RT Daily Blog

September Seal Of Excellence

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 30, 2014 | PERMALINK

Each month the RT editors select one book that is not only compelling, but pushes the boundaries of genre fiction. This book stands out from all the others reviewed that month, in the magazine issue and on the website. September 2014's RT Seal of Excellence — the editors' pick for best book of the month — is awarded to Jennifer Lohmann's Harpequin Superromance Winning Ruby Heart. This is the first category/series romance to win our Seal of Excellence Award.

 

The cover of Between the Sheets


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Creative Heroines In October's Historical Romances

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 30, 2014 | PERMALINK

We’re never ones to shy away from creative endeavors and neither are the heroines you’ll get to meet in this month’s collection of new Historical romances. The leading ladies this month may be ladies of society, but they also hold creative, if not quirky, professions that make them standout heroines. Let’s take a look!


In Elizabeth Hoyt’s Darling Beast, renowned actress and playwright Lily Stump has seen better days. With her son in tow, she moves into an abandoned theater where she stumbles upon Apollo Greaves, Viscount Kilbourne, who has escaped Bedlam. As Apollo and Lily grow closer, Lily vows to help clear Apollo’s name of the crime he didn’t commit. But does Lily have the strength to write them a happy ending?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Book Trailer Reveal: Gena Showalter's Queen of Zombie Hearts — with Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 30, 2014 | PERMALINK

The genre-crossing Gena Showalter has teen and adult fans alike clamoring for the final book in her White Rabbit Chronicles, The Queen of Zombie Hearts. The good news is you don't have to wait any longer, as the book hits shelves today. In the meantime, why not take a gander at the book trailer, which we are super excited to exclusively reveal here? (And then don't forget to enter our 10 (ten!) book giveaway below!) The giveaway is open to U.S. and Canadian readers and winners can choose either a print or ebook version of the book. 

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On the Shelves: 9/30/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 30, 2014 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

***

Be sure to check out these Contemporary Romances that we couldn't fit in with the rest!

The Maverick of Copper Creek by R.C. Ryan

Our First Christmas by Lisa Jackson, Mary Burton, Mary Carter and Cathy Lamb

Historical Romance

WHAT A WALLFLOWER WANTS

" ... Rodale makes the era and the characters highly accessible to modern-day readers. The smart heroine, compassionate hero and likable cast of characters enhance an already wonderful romance."

CHRISTMAS BRIDES

"What a delightful quartet of spirited holiday stories to brighten any season. These are quick, charming, heartwarming, emotional and sensual novellas — each as different as their authors, yet each as wonderful."

AN AMERICAN DUCHESS

"Merging the flavor of Downton Abbey with her own special touches, Page crafts a vibrant novel and a dramatic love story with strong, well motivated characters and completely captures the angst and glamour of the era."

MOONLIGHT RAIDER

"Scott has another winner with this excellent, fast-moving plot, well-crafted and carefully motivated characters and the historical personages and events woven into an uplifting romance."

THE GROOM SAYS YES

"[Readers] won’t be disappointed with the intriguing, captivating hero who grabs attention from the first page. Suspense, danger and simmering passion blends with Maxwell’s signature humor and joyous romance."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Outlander Recap: Episode 1.8 — "Both Sides Now" (Midseason Finale)

BY Regina Small, SEPTEMBER 29, 2014 | PERMALINK

Last week: Claire and Jamie got married! And had sex. A lot. Oh and before that, Claire fell through time from 1946, where she has another husband, Frank.

For the first time since Claire fell through the stones at Craig na Dun, we're taken back to our present timeline of 1946. A detective strolls into a Scotland police station to find Frank waiting, apparently not for the first time. Clearly beleaguered, the detective explains to Frank that his department is doing everything they can to find Claire.

Frank, who's developed quite a growl in Claire's absence, basically tells the detective that the police department has lived down to his low expectations, in spite of an extensive six-week manhunt. The detective theorizes that since they haven't found a body, Claire is probably still alive — and since there were no signs of a struggle by the car, it's unlikely that she was abducted. Um. No? It's possible she got out of the car and then was abducted? Or if Claire were held at gunpoint and ordered out of the car, there wouldn't be signs of a struggle in that case, either. You don't need to be Sherlock Holmes to form those theories, detective. I'm taking away your detecting license! Hand it over!

source


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Witches of East End Recap: 2.11 - "Poe Way Out"

BY Elissa Petruzzi, SEPTEMBER 29, 2014 | PERMALINK

Greetings, witches! Grab some coffee, this is a time travel episode, so we've got more multiples of characters than usual. Who would've thought we would long for Jo and Jo 2.0?! We’ll get through it together, promise.

The ladies have gone through the time door — sans Ingrid, who’s stayed behind with Bad Granddad (BG) to the surprise of everyone except Jo, who says the pair have always had a “strange connection.” They’re in Baltimore, 1848, and they’re after a rare and powerful weapon that will end BG. Jo knows it works, because she once used it to kill Freya. 


Dawson says what?

source

BG and Ingrid are bonding in the garden. But BG needs to rest, his days are numbered, he guilt-simpers. (He is basically like your grandma asking why you never call. But seriously, you should call your grandma. Go ahead. We’ll wait.)

Dash is at work when (ah ha ha ha I can’t) FBI Special Agent Raven Moreau shows up to question him. Let’s say it again: FBI SPECIAL AGENT RAVEN MOREAU. It’s like they used a soap name and occupation scrambler and this is what they came up with. It’s glorious. I love it. And it gives us reasons to use Raven Symone GIFS. Yay!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Editor Talk: Meredith Rich on Bloomsbury Spark — and a Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 29, 2014 | PERMALINK

Last year, Bloomsbury launched a new digital-only imprint, Bloomsbury Spark. With a passion for Young Adult and New Adult stories, Spark has quickly built a list of refreshing stories written by established and up-and-coming authors. As the Digital Editor for Spark, Meredith Rich has helped build the imprint and its authors. Curious about Bloomsbury Spark, its recent deals and the submission process, we asked Meredith our burning questions and she answered! Learn more about the imprint and stay tuned afterwards for a giveaway!

Bloomsbury Spark launched last year. Can you tell us a little bit about the creation of the imprint?

I was brought on to really shape the imprint and it was great because we decided early on we wanted to focus on Young Adult and New Adult, but open to all genres. All of our books so far have had a touch of romance, which is hard to resist, especially for e-books!

One of the great things about Spark is that we want to serve the readership — and e-book readers are fantastic, partially because they know what they like and they’re always on the lookout for the next best thing. We can follow what they want to read as they purchase.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords — The Books Before the Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 29, 2014 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

DEBUT AUTHORS

New Adult - In The Sojourn, Andrea Dunlop’s debut novel, a young American woman falls into the glamorous and irresistible world of art and money while studying in France. She soon winds up in the middle of a dark and possibly dangerous love triangle.

Fantasy - Camille Greip’s debut, Letters to Zell, stars four fairy tale princesses who are fed up with their Happily Ever Afters. They set out to live the lives they really want, but must reevaluate their decisions when their actions threaten to destroy the entire Realm of the Imagination. Coming in Spring 2015.

New Adult - Elizabeth Miceli’s Barren tells the harrowing tale of a young woman who turns to hook-ups and drugs to deal with the trauma of being assaulted. Her life takes a bright turn when she meets someone who’s willing to love her no matter what. Coming in 2015.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap-Up: 9/25/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week trying to find His Most Suitable Bride?

Here's what you missed on the RT site!

***

PARANORMAL ROMANCE: Jennifer Estep shares her top Fall TV picks! Superheroes Galore >>

EROTICA: Read this week's hot Hump Day Excerpt! Turn Up the Heat >>

YOUNG ADULT: Kendall Kulper spills on the magic of Salt & Storm. Get Witchy >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Friday Giveaway: The Body Electric By Beth Revis

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Body Electric

YA favorite Beth Revis has ventured into self-publishing with her next release, The Body Electric, and we've got a limited edition paperback copy to give away! The Body Electric follows a young girl who's able to enter people's dreams and memories, but things go wrong when she discovers someone may have altered her memories. Here's the blurb:

The future world is at peace.

Ella Shepherd has dedicated her life to using her unique gift—the ability to enter people’s dreams and memories using technology developed by her mother—to help others relive their happy memories.

But not all is at it seems.

Ella starts seeing impossible things—images of her dead father, warnings of who she cannot trust. Her government recruits her to spy on a rebel group, using her ability to experience—and influence—the memories of traitors. But the leader of the rebels claims they used to be in love—even though Ella’s never met him before in her life. Which can only mean one thing…

Someone’s altered her memory.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST