RT Daily Blog

Get Into The Holiday Spirit With Debbie Macomber - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 04, 2010 | PERMALINK

With the winter right around the corner, the RT staff is looking forward to the holiday-themed romances that will be out all season long. Today Debbie Macomber chats with us about her new Christmas romance novel, Call Me Mrs. Miracle. In this exclusive interview, learn Macomber’s favorite holiday traditions, including a special family-favorite recipe from the author. And don’t miss the GIVEAWAY at the end of the post!

RT: What is your favorite part of getting ready for the winter holidays?

Debbie Macomber: My favorite part of getting ready for the winter holidays is setting up my Nativity Scenes all over the house. I collect them and have more than 100 now. No matter where you go in our house, baby Jesus is watching every move you make! And, of course, I treasure the times I have with my children and grandchildren baking and cooking Christmas goodies. I have dozens of recipes for fruitcake.

RT: Does your family have any holiday traditions that make Christmas special? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Video Interview: Jacquelyn Frank

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 04, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Jacquelyn Frank has made a remarkable journey from the lowest low, being nearly homeless, to the highest height, achieving her dream of becoming a best-selling author. Now the author, who is known for her unique paranormal tales, is taking on a new challenge. Under the pseudonym Jax, Frank has released her first erotic science fiction tale, The Bid, which features shapeshifters, slaves and a blue heroine. RT Reviewer Joyce Morgan raves about the book, "Read it for the suspense, the worldbuilding or the sex scenes — most of all, read it for the fascinating storyline that builds to a pulse-pounding climax."

This new endeavor is just one more surprise in a life of many transformations. So how did she do it? Frank shares her story with RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus. Learn about the ups and downs of her publishing career and find out how a writing contest changed her entire life. Frank also offers her advice for aspiring authors.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Making Memories With Mal

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 04, 2010 | PERMALINK

Eve Silver’s third Otherkin brother, Malthus Krayl, is the hero of Sins of the Flesh. Mal believes in working hard while harvesting evil souls for his father, underworld god Sutekh and playing hard, especially when it comes to romancing women. But what's this ladies' man to do when he meets his match in the beautiful Calliope? Watch the action unfold in this exclusive Sins of the Flesh extra!

Last month, readers got a glimpse of Dinner with Alastor, the suit-clad, über-controlled, incredibly sexy hero of Sins of the Soul. The month before that it was A Date with Dagan, the dark and dangerous hero of Sins of the Heart.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

WEEKLY WEB WRAP UP 10/1/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 02, 2010 | PERMALINK

Too busy to go online because you were conducting a dangerous Seduce And Rescue?

Here's what you missed on the RT website.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

To Be Or Not To Be (In Print)?

BY Morgan Doremus, OCTOBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

With the popularity of e-book publishing, I often speak with newly signed authors who are ecstatic about their digital deals. The electronic "presses" are making it easier than ever for aspiring authors to find homes for their books. However, traditionally published authors (i.e. those published in print), are complaining that because of the new model of e-book sales, their contracts are suffering.

This week the Wall Street Journal reported:

"Priced much lower than hardcovers, many e-books generate less income for publishers. And big retailers are buying fewer titles. As a result, the publishers who nurtured generations of America's top literary-fiction writers are approving fewer book deals and signing fewer new writers. Most of those getting published are receiving smaller advances." Read the full article here.

So where do you stand on the e-book debate? Do you think that these digital deals will ultimately be good for authors or bad?


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

What I Fear Most...by Jennifer Allison

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Jennifer Allison is best known for her Young Adult series about the psychic investigator Gilda Joyce. However, the author has written a different type of paranormal tale for the anthology Fear: 13 Stories of Suspense and Horror. Her new story “The Perfects” combines several classic spine-tingling elements: creepy little kids, freaky dolls and a house of horror. So we had to know, what frightens Jennifer Allison?

When I was a child, I often awoke in the middle of the night and stared at various objects in my room. If you have any sort of imagination at all, this is a very bad idea. Naturally, my eyes played tricks on me, and I still remember my horror as I saw the shadowy figures of my plastic Barbie dolls appear to move in the darkness.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

October Is Paranormal Month!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

As the nights get longer and the days get colder, who doesn't love to curl up with a good book? (Or even better, a good series?) We stocking up on the paranormal romances and urban fantasies that keep us up at night and helping readers find the best chilling tales because October is Paranormal Month on the RT Daily Blog!

The publishing industry is certainly making this easy. Last week eight new paranormal and urban fantasy titles from our TBR list hit the bookstores. And throughout the month the latest novels will become available from fan-favorites L.A. Banks, Ilona Andrews, Meljean BrookRachel Vincent and more!

We will be celebrating the paranormal genre on the RT Daily Blog with video interviews, guest blogs and great giveaways. You will also find out who are our favorite vampires, what urban fantasy creatures have us staying out of dark allies and which evil villain we'd fight in our own adventure. Want to take part in the action? You can with our month long "Dress The Character!" costume contest that will be revealed next week. And all the action leads up to our "Haunted Halloween" Giveaway!

To give you a taste of the action coming out this month - take a look at October's Paranormal Top Picks!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

More I Am Number Four Movie News

BY Whitney Sullivan, OCTOBER 01, 2010 | PERMALINK

The trailer has been released for the I Am Number Four movie-adaptation project! Back in August, I told you how excited I was about the casting news about I Am Number Four. The paranormal YA novel written by James Frey and Jobie Hughes, under the name Pittacus Lore promises to be a blockbuster film. And now you can get the first look at Alex Pettyfer and Dianna Agron in action!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five Reasons To Read Deanna Raybourn's Mysteries - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

We are enthralled by Deanna Raybourn’s historical mystery series. Here are our top five reasons you must check it out: 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
11COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Wrapping Up YA Month With A List Of Upcoming Releases

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

RT's web team wants to thank everyone for joining us for our first "theme" month on the RT Daily Blog. We have had a ton of fun covering Young Adult novels during September with amazing videos, guest blogs, giveaways, reviews and more from some of our favorite YA authors. (You can check out the all of the action here.)

As a parting gift to the readers, we thought we would make a list of some upcoming YA reads that we can't wait to get our hands on. Do you have an upcoming book you are dying to read? Let us know in the comments!

 

The Mockingbirds by Daisy Whitney
Releases November 2010

The RT editors have been talking about this book for months - a heavy hitting subject matter (date rape) is delved into in this hauntingly powerful tale. 

 

 


Read More>>

Tags: Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST