RT Daily Blog

Casting News About I Am Number Four

BY Whitney Sullivan, AUGUST 19, 2010 | PERMALINK

For all that I love reading historical romance novels, when it comes to my movies, I look to outer space for distraction. So of course, I was excited to hear about the movie adaptation of the paranormal YA, I Am Number Four. We had fun talking about the title and our alien obsession in the August issue of RT Book Reviews. And now there is even more info out about what we can expect from the upcoming movie adaptation of I Am Number Four.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tera Lynn Childs Is Taking A Stand Against Censorship - And You Can Too!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 18, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Tera Lynn Childs has withdrawn from 2011 Teen Lit Fest in Humble, Texas. The author shares her views on the censorship that prompted her decision and how readers can get involved.

When I was asked to participate in the 2011 Humble ISD Teen Lit Fest in Humble, Texas, I was thrilled. Not only would I get to meet lots of enthusiastic teen readers, but I would get to present with authors Melissa de la Cruz, Matt de la Pena, Pete Hautman and Ellen Hopkins. Writing is a solitary pursuit, so it’s always a treat to meet others of my kind.

Fast forward to earlier this month. I received a disturbing email from Ellen. She had been “uninvited” from the festival by Superintendent Guy Sconzo after “several” parents and one librarian voiced concern about the objectionable content of her books. A tireless activist against censorship of any kind, Ellen further explained that she was organizing a reader protest and boycott of the event.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

May The Odds Be Ever In Your Favor! Hunger Games (Schwag) Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 13, 2010 | PERMALINK

We're getting awfully excited for Mockingjay, the trilogy ender to Suzanne Collins' The Hunger Games, which comes out August 24 from Scholastic. So when the FedEx delivery man showed up with a giant box with a Hunger Games logo on it, we're not too proud to tell you, we did a happy little jig. And though we had dearly hoped that inside that box was a copy of Mockingjay, instead there was something (nearly) as good, that we'd love to share with you. 

Take a look:

Lots and lots of Hunger Games treats, celebrating a new Facebook game:
The Hunger Games: Training Days.

We've got charm bracelets, brooches, bag clips. 

Bracelets, bookmarks!

T-shirts!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Lucy Christopher - With GIVEAWAY

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 09, 2010 | PERMALINK
YA author Lucy Christopher is interviewed by RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus - and don't miss the GIVEAWAY at the end of the interview.

Learn about Christopher's inspiration for Stolen, how writing about a terrifying teen abduction happened "by accident" and what makes these characters ones who will stay with you long after you have finished the novel. Insider Info: Even Christopher is still captivated by her characters and is considering continuing the story with what happens when their paths cross ten years later... Find out why!

Lucy Christopher Discusses Stolen >>

Lucy Christopher On Being Inspired By The Australian Outback >>

Lucy Christopher Shares Details About Her Upcoming Novel Flyaway >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Rosemary Graham

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 06, 2010 | PERMALINK

In the age of social networking sites like Facebook, YouTube and Google, checking up on exes has become a whole lot easier. But what happens when a little harmless cyber-stalking goes too far? Find out in Rosemary Graham's new novel, Stalker Girl. The story follows Carly who, after her breakup with Brian, crosses that line between curious and unhealthy. RT's Morgan Doremus calls the story, "a cautionary tale for anyone who dates in the age of the Internet."

Now, Rosemary Graham stops by to answer Morgan's questions about Stalker Girl, the modern breakup and share her tips for aspiring authors.

LISTEN HERE


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Simone Elkeles

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 04, 2010 | PERMALINK
Author Simone Elkeles is interviewed by RT's Senior Editor Elissa Petruzzi. The author, who just won a RITA award for Best Young Adult Romance at the 2010 RWA conference, is accompanied by the hunky hero from the book trailer for Rules Of Attraction. Elkeles chats about what fans can expect from her next novel and shares a line of the rap music she's become known for.

Simone Elkeles On Her Next Project >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Win Big When This Multicultural Author Makes Her YA Debut - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 21, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author A.C. Arthur has won acclaim for her fiction writing skills - in the last five years she’s been an RT Reviewers Choice nominee three times. Now she is wowing fans again, with two wildly different novels set to hit shelves in August. The first novel is a Kimani series romance titled Summer Heat. But it’s Arthur’s other August release that is really making waves. Under the pseudonym Artist Arthur, the author has published her first young adult novel, Manifest. 

Manifest follows city-girl Krystal's struggle to adapt to her new suburban life and new-found ability to see ghosts. RT Reviewer Lauren Becker believes, “Teens will easily relate to the feeling of being out of control, with a splash of the paranormal to keep it really interesting.” Manifest kicks off Arthur’s Mystyx series, and while the content is suitable for readers twelve and older, don’t be surprised if you are an adult fan who can’t get enough of Arthur’s newest novel.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sated! Our Hunger Game Contest Winners

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

Turns out we're not the only ones hungry to find out what happens to Katniss and Co. as The Hunger Games trilogy draws to a close next month with the release of Suzanne Collins' Mockingjay. (No, we could not resist that pun.) Last week we gave you our predictions as to how the book would end, and asked for you to weigh in, or to tell us why you're so ravenous to try these books, here. (We can't stop.) Here are the winning entries, whose appetite will soon be sated with paperback copies of The Hunger Games  ( ... okay we're done).

 

 


Denise
shares our penchant for punning, titling her email entry FAMISHED, endearing her to us forever. Poor Denise only got to page 34 of her library's copy of The Hunger Games before driving 550 miles from New Jersey to North Carolina. She tell us the rest: 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Young Adult At ThrillerFest

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 13, 2010 | PERMALINK

RT Summer Intern Spencer Freeman learns an important lesson at the Thrillerfest panel on the  appeal of YA novels  …

Thanks to bestselling series such as Harry Potter and Twilight, the market for young adult books goes beyond juvenile readers. During this year’s ThrillerFest, the annual convention for thriller authors and fans, there was a panel discussing the ever-popular question, “Are YA Novels for Grownups Too?”

The panel consisted of authors A.J. Hartley, F. Paul Wilson , Jennifer Alison, Ridley Pearson, R.L. Stine and YA publisher Andrew Harwell. F. Paul Wilson, panel moderator and bestselling author in his own right, led the discussion about the diverse readership of Young Adult novels. Other topics they touched on included dark themes in YA books, cross-over characters in series and the fact that many of their readers know their books better than the authors themselves.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Siren Strikes Again - WITH GIVEAWAY!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 09, 2010 | PERMALINK

It's time for our second installment of Tricia Rayburn's Siren, in stores July 13th. This week RT readers get an exclusive look at the second chapter of Siren and one more chance to win the Super Stuffed Summer Beach Bag Giveaway, which includes some great signed books and a gift card to Sephora! Read on for more …

 

Dear RT BOOK REVIEWS Readers,


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST