RT Daily Blog

A Q&A With the YA Authors Behind The Caster Chronicles - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, NOVEMBER 05, 2010 | PERMALINK
Photo Credit: Alex Hoerner  

Authors Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl have just released the second novel in The Caster Chronicles, Beautiful Darkness. Now authors take readers behind the scenes of their popular YA series – and don’t miss the GIVEAWAY at the end of this interview!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Rachel Caine

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Rachel Caine's latest novel, Ghost Townwas released this week. Ghost Towncontinues Caine's popular Young Adult Urban Vampire series, The Morganville Vampires. Now the author goes behind the scenes of her writing career and popular series in this interview with RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus. Caine catches readers up with her Morganville heroine, Claire, and discusses her latest adventure.

Rachel Caine On Her Writing Career and Popular Series >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Barnes and Noble To Split Up Its YA Novels

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

Barnes & Noble announced that the company will be changing the way that it shelves the YA section of its stores, reported Publishers Weekly earlier this week.

The teen fiction that Barnes & Noble carries will now be separated so that two popular sub-genre, paranormal romance and fantasy and adventure, will be have their own shelves within the larger YA section. Additionally, stores displays will now include the top 10 teen fiction best-sellers as well as a selection of spotlighted YA reads. 

The company's V-P of Children's Books, Mary Amicucci spoke with Publishers Weekly, in article on October 21st, about how the change to the company's YA section set-up is purely cosmetic. The actual size of the section will stay the same in all of the stores. So what prompted the move? Amicucci says, "It's really about improving the customer experience."

Learn More >>

Do you think that breaking out the YA sub-genres will improve your shopping experience?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five Questions for YA Author Robert Paul Weston

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 20, 2010 | PERMALINK

Dust City, the new paranormal YA tale by author Robert Paul Weston, brings a fractured fairytale world to life. Now the author goes behind the scenes of his newest tale in this revealing interview. And don't miss the *Web Exclusive Review* of Dust City at the end of this post!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sex and the Young Adult Heroine

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 19, 2010 | PERMALINK

YA Author Andrea Cremer confronts the double standards held for teens of different genders with her new paranormal novel, Nightshade

Sexuality is a hot (no pun intended) topic in the world of YA and if sexual or suggestive content appears in your YA novel it will be a point of discussion and possibly controversy. How sexy is too sexy for YA, do the rules change if the book is a "crossover" novel? Where is the line? Should there be a line at all when it comes to sex in young adult literature?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

What I Fear Most...by James Rollins

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 05, 2010 | PERMALINK

Thriller author James Rollins has made a career of scaring people. From biological disasters to corrupt companies, Rollins incorporates many of modern society’s fears into his novels. The author, who is also behind the movie novelization of the latest Indiana Jones movie, has several dangerous hobbies. So what scares a man who spends his free time spelunking, scuba diving and traveling to the unknown?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

What I Fear Most...by Jennifer Allison

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Jennifer Allison is best known for her Young Adult series about the psychic investigator Gilda Joyce. However, the author has written a different type of paranormal tale for the anthology Fear: 13 Stories of Suspense and Horror. Her new story “The Perfects” combines several classic spine-tingling elements: creepy little kids, freaky dolls and a house of horror. So we had to know, what frightens Jennifer Allison?

When I was a child, I often awoke in the middle of the night and stared at various objects in my room. If you have any sort of imagination at all, this is a very bad idea. Naturally, my eyes played tricks on me, and I still remember my horror as I saw the shadowy figures of my plastic Barbie dolls appear to move in the darkness.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

More I Am Number Four Movie News

BY Whitney Sullivan, OCTOBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

The trailer has been released for the I Am Number Four movie-adaptation project! Back in August, I told you how excited I was about the casting news about I Am Number Four. The paranormal YA novel written by James Frey and Jobie Hughes, under the name Pittacus Lore promises to be a blockbuster film. And now you can get the first look at Alex Pettyfer and Dianna Agron in action!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Wrapping Up YA Month With A List Of Upcoming Releases

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

RT's web team wants to thank everyone for joining us for our first "theme" month on the RT Daily Blog. We have had a ton of fun covering Young Adult novels during September with amazing videos, guest blogs, giveaways, reviews and more from some of our favorite YA authors. (You can check out the all of the action here.)

As a parting gift to the readers, we thought we would make a list of some upcoming YA reads that we can't wait to get our hands on. Do you have an upcoming book you are dying to read? Let us know in the comments!

 

The Mockingbirds by Daisy Whitney
Releases November 2010

The RT editors have been talking about this book for months - a heavy hitting subject matter (date rape) is delved into in this hauntingly powerful tale. 

 

 


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Smart Chicks Kick It Tour from Canada!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 29, 2010 | PERMALINK

Sadly the Smart Chicks Kick It Tour is now over. But before they wrapped up, we got one last report from author Jeri Smith-Ready about the final event in Canada.

Approaching the finish line is the most exhilarating moment in any marathon*. Not because it’s over, but because that’s where you get to reflect on the journey and revel in what you’ve accomplished.  

Also, it’s where people are cheering the loudest.  

At the final Smart Chicks Kick It tour stop in Brampton, Ontario, we were greeted by one of the biggest crowds yet (400-500 people!). Some had waited outside the store since 8 AM, before it even opened. These Smartest-of-all-Chicks snagged front row seats and therefore spots at the front of the signing line. 

The three-hour-long signing line.  

Three hours! This was after readers had flown, driven, or taken the train from as far as New Brunswick and Cold Lake, Alberta (those two Chicks won special prizes for coming the farthest). We were amazed and honored by their dedication and stamina. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST