RT Daily Blog

J.A. Jance On Her Mystery-Writing Origins

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

In honor of her new release, Queen Of The Night, mystery author J.A. Jance shares her path to publication, the true-life mystery that inspired her to start writing and details of the original novel that held the title Hour Of The Hunter.

 In the mid-Sixties, I spent five years working as a school librarian on an Indian reservation, the home of the Desert People, now known as the Tohono O'odham Nation. During that time my first husband and I encountered a serial killer and ended up being stalked by him for sixty days before he was finally apprehended. He was imprisoned for murdering three people and is still in prison to this day.

I had always wanted to be a writer, although I wasn't allowed in the Creative Writing program at the University of Arizona in 1964 because, as the professor told me, I was a "girl." All of which goes a long way to explain why I became a librarian.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


May The Odds Be Ever In Your Favor! Hunger Games (Schwag) Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 13, 2010 | PERMALINK

We're getting awfully excited for Mockingjay, the trilogy ender to Suzanne Collins' The Hunger Games, which comes out August 24 from Scholastic. So when the FedEx delivery man showed up with a giant box with a Hunger Games logo on it, we're not too proud to tell you, we did a happy little jig. And though we had dearly hoped that inside that box was a copy of Mockingjay, instead there was something (nearly) as good, that we'd love to share with you. 

Take a look:

Lots and lots of Hunger Games treats, celebrating a new Facebook game:
The Hunger Games: Training Days.

We've got charm bracelets, brooches, bag clips. 

Bracelets, bookmarks!

T-shirts!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

WEEKLY WEB WRAP UP 8/13/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 13, 2010 | PERMALINK

Spend your week trying to keep track of your Bundle Of Trouble?

Here's what you missed on the RT website.

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Modern Updates For A Well-Known Mystery Hero

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 13, 2010 | PERMALINK

Mystery author Paul Levine is best known for his long-running series about “linebacker-turned-lawyer” Jake Lassiter. This year is the twentieth anniversary of the very first Jake Lassiter novel, To Speak For The Dead. And in light of the event, Levine is making some modern changes to his hard-boiled mystery hero's series.

The first of these changes is a formatting update; the Jake Lassiter novels are being republished as e-books. This is a move that Levine is all for but, the author admits his hero would not embrace. Levine gives readers a look inside of his hero's head for the explanation: Lassiter says about himself, “I’m not trendy or hip. I don’t drink fizzy water from France or booze in fluorescent colors. I don’t carry a Blackberry, an iPhone, or a purse. You won’t find my mug on MySpace. I am not Linked In, and I don’t Digg or Stumble Upon. I don’t have a life coach, an aroma therapist, or a yoga instructor, and I don’t do Pilates. I’m not into blogging or tweeting, sexting or spinning. In short, I’m not a yuppie, a metrosexual or Generation X, Y, or Z.” But never mind that Lassiter is unlikely to ever read an e-book, today's readers can now enjoy Levine’s Lasstier stories in this contemporary format.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

SCOOPED! Featuring Leigh, Cornwell and E-Book Advice

BY Morgan Doremus, AUGUST 12, 2010 | PERMALINK

To answer all the fiction questions you guys have been sending to me, I've done research online and contacted publishers, authors and my fellow RT editors. Take a look at what I found out this week about Lora Leigh's upcoming work, some "alternative" paranormal reading suggestions and much more (and, of course, be sure to keep your questions coming to me here).

Question: I enjoyed Lora Leigh’s motorcycle-themed Nauti series, but what I really want is more breed fiction. Is she writing any more? – Alicia 

Morgan: Absolutely. In the next year you can expect at least two more “Breed” novels. In fact, Styx’s Storm is releasing on October 5th. With this book, you can expect an innocent heroine to tame a troubled wolf. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Molly Harper: Paranormal vs. Mainstream

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 12, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Molly Harper has genre-jumped from paranormal to mainstream fiction. Harper discusses the experience of changing genres, offers a side-by-side comparison of her latest novels and shares an excerpt of And One Last Thing... as she petitions RT readers for "dual-genre citizenship".

After my three-book vampire librarian series, people were surprised that my fourth book would be published in July with nary a supernatural creature in sight. And One Last Thing ... is the story of Lacey Terwilliger, who uses her husband’s company mailing list to send a mass e-mail to everyone they know, detailing the special brand of “administrative support” Mike’s assistant provides. Faster than you can say, “instant Snopes article,” Lacey is exiled from her tiny hometown in the wake of her widely forwarded, anti-adultery missive.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Cleo Coyle

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 12, 2010 | PERMALINK
The writing team behind mystery author Cleo Coyle is interviewed by RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus. Their new release, Roast Mortem, is an RT *Web Exclusive Review* and the ninth installment of the New York City-set Coffeehouse series. Learn how the couple's life in New York City and their experiences co-writing affect the mysteries that they create.

Meet The Writing Team Behind Cleo Coyle >>

Learn About Their Newest Novel, Roast Mortem >>

Cleo Coyle Dissects The Culinary Mystery >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview With Cherry Adair

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

Blockbuster Romantic Suspense author Cherry Adair sits down with RT's Whitney Sullivan for a chat about her latest T-FLAC novel, her take on her stories being turned into films and what readers can expect from Adair's two unusual new trilogies, set outside<


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five Questions For Linda Howard

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

Elusive Romantic Suspense mega-star Linda Howard answers RT's top five burning questions! Find out what the author has to say about her latest release, Veil of Night, the evolution of her writing, and the novel she's hard at work on right now!

Question #1: Before we start to discuss your newest release, Veil Of Night, let's do a bit of a rewind on your previous works. There is not a romance fan out there that has not read your books and fallen in love. Can you discuss some of the highlights of your writing career?


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Karen Ranney And The Troubled Heart Of A Man Of Science

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Karen Ranney gives readers a peek into the heart and mind of her newest hero, Ian McNair. Learn why this man of science is torn when it comes to choosing A Highland Duchess ... and don't miss the excerpt after the message!

I’ve always been fascinated by the scientific discoveries made in the Victorian era, and the men who were laughed at or looked on with disfavor because they dared to postulate another answer to the questions fascinating mankind. 

One of those men was Ian McNair in A Highland Duchess, whose prized possession was a microscope, and whose best friend was a physician who put aside his practice to help Ian prove that disease was caused by organisms that couldn't be seen. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST