RT Daily Blog

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY , SEPTEMBER 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling our favorite Tweets. 

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Casting Couch: Gretchen McNeil Casts Get Even

BY , SEPTEMBER 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

Gretchen McNeil knows a thing or two about Hollywood as a Los Angeles resident and a former television producer. So we wanted her to take a seat on the casting couch to select her dream cast for Get Even, her latest YA novel about revenge, murder and secrets. Take it away, Gretchen!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Ebook Sale: Five Must-Read Mysteries

BY , SEPTEMBER 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

With the weather cooling down and the leaves turning to red, there's nothing better than curling up with a great Mystery novel, one that will keep you up late turning the pages and looking over your shoulder as you close the curtains and lock the door. And if your ereader is in need of new books, here are five mystery, suspense and/or thrillers on sale for $1.99 each. All prices were accurate at the time of this posting. Happy reading!


 Dear Daughter
by Elizabeth Little

 Unspoken
by Lisa Jackson

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Giveaway: Make It Count by Megan Erickson

BY , SEPTEMBER 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

When Make It Count released earlier this summer, Megan Erickson was thrown into the New Adult spotlight and readers quickly fell for her fun and sexy story about Kat Caruso, who falls in love with her tutor, who happens to be her boyfriend's best friend. And now the wait for the sequel, Make It Right, is finally over. To celebrate the book's release tomorrow, we're giving away copies of Make it Count.

Thanks to Avon, we have three e-copies of Make It Count to give away, which means three lucky readers will get to dive in just in time for Make It Right! The giveaway is open to U.S. and Canadian readers and will conclude next Monday! Good luck and happy reading!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Don't forget, Make It Right is available digitally now! And for more New Adult books and authors, visit our Everything Young Adult page!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY , SEPTEMBER 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

How to Pursue A Princess

How to Pursue A Princess by Karen Hawkins

4.5 stars Top Pick

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Carolina Home

Carolina Home by Virginia Kantra

4 stars

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Pandemonius

Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver

4.5 stars Top Pick

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

     


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Wednesday Jams: Chelsea Fine's Right Kind Of Wrong Playlist

BY , SEPTEMBER 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

Although books and music are different mediums, they both can illicit strong responses from listeners and readers. The right lyric can make someone cry just as much as a heartbreaking scene in a novel. A triumphant moment for the heroine or hero of a book might make readers jump for joy, and an upbeat song can do the same. And when you put music and books together, you get a powerful mix. Today, we're sharing a playlist of songs curated by Chelsea Fine to match her latest New Adult novel, Right Kind of Wrong. Take a listen and learn more about the book below!

 

Jenna Lacombe needs complete control, whether it's in the streets ... or between the sheets. So when she sets out on a solo road trip to visit her family in New Orleans, she's beyond annoyed that the infuriatingly sexy Jack Oliver wants to hitch a ride with her. Ever since they shared a wild night together last year, he's been trying to strip away her defenses one by one. He claims he's just coming along to keep her safe — but what's not safe for her is prolonged exposure to the tattooed hottie. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Game On: Jen Alexander on Video Games and The Aftermath

BY , SEPTEMBER 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

Inspiration comes in many forms and for YA author Jen Alexander, video games serve as a main source. For her debut novel, The Aftermath, Jen drew on her love for gaming to create an intriguing world in which Claudia, the book's heroine, discovers she's merely a character in a game controlled by gamers. The line between what's real and what isn't soon becomes blurred. Today, Jen discssues her passion for video games and how this love has inspired her writing.

I have loved video games since I was a child. I know that makes me sound like I might have been out of touch with typical “90’s Child” activities, but I wasn’t. In the summer, I played outside all day and while school was in session, I hung out with my friends and participated in a variety of after school activities. Still, at the end of the day I would power on my latest console and play my video games. At first, there was the Nintendo (at least for me, my husband is quick to point out Atari was his first). I was obsessed with a certain game that revolved around two plumber brothers — so much that the theme song was often stuck in my head for days at a time.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books

BY , SEPTEMBER 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books banner

Nausea by Jean-Paul Sartre

Without a little fun you'll get crushed by the disgusting "existence of things." The protagonist has a lot of spare time, gets bored and cannot stand his nausea.

Plot: The world exists and it sucks.

Rating: ●●●●○

War and Peace by Lev Tolstoy

If you want to understand the heart of men you have to find out how it beats both in war and in peace. To understand it better, you must do it in the company of Tolstoy.

Plot: In love and war nothing is fair.

Rating: ●●●●●

Othello by William Shakespeare


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Bestselling Self-Published Romance: August 2014

BY Elisa Verna, SEPTEMBER 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

So many self-published titles are released each and every day, it’s hard to know which ones are worth your time — and your cash. As always, your RT Web Team is here for you, to help make sense of it all. We've scoured the bestseller lists to put together some of the top selling romance titles (including YA & NA romance) that caught our eye. Get your TBR list ready!

***

Indestructible by Angela Graham

Genre: New Adult

Release date: August 2014

The Story: Newly single college grad Cassandra has fallen for the single dad next door, and book three (which contains no cliffhanger, I love it when that's made clear) concludes their story. Things to know about this series: the heroine is a sexual assault victim and apparently book three contains a ton of sex. Reviews claim secondary characters are a big part of this book, paving the way for more books in the series.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Reveal and Q&A: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall

BY , SEPTEMBER 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you get when you take Dan Brown's The Da Vinci Code and throw in two hot guys with accents, globe-trotting adventures, a secret society and masked balls? Well, you'd most likely get Maggie Hall's The Conspiracy of Us, an exciting Young Adult thriller coming your way on January 13, 2015. And today, we have an exclusive reveal of the book's gorgeous cover and a Q&A with Maggie. Let's get started!

The Conspiracy of Us seems like a pretty complex story. So let's put you to task! Describe the novel in three to five words.

You’ve done a good job describing some of the plot in question #2, so I’ll go with descriptive words: Danger. Glamour. Romance. Ancient secrets.

Avery's the lost heir to the Circle of Twelve, a secret society whose members may or may not want her dead. Can you tell us a little bit about the Circle?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST