RT Daily Blog

Suzanne Collins Inspires Mockingjay Madness

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 03, 2010 | PERMALINK

The entire RT office was waiting with bated breath for the release of Suzanne Collins' The Hunger Games trilogy ender, Mockingjay. We got ready for Mockingjay's August 24 release date with giveaways (of the series starter and series schwag) and reports back from the official pre-release party. We were so excited about Mockingjay that four of the six RT editors already had their copies in hand by 10:00 on the morning of the book's release.

And the RT editors aren't the only ones who rushed out to get their copies ...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Supernatural Soiree

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 02, 2010 | PERMALINK

Last night, authors Lucienne Diver and Michele Lang hosted a book release party for their newest stories. 

Diver's newest release Revamped, the second in her Young Adult Vamped series was released yesterday, while earlier this week Lang's Historical Urban Fantasy Lady Lazarus hit bookstores.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Smart Chicks Kick It - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

We told you we are psyched to celebrate YA all month long. And now the seventeen authors taking part in September's Smart Chicks Kick It book tour have given us another reason to cheer. This month some of the most popular YA authors will participate in a two-week book tour that's not just cross-country but cross continent! And the authors headlining the tour have put together an AWESOME giveaway for RT readers at the end of the post.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
60COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

YA Month Kick Off

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

BLOG UPDATE: For ongoing coverage of the YA genre, please check the links at the bottom of this page.

For many of us, September means “back to school.” And whether you are headed into the classroom as a student or a teacher, or just remembering the sensation of being in class, what better time for a month-long celebration of young adult novels?

This hot genre is bursting with great books for fall. In our September issue, for the first time ever, we had six YA Top Picks! These six reads are a great cross-section of what is going on in the genre, and are hitting shelves this month. We can't wait!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Marlene Perez Reflects On Her Four Book Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 24, 2010 | PERMALINK

YA author Marlene Perez stops by to chat about the origins of her fascination with the paranormal and the evolution of her Dead Is series. The newest novel, Dead Is Just A Rumor, will hit shelves today and now you can read the *Web Exclusive* reviews of the entire series. Learn what role Perez's large family played in her writing career and don't miss heroine Daisy Giordano's Top Five Rules for Getting Along With Sisters at the bottom of the post. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Top 10 Reasons We're Excited for the Sweet Valley High Sequel — With Giveaway!

BY Elissa Petruzzi, AUGUST 19, 2010 | PERMALINK

Top 10 Reasons We're Excited for Sweet Valley Confidential: Ten Years Later:

10. These T-shirts we have as giveaway prizes are really cute. (E-mail Elissa@RTBookReviews.com to enter!)

9.  We've always wanted a 1Bruce1 license plate, and now we're actually old enough to drive. 

8.  We're still scarred by Regina's untimely death, and we're hoping for some closure.

7.  Would it be too much to ask to see a twentysomething Lila working as a beleaguered, much put upon personal assistant? 

6.  We want to see Elizabeth with someone other than stick-in-the-mud Todd. (Sorry, Todd!)

5.  A nice Bruce Patman? This we gotta see.

4.  We must know: did the Droids ever make it big?

3.  A grown up Steven? Color us interested.

2.  We call high potential for a Winston and Enid wedding. Think of the nerdtastic babies they would make!

1.  The first chapter is really quite good! (Get it here.)


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Casting News About I Am Number Four

BY Whitney Sullivan, AUGUST 19, 2010 | PERMALINK

For all that I love reading historical romance novels, when it comes to my movies, I look to outer space for distraction. So of course, I was excited to hear about the movie adaptation of the paranormal YA, I Am Number Four. We had fun talking about the title and our alien obsession in the August issue of RT Book Reviews. And now there is even more info out about what we can expect from the upcoming movie adaptation of I Am Number Four.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tera Lynn Childs Is Taking A Stand Against Censorship - And You Can Too!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 18, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Tera Lynn Childs has withdrawn from 2011 Teen Lit Fest in Humble, Texas. The author shares her views on the censorship that prompted her decision and how readers can get involved.

When I was asked to participate in the 2011 Humble ISD Teen Lit Fest in Humble, Texas, I was thrilled. Not only would I get to meet lots of enthusiastic teen readers, but I would get to present with authors Melissa de la Cruz, Matt de la Pena, Pete Hautman and Ellen Hopkins. Writing is a solitary pursuit, so it’s always a treat to meet others of my kind.

Fast forward to earlier this month. I received a disturbing email from Ellen. She had been “uninvited” from the festival by Superintendent Guy Sconzo after “several” parents and one librarian voiced concern about the objectionable content of her books. A tireless activist against censorship of any kind, Ellen further explained that she was organizing a reader protest and boycott of the event.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

May The Odds Be Ever In Your Favor! Hunger Games (Schwag) Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 13, 2010 | PERMALINK

We're getting awfully excited for Mockingjay, the trilogy ender to Suzanne Collins' The Hunger Games, which comes out August 24 from Scholastic. So when the FedEx delivery man showed up with a giant box with a Hunger Games logo on it, we're not too proud to tell you, we did a happy little jig. And though we had dearly hoped that inside that box was a copy of Mockingjay, instead there was something (nearly) as good, that we'd love to share with you. 

Take a look:

Lots and lots of Hunger Games treats, celebrating a new Facebook game:
The Hunger Games: Training Days.

We've got charm bracelets, brooches, bag clips. 

Bracelets, bookmarks!

T-shirts!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Lucy Christopher - With GIVEAWAY

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 09, 2010 | PERMALINK
YA author Lucy Christopher is interviewed by RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus - and don't miss the GIVEAWAY at the end of the interview.

Learn about Christopher's inspiration for Stolen, how writing about a terrifying teen abduction happened "by accident" and what makes these characters ones who will stay with you long after you have finished the novel. Insider Info: Even Christopher is still captivated by her characters and is considering continuing the story with what happens when their paths cross ten years later... Find out why!

Lucy Christopher Discusses Stolen >>

Lucy Christopher On Being Inspired By The Australian Outback >>

Lucy Christopher Shares Details About Her Upcoming Novel Flyaway >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST