RT Daily Blog

Author Interview: Jeaniene Frost On Her New Anthology

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

Just in time for Halloween, two of the top names in vampire romance are releasing an anthology. The Bite Before Christmas features stories from Jeaniene Frost and her Night Huntress characters Cat and Bones and Lynsay Sands is back with her Argeneau vampires. If you need to get caught up with both series, make sure to meet us on the RT Daily Blog on Monday at 2:00 when we will be giving away both authors’ Avon book backlists along with a $50 gift card. While you wait, we decided to give you a taste of Jeaniene Frost’s Night Huntress world with this interview between RT's Morgan and the author that took place during last week’s Comic Con.

Morgan Doremus: You are best known for your Night Huntress series featuring Cat and Bones. Readers who have been following this couple's story were surprised (and thrilled) to learn that you will be expanding the series from seven to nine books, not to mention the story that we see in next week’s The Bite Before Christmas. Why the expansion?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Nalini Singh's Lord Of The Abyss - A True Beauty And The Beast Tale

BY Morgan Doremus, OCTOBER 21, 2011 | PERMALINK

My favorite scene from a Disney movie is at the end of Beauty and the Beast when the curse is lifted and the beast is transformed back to his true self. Belle takes one look at the handsome prince, doesn’t recognize him and she starts to turn away. But then their gazes meet and Belle knows she is indeed looking into the eyes of her one true love. 

Honestly, I’ve always been amazed that such a romantic scene takes place in a film that also stars a singing teapot and dancing candlestick.

Although it is only a cartoon, Beauty and the Beast captures one of the most enduring of all human needs — to be loved for your inner beauty rather than outward appearance. It can be difficult enough to try to recognize the person you are suppose to be with, adding a disfigurement on top of that just makes finding true love that much more challenging.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Romance
4COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Whitney & Elisa Dish: Lia Habel's Dearly, Departed

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 20, 2011 | PERMALINK

Zombies, futuristic inventions and kidnappings, oh my! This month's paranormal YA novel Dearly, Departed, by debut author Lia Habel, is full of all this and more. Get a look at Habel's captivating world, and her unsusual heroine, in today's special guest Dish!

Whitney: I’ll be the first to say it, this is a big book. I refused to put this book down as I was reading it — I even walked through the streets of Brooklyn with my nose between its pages! Although the story clocks in at 471 pages, it feels like you are involved in the story for much longer.

Elisa: It’s not a pick-up, put-down type of reading situation, Habel discusses heavy issues like race and segregation, conspiracies, fringe science and what makes someone human.

Whitney: And she skilfully weaves all of it into a really compelling story about zombies and the human race’s fight for survival. Habel just throws you into her world and and says, “Sink or swim!” Luckily, her worldbuilding is so good you’ll be swimming in no time, even if this is your first steampunk-esque story.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 20, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In our new column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee.

Historical Romance

Every Night I'm Yours by Christie Kelley

Buy For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Pleasure With Purpose by Lisa Renee Jones

Get It For Free >>

 

Young Adult

Tantalize by Cynthia Leitich Smith

Buy For $2.99 >>

     


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Take A Coffee Break With Sandra Brown

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 20, 2011 | PERMALINK

There's nothing quite like sitting down with a Sandra Brown novel. You know that you are in for a fast-paced, intriguing ride. Today we sit down for a "coffee break" with the author for a special look at her latest romantic suspense, Lethal, her Loveswept reissues and what fans can expect next!

***

Lethal seems more romantic suspense-y than your recent thrillers, is there a reason you’ve gone more romantic in this outing?

The situation in this story lent itself to more sexual tension, and I was glad, because that’s my favorite thing to read as well as to write. It was the perfect “storm” of two people being co-dependent but unhappy about it. They’re also forced by circumstances to stay in each other’s company within close quarters. Add to that the mutual attraction, the forbidden aspect of the union, and it’s a classic set up for combustion.

Looking back on your illustrious career, what book from your past do your fans clamor for a return to? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Three Newly-Announced Graphic Novel Projects We Can't Wait To Read!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 19, 2011 | PERMALINK

New York Comic Con 2011 may be over, but the deals we are hearing about are heating up. In addition to our NYCC coverage, we absolutely could not wait to pass along the news about three upcoming graphic novel projects coming from some of the biggest authors of the year. 

The Millennium Trilogy is going graphic! Stieg Larsson’s runaway bestselling series — which started with The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo — will be adapted by DC Entertainment’s Vertigo. In traditional format, these books have sold over 60 million copies worldwide and spawned two film adaptations so we were particularly interested to hear that the series will now be adapted into graphic novels. Although Vertigo has not yet announced an artist or adaptation team that has been signed to work on the series, we expect those details to come down the line shortly.


Read More>>

Tags: Comics/Graphic Novels/Manga, RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Shelves Tuesday 10/18/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance

THE VIPER

"A skillful blending of historically accurate events and finely wrought, believable characters gives the story tremendous emotional impact."

A MOST DANGEROUS PROFESSION

"Complex characters and plot, a parallel storyline, a quest, two star-crossed lovers and fast pacing make this a most delightful read."


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Pip Ballantine And Tee Morris Talk Their Steampunk Series And Beyond!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Authors Pip Ballantine and Tee Morris kicked off their steampunk series, Ministry of Peculiar Occurrences, with May's Phoenix Rising. We got the scoop on why they write Steampunk, how to get your hands on their "99-penny dreadfuls" and what fans can expect next with a sneak peek at their next Ministry book!

Pip Ballantine and Tee Morris On Working Together >>

Watch The Phoenix Rising Book Trailer >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Making Of A Romance Cover With Elizabeth Hoyt

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

We're always excited to get a behind-the-scenes look at what goes into the creation of our favorite books. (It's no secret that some of us are guilty of judging a book by its cover.) So today, we're bringing you footage from the photo shoot for Scandalous Desires, the newest historical romance novel by author Elizabeth Hoyt.

After seeing this video, we went straight to Elizabeth Hoyt to get her take on the process behind designing the cover for her latest Maiden Lane novel — and what she has planned for the covers of future books!

***

What is your favorite part about the cover of Scandalous Desires?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Spoiled: Sabrina Benulis' Debut Novel, Archon

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 18, 2011 | PERMALINK

Sabrina Benulis' debut novel, Archon, doesn't release until January, but once we heard about this paranormal series starter we knew we had to find out more. So RT's Morgan caught up with Benulis at Comic Con in order to get some inside information about Archon which is set in a Vatican secret enclave and involves a secret prophecy that a "blood head" (aka red head) will possess the spirit of a dead angel to wreck havoc on earth. 

Morgan Doremus: Since Archon is your debut novel, I am very interested in how you got started writing.

Sabrina Benulis: In college I wrote for myself. I was a psych major and was disenchanted so switched to English. I took a creative writing course and turned in a short story. When I got it back, it had a message from the professor “See me after class”. I was worried I had done something wrong, but it turns out that they thought it was really good. That was the first time I ever considered writing professionally. When I was getting ready to choose a grad school, I realized all I wanted to do was write, so I went to Seton Hill and their program for genre fiction. Archon was actually my thesis. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST