RT Daily Blog

Win Tiger's Curse - a January Top Pick!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2011 | PERMALINK

"It is a book J.K. Rowling wishes she wrote ..." raves RT Reviewer Meera Patel about Colleen Houck's YA series starter, Tiger's Curse, a January RT Top Pick! 

 

Tiger's Curse, Houck's debut, hooked Patel with its fast-paced adventure about teen Kelsey who gets a chance to travel to India with a tiger, only to learn that he is a prince cursed to spend eternity in animal form. Tiger's Curse will hit shelves this Tuesday but right now you can enter to win your own copy in our special Tiger's Curse Giveaway.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
71COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Enter to Win Bree Despain's The Lost Saint and a Special Gift!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 28, 2010 | PERMALINK

The day we've been waiting for is finally here — today Bree Despain's The Lost Saint hits shelves! All month long you've had a chance to read about some of the behind-the-scenes moments from the making of The Lost Saint. You also got a sneak peek at the prologue, first and second chapters of the story. Now, to celebrate the release of The Lost Saint we have one final message from the author and a special GIVEAWAY: five copies of The Lost Saint and matching nail polish. Be sure to check out the details at the end of the post!

Bree says:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Final Message and Excerpt Before The Lost Saint Hits Shelves!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 21, 2010 | PERMALINK

The paranormal YA The Lost Saint by Bree Despain will hit shelves next Tuesday. She has already told us about the incident that inspired the series, shared an insider look at the challenge she faced when starting this novel and revealed what finally helped her break through her writer's block. Now Bree stops by with one final message and excerpt of her novel before readers (okay, us) can get their (our) hands on The Lost Saint on the 28th! 

Dear RT Book Reviews Readers,


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

An Exclusive Look at The Lost Saint - Read the First Chapter!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 14, 2010 | PERMALINK

Bree Despain’s new YA novel, The Lost Saint, the second in her Dark Divine series, has been getting tons of buzz, and the exclusive look we shared last week, starting with the  prologue, is just going to keep on coming! Now Bree is back to talk about how she won the battle against writer's block and reveal the entire first chapter of The Lost Saint!

Woohoo! Today, thanks to RT BOOK REVIEWS, I get to preview Chapter One of The Lost Saint. Along with the preview, I thought I’d give you a behind-the-scenes look at this chapter.

The problem: As I said in my last post, the beginning of The Lost Saint was a hard one to figure out (what with 20+ false starts and all), and it was frankly giving me a major case of the author crazies.  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
28COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Take A Sneak Peek At The Lost Saint - Read the Prologue!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 07, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Bree Despain shares a special look at her highly anticipated new YA novel, The Lost Saint. This series second will delight readers craving a kick-butt heroine and fast-paced action. Just a few weeks ago the author chatted about the personal story that inspired this series. Now she reveals how she found the perfect way to begin her series second and gives readers a sneak peek — the prologue of The Lost Saint!

Dear RT BOOK REVIEWS Readers,


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
24COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Wait is Over: Richelle Mead's Last Sacrifice Arrives Tomorrow -- Win it here!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 06, 2010 | PERMALINK

Richelle Mead's final novel in the popular Vampire Academy series, Last Sacrifice, has been anxiously anticipated by fans, and tomorrow the wait is over. The series conclusion will hit bookshelves on Tuesday, but in the meantime readers can check out the *Web Exclusive Review* of the story that RT Senior Reviewer Jill M. Smith calls, "A fitting end to an amazing series!" And don't miss your chance to enter to win a copy of this entire series. 

Read the *Web Exclusive Review* >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
12COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Story Behind The Dark Divine

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 23, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Bree Despain shares the personal tale about the “what if” that inspired her series starter, The Dark Divine.

When I was little, one of my best friends was a boy who lived down the street from me. We spent hours together climbing in apricot trees, playing soccer, and letting our imaginations run wild. He was mischievous, always looking for ways to tease me—or trying to trick me into kissing him. However, in the second grade, his family moved across the country and we parted ways.

Several years later, I’d all but forgotten about my old friend when I walked into my ninth-grade history class, and was shocked to find a new guy sitting in the seat behind mine. In my quiet suburban neighborhood, this guy looked like Breetrouble with his long hair and torn clothes. I couldn’t see his face, and the idea of sitting near him made me nervous. I took my seat, reassuring myself that if I didn’t bother him, he wouldn’t bother me.

Except, the second I sat down, he started hassling me with obnoxious questions about my life. After I’d had enough, I turned around and snapped, “Who the hell do you think you are?”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Q&A With the YA Authors Behind The Caster Chronicles - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 05, 2010 | PERMALINK
Photo Credit: Alex Hoerner  

Authors Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl have just released the second novel in The Caster Chronicles, Beautiful Darkness. Now authors take readers behind the scenes of their popular YA series – and don’t miss the GIVEAWAY at the end of this interview!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Rachel Caine

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Rachel Caine's latest novel, Ghost Townwas released this week. Ghost Towncontinues Caine's popular Young Adult Urban Vampire series, The Morganville Vampires. Now the author goes behind the scenes of her writing career and popular series in this interview with RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus. Caine catches readers up with her Morganville heroine, Claire, and discusses her latest adventure.

Rachel Caine On Her Writing Career and Popular Series >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Barnes and Noble To Split Up Its YA Novels

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Barnes & Noble announced that the company will be changing the way that it shelves the YA section of its stores, reported Publishers Weekly earlier this week.

The teen fiction that Barnes & Noble carries will now be separated so that two popular sub-genre, paranormal romance and fantasy and adventure, will be have their own shelves within the larger YA section. Additionally, stores displays will now include the top 10 teen fiction best-sellers as well as a selection of spotlighted YA reads. 

The company's V-P of Children's Books, Mary Amicucci spoke with Publishers Weekly, in article on October 21st, about how the change to the company's YA section set-up is purely cosmetic. The actual size of the section will stay the same in all of the stores. So what prompted the move? Amicucci says, "It's really about improving the customer experience."

Learn More >>

Do you think that breaking out the YA sub-genres will improve your shopping experience?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST