RT Daily Blog

Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books

BY , OCTOBER 22, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books banner

Our Need for Consolation is Insatiable by Stig Dagerman

Almost a suicide letter, where when confronted with the absence of any consolation our only freedom is suicide. The happy ending is obviously a bluff.

Plot: Everyone wants to be comforted, but there is no consolation.
Rating: ●●●●○

Thérèse Philosophe by Anonymous

To mix a religious treatise with an erotic novella may be strange, but when you listen to Therese it sounds quite obvious.

Plot: A girl loves God and sex.
Rating: ●●●●○

The Marriage of Heaven and Hell by William Blake

If everything is sacred, there is a hidden wisdom even in Hell. Blake goes down there and give it to us.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Unbosoming: Jay Crownover

BY Elissa Petruzzi, OCTOBER 21, 2014 | PERMALINK

We love authors, it's true. And sometimes we want to know more than just what their next book is about. So we asked, and they answered. Our very first victim, er, volunteer is New Adult and contemporary romance superstar Jay Crownover, whose Top Pick! Rowdy is out this week.

What was the first book you read that meant something to you?

The Catcher in the Rye. I thought I was Holden, then I wanted to date Holden when I got older, I still wanna date Holden now that I'm grown — which is creepy.

What book do you wish you could live in?

The Outsiders. I just love the angst and the greaser vibe and I want to squeeze Ponyboy.

What book are you an evangelist for?

Lately for the Innocents books by Sarah and Mary Elizabeth. So different and beautiful and it hurts. I loved Wicked By Jennifer L. Armentrout too — NA paranormal all the way.

Which trope most mirrors your life?

Super driven girl meets a party boy and has to learn to live a little. Even when I was younger I forgot to have a life — I’m hyper focused and it takes something special to get me to stop.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Romance Is Awesome: Author Jennifer McQuiston Is Fighting Ebola With The CDC In Sierra Leone

BY Elisa Verna, OCTOBER 21, 2014 | PERMALINK

Romancelandia is filled with so many awesome women who not only write wonderful love stories, but also somehow manage other impressive feats like practicing law, raising tiny humans and fighting infectious diseases. Historical romance author Jennifer McQuiston is a veterinarian and infectious disease researcher with the CDC, and is currently in Sierra Leone as part of the CDC ebola response team. She's sharing her adventures on her Facebook page and it's fascinating to follow. I first learned of McQuiston's day job after reading her article in the April 2014 issue of RT about infectious diseases in romance (Because a highly contageous illness is the first thing people expect when they pick up a romance, right?). Copied below is the article (as well as a downloadable PDF version), "Fever All Through the Night: The Reality of Love in the Time of Cholera".  And if you'd like to help Sierra Leone, Jennifer suggests donating to Focus 1000.

A photo of the Jennifer McQuiston article


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Darynda Jones on Pregnancy and Plotting

BY Elissa Petruzzi, OCTOBER 21, 2014 | PERMALINK

There's something about a long-running paranormal series with a cheeky proganist that we just can't resist. So of course we're excited that this week, Darynda Jones is releasing her latest installment in her Charley Davidson series: Seventh Grave and No Body. We, of course, had questions. 

Charley's pregnant but still dealing with hellhounds and other otherworldly concerns. How did you approach writing her "delicate condition"?

Fortunately, even in her delicate condition, Charley is still Charley, and she approaches her pregtastic state as she does all of her states: in a very roundabout way. She’s decided that she’s going to start small and work her way up to motherhood by getting a goldfish and seeing if she can keep it alive. It could work.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On the Shelves: 10/21/2014

BY DJ DeSmyter, OCTOBER 21, 2014 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Page to Screen: Upcoming Film and TV Adaptations

BY DJ DeSmyter, OCTOBER 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

Page to Screen logo of a film reelWe're so starstruck by this latest batch of exciting book-to-film deals, we have to share. Find out which of your favorite books are heading to a screen near you:

Holly Goldberg Sloan and Olympus Pictures Team Up  

YA novel Counting by Sevens by Holly Goldberg Sloan is making its way to Hollywood thanks to Olympus Pictures. The movie rights were sold to Paula Mazur and Mitchell Kaplan at The Mazur/Kaplan Company and Olympus Pictures’s Leslie Urdang and Dean Vanech. Quvenzhane Wallis, the breakout star from Beasts of the Southern Wild, is attached to star.

After Finds Home at Paramount

Anna Todd’s After has found a home with Paramount and the studio has enlisted Step Up’s Adam Shankman and Jennifer Gibgot to produce. After releases this month and is a revamped version of Todd’s popular Wattpad One Direction fanfiction.

Katniss Returns Home in new Mockingjay Preview


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: C.J. Kyle

BY Elisa Verna, OCTOBER 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

We know Monday is not the most exciting day of the week, but we're pretty excited about today because we're shining our Debut Author Spotlight on romantic suspense author C.J. Kyle. C.J.'s novel, Silent Night, earned a 4-star rating from our reviewer Bridget, who said, "Kyle's debut novel blends the charm of a small-town romance and a dark, unsettling murder mystery with significant success." Kyle tells us how she went from aspiring to published author:

Name: C.J. Kyle

Book: Silent Night

Current Home: Florida

Author Icon(s): Julie Garwood, Stephen King, JK Rowling, Heather Graham, Sharon Sala

Favorite Word: Compassion

Was this the first book you ever wrote?

Good gravy, no.

How did you start writing?

After reading enough good books that inspired me, it was time to start telling my own. With young kids underfoot, I filled their nap times with writing instead of cleaning the house and found my passion.

What was it like when you got “The Call”?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords — The Books Before the Buzz

BY DJ DeSmyter, OCTOBER 20, 2014 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of publishing's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

DEBUT AUTHOR

Historical Fiction - Switching between the present and 1940, Lindsay Hatton’s Aquarium tells the story of first loves and the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Classic author John Steinbeck makes an appearance as well as his friend and biologist, Ed Ricketts. We're intrigued!

NEW SERIES

Paranormal Romance - Rebecca Zanetti is set to return with a brand new series, a spin-off of her Dark Protectors Realm Enforcer books, launching with Wicked Ride. The series will star a male witch who must infiltrate a motorcycle club in Seattle to track down a dangerous enemy. Along the way, he runs into a sexy cop. Coming in 2015.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap-Up: 10/17/2014

BY DJ DeSmyter, OCTOBER 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week being Cody Walker's Woman?

Here's what you missed on the RT site!

***

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: Check out Laura Layne's sultry cover! Check It Out >>

HISTORICAL ROMANCE: Read an excerpt from My Darling Beast. Read It Here >>

MAINSTREAM: Get the scoop on the latest Mainstream releases. Happy Reading >>

EROTICA: Read a hot excerpt from Sara Fawkes's Anything He Wants/Castaway. Read It >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Giveaway: P.C. and Kristin Cast Redeemed Gift Bundle

BY Elisa Verna, OCTOBER 17, 2014 | PERMALINK

P.C. and Kristin Cast's hit House of Night series is, woefully, coming to an end with Redeemed, the twelfth and final installment, which released this week. As we bid adieu to Zoey Redbird, PC and Kristin are hosting an exciting giveaway that includes a bundle of goodies fit for a goddess — and copies of the book!

The cover of Redeemed

Two lucky winners will each win one gift bundle and one hardcover copy of Redeemed. The gift bundle includes:

-Sinful Colors nail polish trio (3-piece set)

-An aromatherapy oil sample from 21 Drops

-Jamberry nail wraps

-A Baby Blue Designs handmade choker

-A solid perfume sample from For Strange Women

This giveaway is open to U.S. readers only and will conclude next Friday. To enter, fill out the widget below! Good luck and happy reading!


Read More>>

Tags: Paranormal, Young Adult, RT Daily Blog, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
5COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST