RT Daily Blog

What I Fear Most...by James Rollins

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 05, 2010 | PERMALINK

Thriller author James Rollins has made a career of scaring people. From biological disasters to corrupt companies, Rollins incorporates many of modern society’s fears into his novels. The author, who is also behind the movie novelization of the latest Indiana Jones movie, has several dangerous hobbies. So what scares a man who spends his free time spelunking, scuba diving and traveling to the unknown?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

What I Fear Most...by Jennifer Allison

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Jennifer Allison is best known for her Young Adult series about the psychic investigator Gilda Joyce. However, the author has written a different type of paranormal tale for the anthology Fear: 13 Stories of Suspense and Horror. Her new story “The Perfects” combines several classic spine-tingling elements: creepy little kids, freaky dolls and a house of horror. So we had to know, what frightens Jennifer Allison?

When I was a child, I often awoke in the middle of the night and stared at various objects in my room. If you have any sort of imagination at all, this is a very bad idea. Naturally, my eyes played tricks on me, and I still remember my horror as I saw the shadowy figures of my plastic Barbie dolls appear to move in the darkness.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

More I Am Number Four Movie News

BY Whitney Sullivan, OCTOBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

The trailer has been released for the I Am Number Four movie-adaptation project! Back in August, I told you how excited I was about the casting news about I Am Number Four. The paranormal YA novel written by James Frey and Jobie Hughes, under the name Pittacus Lore promises to be a blockbuster film. And now you can get the first look at Alex Pettyfer and Dianna Agron in action!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Wrapping Up YA Month With A List Of Upcoming Releases

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

RT's web team wants to thank everyone for joining us for our first "theme" month on the RT Daily Blog. We have had a ton of fun covering Young Adult novels during September with amazing videos, guest blogs, giveaways, reviews and more from some of our favorite YA authors. (You can check out the all of the action here.)

As a parting gift to the readers, we thought we would make a list of some upcoming YA reads that we can't wait to get our hands on. Do you have an upcoming book you are dying to read? Let us know in the comments!

 

The Mockingbirds by Daisy Whitney
Releases November 2010

The RT editors have been talking about this book for months - a heavy hitting subject matter (date rape) is delved into in this hauntingly powerful tale. 

 

 


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Smart Chicks Kick It Tour from Canada!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

Sadly the Smart Chicks Kick It Tour is now over. But before they wrapped up, we got one last report from author Jeri Smith-Ready about the final event in Canada.

Approaching the finish line is the most exhilarating moment in any marathon*. Not because it’s over, but because that’s where you get to reflect on the journey and revel in what you’ve accomplished.  

Also, it’s where people are cheering the loudest.  

At the final Smart Chicks Kick It tour stop in Brampton, Ontario, we were greeted by one of the biggest crowds yet (400-500 people!). Some had waited outside the store since 8 AM, before it even opened. These Smartest-of-all-Chicks snagged front row seats and therefore spots at the front of the signing line. 

The three-hour-long signing line.  

Three hours! This was after readers had flown, driven, or taken the train from as far as New Brunswick and Cold Lake, Alberta (those two Chicks won special prizes for coming the farthest). We were amazed and honored by their dedication and stamina. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Lauren Oliver

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 28, 2010 | PERMALINK

YA author Lauren Oliver is interviewed by RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus. The author chats about her popular debut novel Before I Fall. Get all of the insider details about Oliver's high school experience, what it was like to write an "unlikable heroine" and how a novel about repeating the same day seven times is really a story of change.

Lauren Oliver On Before I Fall >>

Lauren Oliver On The Nuances Of Being A Teen >>

Lauren Oliver's Advice For High School Teens >>

Lauren Oliver On Her Next Projects >>

 

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Smart Chicks Kick It Tour In Naperville

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 27, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Carrie Ryan shares insider details from the Napperville, IL stop on the Smart Chicks Kick It Tour. Check out all the action as Ryan reports on the latest news from her fellow authors, some of their best trivia answers and other highlights of the event.

When I got an email from Melissa Marr about the Smart Chicks Kick it Tour, I was a little star struck at the list of authors included. These are authors whose books are on my best bookcase, who I’ve looked up and I had a pretty fangirl moment of excitement that I’d now have the chance to meet and hang out with them. And let me tell you -- these are some Smart Chicks who are pretty awesome! 

Authors Melissa Marr and Kelley Armstrong posing with a fan


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Ally Carter

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 23, 2010 | PERMALINK
YA author Ally Carter is interviewed by RT's Senior Editor Elissa Petruzzi. The author chats about her popular series starter Heist Society. Find out what inspired Carter's cat burglar heroine, her favorite art fact that she learned while researching Heist Society and details about the series second!

Ally Carter On Her Heist Series >>

Ally Carter On Her Gallagher Girls Series >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>

Check Back Tomorrow For The *Web Exclusive Review* of Only The Good Spy Young!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

QUICK TAKES With Cate Tiernan

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

YA author Cate Tiernan has just kicked off her new series with Immortal Beloved. Now the author stops by to answer our first-ever "Quick Takes" quiz. And don't miss the author message and excerpt at the bottom of this post!

1) What was your favorite book when you were growing up?

I don't know if I had an all-time favorite, but I read voraciously. My mother worked in a bookshop for a while and I think I read their entire juvenile stock. The one that comes to mind most often is The Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett. It was long and not dumbed-down and very satisfying.

2) What is your favorite book now? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Ten Questions With Cate Tiernan

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

YA author Cate Tiernan has just kicked off her new series with Immortal Beloved. Now she stops by the RT Daily Blog for a ten question Q&A. And don't miss the author message and excerpt at the end of this post!

RT: What was your favorite book when you were growing up?

Cate Tiernan: I don't know if I had an all-time favorite, but I read voraciously. My mother worked in a bookshop for a while, and I think I read their entire juvenile stock. The one that comes to mind most often is The Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett. It was long and not dumbed-down, and very satisfying.

RT: What is your favorite book now? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST