RT Daily Blog

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. Don't believe us? Check out some of our favorite recent Tweets.  We're a little short this week because we're over here celebrating the RT Awards winners. Happy Friday!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


The Punniest Cozy Mystery Titles

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

Who doesn't love a good pun? Wait, don't answer that. Unless the answer is yes. Because your RT Web Team can't resist punning. And some of the best puns can be found in the titles of cozy mystery novels. Not gonna lie, we kind of envy the editors who get to participate in these title brainstorming sessions. We've collected some of our recent favorites below — they'll slay you!

The cover of A Tale of Two Biddies

Bloom and Doom by Beverly Allen (Berkley, April 2014)

Shunned and Dangerous by Laura Bradford (Berkley, March 2014)

A Tale of Two Biddies by Kylie Logan (Berkley, February 2014)


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mystery/Suspense/Thriller
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

The 100 Recap: Episode 1.3 - "Murphy's Law"

BY DJ DeSmyter, APRIL 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

Last night’s episode opens on Clarke kneeling beside Wells’s grave. Finn shows up and tries cheering her up by giving her a pencil. It’s rather cute how excited she gets over the idea of being able to draw again. She tells Finn about how Wells used to trade his possessions to get her art supplies back on the Ark. She then circles back to the topic of her mom betraying her father and how she wishes she could do something to make her mom feel her pain. Suddenly, she gets an idea: cut off her wristband so her mother thinks she’s dead.

Meanwhile, in camp, Bellamy and Murphy oversee the others setting up an official base. Murphy’s still being a d-bag. Octavia tries to reassure Jasper that he’s safe and healthy. Jasper falls and they see two of Wells’s fingers lying next to Murphy’s knife. Yikes.

On the Ark, Abby runs into Wannabe Chancellor Kane and he basically tells her he’s stalking her and everyone else. He wants to accompany her to the lab, but when she tells him there’s a case of strep going around, he changes his mind and gets all scheme-y and suspicious. Abby goes on and meets up with Raven, who’s busy working on the ship. Abby’s itching to take flight, but the ship’s not ready.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cheaper By The Dozen - This Week's Hot E-Book Deals

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 10, 2014 | PERMALINK

What do you do when the growing number of new reads causes your wallet to shrink uncomfortably? Shop the e-book deals, of course! In this column we highlight some of our favorite book buys that will cost you less than a medium-sized coffee. All prices listed are accurate at the time of this blog's posting.

Historical Romance

The Duke Diaries by Sophia Nash

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

 

Contemporary Romance

Not Quite Enough by Catherine Bybee

Buy It On Amazon For $0.99 >>

 

New Adult

Breathe by Abbi Glines

Buy It On Amazon For $1.99 >>

Buy It On B&N For $1.99 >>

         


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Preview: Pitch-a-Palooza

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

Calling all writers! When Romancelandia takes over New Orleans next month for the RT Booklovers Convention, you’ll want your manuscripts in tiptop shape. Why? Because you’ll have the chance to pitch your books to the industry’s top editors and agents during our Pitch-a-Palooza event! Here’s the 411:

When: Friday, May 16 at 12:20 PM - 1:20 PM

Where: 3rd Floor, Acadia - Grand Ballroom

What: Pitch-a-Palooza is an hour-long event where aspiring and published authors will have three minutes to present their “elevator pitch” to an agent or an editor. When you’re done pitching one person, go right ahead and get in line for another. Think of it like agent/editor speed dating! This is a first-come, first-serve event, so be sure to arrive early. Please note that Pitch-A-Palooza is not the same as editor appointments and agent appointments.

And if you’re curious about which industry professionals you’ll be pitching to, here’s a sampling of some of the agents and editors:

Agents:


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Very Short Reviews Of Difficult Books

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 09, 2014 | PERMALINK

Ah, classic literary fiction. It can be so wonderful, but at times dense, leaving us wishing for a guide to lead us through the venerable prose. Enter: Italian artist and writer Francesco D'Isa, who reviews the classics in a candid, tongue-in-cheek (and very short) way. We're happy to bring his column, "Very Short Reviews of Difficult Books," to English language readers! Check back here every Wednesday for three new reviews from Francesco.

***

Illuminations by Arthur Rimbaud

Do you remember the furious visions of adolescence, when our language raped the formless world of childhood, transforming cries into words? I don’t, but if I read Rimbaud then I do — no clue why.

Plot: None.

Rating: 95 out of 100

2666 by Roberto Bolaño

The life and works of some people is intertwined (and untied) without any particular meaning or interactions; in the meanwhile more and more women die for no reason. A moving and distracted book, like the eyes of God to the world. 

Plot: In the meantime many women die.

Rating: 88 out of 100


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Jeri Smith-Ready: Teens, Religion and Believing in Tomorrow

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

Jeri Smith-Ready's This Side of Salvation sure knows how to pack a powerful punch. With its riveting story about the end of the world, religious cults and the teens caught in the crossfire, it's a poignant read that warrants discussion. We wanted to know more about the role of religion and how teens are affected by it when forced into a set of beliefs. So today, Jeri sheds some light on the inspiration behind the book and its complex topics. Take it away, Jeri!

It’s May 20, 2011, the night before cult leader/radio preacher Harold Camping has predicted the Rapture will occur. He’s convinced thousands of people that Jesus will lift them up to Heaven the next day at 6pm just as a giant earthquake obliterates a third of those left behind. Many followers have quit their jobs and traveled to California to be with Camping when it happens. Some have given him all their money so he can buy ads on billboards worldwide.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Essentials - Necessities For Surviving Your First RT Convention

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

The 2014 RT Booklovers Convention logo

May 13th is slowly creeping up on us, and before we know it we'll be en route to New Orleans for the annual RT Booklovers Convention! We were all RT Virgins once, and we know it can be a little overwhelming packing for your first RT Con. So we asked seasoned RT veterans the biggest question we know is on your mind — what do you absolutely need to pack? Below are several fantastic suggestions via Twitter and Facebook to help put your mind at ease.

 

These are all amazing suggestions. Comfy shoes are a must, you'll be on your feet for long, fun-filled days! Definitely do not forget to pack your phone charger, so you can meet up with friends, and — oh yeah, check in on your family back home. Bringing along a bunch of pre-made contact cards for easy raffle entries (they should include your name, email address, cell phone number and address. Business cards or address labels work great!) and pre-made shipping labels addressed to yourself so you can mail all the books and swag you collect, will make your life way easier. (There will be shipping available on-site at the convention hotel, and USPS post offices nearby.)

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Bitten Recap: Episode 1.13 - "Ready"

BY Mala Bhattacharjee, APRIL 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

The first season of Bitten comes to a head in 1x13, “Ready,” and you’d better believe the fur is flying!

Morning at Stonehaven means a guilt-wracked Clay gets a bath in an old-fashioned metal washtub. Fancy! The handmaiden washing his back? Elena. “You saved me,” she says, explaining that “I know everything.” As he watches, rapt, she slips his wedding ring on.

Tubthumping.

source

Downstairs, Nick and Jeremy stack the basement with wood, so it — and all their records — can go up Fahrenheit 451-style in case things go south. Some secrets are meant to be kept. Elena comes downstairs from tending Clay and notes that Nick’s not in great shape either, angry as he is about Antonio’s death. “I’m gonna make them pay,” she swears of the mutts. Jeremy gets none of her concern and all of her attitude. Clay needs “days, not hours” to recover and she will “stand in the way of anything that comes his way. Even you.”    

source


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On the Shelves: 4/8/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST