RT Daily Blog

Get Hands-On Help With Your Writing Skills At The 2011 RT Booklovers Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Hey aspiring writers, what are you doing this weekend? Polishing up your query letter, first pages and synopsis to submit to a hand-ons workshop at the RT convention? That's right, this year at the RT Booklovers Convention in L.A., April 6 - 10, aspiring authors attending the convention have the chance to get their work critiqued by industry professionals. Submit your work and the agents just might pick your piece to discuss at their workshop. Scary? You bet! But totally worth it for invaluable feedback. If you will be attending the convention, this is an opportunity not to be missed!

Wonder what's wrong with your query letter, which just isn't getting any bites? Why not submit your draft to literary agents Jessica Faust and Kim Lionetti of BookEnds, LLC, and their Query Power workshop? Just put "RT Convention—Query Power Submission" in the subject line and send your query letter to: Jessica Faust

Stymied by the weight of the dreaded synopsis? Let agent Jim McCarthy of Dystel & Goderich Literary Management take a peek and give you some pointers! Send your 3-5 page synopsis to Jim, who will select a few to be discussed/critiqued during the session. Please put "RT Convention—Sensational Synopsis Submission" in the subject line and send your 3-5 page synopsis to: Jim McCarthy.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Author Interview: Jeffrey Small Answers Our Questions About His Debut Novel The Breath Of God

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 11, 2011 | PERMALINK

Jeffrey Small’s March suspense, The Breath of God, received an RT Top Pick! This debut book is plotted around a real historical document from 1887 that continues to be controversial. So we knew we would have to go straight to the author to answers about this intriguing new tale!

***

Writing about missing texts following Jesus' life opens you up to criticism from Biblical and religious readers. Were you at all intimidated by this?

I suspected that two of the novel's themes would be controversial: exploring the mystery behind what Jesus was doing in the twenty years of his life that the Bible doesn't address that made him into the man he became and the importance of inter-religious dialogue so that we can understand the influences among and the common themes between the world's religions. Throughout history, religion has been one of the major causes of war, persecution, and exclusion. We see these problems ongoing today with Islamic terrorism and with what I call "Country Club Christianity"—the attitude that "I'm saved, but you're not" that leads to persecution of gays, discrimination against those of other religions, and the relegation of women to subservient roles. By having more dialogue among religions, we cannot only lessen these tensions by exploring the commonalities rather than the differences among the great faiths of the world, but we can also enlighten our own faiths by opening our minds to ideas we may not have considered. Rather than being intimidated by a reaction to these themes, I felt a calling to bring them out into the open.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Extended Excerpt: Sherrilyn Kenyon's Born Of Shadows

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

Bestselling author Sherrilyn Kenyon gives us a peek between the covers of her newest League novel, the futuristic paranormal romance, Born of Shadows. Check out the first two pages of the story below and don’t miss the special treat at the end of this post!

***

Twenty-two Years Later

“Thank the gods you’re here. I’ve been running arou—”

Without flinching or breaking his stride as he walked down a filthy, dark alley, Caillen jerked his blaster out and fired straight into his sister’s shoulder, cutting her words off before she wasted his time.

Not to kill her or hurt her. Just to shut her up before she made things worse for both of them.

Right now, he didn’t have time to listen to her bullshit. He was here to save her life.

And hopefully his too.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lucienne Diver On How To Find A Literary Agent - And Why You Need One

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

Have you ever wanted to know what it is that literary agents actually do? Today Lucienne Diver chats with RT Web Editor Morgan Doremus about the role that agents play in the publishing industry. Diver is currently with the Knight Agency and has almost eighteen years of experience as a literary agent. In this video interview Diver shares her tips on how to find an agent, how to choose an agent — two very different things — and what agents are looking for in their clients.

Lucienne Diver On What Agents Do >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Maggie Shayne's Children Of Twilight Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 10, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Maggie Shayne's characters from her upcoming Children of Twilight series. 

***

James and Brigit Poe are two characters unlike any others I’ve written. They are known among the enemies of the Undead as the “mongrel twins,” part human, part vampire. Even they don’t know the full extent of their powers. They seem to be immortal. They share vampiric traits such as the ability to communicate mentally, superhuman strength, bursts of impossible speed, and a craving for mortal blood. But they also share human traits, like the ability to walk in sunlight, and eat normal food. And they have other skills that neither humans nor vampires possess.

Only one of them was born alive. Little Brigit emerged from her mother’s womb blue and lifeless. Until in moment of raw power, her newborn brother instinctively gripped her little fingers in his own. And as he held on, his sister’s skin turned pink. She began to breathe.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
10COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Morgan & Whitney Dish: Antiques Knock-Off By Barbara Allan

BY MORGAN, MARCH 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

This week Whitney and I Dish about Barbara Allan’s new mystery, Antiques Knock-Off. This title is the latest in Allan's popular Trash'n'Treasures series but the first that Whitney or I ever picked up. Both being big fans of such comedy classics as Bringing Up Baby, we were intrigued by RT reviewer Pat Cooper's 4 1/2 star review that called this tale "laugh out loud" and "a screwball comedy cozy". 

Now for the Dish:

Morgan: First off, I feel like I have to mention how much is happening in this mystery. Brandy is an amateur sleuth who is seven months pregnant (as a surrogate for her best friend), off her Prozac prescription and dealing with her unruly mother (who Brandy's just learned is actually her grandmother). She is also dating a cop and trying to keep her antique shop running. 

Whitney: Don’t forget that Brandy also attempts, with little success, to keep her parentage - which would be a political scandal - under wraps, a secret that will soon be public knowledge if nasty neighbor Connie has anything to do with it. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Sneak Peek: Anna Campbell's Midnight's Wild Passion

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

RT brings you an exclusive first look at Anna Campbell's upcoming novel, Midnight's Wild Passion. For this book Campbell puts her own spin on the Cinderella story. No we go beyond the back cover blurb for this special look at this new historical romance which will hit bookstores in April.

***

Rakes, Duels, Balls, House Parties, Elopements - Oh, My! 

My latest historical romance, Midnight’s Wild Passion, goes on sale April 26th. It’s my sixth book for Avon and it’s the closest I’ve come to writing a classic Regency romance like the wonderful Georgette Heyers I grew up reading. As you’ve probably gathered from the heading, classic elements abound in this story! 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
35COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

We Want To Know: What Do You Think About Avon Impulse?

BY Whitney Sullivan, MARCH 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Avon Books, the romance imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, has just announced their new digital imprint Avon Impulse. As a historical romance junkie, I adore the novels and novellas that come out of Avon, which are always well written and carefully edited novels and novellas.

I was thrilled to learn that Avon Impulse will be delivering more Avon titles each month, in e-book (and print-to-order) format. These new stories will be penned by authors that Avon readers are already familiar with as well as works by voices that are new to the scene. (Aspiring romance writers, I would definitely check this place out!) In an official press release, Carrie Feron, the Morrow/Avon Vice President and Editorial Director said that the Avon team is looking forward to being able to deliver books to readers more quickly and "explore new themes in romance" with Avon Impulse.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writes And Wrongs: Shiloh Walker On Doing The Blog Thing

BY Shiloh Walker, MARCH 09, 2011 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker pens this bi-weekly column of online advice for writers. Walker is a full-time author who is published in both e-book and traditional print formats. Now she shares her experience and advice to help aspiring and published authors figure out the "Writes and Wrongs" of the digital world.

Ever wondered if blogging is the thing for you? Trying to decide? Before you go yes or no, here is one rather important question… Can you commit to doing it on a regular basis?

Why is this important?

Blogging has become a ‘community’ of sorts. Now if you’re a big name and you only blog on occasion, it’s not an issue…you’ll catch interest and that’s one of the main reasons we blog, right?

But if you’re not already a name and you only plan to post a blog every three or four weeks, or when you have a new book out, and the only thing you really plan on discussing is promotional-related stuff ... well, it may not be the thing for you. Blogging works best, like most social media tools, when you invest some time into it and interact. It’s not investing time and it’s not interacting if you’re only using it to post when your book is out.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lisa Gardner Answers Our Questions About Love You More

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, MARCH 08, 2011 | PERMALINK

Out now is Lisa Gardner’s newest tale of suspense and danger Love You More. In this RT Top Pick! Gold, RT Senior Reviewer Jill M. Smith says the tale is “unbelievably gripping and clever, you won’t want to put it down until the final page!” Now we chat with Gardner for a special look at D.D. Warren’s latest investigation - a race to hunt down a killer and locate a missing child - and the author shares what fans can expect from this tale that brings back the man that this policewoman was forced to walk away from.

***

Love You More, finds PD Sgt. Det. D.D. Warren desperately searching for a missing six-year-old, whose mother, the state trooper Tessa Leoni, may have killed the child’s father. Did the murder and abduction come to you together when you sat down to write the story, or did one crime help inspire the other?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST