RT Daily Blog

New Publisher Alert: ReShonda Tate Billingsley & Victoria Christopher Murray's Brown Girls Publishing

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

The business of publishing is always fascinating, especially in this digital age we find ourselves living in. A new development we’re excited about is the creation of Brown Girls Publishing, run by bestselling authors ReShonda Tate Billingsley and Victoria Christopher Murray. We wanted to know more about this new venture, and the ladies were kind enough to oblige.

***

The cover of Open Door Marriage

Why did you decide to start Brown Girls Publishing?

Our motivation for creating Brown Girls Publishing was the fact that there are so many talented authors who for various reasons, don’t have a publishing deal, or aren’t able to write in genres that are near and dear to them. We also saw an opportunity to introduce some fresh voices in a market where so many genres have become formulaic and repetitive.

Tell us about some of your recent and upcoming releases, and why you decided to publish them?


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog, Mainstream, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

Devil's Mistress by Heather Graham

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $0.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

The Touble in Texas by Katie Lane

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $2.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Self-Pub Like a Pro: Cover Artists Tell All, Part Two

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

Self-publishing is a brave new world, and we're here to help you navigate it with our monthly column, Self-Pub Like a Pro. This month we're tackling the ever-important cover design. Covers are such a big deal we're bringing you the insight of not one, but two, accomplished cover artists. Last week we featured Croco Designs and this week we consult Sarah Hansen of Okay Creations about what self-published authors need to know about creating covers.

Give us some examples of your favorite covers, and tell us why they're your favorites.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Mark Your Calendars: We're Recapping The 100!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

A photos of The 100 TV cast

The cast of The 100

source

If you're a CW superfan and never miss episodes of Reign, The Originals and Arrow, you already probably know about The 100, which is premiering tonight at 9PM ET on the network. The show is adaptation of Kass Morgan's YA tale The 100, which means we will absolutely be tuning in!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Hump Day Excerpt: His To Possess By Opal Carew

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

Another hump day is here! To say we're excited would be an understatement. The weekend ever closer and to help smooth its impending arrival we've got another steamy erotica excerpt. Today for Hump Day we have a scene from Opal Carew's latest BDSM romance, His to Possess. Enjoy!

Jessica slid her key card into the slot then pushed open the door to her room. She had slipped off her coat on the elevator ride and now tossed it in the closet along with her suit jacket. Once she stepped further inside, however, and saw the bed dominating the room, the heat that had been building inside her seeped away. Her heart thundering, she turned to face the virtual stranger behind her and tell him this was a big mistake.

“You aren’t going to tell me you’ve changed your mind, are you?” He stood far too close, and it sent her senses reeling. Part of her wanted to run, yet another part wanted him even closer.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

***

Franny and Zooey by J.D. Salinger .

A treatise on mysticism mixed with a sitcom, starring two neurotic, smart and extremely American kids. Franny torments herself thus: "Just because I’m choosy about what I want — in this case, enlightenment, or peace, instead of money or prestige or fame or any of those things — doesn’t mean I’m not as egotistical and self-seeking as everybody else.”

Plot: A young girl is sick due to a book (where a Russian guy reads a book).

Rating: 97 out of 100.

The Road by Cormac McCarthy


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On Two Fronts: Sgt. Adam Fenner and Lance Taubold Talk Bromances and Their Unlikely Friendship

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

Call us crazy, but sometimes it the friendships that really make a romance novel for us, not just the love story and that HEA. So when we heard about Sgt. Adam Fenner and Lance Taubold's unique friendship, we were intrigued. Lance, a gay former Vegas performer, met Adam, a straight National Guard soldier, nearly a decade ago — and the close bond they developed was something neither expected. In their book On Two Fronts, both men recount how their friendship helped Adam get through several deployments. Today we hear from both authors about their bond — and their book.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Preview: Booksellers and Librarians, This Is For You!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 19, 2014 | PERMALINK

The 2014 RT Convention logo

Booksellers and librarians — they're on the front lines of the publishing industry, bringing the goods directly to us, the better to feed our fix. And while our annual RT Convention boasts a bevy of events for every type of book lover, from readers to writers to aspiring authors, we have a whole track special events just for booksellers and librarians. Take a look at some of our favorites, and if you're registered as a bookseller or librarian, get your agenda ready!

Saints of Suspense Exclusive Party


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Four Questions For Jay Crownover

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

This past weekend, our Assistant Web Editor DJ attended Authors in the City, an all day event that brought over 380 attendees and 80 of their favorite romance authors together for a giant book signing, meet and greets and more! While there, DJ caught up with bestselling author Jay Crownover, one of today's hottest New Adult authors, and asked her about her career so far, her upcoming series and what advice she has for self-published authors looking to move to traditional. Watch the exclusive interview below!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Looking for Heathcliff: The Best Villainous "Heroes"

BY Cyndy Aleo, MARCH 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

First came Emily Bronte's Heathcliff. Poor, uncouth, involved in what is one of the most dysfunctional relationships in history, he's not above kidnapping the daughter of his deceased lover (who married someone else because Heathcliff wasn't rich enough) in order to encourage a relationship that would allow him to gain more wealth and property.

The cover of Lothaire by Kresley Cole


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST