RT Daily Blog

Video Interview: Ally Carter

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 23, 2010 | PERMALINK
YA author Ally Carter is interviewed by RT's Senior Editor Elissa Petruzzi. The author chats about her popular series starter Heist Society. Find out what inspired Carter's cat burglar heroine, her favorite art fact that she learned while researching Heist Society and details about the series second!

Ally Carter On Her Heist Series >>

Ally Carter On Her Gallagher Girls Series >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>

Check Back Tomorrow For The *Web Exclusive Review* of Only The Good Spy Young!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

QUICK TAKES With Cate Tiernan

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

YA author Cate Tiernan has just kicked off her new series with Immortal Beloved. Now the author stops by to answer our first-ever "Quick Takes" quiz. And don't miss the author message and excerpt at the bottom of this post!

1) What was your favorite book when you were growing up?

I don't know if I had an all-time favorite, but I read voraciously. My mother worked in a bookshop for a while and I think I read their entire juvenile stock. The one that comes to mind most often is The Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett. It was long and not dumbed-down and very satisfying.

2) What is your favorite book now? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Ten Questions With Cate Tiernan

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

YA author Cate Tiernan has just kicked off her new series with Immortal Beloved. Now she stops by the RT Daily Blog for a ten question Q&A. And don't miss the author message and excerpt at the end of this post!

RT: What was your favorite book when you were growing up?

Cate Tiernan: I don't know if I had an all-time favorite, but I read voraciously. My mother worked in a bookshop for a while, and I think I read their entire juvenile stock. The one that comes to mind most often is The Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett. It was long and not dumbed-down, and very satisfying.

RT: What is your favorite book now? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Smart Chicks Kick It Tour Hits Pasadena!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 22, 2010 | PERMALINK

YA author Melissa de la Cruz delivers a report from the Pasadena, CA stop on the Smart Chicks Kick It Tour. Get all the details about the night's activities, check out photos and find out where you can find these authors next!

The Smart Chicks caravan – a rollicking Sea World-like carnival of girl-powered, writer-powered, shoe-powered fun landed in Pasadena last night to a roaring crowd of 300 people at Vroman's bookstore. I knew the tour was going to be amazing from the first email inviting me to be part of it from insanely fabulous, YA lit advocates and enthusiasts/organizers Melissa Marr and Kelley Armstrong, but I had no idea how much giddy fun it would be. Stick nine paranormal YA authors in front of a crowd and you get—mayhem! Lightning Round! Marry, Shag, Cliff! Prizes! Trivia! It's a true author-as-rockstar experience that puts all other tours to shame. (No more lonely room service dinners alone, that's for sure!)

Here are the chicks. Don't we look smart? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Smart Chicks Kick It in Phoenix/Scottsdale

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 21, 2010 | PERMALINK

YA author Alyson Noël takes us behind the scenes of the Phoenix/Scottsdale AZ stops on the Smart Chicks Kick It Tour. Learn how Noël got involved with the tour, take a look at photos from the night and find out where you can catch these authors next!

Melissa Marr and Kelley Armstrong asked me to join them on the Smart Chicks Kick It Tour over lunch.

They were at a restaurant, I was at home, sitting at my desk with the phone clutched to my ear, feeling more than a little star struck to be talking to two authors whose work I admire so much.

Of course, the answer came easy—an enthusiastic, yes! And after months of their diligent planning and organizing and scheduling and last minute finagling, it’s been a blast to see their vision come to life.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Young Adult Top Picks Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 17, 2010 | PERMALINK

To celebrate the unprecedented SIX YA top picks of September, RT is giving you a chance to get your hands on these coveted novels in this awesome giveaway. Five lucky winners will receive a prize pack of this entire six book collection! 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Marley Gibson's Top Ten Tips For Ghost Hunting Teens

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

YA author Marley Gibson has made a name for herself with her popular Ghost Huntress series. Now check out the author's tips for teen ghost hunters and don't miss the *Web Exclusive Review* for each novel in this four book series!

The Ghost Huntress series has developed over four novels to become a multi-faceted action-packed ride. The novels follow teen Kendall who discovers that she is a psychic. With the aid of a few close friends and two adult mentors, Kendall is determined to use her gift to help as many ghosts "find the light" as possible. As Kendall experiences the ups and downs of being a psychic teen, Gibson delivers compelling mysteries with a strong supporting cast.

Gibson says of ghost hunting, "In researching for my Ghost Huntress series, I have, in essence, become a ghost huntress myself." Now she shares ten essential rules for effective (and safe) ghost hunting!

Marley Gibson's Top Ten Tips for Ghost Hunting Teens:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Smart Chicks Kick It: Report From Austin

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 15, 2010 | PERMALINK

YA author Melissa Marr reports back from the first night of the Smart Chicks Kick It Tour. The giant author tour kicked off in Austin, TX with over 450 YA fans in attendance. Now get Marr's take on the event, check out pictures and find out where the tour is headed next!

To say that the Smart Chicks tour has been wonderful so far would be VERY much an understatement. It’s already so much better than my highest expectations.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Smart Chicks Kick It Tour: Day One

BY admin, SEPTEMBER 15, 2010 | PERMALINK

INTRO

Extro


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

What's On The Web: The Contemps - Author Interviews

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 14, 2010 | PERMALINK

Yesterday RT spotlighted a newly launched YA website, The Contemps, which is run by a group of twenty-one authors who love contemporary YA fiction. (Learn more here.) Today we go in-depth with some of these authors to get their take on what’s going on in the YA sub-genre that they love so much. Authors April Henry, Denise Jordan, Mindi Scott, Courtney Summers, Melissa Walker and Sara Bennett Wealer share why they write YA novels, which titles introduced them to the genre (ahem, Judy Blume, ahem) and they list their favorite recent contemporary YA reads!

*** 

Why are contemporary YA stories so important? What do they offer that readers may not get from other genres?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST