RT Daily Blog

2014 RT Convention Outfits: Tricia's Picks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

The RT Booklovers Convention is only a few short weeks away! Which means if you're planning on attending the full week of books, babes (yes, we mean you) and shenanigans, you've got some packing to do. With a full schedule of panels, workshops, events — and, of course, parties — one outfit a day may not cut it. So bust out those extra large suitcases, because the RT staff is bringing you their dream outfits for the themed evening events and nighttime parties. Today, take a gander at RT Associate Editor Tricia Carr's picks.

Pirates, Scalawags & More

Arrrr you ready to bust out your best pirate garb? In this adorable dress I’ll fit right in with the pirates, privateers and wenches at the Grand Oaks Mansion. My pocket-watch necklace pays homage to one of my favorite pirates, Captain Hook, and I plan to channel Johnny Depp for my hair and makeup — just without the beard braids. Full outfit details here.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


Dear T: A Love Letter from Jenny Han

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

There's nothing as embarrassing as having your secret love letters to your crushes mailed to them. Well, we imagine it would be rather traumatizing. Thankfully, we haven't had this happen to us, but Lara Jean, the protagonist in Jenny Han's To All the Boys I've Loved Before, has! Today, to celebrate the book's recent release, Jenny shares a letter of her own and it's sure to make you think once or twice about your old unrequited loves. Take a look:

The cover of To All the Boys I've Loved Before by Jenny Han

Dear T,

You were in my dream the other night. I was in a cafe in Paris, and there you were sitting at the counter, 17 with skinny legs. We spoke, and I don’t remember what we said, but in the dream I felt really good about myself. I was an adult, a writer living in New York, and you were still teenaged you. You hadn’t changed at all. When I woke up, I tried to fall back asleep so I could step back into the dream, say all the things I never got to say to you back in high school.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Magazine Extra: How Deeanne Gist Went from Bad Girl to Good Girl

BY Tricia Carr, APRIL 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

When you read our June feature on historical fiction author Deeanne Gist, you’ll learn all about her May release, Fair Play, which stars a heroine, a doctor at the 1893 Chicago World’s Fair — a “man’s” job — and a hero who’s part 1980s alpha male and part Ryan Gosling. So we're pretty sure you're going to want to read it ASAP.

But there’s one story we didn’t have room to share with RT readers in the magazine. Gist recently told some RT editors that she was the “bad girl” of inspirational fiction before she crossed over to the mainstream market. What made her so naughty that her editor was fanning herself? She used too much “tongue”! Here’s the whole story from Gist:

The cover of Fair Play by Deeanne Gist

I first realized something was amiss after I sold my first book to an inspirational house. They told me they loved it and gave me a contract. We all signed on the dotted line. And then I got the revision letter.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Inspirational
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

On the Shelves: 4/15/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 15, 2014 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

2014 RT Convention Outfits: Elisa's Picks

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

The RT Booklovers Convention is only a few short weeks away! Which means if you're planning on attending the full week of books, babes (yes, we mean you) and shenanigans, you've got some packing to do. With a full schedule of panels, workshops, events — and, of course, parties — one outfit a day may not cut it. So bust out those extra large suitcases, because the RT staff is bringing you their dream outfits for the themed evening events and nighttime parties. Today, take a gander at RT Web Editor Elisa Verna's picks.


Mardi Gras World Carnivále

 

 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Convention
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Neighborhood Watch: Nora Loves Rear Window, Just Like Us!

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

So it’s Monday, sure, and tomorrow’s tax day. But it’s also spring and there’s a new Nora Roberts book out this week, The Collector! This time, la Nora latest takes on a Rear Window-esque vibe, one of our very favorite homages. We thought that as we wait for release day, we’d walk through some of our other favorite Read Window call backs as we torture the rest of the RT staff with our very best James Stuart impressions.

Castle: Your favorite hunky TV mystery author and mine, Nathan Fillian’s Richard Castle, pulled off a great Rear Window throwback for the show’s 100th episode. There were high jinks, Fillian was adorable, and a surprise ending that was tons of fun. (Spoiler-rific video below!)

Raising Hope: Were you watching this hilarious and fun sitcom? Apparently not a lot of us were, as it was recently cancelled. Sniff! But before the Cloris Leachman-starring show (yes, that Cloris) sailed off into Netflix archives forever, the wacky cast pulled off a great Rear Window spoof, “Murder, She Hoped,” complete with amazing outfits and your requisite wacky townspeople.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Working Girls: Heroines with Careers We Covet

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

We sometimes daydream about what it would be like to be the heroine of a romance novel — the angst, the drama, the hero. But several of this month's romances have caught our attention, not only because of them swoonworthy love story, but because of the heroine's awesome profession! Here's a roundup of our favorite  heroines on the job this month. 

The cover of Night Diver by Elizabeth Lowell

What a Reckless Rogue Needs by Vicky Dreiling - Not only is Vicky's heroine in her second Sinful Scoundrels series a divorcée — very edgy for Regency England — she's an architect and interior designer. Get it, Lady Angeline! Do you know how much math you need to understand to be an architect? A lot, that's how much. (You need significantly less to be a website editor.) She falls in love during a restoration project, which is not how most of those home projects go that we see on HGTV, but hey! That's why romance novels are so great. Fantasy.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Romance
1COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before the Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 14, 2014 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let you know the latest book news on the most exciting upcoming releases across genres — just as the projects are announced!

DEBUT AUTHOR

Mainstream - Stephanie Butland’s Surrounded by Water is sure to make a splash with its heartwrenching tale about the death of a policeman who saves a young woman from drowning. In the aftermath, secrets in a marriage are exposed as grief overwhelms. Release date: TBA.

NEW SERIES

Contemporary Romance - In Regina Cole’s Any Way She Wants It, the first in her upcoming Sons of Cain series, a rising rock star deals with his guilt by partying. But when he falls for the band’s beautiful sound engineer, he may just learn to live again. Look for this sizzling read next spring!

CONTINUING SERIES


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap-Up: 4/11/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

Did you spend the whole week wanting to Breakaway?  

Here's what you missed on the RT website:

***

We announced the 2013 RT Reviewers' Choice & Career Achievement Awards winners! See Who Won >>

***


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Announcing The 2013 RT Reviewers' Choice And Career Achievement Awards Winners

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, APRIL 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

Oooh are we excited! Because today we're so happy and proud to present the 2013 Reviewers' Choice and Career Achievement Winners! Let us tell you, a lot of blood, sweat and tears (more tears than you might think!) went into selecting these, the best titles of 2013. Hearty congratulations to all of the winners, thank you for writing such amazing books last year. The award ceremony will take place at the RT Convention in New Orleans next month, we hope to see many of you there! 

 

Career Achievement


Contemporary Romance

Rachel Gibson

Erotic Romance


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST