RT Daily Blog

Cover Breakdown: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

BY DJ DeSmyter, JULY 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

When Harper Teen first announced Victoria Aveyard's Red Queen, I knew it was a book I had to have. With its exciting fantasy premise involving magic, secrets and rebellion, what's not to love? Am I right? And then a few weeks ago, they revealed the cover and I had a fanboy moment that involved lots of gushing and flailing. So let's take a look!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Have You Joined The Holy Taco Church Yet? - On Creating A Successful Collaborative Blog

BY Elisa Verna, JULY 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

For many authors, group blogs are a fun, relatively easy way to promote their work. And for readers, these blogs can be highly entertaining. There are tons of group author blogs, but the Holy Taco Church might be my new favorite. As far as excellent group author blogs go, the Holy Taco Church has nailed it.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mary E. Pearson on the Importance of Writing Strong Women

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

While we all love a strong hero, we love a strong heroine even more. Sadly, strong heroines aren't always as easy to find despite being incredibly important. Today, in celebration of her newest novel, The Kiss of Deception, YA author Mary E. Pearson shares her thoughts on the importance of writing strong women. Take a look:

Women are strong.

Damn strong. And clever. And brave. And resourceful. Their strengths are vast and varied and they use them every day to survive and make our world better — and their strength can be different from men’s in a myriad of ways. We aren’t just rewriting a male hero in a dress. It’s important to celebrate a woman’s strengths without a man’s strengths even coming into the equation. I think very often we speak about women in a terminology that has grown from a male centric viewpoint. The weaker sex? Not by a long shot.  

Sometimes I think this is a no-brainer. We all know this by now, right? Maybe not. I think we’re still working out the finer points of honoring the female experience, voice and perspective in our literature and in the world at large.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

And Then Comes Marriage by Celeste Bradley

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

It Had to be You by Jill Shalvis

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy it On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

When Love Comes to Town by Tom Lennon

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Turning Points: Romantic Suspense Authors Discuss Their Heroes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

We love a great alpha hero, the kind of guy who will do everything and anything to protect his loved ones. But at what point do these heroes become the fighters we all love? Today, bestselling romantic suspense authors Rebecca York, Lindsay McKenna, Lynn Raye Harris, Julie Ann Walker and Melissa Cutler discuss their heroes' turning points.


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Making Sure the Glass Slipper Fits: Tracy Barrett on Fairy Tale Retellings

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

Retelling a classic fairy tale can be rather daunting, especially when it's a tale as timeless and beloved as Cinderella. But Tracy Barrett knocked her retelling out of the park with The Stepsister's Tale, an enchanting story that takes a closer look at the stepsisters' side of Cinderella's story. Today, Tracy shares her thoughts on her new book and what she did in order to make her retelling as compelling as possible.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

***

Post Mortem by Albert Caraco. 

Caraco's mother taught him to hate women and he has learned so well to hate everything else too. "My hatred for this world is what I find more worthy of esteem," he says. 

Plot: Caraco's mother dies. 

Rating: 82 out of 100 

Austerlitz by WG Sebald  

An elegant and deep book that I read every month and stop after thirty pages. For the umpteenth time I ask myself: Is it good if you get bored? 

Plot: Austerlitz speaks a lot. 

Rating: 75 out of 100 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Held Captive: Prisoners In July Historical Romances

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

Breaking free of past crimes and decisions can do a world of good for a person. Sometimes, it can even lead to love, as illustrated by this month's roundup of enchanting historical reads. This month, we're highlighting the latest releases from a few of your favorite authors and their new characters who find themselves embarking on new paths. Let's take a look:

In Grace Burrowes’s The Captive, Duke of Mercia, Christian Severn, has one thing on his mind: revenge. It’s the only thing keeping him alive while imprisoned in a French stronghold, and his desire to exact revenge against his captors may come true when he finds himself suddenly free. But Gillian, Countess of Greendale, has other plans and tries to persuade him to give up his thirst for revenge to allow his kindness to prevail to provide a better life for his daughter. As Gillian and Christian grow closer, his plans begin to pan out.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Q&A: Margaret Stohl Talks Idols

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

Margaret Stohl is no stranger to the YA spotlight. In addition to co-authoring the bestselling Beautiful Creatures series and the new spin-off series, Dangerous Creatures, Margaret has also struck out on her own with her Icons series. The second in the series, Idols, releases today and to celebrate, we have an exclusive Q&A with Margaret. Take a look:

Describe Idols in five words.

Heart-bruising-pounding-breaking. Aliens. Elephants. Vision-quest. Thailand.

What can readers expect to learn in the book?

Readers will learn that every love story is also a hate story and vice versa. So I guess to look for the one in the other. Readers will learn to start plotting their trips to Thailand immediately, and I hope going to volunteer in elephant preserves. Learning to give an elephant a bath was one of the most exquisite moments of my life. And I hope readers will learn that emotional relationships change and grow, just like characters and in fact people. We can't help it, none of us. 

Which character has surprised you the most over the course of writing the series?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On the Shelves: 7/8/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance

THE HIGHLANDER'S BARGAIN

"This time-travel romance displays the author’s worldbuilding skills beautifully, and the numerous thrills and suspenseful plot will keep readers hooked throughout."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST