair chat about the author's popular paranormal series starter, Raised By Wolves. Barnes takes readers behind the scenes to share what animal behavior research her werewolves are based on, which character was an unexpected addition to the story and much more!

Jennifer Lynn Barnes on Raised By Wolves >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

YA Theme Focus: Sisters

BY Whitney Sullivan, SEPTEMBER 09, 2010 | PERMALINK

One of my favorite aspects of YA fiction is the special touch authors use when writing sisters. Teen sisters have a built-in audience for their paths of self-discovery. Big sisters have someone to look out for and little sisters have someone to look up to. And whether a heroine loves her sisters or hates them, part of her character is always defined in relation to them. The relationship between sisters also shapes how they deal with their parents, their friends and even strangers. It is always interesting to watch the complex relationships between sisters unfold over the course of a YA novel.

After finishing Mockingjay, the last of Suzanne Collins’ Hunger Games trilogy — in which heroine Katniss’ actions are all motivated by her desire to protect her little sister — I wanted to continue my “sisters story” reading theme. I was pleasantly surprised when I took a chance on Zen & Xander Undone by Amy Kathleen Ryan (you can read the *Web Exclusive Review* of the novel here). Ryan’s latest novel was a deft exploration of the changes that Zen and Xander’s relationship undergoes as they grieve for their mother.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Lucienne Diver

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK
Young Adult author Lucienne Diver is interviewed by RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus. The pair chat about how Gina, the teen vampire heroine of Diver's Vamped series, evolves in this month's ReVamped. Get the insider details about Gina's unusual way of kicking butt, the unexpected love triangle in this novel and what is coming next!

Diver On ReVamped And Where The Series Is Headed! >>

Read The *Web Exclusive Review* of ReVamped >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

TWO MAG-NIFICENT YA GIVEAWAYS!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 08, 2010 | PERMALINK

Check out two YA-friendly giveaways from RT magazine! 

It's a simple question: Zombies or Unicorns? And our "Zombies Vs. Unicorns" contest has the answer! Well, kinda. At the very least, our contest gives you a chance to win a copy of the new anthology Zombies Vs. Unicorns, edited by Holly Black and Justine Larbalestier, out September 21st from Margaret K. McElderry.

Want to play? E-mail Elissa@RTBookReviews.com with a haiku — in the traditional format of five syllables, seven syllables, five syllables — rhapsodizing about your preferred creature. The winning verses will be posted online on Sept. 21, and will receive a copy of the book.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Suzanne Collins Inspires Mockingjay Madness

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 03, 2010 | PERMALINK

The entire RT office was waiting with bated breath for the release of Suzanne Collins' The Hunger Games trilogy ender, Mockingjay. We got ready for Mockingjay's August 24 release date with giveaways (of the series starter and series schwag) and reports back from the official pre-release party. We were so excited about Mockingjay that four of the six RT editors already had their copies in hand by 10:00 on the morning of the book's release.

And the RT editors aren't the only ones who rushed out to get their copies ...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Supernatural Soiree

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 02, 2010 | PERMALINK

Last night, authors Lucienne Diver and Michele Lang hosted a book release party for their newest stories. 

Diver's newest release Revamped, the second in her Young Adult Vamped series was released yesterday, while earlier this week Lang's Historical Urban Fantasy Lady Lazarus hit bookstores.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Smart Chicks Kick It - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

We told you we are psyched to celebrate YA all month long. And now the seventeen authors taking part in September's Smart Chicks Kick It book tour have given us another reason to cheer. This month some of the most popular YA authors will participate in a two-week book tour that's not just cross-country but cross continent! And the authors headlining the tour have put together an AWESOME giveaway for RT readers at the end of the post.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
60COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

YA Month Kick Off

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

BLOG UPDATE: For ongoing coverage of the YA genre, please check the links at the bottom of this page.

For many of us, September means “back to school.” And whether you are headed into the classroom as a student or a teacher, or just remembering the sensation of being in class, what better time for a month-long celebration of young adult novels?

This hot genre is bursting with great books for fall. In our September issue, for the first time ever, we had six YA Top Picks! These six reads are a great cross-section of what is going on in the genre, and are hitting shelves this month. We can't wait!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Marlene Perez Reflects On Her Four Book Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 24, 2010 | PERMALINK

YA author Marlene Perez stops by to chat about the origins of her fascination with the paranormal and the evolution of her Dead Is series. The newest novel, Dead Is Just A Rumor, will hit shelves today and now you can read the *Web Exclusive* reviews of the entire series. Learn what role Perez's large family played in her writing career and don't miss heroine Daisy Giordano's Top Five Rules for Getting Along With Sisters at the bottom of the post. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Top 10 Reasons We're Excited for the Sweet Valley High Sequel — With Giveaway!

BY Elissa Petruzzi, AUGUST 19, 2010 | PERMALINK

Top 10 Reasons We're Excited for Sweet Valley Confidential: Ten Years Later:

10. These T-shirts we have as giveaway prizes are really cute. (E-mail Elissa@RTBookReviews.com to enter!)

9.  We've always wanted a 1Bruce1 license plate, and now we're actually old enough to drive. 

8.  We're still scarred by Regina's untimely death, and we're hoping for some closure.

7.  Would it be too much to ask to see a twentysomething Lila working as a beleaguered, much put upon personal assistant? 

6.  We want to see Elizabeth with someone other than stick-in-the-mud Todd. (Sorry, Todd!)

5.  A nice Bruce Patman? This we gotta see.

4.  We must know: did the Droids ever make it big?

3.  A grown up Steven? Color us interested.

2.  We call high potential for a Winston and Enid wedding. Think of the nerdtastic babies they would make!

1.  The first chapter is really quite good! (Get it here.)


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST