RT Daily Blog

In A Historical Slump? Connie Brockway's Tips For Getting Back In The Mood

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Are you in a historical romance slup? With so many great contemporary romances dominating the market, it can be hard to get in the mood for a good Regency or Victorian-set romance. With her new novel, The Songbird's Seduction, Connie Brockway tackles the 1900s and shows her love for the Edwardian period. Today, Connie shares a list of her favorite Edwardian-set movies that are sure to make you fan of those tumultuous years.

Long before Downton Abbey hit American shores, I saw the Merchant-Ivory film, A Room with a View, and fell in love with the Edwardian period. It’s no surprise that my latest novel, The Songbird’s Seduction, takes place in 1908.

The Edwardian era was the last stand of an aristocratic lifestyle, a world of contrast and potential, where the word “girl” denoted maturity while the term “young lady” inferred naivety, where chauffeured motor cars took merry-makers to the theater and shop girls took typing lessons.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Cover Breakdown: The Summer of Chasing Mermaids

BY DJ DeSmyter, SEPTEMBER 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Sarah Ockler has been one of my favorite authors ever since I read Twenty Boy Summer — one of the first YA contemps I ever discovered. Since then, she's had a handful of other beautiful novels, but I'm particularly stoked to read her upcoming book, The Summer of Chasing Mermaids, which swims our way next June. I was instantly hooked by the premise, but was completely won over by the cover, which is perfect. Obviously, we had to dissect it for our Cover Breakdown series. Let's get started!

Sometimes, there are no words …

The youngest of six talented sisters, Elyse d’Abreau was destined for stardom — until a boating accident took everything from her. Now, the most beautiful singer in Tobago can’t sing. She can’t even speak.

Seeking quiet solitude, Elyse accepts a friend’s invitation to Atargatis Cove. Named for the mythical first mermaid, the Oregon seaside town is everything Elyse’s home in the Caribbean isn’t: An ocean too cold for swimming, parties too tame for singing and people too polite to pry — except for one.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Conversation Highlights with the Cast and Creator of The Maze Runner - With Giveaway!

BY DJ DeSmyter, SEPTEMBER 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Last night, I was invited to a special Q&A with James Dashner and the cast of The Maze Runner at the 92Y here in NYC. The event was jam-packed with enthusiastic fans — most of which were very vocal Teen Wolf fans who pretty much died and went to heaven the moment Dylan O’Brien walked on stage. Joining O’Brien were actors Jacob Latimore, Thomas Brodie-Sangster, Alex Flores, Chris Sheffield and Kaya Scodelario. Entertainment writer Matt Patches moderated the discussion. Unfortunately, due to the volume of fangirl-level screaming, the cast wasn’t able to answer most of the questions clearly, but here are some highlights. I also have a Maze Runner movie poster signed by Dashner to give away at the end of this post!

- When asked about which movies or TV shows influenced the book, Dashner cited The Shining, Lord of the Flies and Lost as major influences.

- “The maze is probably the first image that came to me,” said Dashner. “And it became its own character.”

- On whether or not they read the book beforehand, O’Brien said, “I thought it was important to dive into the book as soon as possible,” but due to a tight filming schedule he didn’t have the time to finish it until later. Latimore said he read it after they had finished filming and could only picture his fellow cast members as the characters.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books banner

Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky

Ask yourself what you are allowed to do, and you will not stop asking until you understand who you are. And if anything goes, you're nothing.

Plot: A guy with a fever kills a granny.

Rating: ●●●●●

Tristram Shandy by Laurence Sterne

If you think publishing is revolutionary now, the most daring experiments by the strangest contemporary authors had already been done by Sterne — in the second half of the eighteenth century. Funny, sometimes unreadable — and truly revolutionary.

Plot: A day in the life of Shandy's family.

Rating: ●●●●○


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Reveal: Garrett by Sawyer Bennett

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 16, 2014 | PERMALINK

Romance, secrets and hockey come together in full force in Sawyer Bennett's upcoming novel Garrett, the second book in her Cold Fury Hockey series, which kicks off this October with Alex. And while Garrett doesn't come out until February, we have something rather delicious to tide you over — the cover! And let us tell you, it's a hot one. But don't let us spoil it for you, read on to see the reveal and to learn more about the book.

Let's start by seeing what this book is about:

Carolina Cold Fury star Garrett Samuelson never wants to miss out on a single minute of fun. Whether he’s playing hockey, hanging out with friends, or walking the red carpet with a new date on his arm, he lives every day to the fullest. When he meets Olivia Case, he sees someone who’s exactly his type — confident, sexy, smart ... his next fling. But the more he pursues her, the more Garrett shares a side of himself that other women don’t normally get to see.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Page to Screen: Upcoming Film and TV Adaptations

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 16, 2014 | PERMALINK

Hollywood never rests and the book-to-film buzz just keeps on growing! There's plenty of news this month to satisfy everyone, whether you enjoy Game of Thrones-esque epics, V.C. Andrews-style romance, a dash of Austen or a little pinch of horror. Grab some popcorn and take a look:

Is The Last Kingdom the New Game of Thrones?

In the on-going search for the next Game of Thrones, BBC America is making headway with their epic series, The Last Kingdom, based on Bernard Cornwell’s book series, set in the ninth century and known for its blend of fact and fiction. Recently, BBC America announced Alexander Dreymon has landed the lead role as Uhtred.

Lifetime Continues Showing V.C. Andrews Love


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian Spill on Co-Authoring

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 16, 2014 | PERMALINK

Writing a book by yourself can be rather lonely — but that all changes when you team up with a co-author to pen a story. Or, in Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian's case, an entire trilogy! To celebrate today's release of Ashes to Ashes, the third and final entry in their Burn for Burn series, Jenny and Siobhan discuss the ins and outs of their partnership, complete with GIFs! Take a look:

We have been reading each other’s work almost since day one of our friendship. We wrote together, we traded pages and gave each other notes, and maybe most importantly, we fell in love with each other’s stories. We were so in-sync that it made perfect sense to collaborate on a book together.


source


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On the Shelves: 9/16/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 16, 2014 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Outlander Recap: Episode 1.6 — "The Garrison Commander"

BY Regina Small, SEPTEMBER 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

Last week: Claire traveled with the Castle Leoch crew to collect rent — and discovered that Dougal's trying to raise money for a Jacobite army to unseat England's current king. Hurray, treason!

We left off last week with British soldier Lieutenant Jeremy Foster asking Claire if Dougal is holding her against her will. Returning from the smash cut to black, we pick up immediately with Claire's answer: No, she's not a prisoner. She's a guest of Clan MacKenzie.

Foster still feels his superior would want to speak to Claire, so he requests she come with him. Dougal insists on going as well and, as they travel, Claire VOs that there's something comforting about riding with her own people; after all, she did serve in the British army for six years. I don't totally understand her affection for THIS British army, given the fallout of the brutal crucifixion we saw last week. But okay.

Claire notes Dougal's discomfort — though they're still in Scotland AND on MacKenzie land, the town they're heading into has a strong British army presence, so Dougal's definitely in enemy territory.

Once they arrive, Foster takes Claire and Dougal directly to his commander, a foppish gentleman seated at a long dining table with other soldiers. He bolts out of his chair to introduce himself to Claire, proclaiming it's been too long since he's seen a "lovely English rose." Then he kisses her hand, and wastes no time calling Scotland "blasted turf."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Witches of East End Recap 2.9 — "Smells Like King Spirit"

BY Elissa Petruzzi, SEPTEMBER 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

Holy schnikey, witches! Quite an episode! What an ending! In hindsight, I should have known something was up because they sent Jenna Dewan-Tatum on a press tour this week, talking up the show. But I’ve been watching soaps for a long time, so I wasn’t so sure I believed the commercials about “the most shocking episode ever” and that I wouldn’t believe the last two minutes. But I was shocked and I couldn’t believe the last two minutes.


Just remember, we’re all in this together.
source

Ready? Onward!

Ingrid is ignoring Dash’s calls, and the warlock is not happy about it. He’s boozing and smashing stuff in the attic when he comes upon some old letters and journals, containing pictures of old Ingrid from the satanic cult days.

Okay, you guys, this is pretty squick worthy (worse than tentacle man, if you can believe it), so let’s try and get through this together. Freddy’s still carving up his blindfolded girlfriend, who’s oblivious thanks to the “numbing cream” he used. There’s blood all over the bed. It’s terrible. Freddy raises the knife up high … but he can’t do it.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST