RT Daily Blog

Author Cynthia Eden Looks Into A Killer's Mind - With Giveaway!

BY , FEBRUARY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Go behind the scenes of author Cynthia Eden writing process and learn how she comes up with her chilling romantic suspenses. Her latest tale, this month's Deadly Heat got an RT Top Pick! and at the end of this message you can check out an excerpt and enter to win a copy of this novel that RT Reviewer Annette Elton calls "seriously hot!"

When people ask me what I do for a living, I usually smile and say, “I write about monsters.” It’s true. I do. I spend my days deep in the minds of monsters—whether they are supernatural monsters in my paranormal books or human killers in my romantic suspense tales. My life is all about monsters.

When I first started writing my Deadly romantic suspense series for Grand Central, I knew that I’d have to go deep into the minds of killers. After all, my Deadly series focuses on killers. The agents in my fictional Serial Services Division spend their days and nights tracking and apprehending serials—killers, rapists, kidnappers. Not some fun, Hallmark Card-type job. Scary. Intense.

Fun to write (not so much fun to actually live).


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Romance
13COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Meet Nico Rosso A Rising Star In Science Fiction Romance

BY , FEBRUARY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

We love to discover new authors, and were thrilled when RT Reviewer Dawn Crowne reported that she'd found a winner in the debut author Nico Rosso. Dawn praised Rosso's action packed novella and promises that sci-fi and romance fans will not want to miss "Taken To The Limit." Want to learn more about Nico Rosso and his writing? Look no further than this author interview with RT's Morgan Doremus.

Morgan Doremus: You have said that the great thing about sci-fi romance is the possibilities. “We can be the rescuer and the rescued, the fighter and the philosopher.” Do you consider yourself any of these things? All of them? 

Nico Rosso: I do think that there are all of these elements in me. Writing each of these archetypes makes me search them out inside, then use what I know to try to make them real on the page.

MD: Can you tell us a bit about your new novella "Taken To The Limit". What was the evolution of the story's plot?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Enter To Win Amazon's Breakthrough Novel Award And A Publishing Contract From Penguin!

BY , FEBRUARY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Submit your entry into Amazon's fourth annual Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Competition!

Amazon has partnered with Penguin Group and CreateSpace to host this year's competition for the chance to be the author of "the world's next most popular novel". The competition is now open. Any author with an unpublished or previously self-published work is eligible to submit their manuscript.

Two grand prize winners will be named at the end of the competition, one for their submission in the best general fiction category and the other for the young adult category. The winners will recieve a publishing contract with Penguin and an advance of $15,000. Additionally, everyone who enters the competition will receive an e-coupon from CreateSpace for a free proof copy of their manuscript.

The competition is open from now until midnight on February 6th, 2011.

For more complete details click here >>


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Generate a Sales-producing Buzz Using Social Networking Sites

BY , FEBRUARY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

Authors, learn how to use today's arsenal of social networking sites to your advantage. Marketing agent Jennifer Slattery, who works at the popular literary website Clash of the Titles, shares her tips on how to get recognized online by making the most of things that you’re already doing!

Today’s market is in upheaval. As the market changes, so does the writer’s role in it. Long gone are the days of high-paid publicists devoted to you and your book. Successful authors must generate their own sales, and social networking sites make it easier than ever.

Facebook is by far the best marketing tool available. According to recent statistics, Facebook has over 500 million active users who spend over 700 billion minutes per month on the site. Authors should begin building their friends list well before their first contract, actively increasing it each day. The first step is to create a personal username. This generates a convenient URL that can be used to link to your Facebook page. For example, mine is http://facebook.com/JenSlatte. When creating your email signature, include an invitation to connect on Facebook, then use your personal Facebook URL to link your invitation to your Facebook page. Do the same in the “About Me” page of your blog or website.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The Many Mysteries Of February

BY , FEBRUARY 04, 2011 | PERMALINK

February is full of chills — at least in our neck of the woods — so we're bringing you five new mysteries that will encourage you to cuddle up with a warm blanket and lose yourself in the drama of other people's lives. 

 

Seeking a Cozy With a Serious Message? Check out G.A. McKevett (aka contemporary romance author Sonja Massie)'s new novel A Decadent Way to Die. This mystery has Savannah Reid racing to discover who is trying to kill off the wealthy elderly owner of a doll company. Greedy family members abound however, RT Reviewer Page Traynor also noted that the story had a more serious note, in includes a "moving, well done subplot of abuse against women." 

Read the Review >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Download the February RT BOOK REVIEWS Ratings PDF!

BY , FEBRUARY 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

The complete list of the RT book ratings for the month of February is now available on our site.

That's right, now you have access to the ratings for two hundred and fifty six new books that we reviewed in February. Discover which authors impressed us with their latest tales, and whose new novels left us less than satisfied!

You can download these ratings, print them out or upload the pdf to your smart phone so that they are handy when you head to the bookstore. 

Just check out the sidebar on RT's home page to download the February list or click here >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Very Special Silent Auction In Support Of The Australian Flood Relief Fund

BY , FEBRUARY 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

When disaster strikes, the romance reader community always rises to the occasion. The most recent offer to help those in need has been taken up by the Australian Romance Readers Association. The ARRA is hosting a very special silent auction to help raise money for the relief fund for those affected by the massive flooding in Queensland, Australia.

In the beginning of January, floodwaters ripped through 75% of Queensland destroying an area twice the size of the state of Texas. The rushing waters killed several and affected thousands more, leaving people without homes or possessions. 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

A Very Scottish Setting

BY , FEBRUARY 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

Inspirational author Michael Phillips shares a behind the scenes look at the setting of his novel, Angel Harp. Discover how a friend's spooky experience inspired the Scottish Castle that plays a role in the author's newest tale!


Read More>>

Tags: Inspirational
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The New Fallen Angels

BY , FEBRUARY 01, 2011 | PERMALINK

This month bestselling author Anne Stuart takes on a new pseudonym to conquer the paranormal romance genre. Stuart, writing as Kristina Douglas, has created a series full of fallen angels, dead girls and an evil that just won't quit. Go behind the scenes of Raziel in this exclusive interview with the author.

RT BOOK REVIEWS: What do you find most intriguing about fallen angels?

Kristina Douglas: I love the paradox of perfect beauty and the cruelties of life. Of golden creatures brought low by human needs and struggling to make peace with their sacred and profane desires.

RT: How many times did you need to read the Bible in order to work out the events in your story?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Interview: Peter V. Brett

BY , JANUARY 31, 2011 | PERMALINK

Fantasy author Peter V. Brett's new novella, "Brayan's Gold", has just been released. In this in-depth author interview Brett reveals the backstory to his Demon Cycle series with RT Web Editor Morgan Doremus. Discover how the series was affected by the 9/11 terror attacks, what drives the series and get a special look at several of the main characters in the series!

Peter V. Brett introduces his Demon Cycle Series

Peter V. Brett talks about the "human" side of his stories  >>

Peter V. Brett on the artwork for his "Brayan's Gold" novella >>

More From The RT BOOK REVIEWS Video Channel >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST