RT Daily Blog

Forewords — The Books Before the Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

RETURNING SERIES

Contemporary Romance - Sydney Landon continues her Danvers series with two new installments. Readers can look forward to even higher stakes and more passion.

Mystery - With Sacrifice, Philip Freeman continues his series of mysteries set in medieval Ireland, which star a nun who must work amongst Christians and druids to catch a killer. Coming in Fall 2015.

Contemporary Romance - Mary Sullivan continues her Accord, Colorado series for Harlequin’s Superromance line with at least one more book. Release date TBA.

Erotic Romance - Sylvia Day's fourth Crossfire book, Captivated by You, finally has a release date! The book will be releasing digitally and in print November 18. Gideon lovers rejoice!


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Weekly Web Wrap-Up: 9/5/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week being Seduced by the Heir?

Here's what you missed on the RT site!

***

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: Nalini Singh dishes on Rock Addiction! Get Rockin' >>

ROMANTIC SUSPENSE: Enter to win M.L. Buchman's The Night Stalker series! Good Luck >>

YOUNG ADULT: Isabel Gillies talks love, life and Starry Night. Read More >>

EROTICA: Read this week's hot Hump Day Excerpt! Turn Up the Heat >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 05, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling out favorite Tweets. Here are some of the standouts of the week:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Isabel Gillies Talks Starry Night, Love and LIfe

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

Actress, writer, mother — Isabel Gillies seemingly does it all! With a succesful run on Law and Order: SVU and two memoirs under her belt, Isabel now makes her fiction and YA debut with Starry Night, a novel of young love, New York City and growing up. We had the chance to speak with the multi-talented writer over the phone and asked her about her creative process, writing Starry Night and, of course, about love. See what she had to say:

***

Starry Night is your first novel for teens, though you’ve written two non-fiction titles. How did your writing process change for Starry Night? How did it remain the same?

Well, it remained the same because of one overriding reason: I wrote it everyday. I worked on it every day, and when I wrote my first book, I had read Stephen King’s On Writing and he says if you’re going to write, write every day. So I wrote every day while I was writing this. Though, not every, every day, because I have children and I don’t write on weekends.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Dos and Don'ts of Book Events

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

If there’s anything booklovers love more than books it’s author events and book signings. Meeting your favorite author and other readers is great. But while we here at RT are pros at attending events, some of you may be getting ready to go to your first event and aren’t sure what to do. So, to help you out, here are our tips on what to do (and what not to do) at an author event.

***

The Dos:

1. Be excited — You’re about to meet your favorite author! This is definitely something to be excited about and it’s okay to let your inner fangirl/fanboy make an appearance or two.

2. Make new friends — Like most booklovers, us included, you’re probably a bit of an introvert, so talking to strangers while waiting for the event to start may seem daunting. But at a book event, you will always have two things in common with the stranger next to you: a love for the author you’re seeing and books. So don’t be afraid to reach out and make some new friends!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Q&A: Nalini Singh Turns up the Music with Rock Addiction

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

Nalini Singh is no stranger over here at RT and her paranormal romances have hooked us again and again, earning her several Top Pick ratings and RT Award nominations and wings. But before she was a queen of paranormal, Nalini penned contemporary romances and now with Rock Addiction, the first in the Rock Kiss series, she's returning to her roots. Today, Nalini answers our burning questions about the new book and series. Take a look:

***

Rock Addiction marks your return to Contemporary Romance. What about this story inspired you to go back to your roots?

I've actually had Rock Addiction partially written for a long time. I knew I wanted to tell this story, but while I had the start, I didn't feel as if I knew the characters deeply enough, didn't yet have an insight into what drove them. Then one day, everything clicked and I wrote it compulsively — I think often a story needs time to grow and develop in my mind, until it gets to a point where all the pieces are in place for it to be told.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot Ebook Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 04, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

Eleven Scandals to Start to Win A Duke's Heart

Eleven Scandals to Start to Win A Duke's Heart by Sarah MacLean

4.5 stars Top Pick

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

The Gamble

The Gamble by Kristen Ashley

4.5 stars

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

The Warrior Heir

Die For Me by Amy Plum

4.5 stars

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: Taking Control by Jen Frederick + Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

With Monday being a holiday, Wednesday seems to have arrived quickly this week, much to our delight because that means it's time for another sizzling Hump Day Excerpt! Today's excerpt comes courtesy of Jen Frederick and Taking Control, the second book in her Kerr Chronicles. In the book, Ian and Victoria are settling into their relationship, but with a dangerous stepfather and greedy business rivals eager to take them both down, they'll face even more obstacles for a chance at a happy ending. So let's hand things over to Ian so we can spice things up — and stay tuned to the end for a giveaway!

I practically throw her onto the sofa cushions. Before she can make another move, I'm on top of her, devouring her. I yank down on her tank top until her unfettered breasts are exposed to my hungry mouth. One nipple is sucked in between my lips and the other is tortured with my left thumb. My right hand is busy shoving down her shorts and lacy panties.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Literary Earworms: Books With Popular Song Titles

BY Danielle Valente, SEPTEMBER 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

Romance author Erika Kelly, rocker Eddie Van Halen and British group The Kinks appear to be on opposite ends of the spectrum, but have one thing in common. Can you guess? Kelly’s Rock Star Romance series begins in January 2015 with the novel, You Really Got Me — a song by The Kinks, covered by Van Halen — and just one of many books titled after popular songs. Thanks to this fusion of the music and publishing industries, we’ve come up not only with a TBR list of recent and upcoming titles, but also a playlist of pop, classic rock, oldies tunes and more. Happy reading … and listening!

Book: The Way You Look Tonight by Bella Andre | August 26, 2014
Song:
"The Way You Look Tonight" by Frank Sinatra


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Breakdown: Of Noble Family by Mary Robinette Kowal

BY DJ DeSmyter, SEPTEMBER 03, 2014 | PERMALINK

With her Glamourist Histories series, Mary Robinette Kowal has enthralled us again and again with her unique take on magic in the Regency era. Mary has quickly become not only a favorite amongst readers, but also with us here at RT. Back in May, during the RT Convention, Mary discussed the importance of diversity in literature and the Fantasy genre, and mentioned she was working hard to ensure her books included a wide range of characters. So when the cover for Of Noble Family, the fifth and final book in the series, was revealed, starring a woman of color, we were more than excited. Let's take a look:

Jane and Vincent have finally gotten some much-needed rest after their adventures in Italy when Vincent receives word that his estranged father has passed away on one of his properties in the West Indies. His brother, who manages the estate, is overwhelmed, and no one else in his family can go. Grudgingly, out of filial duty the couple decides to go.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST