RT Daily Blog

Finding Free (Or Nearly Free) E-book Deals

BY admin, JUNE 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

Welcome to Dear Jane, a weekly column based upon reader mailbag questions on anything relating to e-books. No question is too simple or too mundane. We are all learning together. Send your questions Jane@DearAuthor.com with "Dear Jane" in the subject matter.

Dear Jane: I'm see all these promotions for free e-books (or cheap ebooks) but I don't own an e-book reader and I don't want to buy one just yet (I'm waiting for that perfect device). But I still want to read some of these books for free. Is there anyway I can do that?

~Lynn

****

Dear Lynn: Yes, for almost all free ebooks or cheap e-book promotions, you can take advantage of these deals by using just your laptop or desktop. The truth is nearly half of people who read e-books do so using some type of personal computer. The only disadvantage is that you might have to download more than one software program to your desktop to take advantage of these promotions.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Eva Marie Everson Asks The Question - When Are Historicals, Historical?

BY admin, JUNE 16, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Eva Marie Everson reflects on the 1960s and why she set her newest release, This Fine Life, in the tumultuous decade.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational, Mainstream
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Trend Watch: Historical Heroes Who Work

BY Whitney Sullivan, JUNE 15, 2010 | PERMALINK

When you pick up a romance set in England during the 1800s, you're probably expecting pretty dresses, lots of rules and ton intrigue and sometimes a spy or two. But in several of this summer's historical romances the heroes have jobs, real jobs.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lilly Cain Makes A Change Of Pace

BY admin, JUNE 15, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Lilly Cain moves her focus from vampires to outer space in her new novel, Alien Revealed, from Carina Press. The author discusses why she made the change and what was unexpected about her newest work. And don't miss the RT BOOK REVIEWS *Web Exclusive Review* of Alien Revealed.

I loved writing the dark side of erotic paranormal romance. Darkness, blood, possible death; the shadows are a potent place for the fiery life or death romance of a vampire on the run. This was the setting of my first foray into erotic romance – Dark Harmony, the first book of the Dark Seduction series. And I loved it. Reveled in the gritty fantasies of a female vampire who’d been forced into a sexually submissive role by her sadistic maker, and those of the human dom that could be her salvation. Even their fight for freedom was filled with frightening images and physical action.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica
7COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Pauline Baird Jones And Her Hero-Sized Headache

BY admin, JUNE 15, 2010 | PERMALINK

Fantasy author Pauline Baird Jones gives us a behind-the-scenes peek at the hero of her latest novel, Girl Gone Nova.

 

There is a rumor going around that writing Girl Gone Nova almost made my head explode.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Reaching Out To The Millionaires and Billionaires – RT Is Here To Help

BY Morgan Doremus, JUNE 14, 2010 | PERMALINK

The Wall Street Journal posted an article last week titled “The Billionaire Book Club”  which was all about the summer reading list that J.P. Morgan Private Bank compiles every year for the bank’s rich clients. The list was made up of all nonfiction books that cover a wide range of interests. Need some advice? For you there is Peter Buffett’s Life is What You Make It: Find Your Own Path to Fulfillment. Are you an environmentalist? Check out Written in Water: Messages of Hope for Earth’s Most Precious Resource by Irena Salina. Any foodies out there? A can’t miss is Chef McDang’s The Principles of Thai Cookery.

 

So what could this list possibly be missing? How about some genre fiction with titles that do not lead to stress induced heart attacks. Honestly, what millionaire wants to come home from a day at empire building to read On The Brink: Inside the Race to Stop the Collapse of the Global Financial System. Don’t they get enough of this at work? My gut says that they would much rather curl up to Nicola Marsh’s Overtime in the Boss’s Bed (she’s a sexy dancer – jobless, homeless, penniless – willing to do anything for work…)

     

Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Web Exclusive Review: The Ghosts Of Ashbury High By Jaclyn Moriarty - With Giveaway!

BY admin, JUNE 14, 2010 | PERMALINK

The review for the latest Jaclyn Moriarty release, The Ghosts Of Ashbury High, is a *WEB EXCLUSIVE REVIEW* on our site.

 

Moriarty follows the tale of two new "bad kids" who have just transferred to Ashbury High and the group of teens who be-friend them. 

RT Reviewer Lauren Spielberg calls The Ghosts Of Ashbury High "a fun, updated take on the modern day ghost story."

She continues,"for a gothic novel, Moriarty's tale boasts a major sense of humor."

Read The *WEB EXCLUSIVE REVIEW* >>

 

     

Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Helen Brenna On Her Characters and Their Biggest Mistakes

BY admin, JUNE 14, 2010 | PERMALINK
 

Popular series author Helen Brenna discusses her newest Superromance Along Came A Husband and why her characters 'jump the gun' on their relationship for all the wrong reasons.

Every writer’s dream is for a book to write itself, to be in a zone where the fingers are flying across the keyboard effortlessly. If I’m lucky, I get one scene in every story that comes out of nowhere and hits me over the head in its urgency to get onto the page. I’ll be typing away and suddenly the characters get carried away in their own story and start doing something I didn’t see coming.

I was a little worried when it happened in Along Came A Husband, my June 2010 Harlequin Superromance. In part because it was a sex scene. But mostly because Missy Charms and Jonas Abel hadn’t even kissed yet.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Laura Griffin To Continue Her Tracers Series

BY admin, JUNE 14, 2010 | PERMALINK

Laura Griffin will continue her Tracers series for three more installments. The first two romantic suspense novels in the series, Untraceable and Unspeakable, both received high ratings. RT Reviewer Annette Elton says of the series first, “The characters are top-notch, and their gradual romance — entrenched in mystery and suspense — leaves readers sighing contentedly as the last page folds.”

Griffin’s Tracers are forensic scientists who work alongside detectives to, as Griffin puts it, “solve the most unsolvable crimes.” Her forensic scientists all share a dedication to bringing killers to justice. In Griffin’s own words, “these investigators are relentless.”

Each series installment focuses on a different relationship and mystery all connected by the high-tech lab where the characters interact. But Griffin says, don’t expect this series to get stale, “I like to spice things up with characters from all different walks of life and a wide array of forensic specialties.”

In Untraceable, readers met secondary character Sophie Barret, who will take center-stage as the heroine of book four. Kelsey Quinn, of the Deadly Promises anthology out this September, will also be making an appearance later in the Tracers series.


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Post A Review for a Chance To Win a 2011 RT BOOKLOVERS CONVENTION Registration

BY admin, JUNE 11, 2010 | PERMALINK

On your mark, get set, post your own review!

On each of our book reviews, you can tell us (and your fellow readers) exactly what you think of the books you have read. Now is the time to let everyone know your opinion about your favorite (or not so favorite) stories. With over 40,000 reviews on the RT BOOK REVIEWS site, the possibilities to share are almost endless.

Now until August 1st, each time you review a book you will be entered to win a free registration to the 2011 RT BOOKLOVERS Convention in L.A. The more reviews you post, the more chances you have to win. We will randomly choose one lucky winner to receive the free convention registration.

Not registered as a visitor? No problem! Click here to sign up for an RT site login. Its free and easy.

Already have a login? You are ready to post. Use the advanced book search for help finding the titles you would like to review.

Official Contest Rules >>

Let us know what books you are reviewing - comment below and keep us informed!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention, E-Book, Erotica, Inspirational, Mainstream, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST