RT Daily Blog

October's Harlequin Medical Romances Are Heating Up The Operating Room

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Lust turns into something more serious for the medical professionals in this month's Harlequin Medical Romances. Readers won't need medical training to diagnose these four cases of love in the operating room!

Tempted by Dr. Daisy
By Caroline Anderson

Dr. Ben is new in town and is trying to focus on building a better relationship with his daughter. But he can't stop himself from falling in love with the delicious Dr. Daisy. However, Daisy's been burned by love before — can Ben convince her that together they can have a happily ever after?

Read the *Web Exclusive Review* >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

AUTO-BUY AUTHOR

Thriller - Get ready for the return of bestselling author Tom Clancy’s renowned character John Clark with Locked On. Clark’s upcoming journey spans three continents as he looks for the man who framed him while simultaneously dodging the authorities and a mysterious organization intent on taking him down. This novel will hit shelves December 13 of this year.

A CLASS APART: YA ANTHOLOGIES


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap Up 9/30/2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week looking for a Model Marine?

Here’s what you missed on the RT Website.

***

PARANORMAL: We're loving the celtic creature in Erin Quinn's Haunting Embrace. Which One Is It? >>

SCIENCE FICTION: Tropes we love from across these genres. Updated Versions Of Classic Tales >>

YOUNG ADULT: Go inside Trinity Faegen's The Mephisto Covenant! Read Her Author Message >>

INSPIRATIONAL: Jenny B. Jones answers our questions about her latest YA. Read the Q&A >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Talking Titles: Harlequin's New Trend

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

The Multi-Millionaire’s Virgin Mistress, The Infamous Italian’s Secret Baby, The Virgin Secretary’s Impossible Boss, The Secret Mistress Arrangement, other than a whole lot of secrets, mistresses and virgins, what do all of these book titles have in common? You won’t be seeing any upcoming Harlequin series romances with this type of of title. Recently the behemoth romance publisher has moved away from the racier, giggle-inducing types of names they’ve used for years, in order to showcase these books in a different light. To find out more about this shift in titles, I contacted several series romance authors and asked them the process they went through in order to name their recent books. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Banned Books Week: Mary Burton's Thoughts On How To Get Involved

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

Today marks the final day of Banned Books Week, when booklovers celebrate intellectual freedom, the ability to read whatever their hearts desires and the protections granted by the First Amendment. But what does Banned Book Week actually mean and how can authors keep the spirit of the week's cultural impact going all year round? We asked author Mary Burton to share some insight and suggestions of ways authors can get involved.

 The American Library Association’s Banned Book Week runs from September 24, 2011 - September 29, 2011. This awareness campaign, held annually since 1982, celebrates our freedom to read. I encourage all of you to get involved and take a bit of your time to bring awareness to this important event and topic. So what can you do?


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Mari Carr

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 30, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Mari Carr's new erotic romance novel Slam Dunk is now available, the sixth book in the Black and White collection and a sequel to Happy Hour. Today you can get a look behind the scenes of the author's recent novels and upcoming projects in this video interview with RT's Morgan Doremus. And then find out who helps critique this author's work, how she fits time to write around her day job and what she advice she has for aspiring authors!

Behind The Scenes With Mari Carr >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Erotica
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of our favorite features of the e-revolution is the sheer amount of books you can pack into such a tiny digital device. But what do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In our new column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee.

Historical Romance

Texas Hold Him by Lisa Cooke

Get It For Free >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Talk of the Town by Sherrill Bodine

Buy For $1.99 >>

 

Young Adult

Haunting the Night by Mara Purnhagen

Get It For Free >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Try This Trope: My Favorite Re-Worked Clichés in Sci Fi, Fantasy and Horror

BY Elisa Verna, SEPTEMBER 29, 2011 | PERMALINK

I’m on the fence when it comes to messing with some of my favorite plotlines, characters and settings in the science fiction, fantasy and horror genres. In some instances, I’m a die-hard traditionalist. (Fast-moving zombies? No thanks, I’ll take Night of the Living Dead zombies over 28 Days Later zombies any day.) Still, it’s always refreshing to come across a work of fiction that provides an original spin on standard storyline.

Earlier this month, fantasy author Jeff VanderMeer challenged his readers to come up with a list of the most commonly used clichés in sci fi, fantasy, and horror fiction, and it got me to thinking. I always appreciate a classic young hero embarking on an epic adventure, the underdog rising to defeat the villain and a good old-fashioned ghost story, but what are the contemporary works I'd suggest for people looking to read (or watch) this story in a new light? To that end, I’ve selected one of my favorite tropes for each genre from the pool of comments on VanderMeer’s blog post and have listed my favorite classic and modern re-tellings of each cliché ...

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan and Whitney Dish: Unclaimed By Courtney Milan

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, SEPTEMBER 28, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week we are Dishing about Courtney Milan’s latest historical romance, Unclaimed. A twist on the playboy hero and innocent heroine, Milan’s Sir Mark Turner is known for his chastity, while Jessica Farleigh is an experienced courtesan. Interested in this role reversal, we decided to dig deep and see if Jessica’s reputation could be redeemed or if she instead would jeopardize Mark’s standing in society.

Morgan: I’ve definitely never gone looking for a book with a courtesan heroine before, but I am so glad that we picked up Courtney Milan’s newest. It is very different from other historical tales because of the great characters. 

Whitney: This is actually the second book that I have read this month with a “worldly” heroine, the other being Suzanne Enoch’s upcoming A Beginner’s Guide to Rakes. I really appreciate how Milan and Enoch’s heroines have a bit more edge to them, then say, a debutante fresh out of the schoolroom. These ladies know what they want and are going to do whatever it takes to reach their goals. 

Morgan: Well, in Unclaimed, Jessica certainly isn’t going to let anything stand in the way of getting out of “the biz”.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST