RT Daily Blog

DJ's August Must-Reads

BY DJ DeSmyter, JULY 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

As July starts winding down - can you believe we’re already halfway through the month?! - I can’t help but think about all the drool-worthy books releasing in August. Today I’m sharing my picks for next month, which is a nice mix of contemporary romance, Young Adult and New Adult. Take a look:


Mr. Right Goes Wrong by Pamela Morsi

When: August 1, 2014

What It’s All About: Mazzy moves back home with her son in an attempt to rebuild her life, even if that means working for her ex. Mazzy’s not looking for love, but sweet and reliable Eli Latham still has his eyes — and heart — set on her, even after loving her for years and being burned more than once. He knows Mazzy has a thing for bad boys, so Eli decides it’s time to ditch Mr. Nice and channel his inner bad boy. Will his makeover finally win Mazzy over or is she the one who has to change in order to find happiness?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


How To Save Money On Ebooks: A Bargain-Hunter's Guide

BY Elisa Verna, JULY 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

I know I’m not alone in admitting I have an ebook hoarding problem. The allure of 99-cent novels and accumulating books that don’t take up physical space (I live in NYC, space isn’t cheap) is something I just can’t resist.

And I’ve become a master at not paying full price for ebooks. With so many sales, discount codes and loopholes, why should anyone? I’m not saying I won’t pay full price for a book, I absolutely will and have. If there is a book I must have immediately, I will pay for it as soon as it’s available. I’ve even paid for books I’ve gotten review copies of, because if something is that good and I want to support the people who worked hard to create it, I will.

I just can’t pay full price for every single book I buy because of this elusive thing called money. So below are my tips for scouting out deals and making sure your bank account isn’t demolished by your growing collection of ebooks.

1. Libraries

Free books! Many libraries are adapting to ebooks with digital lending. While this service varies among libraries, it’s worth checking out what your local library offers in terms of ebooks. The NYPL has a whole section of their website dedicated to ebooks and managing lending services online.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

A Night to Surrender by Tessa Dare

Buy It On Amazon For $2.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $2.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Modern Love bundle by various authors

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

Buy it On B&N For $0.99 >>

 

New Adult

All Lined Up by Cora Carmack

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Win A USB Dive Containing 300+ Romance Ebooks!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 16, 2014 | PERMALINK

If you attended this year's RT Booklovers Convention in New Orleans, you likely got a Smashwords USB drive with your registration bag. People were snatching them up like they were free books — because they contain cover 300+ free ebooks! They also include the May and June issues of RT Book Reviews magazine and a Smashwords ebook publishing kit. For those of you who didn't attend RT Con, or if you somehow misplaced your USB drive among the mountain of swag you took home with you, we've got extras and we're giving them away!

To enter, we ask that you do one of two things:

1. Sign up for our monthly newsletter.

If you don't already get our monthly newsletter, you can opt in below:



2. Sign up for a free trail digital subscription to our magazine.

Not a subscriber? Let us woo you with 4 free digital issues! You can sign up here.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Find Your Perfect Summer Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 16, 2014 | PERMALINK

Summer is in full swing, and those planning to relax with a vacation (or staycation!) might need a book or three to keep them company. As always, we've got some recommendations. Use the chart below to figure out which summer romance best suits your vacay plans. You can enlarge the image by clicking on it, or using the link below. Happy reading!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 16, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books banner

The Waste Land by T.S. Eliot

If Europe had a nightmare and someone could write it down faithfully, he/she would write this poem. 

Plot: Humanity is fu****d. 

Rating: ●●●●○

The Great Gatsby F. Scott Fitzgerald

Gatsby is alone, falls in love to not be alone anymore and becomes rich to get the absolute love. He will fail, because he can't succeed, but in great style.

Plot: Gatsby is great. 

Rating: ●●●●○

The Shadow Line by Josef Conrad


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

What We're Reading: Lovin' Some Loveswept

BY Mala Bhattacharjee, JULY 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

Every once in a while you stumble upon the perfect summer read. Lucky for me, I stumbled twice in a row after picking up review copies of two of Loveswept's new titles — Have Mercy, by debut author Shelley Ann Clark (out now), and Ruthie Knox's Truly, which comes out on August 5.

The covers of Have Mercy and Truly side by side

In Have Mercy, bass player and struggling bar owner Tom McKinney is fascinated by soulful singer Emme Hayes. When he joins her band and their state-to-state van tour, they make more than just beautiful music together. What follows is funny, heartfelt, and knock-your-socks off sexy, because Tom is a submissive, eager to have Em set the rules of their game — especially if said game keeps his mind off his troubles at home. The words "Yes, ma'am" have never been as electric as they are in Have Mercy, deployed by Clark's sharp and clever pen.

If that doesn't have your curiosity a bit piqued, then how's this for some fan-yourself-worthy dialogue? "You look good kneeling at my feet, sugar."  "I'm always kneeling at your feet," Tom said. "Even when I'm standing."

Whew. Is it hot in here? If Have Mercy is Clark's first single, then I can't wait for the whole album!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lorin Oberweger and Veronica Rossi on the Ups and Downs of Co-Authoring

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

Teamwork makes the world go round in most cases, and co-authors Lorin Oberweger and Veronica Rossi have proven their partnership is a success. Writing as Noelle August, their first book, Boomerang, has quickly amassed a loyal readership, so clearly they're doing something right. Today, Lorin and Veronica discuss the ups and downs of co-authoring, and offer their tips for a successful parternship.

With a co-authored New Adult on the shelves and two soon-to-be-published, we've navigated a few ups and downs along the way that are unique to writing as a team.

Here are our best tips for smooth collaborative sailing:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Exclusive Advanced Excerpt: Gates of Thread and Stone by Lori M. Lee

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JULY 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

Waiting for a book to come out is one of the most dreadful things. Ever. Luckily, we're here to help make the wait more bearable with a brand new exclusive advanced excerpt! This time, we're sharing an excerpt from Lori M. Lee's upcoming YA fantasy, Gates of Thread and Stone, which releases next month! In this exciting fantasy tale, seventeen-year-old Kai can alter the threads of time, an ability that could get her killed. When her protecter and "brother", Reev, goes missing, Kai must confront her past and Reev's secrets in order to save him.

An hour later, I gave up trying to sleep and rose from my cot to light the lantern, which cast a warm glow across the metal walls. My internal clock told me it had to be about seven. The only breakfast waiting for me in the cupboard was the leftover sandwich, which I had no appetite for, so I threw off Reev’s shirt that I liked to sleep in and pulled on a pair of worn pants and a belted tunic. Then I grabbed my toiletries and made a quick visit to the washroom. I hated it in there; the smell hit you like a roiling wall of fumes, and the staff only got around to cleaning it — not very well — once every couple of weeks.

When I finished and Reev had yet to appear, I began worrying in earnest.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Magazine Extra: More Questions For John Scalzi

BY Regina Small, JULY 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

The cover of Lock In by John ScalziIn our September 2014 issue, I was lucky enough to catch up with celebrated science fiction author John Scalzi, who is a particular favorite of the RT staff. We chatted a bit about his September release Lock In, which centers on a chilling pandemic called Haden's Syndrome — a disease that leaves one percent of the population completely physically paralyzed, but still fully conscious and aware. As nearly 4.5 million people are "locked in" to their own bodies, a global crisis emerges, one that reshapes the world politically, economically and socially. Scalzi came up with some ingenious options for the "locked in" to move about: 1) remote-controlled androids known as Threeps, operated by signals sent by the brain and 2) Integrators — able-bodied folks whose brains allow the Haden's-afflicted to take over their bodies. We were curious to hear a bit more about Scalzi's take on the latter, as well as the background that informed this tense near-future murder mystery.

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST