RT Daily Blog

A Timely Trip Off The Beaten Path With Harlequin's Newest Regencies

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 05, 2011 | PERMALINK

Just after New Year's, Harlequin has us thinking about trips off the beaten path with two newly released Regency romances. Readers can visit Northumberland in Michelle Styles' Impoverished Miss, Convenient Wife or head to Bershire, England for MIss Winbolt and the Fortune Hunter by Sylvia Andrew

Reviewer Dawn Crowne was particularly taken by two aspects of Styles' Regency romp. She says of the tale,"Heroine Phoebe is a wonderfully strong character and the Northumberland setting unique." And who doesn't love a story of redeeming love just as we start failing at our New Year's resolutions? 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Stephanie Rowe Talks Guilty Pleasures - With Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Author Stephanie Rowe talks guilty pleasures and gives readers a special look at the unusual weakness of Trinity Harpswell, the heroine of this month’s paranormal release Kiss at Your Own Risk. And don’t miss your chance to win the novel at the end of the post!

HE NEEDED A KILLER WOMAN.
Blaine Underhill was one lucky man. Having recently escaped a century and a half of imprisonment at the hands of an evil witch, he's determined to save his still-enslaved friend. But in order to do so, he'll need the help of one of the world's most lethal women.

SHE WAS DROP DEAD GORGEOUS, LITERALLY.
Trinity Harpswell is sick and tired of being a Black Widow. Having managed to go three years without accidentally killing anyone she loves, she's one short week away from freeing herself from this killer curse forever. When Blaine tracks her down and convinces her to help him, little does Trinity know that the next seven days are going to be murder! 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
29COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 1/4/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

E-Reader Refresher

BY Dear Jane, JANUARY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Welcome to Dear Jane, a weekly column based upon reader mailbag questions on anything relating to e-books. No question is too simple or too mundane. We are all learning together. Send your questions Jane@DearAuthor.com with "Dear Jane" in the subject matter.

***

I spent the last week fielding questions from my family members about how to use their new devices. I thought that there might be several people out there who previously were uninterested in ereading posts that might need a refresher course. The instructions below are for Mac users, however, Kindles and nooks are also PC-compatible.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Ruth Pennebaker on Mothers, Daughters and the Things We Don't Know About Those We Love the Most

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Mainstream author Ruth Pennebaker on the extremely challenging but, often extremely rewarding, relationships that fuel her latest tale. 

My new novel, Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakthrough, centers on what I think is the richest, most complicated relationship around – the mother-daughter relationship.

I wrote the novel for all kinds of reasons – the way any author writes a book, I guess. But one of the most compelling reasons is that I had a very troubled relationship with my own mother, who died 13 years ago, but I’m hopeful my relationship with my grown daughter will be far better. Anyway, I’m familiar with mother-daughter conflict and mother-daughter love.


Read More>>

Tags: Mainstream
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Three Tasty Mysteries - With Recipes!

BY Whitney Sullivan, JANUARY 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

One of my very favorite trends in the mystery genre is the tales of deception and death that involve cooking and baking escapades. I love figuring out the identity of a murder, thief or other evil-doer, and then introducing a new recipe into my kitchen repertoire from the story I just devoured. So we went to Sheila Connolly, Jenn McKinlay and Julie Hyzy, who are each continuing their sleuths' adventures this month. The three authors share the food aspect in these yummy mysteries — and a recipe from their tasty series!

 

A Killer Crop
by Sheila Connolly


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before The Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

With our new column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

AUTO-BUY AUTHORS

Romance - Kat Martin fans rejoice, the bestselling author’s very first novel, Magnificent Passage, will be republished in July 2011 from Vanguard Press. Originally published in 1988, readers can expect the usual ‘80s tropes including a reluctant and sexually inexperienced heroine and a hero torn between his Indian heritage and white society. 

Romance - Sandra Brown is returning to Grand Central Publishing to write three novels for publication beginning in 2011. The author wrote over a dozen books for this publisher prior to 2002 that included the romantic suspense tales Charade, Envy and The Crush.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Scrapbooking With Series Author Carolyne Aarsen - Plus Giveaway!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, JANUARY 03, 2011 | PERMALINK

Inspirational series romance author Carolyne Aarsen shares how her love of scrapbooking helped her craft her latest multi-dimensional heroine, Beth. Learn how Beth uses crafting in this month's The Baby Promise and enter to win your own copy of this new Steeple Hill romance!

Every time I work on a book one of the struggles I have is rounding out my characters, especially my heroine. Who is she? What does she want? Why does she want it? With my book coming out in January I had a heroine who didn’t trust words. She needed to find another way to express herself.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
8COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Website Year In Review

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

We had an awesome 2010 on the RT BOOK REVIEWS website. We spent months developing the new site to revolutionize the ways that RT is helping you Read Smarter! After our re-launch in April we began to deliver more specialized genre content, author messages and exclusive excerpts, genre news and interviews than ever before. Here's a look back at the site's "Mosts" for this year!

Most popular genre page:
Everything Romance which includes Historical, Contemporary, Series and Romantic Suspense. The second most popular genre page: Everything Erotica.

Most RT website visitors hail from:
United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Australia, India and Germany.

Most sought after book news:
Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy series will be made into a movie. 

Most exciting spoiler: 
Myron Bolitar from Harlan Coben’s popular series is engaged!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jude Deveraux On The Scent of Jasmine and Her Upcoming Projects!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, DECEMBER 30, 2010 | PERMALINK

Jude Deveraux is beloved for her sweeping tales of love and romance. From the early days of the romance genre Deveraux has invited readers to fall in love with people and places all around the world and through out time. Now this bestselling author chats with RT’s Morgan Doremus about what fans can expect from her latest historical novel, The Scent of Jasmine, and gives us a sneak peek at what’s coming next!

Morgan Doremus: After reading dozens of your books, I have tried to find a common theme that links your stories. I think for me, a defining characteristic would be your intricate plots that keep your hero and heroine apart. When you sit down to write a novel, how difficult is it to create this sense of drama?  


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST