It doesn’t take a master sleuth to discover that we love to read about spies in our historical romances. The intrigue, danger and tension adds highstakes adventure to stories. Today, we are featuring some of our favorite spies from the last year. And what a year it has been for historical heroes (and heroines) who are determined to protect their country but along the journey end up losing their hearts — in the very best way, of course. If you like action-packed books, then make sure to check out these fantastic reads. And as a special bonus at the end of this list we also look at a few of our favorite historical spies that are part of must-read series!

RECOMMENDED READS

Book: My Wicked Little Lies (February 2012)
Author: Victoria Alexander
Meet The Spy: Now that heroine Evelyn Hadley-Attwater aka “Eve” is a married woman will she have to give up her secret work — and flirting with her boss, the mysterious “Sir” in this Top Pick! rated story?

Book: The Price of Temptation (January 2012)
Author: Lecia Cornwall
Meet The Spy: Captain Sinjon Rutherford aka “Sam” is forced to pose as a footman in Lady Evelyn’s home to catch a traitor, however, it soon becomes clear that the situation is murkier that it first appeared.

Book: The Black Hawk (November 2011)
Author: Joanna Bourne
Meet The Spies: Justine De Cabrillac aka “Owl” and Adrian Hawkhurst, were child spies in France and have had a rocky past, but when they reunite can these two suspicious characters create a future together? This novel is a Top Pick! and nominated for RT Reviewers' Choice 2011 Historical Romance of the Year.

Book: Always a Temptress (October 2011)
Author: Eileen Dreyer
Meet The Spy: Lady Kate Seaton is a possible spy who Major Sir Harry Lidge is sent to investigate. But what he uncovers is a scheme that is much darker than simple espionage ...

Book: Lord and Lady Spy (September 2011)
Author: Shana Galen
Meet The Spies: Lady Sophia Smyth aka “the Saint” and her husband, Adrian Smythe aka “the Wolf” are like a historical Mr. and Mrs. Smith!

Book: Redeeming the Rogue (August 2011)
Author: Donna MacMeans
Meet The Spies: Michael Rafferty is an espionage expert — but due to a misunderstanding Lady Arianne Chambers has just been pulled into his latest assignment. This novel has been nominated for RT Reviewers' Choice 2011 Innovative Historical Romance.

Book: Secrets of a Proper Countess (April 2011)
Author: Lecia Cornwall
Meet The Spy: Debut author Lecia Cornwall introduces readers to the Marquess of Blackwell, Phineas, uses his talents to uncover the true identity of the woman with whom he shared a passionate tryst.

Book: Sweet as the Devil  (March 2011)
Author: Susan Johnson
Meet The Spy: In this book, Baron Blackwood, James, employs his skills as he protects the new princess of Dalmia from potential assassination attempts.

Book: The Spy Who Loved Her (March 2011)
Author: Melissa Schroeder
Meet The Spy: Earl of Bridgerton, Daniel is a fierce fighter and clever spy, but he can't help but get tongue-tied around his true love Lady Anna. How will he be able to convince her that she deserves a chance at happily ever after?

Book: To Tempt a Rake (February 2011)
Author: Cara Elliott
Meet The Spy: Conte of Como, Marco Ghiradelli will do whatever it takes to protect the English Katharine Woodbridge from the assassins who have targeted the Vienna conference that she is attending in this lush romance.

Book: A Thoroughly Compromised Lady (February 2011)
Author: Bronwyn Scott
Meet The Spy: The Viscount Wainsbridge, Jack Hanley, must kidnap this season’s Incomparable, who happens to be his best friend’s little sister, in order to keep her safe.

Extra Credit: Spies In Historical Series

Lauren Willig began her long running series featuring The League of the Pink Carnation back in 2005. In these books, Willig skillfully whisks readers back to an age of grace, manners and intrigue. This month, the author released the tenth installment of the series, which no longer flows chronologically. To help you keep these books straight we’ve put together a list in series order: The Secret History of the Pink Carnation (February 2005) The Maseque of the Black Tulip (January 2006) The Deception of the Emerald Ring (November 2006) The Seduction of the Crimson Rose (February 2008), “Ivy and Intrigue” (online novella), The Mischief of the Mistletoe (December 2010), The Temptation of the Night Jasmine (February 2009), The Betrayal of the Blood Lily (January 2010), The Orchid Affair (January 2011) and The Garden Intrigue (February 2012)

In the summer of 2011, author Stefanie Sloane made her debut with a series called Regency Rogues. These three tales featured members of the Young Corinthians spy ring, a group of distinguished men who were secretly spying for crown and country. The series starter, June’s The Devil in Disguise was nominated for a 2011 RT Reviewers’ Choice Award in the First Historical Romance category. It was followed by two more back-to-back tales: The Angel in my Arms in July and then in August, The Sinner Who Seduced Me.

And no list of historical spy series would be complete without a mention of The Royal Four by Celeste Bradley. Although these books were released back in 2005-2006, each story in the quartet was rated an RT Top Pick, making this foursome’s adventures must-reads! We first met dashing spy “The Cobra” back in winter of 2005 in To Wed A Scandalous Spy. And then that fall readers fell in love with Lord Greenleigh, aka “The Lion” in Surrender To A Wicked Spy but the next novel threw us for a twist when we discovered that “The Fox” had passed away, but his wife Julia had taken up his mantel, and in the process found true love in One Night With A Spy. And finally, we didn’t need any convincing; we were all on board for Seducing the Spy, when “The Falcon” found his match in August 2006!

Did we miss your favorite spy? Let us know in the comments below! And for more great romances check out our Everything Romance Page!

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL PRINT SHARE PERMALINK