RT Daily Blog

GiGi Gunn on Cheaters

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 28, 2010 | PERMALINK

"Never Been To Me is by turns gut wrenching and heart warming”, says RT Reviewer Kate Girard. This latest contemporary romance from author GiGi Gunn follows heroine Persi as she transitions from “the other woman” to someone’s only woman. It's unusual to write about cheaters as the heroes and heroines of a romance novel, so we went right to the author to learn why she took on this challenge and get the heroine's take on the five signs a man is wrong (or right) for you. And don’t miss the excerpt and *Web Exclusive Review* of Never Been To Me at the end of this post.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Announcing RT's October Seal of Excellence Winner: Meljean Brook's The Iron Duke!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 27, 2010 | PERMALINK

The RT Editors have chosen Meljean Brook's steampunk series starter, The Iron Duke, as the seventh Seal of Excellence recipient. The novel captured our editors' attention with its intricate plot and accessible steampunk version of London. 

But why was The Iron Duke awarded the RT Seal Of Excellence and which other titles were contenders for the month of October? 

Find Out >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Yvonne Navarro On Tri-Memory

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 27, 2010 | PERMALINK

Yvonne Navarro's newest release, Highborn, is an RT paranormal Top Pick! that stands out in large part due to her heroine’s unique experience. Brynna, also known as the fallen angel Astarte, has seen everything the universe has to offer, literally. She lived in heaven and hell and has now come to Earth. Now Navarro explores her heroine's "tri-memory" of her three homes. And be sure to catch the excerpt of Brynna’s first experiences on Earth at the end of this post. 

Brynna closes her eyes and remembers:


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Q&A With Richard Paul Evans

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 27, 2010 | PERMALINK

Richard Paul Evans is well known for his engaging holiday tales. In his newest release, Promise Me, the author confronts timeless challenges that every family would hate to face, no matter the season. In this revealing interview the author shares a behind-the-scenes look at Promise Me.

 

Your novels frequently include the magic of the winter holidays. What is your favorite part of the season?
I love everything about the season, but, most of all, the generosity of spirit. As Dickens wrote, “It’s the one time of the year that we view each other as we truly are: fellow passengers to the grave…” or something like that. 

That and Egg nog. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Video Interview: Stephanie Laurens

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 26, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Stephanie Laurens wraps up her Black Cobra quartet with The Reckless Bride, the RT Top Pick! that hits bookstores today. Now the author shares insider details with RT's Web Editor Morgan Doremus in this video interview. Laurens discusses how the four concurrent stories take readers all around the world and the special challenges that the fourth hero, Rafe, faces in this exciting conclusion.

Stephanie Laurens On The Black Cobra Quartet conclusion, The Reckless Bride >>

Stephanie Laurens Talks Regency Romance and the Cynster Series >>

Stephanie Laurens Discusses Her "Unforgettable" Heroes >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Wes Anderson Short Story Rediscovered!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 26, 2010 | PERMALINK

Acclaimed director Wes Anderson is best known for his films The Royal Tenenbaums, Rushmore, and the recent hit, Fantastic Mr. Fox. But, what some fans may not know is that Anderson is also a fiction author.

Anderson's written works are much harder to get ahold of than his films. However, this week Analecta, the literary journal of the University of Texas at Austin, posted an original work from acclaimed director on their blog.

Now readers can enjoy Anderson's 1989 short story "The Ballad of Reading Milton".

Fans will definitely recognize the classic Anderson style in this early work. The protagonist in the story, Max, resembles many characters his fans have seen before — a tortoise-shell glasses wearing protagonist who obsessively compares himself with others and always comes up short. As in his other writing, Anderson's story is witty and terse, by turns cerebral and absurd. Only a writer with Anderson's talents can evoke Nietzsche, Plato, Marlon Brando and Jack in the Box all in the same page.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 10/26/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 26, 2010 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.

Historical Romance


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Lorraine Heath Asks "Can Love Conquer All?"

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 26, 2010 | PERMALINK

Lorraine Heath questions the true strength of love after her heroine betrays her marriage vows in this month's Passions of a Wicked Earl.

Can love conquer everything?

In real life, I don’t know that it can. Cheating spouses, spouses who refuse to get help with addictions, spouses with secret second lives, friends who put us down behind our backs, anyone who betrays our trust … can their actions be forgiven? Not easily. Sometimes, not ever.

Fortunately, I don’t write real life. I write fiction. And in fiction, everyone is redeemable, everyone gets a second chance. In fiction, sometimes even the most heinous acts can be forgiven, understood, possibly even cheered for. (Huge Dexter fan here—but let’s face it: The guy is a serial killer. Yet, I cheer for him; I empathize for him. In real, I’d be horrified by what he does.)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Carla Neggers Doesn't Let The Cold Get Her Down - With Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 25, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Carla Neggers talks about the chilling suspense and frigid weather in the “Cold” stories of her Black Falls series. And don’t miss the GIVEAWAY at the end of the post.

Ah, winter in northern New England. The cold, the snow, the quiet, cozy evenings by the fire. We have a fire crackling in the woodstove right now at our Vermont hilltop home! I love the openness of the winter landscape and the stunning beauty of the snow-covered mountains. It's a beautiful time of year…but with nor'easters, frostbite, hypothermia, icy falls and icy roads, it can also be dangerous. The perfect backdrop for my stories. 

In my Black Falls novels, set in a fictional Vermont town, the humans create the drama, but the weather ratchets up the stakes. In Cold Dawn, the latest book in the series, Rose Cameron and her search dog, Ranger, get to warm up by the big stone fireplace at her family's lodge, but the dangers of winter are never far away. The murderous serial arsonist that she and Nick Martini are after would be frightening anytime of year, but the ever-present perils of the Vermont winter add to the tension. 


Read More>>

Tags: Romantic Suspense, RT Daily Blog
9COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Buy Books And Support The Adult Literacy League!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, OCTOBER 25, 2010 | PERMALINK

Author Catherine Kean on how you can support literacy for adults — become a part of Florida's 4th annual Romancing the Holidays Charity Book Signing!

Do you like reading romance novels? Do you love getting free books and limited-edition goodies from authors? If so, don’t miss the Romancing the Holidays Charity Book Signing to be held Saturday, November 6, from 2-5 p.m. in the center fountain court of Altamonte Mall, 451 E. Altamonte Drive, in Altamonte Springs, Florida. More than twenty of Florida’s best known romance novelists, including New York Times best-selling authors Roxanne St. Claire and C.L. Wilson, will be signing their books during the event that draws steady crowds each year. Barnes & Noble’s Altamonte Mall store, which is supplying the books, will donate 20% of proceeds to the non-profit Adult Literacy League.

Authors Maria Geraci, Dara Edmundson (Romancing the Holidays co-chair) and Maria Geraci


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST