RT Daily Blog

Dear T: A Love Letter from Jenny Han

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

There's nothing as embarrassing as having your secret love letters to your crushes mailed to them. Well, we imagine it would be rather traumatizing. Thankfully, we haven't had this happen to us, but Lara Jean, the protagonist in Jenny Han's To All the Boys I've Loved Before, has! Today, to celebrate the book's recent release, Jenny shares a letter of her own and it's sure to make you think once or twice about your old unrequited loves. Take a look:

The cover of To All the Boys I've Loved Before by Jenny Han

Dear T,

You were in my dream the other night. I was in a cafe in Paris, and there you were sitting at the counter, 17 with skinny legs. We spoke, and I don’t remember what we said, but in the dream I felt really good about myself. I was an adult, a writer living in New York, and you were still teenaged you. You hadn’t changed at all. When I woke up, I tried to fall back asleep so I could step back into the dream, say all the things I never got to say to you back in high school.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Free for All: Kelley Armstrong's Sea of Shadows

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

The cover of Sea of Shadows by Kelley Armstrong

You probably already know and love Kelley Armstrong's awesome paranormal books. Maybe you're in mourning, like RT's Mala, about the season finale of the TV show based on Kelley's books, Bitten? Never fear, your RT Web Team is here for you, as always. Because today we've got a giveaway of Kelley's latest series starter, the YA Sea of Shadows. The first in the Age of Legends series stars twin sisters Ashyn and Maria, the Keeper and Seeker of Edgewood. The sisters make their annual pilgrimage to the Forest of the Dead, to pay homage to spirits who have passed. Until it all goes terribly wrong. 

Want to find out what happens? Enter below to win one of five copies of the book RT reviewer Meera calls, "amazing," "heart-wrenching" and "exciting." U.S. residents only, please. 

Thanks so much for hanging out with us all week, we wish you the best and most book-filled of weekends!

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Laini Taylor's Dreams of Final Books and Writing Advice

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

Well, folks, the end is here. No, not The End, but the end of Laini Taylor's Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy, which, for us, is still pretty upsetting. With Dreams of Gods and Monsters, the third and final installment, Laini takes readers on one last wondrous ride with Karou and her friends and enemies. Today, Laini shares her thoughts on concluding her epic series and offers some sage advice for writers everywhere.

Once upon a time, I was trying to write a book about ballerinas on another planet being kidnapped by the military and turned into mutant flying soldiers, and for some reason it wasn’t going well.

I’m not sure why. Maybe I just didn’t know enough about ballet to make it ring true?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The 100 Recap: Episode 1.4 - "Murphy's Law"

BY DJ DeSmyter, APRIL 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

Last night’s episode opens on Clarke kneeling beside Wells’s grave. Finn shows up and tries cheering her up by giving her a pencil. It’s rather cute how excited she gets over the idea of being able to draw again. She tells Finn about how Wells used to trade his possessions to get her art supplies back on the Ark. She then circles back to the topic of her mom betraying her father and how she wishes she could do something to make her mom feel her pain. Suddenly, she gets an idea: cut off her wristband so her mother thinks she’s dead.

Meanwhile, in camp, Bellamy and Murphy oversee the others setting up an official base. Murphy’s still being a d-bag. Octavia tries to reassure Jasper that he’s safe and healthy. Jasper falls and they see two of Wells’s fingers lying next to Murphy’s knife. Yikes.

On the Ark, Abby runs into Wannabe Chancellor Kane and he basically tells her he’s stalking her and everyone else. He wants to accompany her to the lab, but when she tells him there’s a case of strep going around, he changes his mind and gets all scheme-y and suspicious. Abby goes on and meets up with Raven, who’s busy working on the ship. Abby’s itching to take flight, but the ship’s not ready.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Going Home Again: Lucy Connors on The Lonesome Young

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

Best known for her adult paranormal romances, Alyssa Day has turned to the YA world for her latest release, The Lonesome Young, written under the pen name Lucy Connors. The book stars two star-crossed teens whose lives are ruled by family feuds, drugs and dangerous business deals. Writing the book proved to be a highly personal endeavor for the author, and today she talks about how her own story influenced the book. Take a look:

The cover of The Lonesome Young

The Lonesome Young is very personal for me, because I know this town. I know these people. I used to live in a place just like fictional Whitfield, Kentucky, and I have more than a little in common with both Victoria and Mickey.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jeri Smith-Ready: Teens, Religion and Believing in Tomorrow

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

Jeri Smith-Ready's This Side of Salvation sure knows how to pack a powerful punch. With its riveting story about the end of the world, religious cults and the teens caught in the crossfire, it's a poignant read that warrants discussion. We wanted to know more about the role of religion and how teens are affected by it when forced into a set of beliefs. So today, Jeri sheds some light on the inspiration behind the book and its complex topics. Take it away, Jeri!

It’s May 20, 2011, the night before cult leader/radio preacher Harold Camping has predicted the Rapture will occur. He’s convinced thousands of people that Jesus will lift them up to Heaven the next day at 6pm just as a giant earthquake obliterates a third of those left behind. Many followers have quit their jobs and traveled to California to be with Camping when it happens. Some have given him all their money so he can buy ads on billboards worldwide.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Don't Ask: Kimberly Pauley on the Most Dreaded Questions for Oracles

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 07, 2014 | PERMALINK

You know, nobody really likes being asked the same questions over and over again. But what if answering those pesky inquiries was your job — your destiny? Today, YA author Kimberly Pauley discusses her latest novel, Ask Me, which stars a teen oracle named Aria, who must always tell the truth when asked a question. Kimberly's here to share the top five most annoying questions Oracles are asked. Take it away, Kimberly!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 Reading Challenge: Young Adult - We Check In

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 03, 2014 | PERMALINK


We're well into our reading challenge, where RT Web Team's DJ dared Elissa and Elisa to read Laini Taylor's Daughter of Smoke and Bone, a title a bit outside their comfort zone. (Here's part one.) Today, we're checking in to see how the quest is going thus far. DJ knows that if he picked a dud, his coworkers will never, ever let him live it down. For at least two weeks.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The 100 Recap: Episode 1.3 - "Earth Kills"

BY DJ DeSmyter, APRIL 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

The 100 TV logo

source

The night begins with a flashback to the early days on the Ark. Clarke and her parents — doctor Abby and Jake — are watching an old soccer game with Wells and his father. Abby tells Jake she received some lab results he was waiting on. He immediately leaves and we’re left wondering what he’s up to.

Present day, Clarke tries to reassure Jasper he’s going to be okay, but we’re not so sure. After all, he’s been through a lot. Outside, Clarke hears a girl screaming and finds Charlotte, a young girl, who was having a nightmare about her parents’ deaths. Turns out Charlotte had assaulted a guard when her parents were “floated” (execution by way of being sucked out into space), earning her a spot amongst the 100. Clarke comforts her and tells her maybe everyone can have a fresh start.

Meanwhile, two members of Bellamy’s gang, Trina and Pascal, are lost in the woods when a strange orange fog envelops them, seemingly killing them. The next morning, Bellamy’s minions report back on Trina and Pascal’s disappearance, and he tries to reassure them everything’s fine. Atom’s not his biggest fan right now, though, and neither is Octavia, who just learned her lovely brother punished Atom for making out with her.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Teen Girl Eschews Love Triangle, Chooses Herself

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 01, 2014 | PERMALINK

Photo of an open bottle of nail polish

source

Sixteen-year-old Oakvale High School junior Madyson Morrow instagrammed a picture of her toes poolside with the caption, “Alone at last!” The teen told us she’s completely over the back-and-forth between soccer star and class president James Leader and Link Masterson, who eschews all extra curricular activities except for drag racing and fist fights.

“Seriously, I couldn’t deal anymore,” Madyson told us as she painted her toe nails while reclining by the pool. “It was like, James needed me so he could win state, and then Link had all this family drama that he couldn’t handle and was like, throwing rocks at my window at 2 a.m. so we could make out to help him over his angst.” She rolled her eyes. “I mean, it was hot at first, but, like, hello? I had to take the SATs twice because that guy had no respect for my sleep schedule.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST