RT Daily Blog

Inside The Issue: June 2011

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

The June issue will be in stores soon. Here are some of the stories you can look forward to:

Grace Burrowes shares a look at her journey to becoming a published author.

Industry insiders remember Kensington founder, Walter Zacharius.

Nalini Singh gives details about her highly-anticipated upcoming novel.

Get a special look at the new comic book series coming from Shrek producer Aron Warner.

Find out which eight authors you need to be reading this season.

Also, we talk mind tricks with mystery author Marcus Sakey, Go Fug Yourself blogger Jessica Morgan gives us the details about the her new YA novel Spoiled and we've got news about our 2012 Chicago convention!

It's all between the pages of the June 2011 issue of RT BOOK REVIEWS. You can also SUBSCRIBE NOW and get access to RT's Bonus Content coming next week!


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


First Look: Jennifer Estep's Touch Of Frost

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 14, 2011 | PERMALINK

The new YA series by Jennifer Estep follows teenage gypsy Gwen whose unusual psychic powers have resulted in her being, in Jennifer Estep’s own words, “shipped off to Mythos Academy” where she is surrounded by the offspring of ancient warriors. However, when a fellow student is killed and an ancient artifact disappears, Gwen can’t help but get involved. The first novel in the Mythos Academy series, Touch of Frost, doesn't hit stores for another three months but you can get a taste of it today!

***

I was almost clear of Valhalla Hall when a window on the second floor opened and a backpack sailed outside and plummeted to the ground in front of me. Somehow, I stifled the surprised scream in my throat. Especially since the backpack was followed a second later by a guy who landed in a low, perfect crouch. He got to his feet with ease, like the twenty-foot fall was nothing to him, and I saw who he was.

Logan freaking Quinn.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Celebrating Royal Babies In Aprils Series Romances

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

As we get excited for the upcoming royal nuptials we are putting the carriage before the horse and taking a look at the pregnant royals in this month’s series romances!

The Accidental Birthright
By Maisey Yates

Alison Whitman is a career woman. A driven “planner” who likes to have control over every aspect of her life, and when she chooses to have a baby, she thinks she's thought of every eventuality. Until she finds out that, thanks to an IVF clinic mix-up, her baby's father is a prince. Nothing about that follows a plan.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Debut Author Spotlight: Shilpi Somaya Gowda

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

Name: Shilpi Somaya Gowda

Book: Secret Daughter

Current Home: San Diego, CA

Number of manuscripts hidden under the bed: None (yet).

Time it took to sell first book: Two years from the time I started writing.

Writing Secret Daughter: I began writing chronologically, from the beginning of the story as it unfolds. I had a strong sense of the beginning and of how I wanted it to end. Much of the rest of the story took shape as I was writing. I found it easier to stay in one character’s voice, so I first wrote Kavita’s (the biological mother) story all the way through, then Somer’s (the adoptive mother) and finally Asha’s (the daughter). I wove those stories together and that became my first draft. Then I began editing, a lot.

Inspiration for writing: I’ve been writing since I was a child, but I began to really write seriously in 2006. It was an idea I’d held in the back of my mind for many years while I was a very avid reader. A combination of life changes — a geographic move, a professional change, a second child — created the space in my life to try something new.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Mainstream
3COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Writes And Wrongs: Shiloh Walker Talks About Amazon's Author Central

BY Shiloh Walker, APRIL 13, 2011 | PERMALINK

Best-selling author Shiloh Walker pens this bi-weekly column of online advice for writers. Walker is a full-time author who is published in both e-book and traditional print formats. Now she shares her experience and advice to help aspiring and published authors figure out the "Writes and Wrongs" of the digital world.

Author Central on Amazon … What is it?

Basically it’s just another platform to use to get the word out there. Previously I didn’t think it was that big a deal, and I’m still not overly convinced it is, but I do see the potential for it to get bigger in the future as e-books become a larger part of the market share.

For me, the two main things with the Author Central program are the ability to set up an author page where you have all of your books together (along with your bio) and the ability to import your blog.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Melissa Marr On Ending Her Wicked Lovely Series

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

YA author Melissa Marr shares her thoughts on concluding her Wicked Lovely series with Darkest Mercy, and what Marr thinks may play out next on what the author calls “The Stage in My Head.”

The release of Darkest Mercy has lead to a lot of people asking “How does it feel to be done with the series?” I suppose it’s the inevitable question: Darkest Mercy is the fifth novel in the series that also has three volumes of manga and a few short stories. The answer is a little more complicated than I’d like. The books have been well received. Every novel was greeted with kind accolades and has been a New York Times bestseller. The story I was telling is over though, so writing more books in the series isn’t logical. Unfortunately, we are not merely logical. It feels good to have the sense of completion, but not-so-good to realize that I’ll miss my characters.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On The Bookshelves Tuesday 4/12/2010

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Author Lynn Cullen On Elizabeth Taylor's Wandering Pearl

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

Have you ever wondered who a piece of jewelry belonged to before it became yours? Or maybe you've wondered what happened to a particular ring or bracelet that you saw in a piece of art? We'll you aren't the only one. Questions like these tickled author Lynn Cullen's mind until she decided to create a historical fiction tale to document the movements of one particular pearl in the collection owned by the recently deceased Elizabeth Taylor.

Elizabeth Taylor owned many spectacular jewels, but none of them has a more fascinating pedigree than the pearl called La Peregrina (The Wanderer). The pearl lives up to its name. Since its first appearance in the sixteenth century, it has made its way from breast to breast of many a famous woman.  

It has lain upon the stiff bodice of Mary I of England, known to us, perhaps unfairly, as Bloody Mary. It has dangled jauntily from the cap worn by Elisabeth of Valois, the teenaged wife of the Spanish King with the ill-fated Armada, Philip II. It has posed for its portrait by the first female painter of the Renaissance, Sofonisba Anguissola. If it could talk, the stories it would tell!

According to legend, the world’s largest (originally 55.95 carats) and most perfect white pear-shaped pearl was found in the Gulf of Panama by a slave who was given his freedom by presenting it to his master. A conquistador was said to then give it to Philip II, who in turn bestowed it upon his first wife, Bloody Mary.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Desiree Holt On Collaborating Or Co-authoring: Is It For You?

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

Before you dive into a project that will have you working closely with another author, Desiree Holt aka Judith Rochelle suggests that you think through the details ... 


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog
6COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

RT Booklovers Convention 2011: Meet Writing With The Stars Winner Maeve Greyson

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 12, 2011 | PERMALINK

This year RT and Kensington hosted the Writing With the Stars competition where readers could vote on which aspiring author won a book contract with Kensington's Brava line. The winner was aspiring author Maeve Greyson for her paranormal manuscript "Eternity's Mark". After Alicia Condon of Kensington announced Maeve's win on Thursday during the annual RT awards ceremony we got a chance to catch up with this brand new author who was selected by RT readers!

Can you tell us about where you were when you got "the call" saying you won the Writing With the Stars competition?

I was at work, checking my email on my phone every two seconds. I saw in the subject line "Final Results" [from RT] and I couldn't look at it. I put my phone down. And then I looked and saw that I won and the room started whirling. My other cubical workers wanted to know if I won, but I wanted my husband to be the first to know. I called him, but then I couldn't speak. He must have thought something was wrong. But then I whispered, "I won" and he said, "Say it louder." And I yelled "I WON!". In the south we have a habit of turning one syllable words into two syllable. And he said, "Hot da-umn." Then one of my co-workers yelled out, "She won!" and everyone in the office was cheering.

How did you decide to enter the Writing With the Stars contest?

I waited until the last day to enter. I didn't think my story was one they were looking for. I didn't think it was hot enough. But then I thought, what the heck — I'll give it a try.


Read More>>

Tags: Aspiring Authors, RT Daily Blog, Convention
2COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST