RT Daily Blog

Weekly Web Wrap-Up: 8/29/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 29, 2014 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week indulging in a Sultry Pleasure?

Here's what you missed on the RT site!

***

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: See the sizzling cover for Katie Rose's next book! It's Hot >>

HISTORICAL FICTION: Enter to win a Madame Picasso prize pack! Enter Now >>

FANTASY: We shine the spotlight on debut author Sylvia Izzo Hunter! Say Hi >>

EROTICA: Read this week's hot Hump Day Excerpt! Turn Up the Heat >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 29, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling our favorite Tweets. 

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

August Seal of Excellence

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 28, 2014 | PERMALINK

Each month the RT editors select one book that is not only compelling, but pushes the boundaries of genre fiction. This book stands out from all the others reviewed that month, in the magazine issue and on the website. August 2014's RT Seal of Excellence — the editors' pick for best book of the month — is awarded to Molly O'Keefe's contemporary romance, Between the Sheets.

 

The cover of Between the Sheets


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

10 Ways You Know You're a Romance Reader

BY DJ DeSmyter, AUGUST 28, 2014 | PERMALINK

Being a romance reader is pretty awesome, making romance fans some of the coolest people around. But in case you're unsure of your reader status, here are ten ways you know you're a romance reader.

1. Nora Roberts, Jude Deveraux and Julie Garwood are household names.


Of course they are.
source

2. You have a soft spot for old school romance covers, especially if they feature Fabio.


Ah, Fabio.

source

3. You fill with rage when someone refers to modern romance novels as “bodice rippers”.



Ugh.
source


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot Ebook Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 28, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

The Perils of Pleasure

My Wicked Marquess by Gaelen Foley

4.5 stars Top Pick

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Sleigh Bells in the Snow

Sleigh Bells in the Snow by Sarah Morgan

4.5 stars

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

 

Young Adult

The Warrior Heir

The Warrior Heir by Cinda Williams Chima

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $0.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Reveal - Hot Ice by Lynn Raye Harris

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

We're back with another exclusive cover reveal and today we're revealing the sizzling cover for Lynn Raye Harris's Hot Ice, the seventh book in her Hostile Operations Team (we see what you did there, Lynn Raye Harris) series. Drum roll, please ...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Breakdown: The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

BY DJ DeSmyter, AUGUST 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

The moment I saw the cover for The Miniaturist, I knew it would be perfect for our Cover Breakdown series, and as soon as you see it, you'll know why. I'm not usually big on Historical Fiction, but Jessie Burton's novel sounds like a mesmerizing read that may satisfy my need for a book as enchanting as Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus. Let's get started!

On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office–leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin.

But Nella's life changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist–an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways ...


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 27, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books banner

Dead Souls by Nikolai Gogol

The most mediocre hero of literary history has a mediocre plan to stand out in a mediocre world. The novel is unfinished, but our hero would presumably have a mediocre ending.

Plot: A guy buys dead peasants. 

Rating: ●●●●●

The Story of Genjii by Murasaki Shikibu

In the Japanese courts of the eleventh century poems were sent instead of texts and people fell in love all the time, until they discover the vanity of existence (also called "mono no aware"). 

Plot: Genjii falls in love with everyone. 

Rating: ●●●●○

The Rime of the Ancient Mariner by Samuel Taylor Coleridge


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Madame Picasso's Gold Experience Giveaway

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

Picasso has certainly left an impression on the world thanks to his now famous paintings. Even author Anne Girard has taken to the artist for her debut novel, Madame Picasso, a stirring fictionalized biography that dives into Picasso's world, France, World War I and the Moulin Rouge through the eyes of his mistress, Eva Gouel. Because really, if you want to know the true story of a renowned historical figure, you ask the mistress. Today we're giving away a special prize pack to celebrate the book's release.

A photo of the prizes

Enter to win this gold experience prize package that includes one copy of Madame Picasso and DVDs of The Great Gatsby, Moulin Rouge and Midnight in Paris. Sounds like the makings for a cozy weekend! This giveaway is open to U.S. residents only and one winner will be chosen at random on September 5. Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream, Romance
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: Sylvia Izzo Hunter

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 26, 2014 | PERMALINK

We love debut authors here at RT and we love introducing them to our readers. This month, we're shining the Debut Author Spotlight on Sylvia Izzo Hunter, the author behind the sweeping historical fantasy, The Midnight Queen, which our reviewer says is "a novel that readers will be unable to put down." Read on to learn more about Sylvia and the book!

Name: Sylvia Izzo Hunter

Book: The Midnight Queen

Genre: Historical Fantasy

Current Home: Toronto, Ontario

Author Icon: Jane Austen (who wrote insightful novels full of brilliant social satire at a time when respectable women weren't supposed to write novels at all) and Lois McMaster Bujold (who has long written in a genre that some people think women shouldn't write in, and who also puts romance in her SF despite all the people saying SF shouldn't have romance in it).


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Science Fiction
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST