RT Daily Blog

Exclusive Excerpt: Michele Jaffe's Minders (and Judy Blume anecdote!)

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 29, 2014 | PERMALINK

We recently came down with a wicked case of FOMO (fear of missing out, doncha know) when we spied a Tweeted picture of three of our favorite YA authors hanging out together. People: Meg Cabot, Michele Jaffe and JUDY BLUME dined together, and we were not invited. Sob. Once we recovered from our disappointment, we emailed Michele for details (we are not ashamed). Here’s what she had to say:

 

Michele, Judy and Meg

"Judy's son, Larry Blume, and I have been friends for a long time, so it was great to finally meet his mom. She is as smart, funny, enchanting and stunning as you would imagine her to be--times 100. Being seated at a table with her and Meg Cabot is like being in the middle of a Charmnado."

Michele, being the lovely lady that she is, also wanted to share an excerpt of her latest YA, Minders, a trippy, futuristic tale of mind-hopping, privilege and romance. Take a look while you nurse your disappointment, right along with us.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lucy Christopher Talks Favorite Mysteries

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

There's something about the unknown that can be utterly irresistible. In The Killing Woods, YA author Lucy Christopher weaves a chilling tale of murder, accusations and family. So who better to talk mysteries than Lucy? We asked her to share her five favorite mysteries, both fictional and real, and here's what she had to say. Take it away, Lucy!

***

1). The Famous Five Series by Enid Blyton

I grew up reading the Famous Five and I’m sure that this influenced my writing at least a little bit. Blyton’s trademark series, about four young people (and Timmy the dog!) tackling crime and dark deeds, was published between 1942 and 1961, so they are a little dated now, but at the heart of each one is an intriguing mystery. Reading these novels, I too had dreams of camping and foiling smugglers. They aren’t dark or too serious or grizzly, but they’re full of heart and adventure. 

2). The Starling Murmuration


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

1909 vs. 2014: Sharon Biggs Waller On Why Teens Today Have It Easy

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 23, 2014 | PERMALINK

Kids today! Think they’ve got it so hard. Well, today Sharon Biggs Waller, author of A Mad, Wicked Folly, is here to set them straight. See, things were a lot more stringent for those adolescents coming of age in 1909. School us, Sharon!

***

Accept friend request?

 If you were a teen in the Edwardian era, your social class was unbending. What you did in life depended on how you were born: working class, middle class (lower, middle, and upper), and the aristocracy.

Nick names, nuh uh!

Unless you were in the working class, you could forget about calling your friends by nicknames. In fact, you were forbidden to use first names unless the other girl or boy “proposed,” a close friendship, which meant you could now use first names. Until then, Elizabeth Morris remained Miss Morris to you. Or if she were an aristocrat, you’d address her as Lady Elizabeth.

Sorry for party rocking. (Seriously, you are in so much trouble young lady.)


Read More>>

Tags: Historical, Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Q&A: Cate Tiernan Discusses Darkest Fear

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 21, 2014 | PERMALINK

Cate Tiernan first bewitched us with her Sweep series and ever since we just can't get enough of her! With Darkest Fear, Cate kicks off her newest YA series, Birthright, and introduces readers to Vivi, who, like most teenagers, is just trying to figure out her place in the world. To make matters even more complicated, she just found out that she and her parents are jaguar shapeshifters. And you thought you had a lot to deal with! Today, Cate sheds some light on the new book and provides exciting insight on her shapeshifters, Vivi and the upcoming sequel.

***

Vivi's parents reveal the family's shapeshifting abilities to her on her 13th birthday, which is a popular birthday for big reveals in fantasy and paranormal stories. What is it about the lucky 13th birthday that makes it so magical?


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

January Seal Of Excellence

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 21, 2014 | PERMALINK

Each month the RT editors select one book that is not only compelling, but pushes the boundaries of genre fiction. This book stands out from all the others reviewed that month, in the magazine issue and on the website. January 2014's RT Seal of Excellence — the editors' pick for best book of the month — is awarded to Kathleen Hale's YA mystery No One Else Can Have You.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Advanced Excerpt: Jennifer L. Armentrout's WHITE HOT KISS

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

She burst onto the scene a few years ago, and now it's hard to go a month or so without encountering a new Jennifer L. Armentrout book. And we read them all. Good thing we're exceptional at ignoring our families and ordering take out for dinner. Priorities! 

We're especially excited about the first full-length title in Jennifer's new pararnormal Dark Elements series, White Hot Kiss. The book doesn't hit stores until February 25 (you can find our review in the March issue of RT, available digitally this week), but we called in a few favors for you, our favorite readers, and we today have a super advanced excerpt to share! 

Jennifer set the scene for us, saying, "In this scene, you'll get to see a little bit of Layla...and a little bit of a very naughty and very, um, hands-on demon who goes by the name Roth. And there will be kissing, of course. It is a book I've written."

Well now we really want to check it out! Read on …


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Reveal: Mary Pearson's A Kiss of Deception

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

We don’t exactly know why, but we’ve been having a little bit of a love affair lately with the word “remnant.” Let it roll off your tongue, “remnant.” It’s evocative! So we were of course intrigued when we heard of YA author Mary Pearson’s new series, The Remnant Chronicles, which starts this July with A Kiss of Deception. And we’ve got the cover to reveal!

But first the back cover copy:

In a society steeped in tradition, Princess Lia’s life follows a preordained course. As First Daughter, she is expected to have the revered gift of sight — but she doesn’t — and she knows her parents are perpetrating a sham when they arrange her marriage to secure an alliance with a neighboring kingdom — to a prince she has never met. On the morning of her wedding, Lia flees to a distant village. She settles into a new life, intrigued when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive — and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deception abounds, and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—even as she finds herself falling in love.

And here it is …


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Casting Couch: Kathleen Hale's No One Else Can Have You

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 07, 2014 | PERMALINK

Oh hey there! It’s January 7! Have you bought/downloaded/received your pre-ordered copy of No One Else Can Have You, Kathleen Hale’s YA mystery debut? No? <taps foot> We’ll wait.

Seriously, we love this book so much. If we still had a trapperkeeper — and would that we did have a trapperkeeper — we’d be drawing Kathleen Hale’s name all over it with hearts and bunnies and rainbows.

Still not convinced? Okay, fine. We’re going to cast this YA-esque Fargo for you, and you shall be unable to resist. Sound good?

Kippy Bushman: Kippy’s trying to deal with the murder of her best friend, all while realizing that her small town is not actually interested in, you know, solving the crime. iCarly actress Jennette McCurdy has the perfect Midwestern look, dontchya think?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Final Puzzle Piece: You Could Win Abbi Glines's Backlist!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 06, 2014 | PERMALINK

New Adult fans, prepare yourselves! Today for you we have the final puzzle piece for Abbi Glines's upcoming Take a Chance cover! (We're sorry we can't stop using exclamation points, we're too excited.) Abbi's been leaving puzzle pieces all over the Internet for the past few days. And here's the deal: the first reader to tweet us (@RT_Magazine) the completed cover, with all nine puzzle pieces put together to create the full cover, will win Abbi's backlist (U.S. and Canadian residents only, please). Do you know how many books that is?! It's a lot. 

Check it out:

Sea Breeze Series

Breathe

Because of Low

While It Lasts

Just for Now

Sometimes it Lasts (bound manuscript – only available in ebook right now)

Misbehaving (bound manuscript – only available in ebook right now)

The Vincent Boys Series

The Vincent Boys

The Vincent Brothers

Perfection Series

Twisted Perfection

Simple Perfection

Rosemary Beach Series

Fallen Too Far (Bound manuscript with new cover!)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
115COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Free For All: Out of this World YA!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

Well the weather outside RT HQ today is indeed frightful — Can we still make that joke now that the holidays are over? We vote yes. — so we're doing our best to brighten your day with a Friday giveaway! Today for you we've got a collection of otherworldly YA, featuring everything from zombies to mages to radioactive humans to quarkbeats and more! Kids today, what will they think of next? 

 

One lucky winner will receive finished copies of: 

Inhuman by Kat Falls

The Song of the Quarkbeast by Jasper Fforde

Unfed by Kristy McKay

The 100 by Kass Morgan

Battle Magic by Tamora Pierce

So if you feel like taking a break from this frigid, snowy world — though we hope it's certainly warmer where you are, enter to win! U.S. residents only, please. 


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST