RT Daily Blog

Ask YA Author Lauren Oliver Your Questions In Tonight's Livestream Chat E-vent!

BY Whitney Sullivan, FEBRUARY 24, 2011 | PERMALINK

It's a pretty poorly kept secret around RT BOOK REVIEWS that one of my favorite new names in YA is Lauren Oliver. I was impressed with the way that Lauren Oliver uses detail to reinforce the chilling realities in both her debut, Before I Fall, and this month's Delirium, two RT Top Picks!. After I finished each book, the premises remained on my mind for weeks.

So I jumped at the chance to talk to the author about the world of Delirium in this look at two dystopias that deal with teen love. One of my favorite things that Oliver said was about what surprised her the most about her dystopian world. She said it was, " ... how much damage can be inflicted by people who pretend to want the best for you. Nothing is more dangerous than someone who feels morally superior, because he/she will also never feel guilty." 


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lauren Oliver's Delirium and Megan McCafferty's Bumped - With Excerpts!

BY Whitney Sullivan, FEBRUARY 23, 2011 | PERMALINK

I am really enjoying the influx of dystopian societies in YA fiction. I love seeing how authors like Suzanne Collins, Ally Condie, and Cameron Stracher re-imagine society in response to a challenge.

The latest dystopian tale to leave me awestruck was this month's Delirium by Lauren Oliver. This RT Top Pick! takes place in a society where love is considered a disease; one which teens must have an operation done to protect them from. Even after I finished Delirium, I was unable to forget Oliver's unusual look at teen love.

So, I was intrigued to hear about another new dystopian novel dealing with teen love in an unexpected way. While Oliver puts a spin on the emotional side of love, this May Megan McCafferty's Bumped revolves around the physical side of love. In Bumped teens are encouraged to be sexually active in hopes of getting pregnant.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

WIN Melissa Marr’s Darkest Mercy – With Excerpt!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 15, 2011 | PERMALINK

Bestselling author Melissa Marr wraps up her Wicked Lovely series with Darkest Mercy, a March RT Top Pick! Now take a peek between the covers of Darkest Mercy with this excerpt and then find out how you can win your own ADVANCED READER COPY of the paranormal YA that has RT’s Kelly Brennan saying, “Fans will not want to miss this shocking, heart-stoping finale!”

***

Aislinn couldn’t keep her eyes open. She might not love Keenan, but there was no denying the way her body responded to him. She slid her hand from his side onto his bare stomach and felt the muscles under his skin tense.

He had his arm around her lower back and started to pull her onto his lap.

With more effort than she wished it took, she stopped him. “Keenan.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
66COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Beat The Valentine’s Day Blues With Melissa De La Cruz – With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

YA author Melissa de la Cruz has just released her latest installment of her popular Blue Bloods series, Bloody Valentine. RT’s Kate Girard says, “This anthology is an excellent addition to a series that’s like Gossip Girl meets Twilight with a twist!” Today the author sits down to chat about what fans can expect from Bloody Valentine, her new adult series and what’s next for these fan-faves. And don’t miss your own chance to win Bloody Valentine at the end of the interview!

***

RT BOOK REVIEWS: The newest addition to your popular Blue Bloods series is the short story collection Bloody Valentine that looks at love and relationships in three short stories. What are you most excited about adding to your universe with these tales? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
64COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Cynthia Leitich Smith

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

YA author Cynthia Leitich Smith stops by to talk with RT Web Editor Morgan Doremus about what it was like to unite the casts of her paranormal tales Tantalize and Eternal in this month's Blessed. The author chats about her "multi-creature verse", catches readers up so that they are ready for the newest story in the series and shares her very favorite scene in Blessed. And don't miss an insider look at the evolution of the author's popular blog Cynsations.

Cynthia Leitich Smith on Quncie P. Morris and Blessed >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Michael Northrop On The Blizzard That Rages In This Month's Trapped

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, FEBRUARY 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

Michael Northrop has us crossing our fingers that none of the winter’s snowstorms turns into the serious natural disaster that occurs in the author’s new YA, Trapped. The tale follows teen Scotty Weems and six other students who are stuck in a high school as a monster blizzard rages outside.

Let me begin this the way I begin so many things, with a crippling admission. I watch a lot of documentaries. Not like a few here and there: a lot. My favorites are usually about nature in some way, either animals on their home turf or people trying to navigate the natural world. Let’s just say I’m not the sort of guy to miss Shark Week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Stephanie Perkins' Top Ten Tips For Visiting Paris - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 27, 2011 | PERMALINK

In Stephanie PerkinsAnna and the French Kiss, Anna’s parents ship her to boarding school in France. This YA tale about love, cinema, and France was rated an RT Top Pick! Says the reviewer, “Perkins brings France to life in a way that can only be seen through the eyes of a teen. Anna's reactions absolutely ring true, especially her worries about accidentally offending the Paris natives.” However, Anna may have found life in Paris a little bit less intimidating if she had been armed with Stephanie Perkins' Top Ten Things You Should Know About France Before Visiting! After the post check out the *Web Exclusive Review* and enter to win your own copy of this Parisian adventure.

When Anna Oliphant—the heroine of my novel—is shipped to Paris for her senior year of high school, she is afraid. She doesn’t speak the language, she’s familiar with the stereotypes, and she’s under the impression that the French do NOT like Americans.

Her worries are unfounded.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
15COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Elizabeth Eulberg Talks The Talented Mr. Darcy - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

YA author Elizabeth Eulberg wowed us with her “inspired re-interpretation” of Austen’s Pride and Prejudice which re-stages the story in a contemporary exclusive boarding school, Longbourn Academy. Discover how Eulberg transformed Darcy into a teen, and then enjoy an excerpt and enter to win your own copy of Prom and Prejudice!

Ah, Mr. Darcy. There are many words that come to mind when thinking of Jane Austen’s romantic hero: aloof, loyal, handsome, rich, caring, and let’s just say it, sexy (come on, you can admit that you’ve watched Colin Firth emerging soaking wet from the pond in the BBC version of Pride and Prejudice more than once -- oddly enough, that infamous Mr. Darcy scene is nowhere in Miss Austen’s prose).

But what about Mr. Darcy as a high school junior? For my new novel Prom and Prejudice, a modern retelling of Pride and Prejudice, I had the task of taking one of the most beloved characters in literature and turn him into a high school student. No pressure.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
15COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cameron Stracher On The Water Wars That May Be - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

In Cameron Stracher’s chilling dystopian YA, The Water Wars, the fast-paced adventure takes place in a bleak world where the lack of water has caused economic and social disasters. Learn what current conditions around the world inspired the author to create The Water Wars and what steps you can take keep this world from becoming our reality. And after you check out this excerpt and *Web Exclusive Review* of The Water Wars at the end of this special message from the author — be sure to enter to win your own copy of the new novel!

The simplest, most elementary thing, can also be the most precious. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
12COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Clare B. Dunkle Puts Her Own Spin On The Classics

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

In the YA adventure The House of Dead Maids, author Clare B. Dunkle bring Heathcliff and Seldom House to life before Emily Brontë’s Wuthering Heights takes place. Learn why Dunkle fell in love with the classics and some of the alternate beginnings, middles and endings that she would weave into four other classic tales.

Lots of readers come to the classics through well-meaning but boring school assignments, and there’s nothing like making a thing mandatory to suck all the thrill out of it. But I didn’t have to go to school to find the classics. My mother was an English professor, so our house had a room stuffed with the greatest books ever written, and she was always ready to help me find more interesting layers in those books.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST