RT Daily Blog

Author Interview: Gayle Forman - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Gayle Forman tugged our heartstrings with her popular 2009 contemporary YA, If I Stay, when teens Mia and Adam's world was devestated by a car accident that left Mia fighting to survive. Now Forman is bringing readers the next chapter in Mia and Adam's story with Where She Went, which is told through Adam's eyes. Today the author chats with RT's Assistant Web Editor Whitney Sullivan about revisiting Mia and Adam's love, the role of music in their relationship and much more. And then don't miss your chance to win a signed copy of Where She Went below!

Gayle Forman on If I Stay and Where She Went >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>

Read the *Web Exclusive Review* of Where She Went >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
30COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Ruta Sepetys On Between Shades Of Gray

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 22, 2011 | PERMALINK

YA author Ruta Sepetys takes us behind the scenes of her new novel, Shades of Gray, which is based on the true story of the Baltic refugees that survived the ethnic cleansing that was carried out on Stalin’s orders. Learn about the genocide that inspired this story, discover why this atrocity is rarely spoken of in the US and find out about the moments that came together for this tale both heartbreaking and hopeful.

“I will tell you what happened to me, but only if you promise not to use my name.”

That is what I heard while conducting research for my novel, Between Shades of Gray.

Fifty years had passed, yet their hands still shook when they spoke of their experience. Fifty years had passed, but the tears and grief were still raw. Secrets are painful and through my research I learned that secrecy can swallow the voice of an entire generation.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Find Out Who Will Play Katniss In The Hunger Games Movie

BY MORGAN, MARCH 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

It's official, Katniss Everdeen has been cast in the film version of Suzanne Collins' The Hunger Games. So who is the lucky girl? Not a girl at all, but the 20-year-old actress Jennifer Lawrence. Lawrence first came to attention in last year's breakout Indie movie Winter's Bone, and was nominated for an Oscar for her note-worthy performance. For more information about the casting announcement check out EW's post here.


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Ellen Booraem On Her Middle-Grade Novel Small Persons With Wings - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Ellen Booraem keeps things fresh with Small Persons With Wings. Her society of fairies, excuse us, "small persons with wings" will thrill readers. RT Reviewer Kate Girard was enchanted by Booraem’s take on fairies, calling this tale “a middle-grade for every grade!” Now the author shares how the magical elements of the tale evolved.

Like most fantasies, Small Persons With Wings perches atop a massive underwater iceberg of back-story. The part you see is a simple enough coming-into-your-own story for a modern thirteen-year-old and her supernatural sidekick. The underwater part is more complicated. Fortunately, you’ll never see it.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Ask YA Author Lauren Oliver Your Questions In Tonight's Livestream Chat E-vent!

BY Whitney Sullivan, FEBRUARY 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

It's a pretty poorly kept secret around RT BOOK REVIEWS that one of my favorite new names in YA is Lauren Oliver. I was impressed with the way that Lauren Oliver uses detail to reinforce the chilling realities in both her debut, Before I Fall, and this month's Delirium, two RT Top Picks!. After I finished each book, the premises remained on my mind for weeks.

So I jumped at the chance to talk to the author about the world of Delirium in this look at two dystopias that deal with teen love. One of my favorite things that Oliver said was about what surprised her the most about her dystopian world. She said it was, " ... how much damage can be inflicted by people who pretend to want the best for you. Nothing is more dangerous than someone who feels morally superior, because he/she will also never feel guilty." 


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lauren Oliver's Delirium and Megan McCafferty's Bumped - With Excerpts!

BY Whitney Sullivan, FEBRUARY 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

I am really enjoying the influx of dystopian societies in YA fiction. I love seeing how authors like Suzanne Collins, Ally Condie, and Cameron Stracher re-imagine society in response to a challenge.

The latest dystopian tale to leave me awestruck was this month's Delirium by Lauren Oliver. This RT Top Pick! takes place in a society where love is considered a disease; one which teens must have an operation done to protect them from. Even after I finished Delirium, I was unable to forget Oliver's unusual look at teen love.

So, I was intrigued to hear about another new dystopian novel dealing with teen love in an unexpected way. While Oliver puts a spin on the emotional side of love, this May Megan McCafferty's Bumped revolves around the physical side of love. In Bumped teens are encouraged to be sexually active in hopes of getting pregnant.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

WIN Melissa Marr’s Darkest Mercy – With Excerpt!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Bestselling author Melissa Marr wraps up her Wicked Lovely series with Darkest Mercy, a March RT Top Pick! Now take a peek between the covers of Darkest Mercy with this excerpt and then find out how you can win your own ADVANCED READER COPY of the paranormal YA that has RT’s Kelly Brennan saying, “Fans will not want to miss this shocking, heart-stoping finale!”

***

Aislinn couldn’t keep her eyes open. She might not love Keenan, but there was no denying the way her body responded to him. She slid her hand from his side onto his bare stomach and felt the muscles under his skin tense.

He had his arm around her lower back and started to pull her onto his lap.

With more effort than she wished it took, she stopped him. “Keenan.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
66COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Beat The Valentine’s Day Blues With Melissa De La Cruz – With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

YA author Melissa de la Cruz has just released her latest installment of her popular Blue Bloods series, Bloody Valentine. RT’s Kate Girard says, “This anthology is an excellent addition to a series that’s like Gossip Girl meets Twilight with a twist!” Today the author sits down to chat about what fans can expect from Bloody Valentine, her new adult series and what’s next for these fan-faves. And don’t miss your own chance to win Bloody Valentine at the end of the interview!

***

RT BOOK REVIEWS: The newest addition to your popular Blue Bloods series is the short story collection Bloody Valentine that looks at love and relationships in three short stories. What are you most excited about adding to your universe with these tales? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
64COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Cynthia Leitich Smith

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

YA author Cynthia Leitich Smith stops by to talk with RT Web Editor Morgan Doremus about what it was like to unite the casts of her paranormal tales Tantalize and Eternal in this month's Blessed. The author chats about her "multi-creature verse", catches readers up so that they are ready for the newest story in the series and shares her very favorite scene in Blessed. And don't miss an insider look at the evolution of the author's popular blog Cynsations.

Cynthia Leitich Smith on Quncie P. Morris and Blessed >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Michael Northrop On The Blizzard That Rages In This Month's Trapped

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

Michael Northrop has us crossing our fingers that none of the winter’s snowstorms turns into the serious natural disaster that occurs in the author’s new YA, Trapped. The tale follows teen Scotty Weems and six other students who are stuck in a high school as a monster blizzard rages outside.

Let me begin this the way I begin so many things, with a crippling admission. I watch a lot of documentaries. Not like a few here and there: a lot. My favorites are usually about nature in some way, either animals on their home turf or people trying to navigate the natural world. Let’s just say I’m not the sort of guy to miss Shark Week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST