RT Daily Blog

Enter To Win 7 New And Upcoming Paranormal YA Novels!

BY Whitney Sullivan, MAY 16, 2011 | PERMALINK

It is time for round three of the Dark Days of Supernatural giveaway, your chance to win a tote bag full of seven new and upcoming paranormal YA novels. The winner of this week's giveaway will receive the newest novels from Aprilynne PikeEllen Schreiber, Kim Harrison and four new talents in the genre: Veronica RothAmy PlumJosephine Angelini and Tara Hudson.

             
                     
           

Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
25COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: DIvergent By Veronica Roth

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week Morgan and Whitney Dish about Divergent by Veronica Roth. The debut author's dystopian YA caught Whitney's attention with its compelling premise and multi-dimensional heroine.

***

Morgan: OK, I know everyone has been talking about the Hunger Games series forever, but more than any other book I remember reading, Divergent really has themes and characters that remind me of a Suzanne Collins book.

Whitney: You know, while I think it will appeal to some of the same readers who enjoyed the Hunger Games seriesI definitely didn’t read Divergent thinking “This is the Hunger Games, revisited.” 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Win Sarah Dessen's New Contemporary YA Novel What Happened To Goodbye!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month author Sarah Dessen releases her latest contemporary YA novel, What Happened to Goodbye. Dessen is known for her emotionally gripping tales and this month she tackles what happens when the desire to make yourself over goes too far.

In the story, high school senior Mclean's life has been a series of goodbyes since she moved in with her divorced dad. As they've gone from town to town, Mclean has reinvented herself each time. And by the time they get to Lakeview, Mclean is so good at the process, she's not even sure who she really is anymore. Will Lakeview be the place that she finally feels free to be the real Mclean?

You can find out if Mclean will be able to re-discover herself when What Happened to Goodbye hits stores today, or enter to win your own copy by leaving a comment below about how you'd make yourself over if you moved to a new town!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Second Chance To Win The Dark Days of Supernatural Giveaway!

BY Whitney Sullivan, MAY 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Last week we gave you the first chance to try your luck at winning our Dark Days of Supernatural Giveaway, a tote bag that comes filled with the latest novels from Aprilynne Pike and Ellen Schreiber, Kim Harrison and tales of supernatural romance and adventure from four new voices: Veronica RothAmy PlumJosephine Angelini and Tara Hudson.

             
                     
           

Let's pause for a second to get a look at those covers. That's a very pretty line-up, right? I've got a bad news/good news situation for you today. Bad news: Like the Hope Diamond, there could be only one winner of our first giveaway. So if you aren't Tricia Schneider, you are starting this week empty-handed, sorry! But, good news: Starting today you will have a second chance to win your own Dark Days of Supernatural tote bag full of new and upcoming releases.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
47COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Graphic Novel Author Laura Lee Gulledge

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MAY 02, 2011 | PERMALINK

Graphic novel author Laura Lee Gulledge gives readers an insider look at her debut work Page by Paige. This story which got 4 1/2 stars from RT's Dawn Crowne, follows a young teen trying to find a place for herself in New York City. In this video interview with RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus the author shares her thoughts about the way that art can help people push through many different types of emotional issues, including the lonliness that heroine Page faces in Page by Paige.

Laura Lee Gulledge talks about Page by Paige >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>

Read the *Web Exclusive Review* of Page by Page >>


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Kicking Off The Dark Days Of Supernatural Giveaways!

BY Whitney Sullivan, MAY 02, 2011 | PERMALINK

This summer YA fans can celebrate their passion for everything paranormal with HarperCollins' The Dark Days of Supernatural tour. From May through the first week of July the publisher is releasing seven very different paranormal stories from authors Aprilynne Pike, Ellen Schreiber, Kim Harrison and four fantastic debut authors: Veronica Roth, Amy Plum, Josephine Angelini and Tara Hudson.

You can get in on the action all this month by entering to win your very own Dark Days of Supernatural tote bag full of all these great stories here on the RT website. We will also be giving readers an insider look at these books with messages from the authors and excerpts from their new novels.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
41COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

YA Author Susane Colasanti Shares 15 Tips For Visiting NYC - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today we chat with Susane Colasanti whose new New York City-centric YA novel has just hit shelves. As So Much Closer revolves around New Jersey-transplant Brooke who has just moved to New York City to be closer to her crush Scott Abrams, we asked the author for fifteen things she thinks you should know before heading to the big apple. And don't miss your chance to win a copy of So Much Closer  at the end of this post!

Planning a trip to NYC? New York welcomes you! There are so many incredibly fun things to do. I’ve lived here for 15 years and haven’t even come close to doing them all. But this should get you started…

5 Places You Cannot Miss In New York City


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview With Author Kelley Armstrong

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Kelley Armstrong has just released her latest paranormal YA tale, this month's The Gathering. Today the author chats with RT's Senior Editor Elissa Petruzzi about her new series which is set in the same world as her previous YA trilogy but introducing all new characters. (Armstrong revealed to us that she was "terrified" while writing this, because she knew that her fans had high expectations for the finished novel.) Armstrong also discusses the way that her novels appeal to teens who consider themselves "outsiders" but how in reality everyone has things that set them apart from the crowd and these differences should be embraced. And after the video, don't miss your chance to check out an excerpt of The Gathering.

Kelley Armstrong on The Gathering >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>

Read the excerpt of The Gathering >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Announcing The Winners Of The Sweet Valley Confidential: Ten Years Later Contest

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

In our March issue, we ran an interview and contest with the legendary Francine Pascal, Sweet Valley High creator. We asked readers to share your favorite memories of the series in our Sweet Valley Contest and were thrilled at the entries which brought back sweet memories for us. Winners have been chosen and will each receive a copy of Sweet Valley Confidential: Ten Years Later, which is in stores now.

M. says: My favorite memory is when my family was living in California, and we went to the library at least twice a week if not more and as soon as that car stopped, my sister and I would be out of the car so fast that you couldn't see us for the dust. My mom would holler at us and tell us to "walk" into the library. Needless to say, we "walked" at a very very rapid pace, each of us elbowing the other in order to be the first to reach the newest Sweet Valley High books.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Celebrates Support Teen Literature Day!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

Fresh off our super-successful Teen Day at the RT Booklovers Convention, we are happy to report that today is Support Teen Literature Day, thanks to the great folks at the American Library Association! You can learn about the annual event and some great YA reads here: http://www.yalsa.ala.org/thehub/

In the meantime, we want to know what are you must-read young adult novels. To get you started we’ve asked some of the RT staff for their YA picks:

Senior Editor Stephanie Klose says her YA suggestion is 13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson, which is currently available for a free e-book download (with bonus material) at Amazon, BN and more!

Assistant Web Editor Whitney Sullivan suggests you read Across the Universe by Beth Revis. She says, “This book won the January 2011 Seal of Excellence for a reason!” You can find out more here.

Web Editor Morgan Doremus is really enjoying Ally Carter’s Gallagher Girls series and says of the action-packed books in the series, “they will make any teen girl want to become a spy.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST