RT Daily Blog

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

***

The Prose Edda by Snorri Sturluson

The gods will be miserably slaughtered, and even if they know it in advance, they'd rather not to worry about it, as to “not upset their holy peace." In the history of the West, so many works come from Norse mythology.

Plot: The gods of good, the gods of evil and all the men will die. 

Rating: 97 out of 100 

The Confessions of St. Augustine by St. Augustine


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Michael Barakiva On Fatherhood and Family History

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

One of the many delights of Michael Barakiva's One Man Guy is the inclusion of Armenian culture amidst the charming coming of age story. We wanted to learn more about Michael's decision to weave his own cultural history into the novel and how his own life influenced the novel. Here's what he had to say:

When you grow up Armenian, even half-Armenian like me, you grow up with certain obligations. First and foremost, you have to procreate. Ideally this would be with another Armenian, but I suspect anyone swarthy would do. When I told my mom I was gay, she told me I still had to provide her grandchildren — those of you who have read One Man Guy will appreciate the scene for which this exchange is lifted identically.

I’m not sure if this obligation to procreate existed before the Armenian genocide of the early 20th century, during which over one million Armenian citizens where systemically killed by the Ottoman Government. Turkey still denies these mass killings as genocide, although 26 countries do (including France, Russia and 43 U.S. States), adding insult to injury to what Armenians call Medz Yeghern (“The Great Crime”).


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Amazon's Banned Book Covers

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 18, 2014 | PERMALINK

After cover artist Erin Dameron-Hill posted these tips for how to prevent a cover from being flagged on Amazon, we had to ask: which covers has she seen flagged on Amazon and how does she, as a cover artist, work within Amazon's vague content guidelines to edit "racy" covers? Erin is here today to give us the rundown. (Note: Parts of this post appear in Erin's original post on her blog. She has expanded on it for RT readers.)

"What we deem offensive is probably about what you would expect.” - Amazon Kindle Direct Publishing Content Guidelines

For someone like me, that rule from Amazon’s KDP program is a little vague as to what makes a cover offensive. As an Award-Winning Cover Artist at EDHGraphics, Samhain Publishing, Ellora’s Cave Publishing, and Blushing Books Publishing with a focus on Romance and Erotica genres, I find there is little that offends me. How am I supposed to know what is appropriate for Amazon?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Erotica, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Breakdown: Never Judge a Lady By Her Cover by Sarah MacLean

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Everybody loves a gorgeous book cover, especially when it plays with stereotypes. Sarah MacLean's cover for Never Judge a Lady By Her Cover, the fourth and final Rule of Scoundrels book, was recently released and we've been drooling over it ever since. Readers will finally get the story of Chase, the heroine who is a Lady by day and masquerades as a male gambling hall owner by night. Let's take a look:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Five Booktubers Who Aren't Overwhelmingly Annoying

BY Elisa Verna, JUNE 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Six years ago my YouTube-obsessed (then) teenage sister told me about this amazing YouTube channel called Vlogbrothers, and she subsequently bought and inhaled several John Green books as a result. She was enamored with the brothers for a good year, and understandably so. They're hilarious. While John and Hank didn’t talk much about books at first, the Vlogbrothers were my first exposure to all things book-related on YouTube.

Dubbed “booktubers,” several younger readers have started vlogging about books. And frankly, most of them are downright annoying. I feel like when I watch a booktuber video, there’s an 80% chance it’ll feel like someone is yelling in my face. It’s not that these people are naturally annoying — it’s just the style of video that’s become popular. And on YouTube, seemingly everyone wants to be popular. Many booktuber videos are filled with cluttered text, yelling and over-the-top attempts to be funny, all of which take away from why I wanted to watch the video in the first place: I want to watch someone talk (in a relatively calm way) about books!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lucy Saxon's Tips For Building A Better (Fictional) World

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

One of the most thrilling parts about being a writer is creating a world from scratch. But, like most endeavors, it's not always easily accomplished. Luckily, YA author Lucy Saxon is here to help! With the recent release of her debut novel, Take Back the Skies, the first in her epic six-book series, Lucy knows a thing or two about worldbuilding. And be sure to take notes, because these tips will come in handy.

Take Back the Skies by Lucy Saxon 1. Make sure you set your limits and laws, and stick to them. This particularly applies to worlds with magic, but really with any fantasy world you need to make sure that things are consistent. If you’ve said something works a certain way, make sure you keep it up through the entire story. To use magic as an example, don’t have a character say ‘magic can’t be used to create food’ and then have them conjuring a pizza three chapters later. That can lead into dangerous deus ex machina territory before you’ve even realised.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On the Shelves: 6/17/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance

TREASURED

"A legend of hidden treasure, a man who hides behind many facades and a woman who fights her birthright form the tapestry of this poignant, sensual and emotion-packed romance."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Places to Submit Your Manuscript: June 2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 16, 2014 | PERMALINK

Writing a novel is hard work and, like any form of dedication and passion, it's always nice to see your work reach new heights. To help the aspiring authors out there looking to be published, we've collected a handful of open calls for submissions as well as a couple of literary agencies to help you launch your career as an author. So read up on these publishers, agencies and submission guidelines and submit away!

***

Tor.com: The Imprint - Tor.com offers a wide variety of compelling short fiction titles for free, but with their newly announced plans to formally enter the ebook publishing world, readers will be able to discover new authors and even more exciting stories! The new venture will focus on publishing novellas, shorter novels and other short fiction pieces that exceed traditional constraints. To learn more about the new imprint, their plans and their submission guidelines, click here.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

ReShonda Tate Billingsley, A Party Girl? Not Quite

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 16, 2014 | PERMALINK

It's okay, admit it, you have an inner wild child. We all do, so no judgement here. For most of us, our wild sides tend to appear during vacations and for younger folks, that tends to be spring break. In ReShonda Tate Billingsley's Rumor Central: Truth or Dare, Maya hopes for a relaxing spring break in Cancun, but with the camera crew tagging along and the kidnapping of one of her former castmates, Maya's vacation is anything but relaxing. Today, ReShonda dishes on her wild side.

Cover of Rumor Central: Truth or Dare I have always been a good girl. In high school, when my friends did wrong, I was doing right. When they were worried about the latest parties and the hottest fashions, I was focused on my grades, reading and being the model child. My close friends pretty much accepted that’s who I was, but when it came time for our senior trip, they’d had enough.

“Look,” my best friend, Kelly, said, sitting me down one evening, “we are about to go to Acapulco for our Spring Break Senior Trip, so you’re going to need to leave ReShonda at home.”

“Huh?” I replied. “I’ve already paid my fee.”


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Drawing The Lines Of Consent In Romance

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JUNE 16, 2014 | PERMALINK

Last week romance author Jeffe Kennedy taught an online RWA workshop on how to distinguish between various lines of consent. We were intrigued by what the author had to say on the subject, so today she's giving a run-down on consent in romance and how readers distinguish between what's consensual and what isn't.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST