RT Daily Blog

Author Interview: Sarah Fine Talks Of Metal and Wishes

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

Sarah Fine's Of Metal and Wishes is quickly winning over readers with its dark premise and diverse characters. With hints of The Phantom of the Opera, it's not hard to see why readers are already eager for the sequel. Today, Sarah answers some of our burning questions about the novel's setting, the cultural dynamics and diversity in YA. Take a look:

***

The book is set in a slaughterhouse, which is a refreshing and perfectly creepy setting. Can you tell us a little bit about how the setting came to be and how it plays its own role in the novel?

I have been haunted by The Jungle by Upton Sinclair for years, ever since I read it as a teen. A few years ago, I was watching the documentary Food Inc., and there was some hidden camera video of workers, mostly undocumented, working in terrible conditions in a poultry processing plant. The moment I saw that, it reminded me of The Jungle, and I just decided I needed to write a book set in a slaughterhouse. Inspiration can be random like that.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST


On the Shelves: 8/12/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 12, 2014 | PERMALINK

Here's a look at the titles we love that hit shelves this week.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Outlander Recap: Episode 1.1 - "Sassenach"

BY Regina Small, AUGUST 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

When I heard that Ronald D. Moore, of Battlestar Galactica fame, was adapting Diana Gabaldon's epic time travel romance, Outlander, I knew I had to watch. So I'll be here each week, recapping all the Scottish sexiness for you. Since this is the pilot episode ("Sassenach"), we have a lot to cover, so let's jump right in!

We open on a sweeping shot of the Scottish highlands, all blue sky and green, rocky outcroppings while a voiceover tells us that "people disappear all the time."

Our narrator, a woman, takes us to a crucial moment in her life: we see her from behind — dark curly hair, a blue overcoat, standing in front of a general store while she voices over that she'd never owned a vase, because she'd never lived anywhere long enough to put down roots and acquire real possessions beyond necessities.

The camera pulls around and we see our narrator/heroine, Claire, for the first time. She desperately wants the vase in the general store window, but doesn't buy it. Spoilers, Claire! But maybe it would've changed everything, she thinks. Um, is it ... is it a magic vase?


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Witches of East End Recap: Episode 2.5 — “Boogie Knights”

BY Elissa Petruzzi, AUGUST 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

You guys. A disco episode. Called “Boogie Knights.” I can’t. There’s pornstaches, coke snorting and girl-on-girl action — and that’s not to mention what Tentacle Man does to Dash! Let’s get to it!

Julia’s casting a spell outside in the dark, which seems to be her way of saying goodbye to Victor (this will be the only mention of the dearly departed patriarch, so savor it) when she’s interrupted by a whoosh and a glowing scale.

Aaaaand we head back to the 70s as Freya dreams. Jenna Dewan gets to show off her dancing moves as Killian bartends. You guys, the outfits. What I wouldn’t give to be an extra (Lifetime, call me!). She calls Killian out on the dance floor and a 70s Dash (replete with gold chain, I can’t) gets mad and glowers. It’s amazing. As are Killian’s side burns and Dash’s moustache. The costume department clearly had fun here. Freya tells Killian to meet her in the bathroom, where she heads to snort some coke! Killian arrives and they make out. Buzzkill Ingrid wakes her up.

The greatest.
source


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, TV Recap, Paranormal/Urban Fantasy
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Cover Reveal: Below The Belt By Sidney Halston

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

Cover reveal time! You ready? Today we're pleased to reveal the brand spanking new cover of Sidney Halston's Below the Belt, third in her Worth the Fight series about sexy MMA fighters.

There's no official blurb for the book yet, but here's what the author has to say about the story and the cover:

"Hope you all love Tony Marino, the hero of Below the Belt. He's the Cuban bad boy kickboxer from Worth the Fight Academy; the epitome of tall, dark and handsome. I can picture him getting out of the beach before heading to the nearest club in South Beach to cause a ruckus, flirt with the ladies and do a few laps on the dance floor. Hopefully, he hasn't gotten into another fight. I've been thinking about why his shirt is ripped and I have all sorts of theories about that — most lean toward naughty. But, I'd love to hear everyone's take on that ripped shirt."

Ready for the cover? (It's a hot one.) 


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, E-Book, Romance
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Forewords - The Books Before Buzz

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 11, 2014 | PERMALINK

With our column, Forewords, we let readers know the latest book news about some of the web team's most-anticipated upcoming releases across the genres — just as the projects are announced!

DEBUT AUTHOR

Historical Fiction - The trials and joys of four artistic sisters living in New York’s Gilded Age are detailed in Joy Callaway’s The Fifth Avenue Artists Society, an emotional and gripping read narrated by the sister who’s an aspiring novelist. Love, secrets and elitism all add to the story, which will appeal to fans of Edith Wharton and Little Women. Coming in Winter 2016.

NEW SERIES

Erotic Romance - Tara Sue Me is set for a new series, starting with The Enticement, which releases in April 2015, and a novella, "The Chalet", which will come out this October.


Read More>>

Tags: Publishing Industry News, RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Weekly Web Wrap-Up: 8/8/2014

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

Did you spend your whole week romancing a True Blue Cowboy?

Here's what you missed on the RT site!

***

EROTICA: Read this hot excerpt from Terri L. Austin's His Every Need. Read More >>

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE: Read an excerpt from Jill Shalvis's upcoming novel! Read Now >>

YOUNG ADULT: Ann Aguirre on the pros and cons of revenge. Get Even >>

COVER BREAKDOWN: Danielle delivers a Swoon Reads 2-for-1 breakdown! Check It Out >>


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

Tweethearts: Tweets We Loved This Week

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 08, 2014 | PERMALINK

The Internet is full of hilarious gems and memorable words of wisdom from the masses. Authors, readers and publishers on Twitter are no exception and continuously put smiles on the faces of Twitter users daily in 140 characters or less. We've started compiling our favorite Tweets. 

This week we dedicate Tweethearts to everyone who says that authors are "just like us."   


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

10 Joys All Booklovers Feel

BY DJ DeSmyter, AUGUST 07, 2014 | PERMALINK

Earlier this week, I talked about how hard being a booklover can be with my 10 Problems Only Booklovers Understand list. While we have our fair share of problems, we also get to feel all warm and fuzzy in ways non-readers can't. It's their loss, really, because these are ten joys that are irreplaceable.

1. Going to the bookstore, especially if the store has shopping carts.

Bookstore + Shopping Carts = Heaven.
source

2. When you reach the part of the book where the couple meet for the first time and the sparks start flying.



Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST

If It Happens To You: Patty Blount on Sexual Assault

BY RT BOOK REVIEWS, AUGUST 07, 2014 | PERMALINK

Sexual assault is, sadly, a serious concern and issue many teens face in today's world. Many authors, like Patty Blount, have tackled this subject and have helped survivors handle and overcome their trials. In Blount's recent release, Some Boys, tells the story of a teen who's raped and has to deal with the aftermath, including her peers who don't believe her. Today, Patty shares some thoughtful guidance for those seeking help.

I’m not a professional counselor; I’m an author who wrote a book that deals with sexual assault. In my book, main character Grace Collier goes to the hospital, talks to police and contacts a rape crisis hotline.

Those are all the things you should do if it happens to you.

But where do you begin? How do you know if it’s really assault or rape? I can tell you what I learned while researching my story — rape is ANY unwanted sexual contact. If you did not give your consent — then it’s rape. It doesn’t matter if you’re a guy or a girl, if you’re dating/married to your attacker, or unconscious. All that matters is consent.


Read More>>

Tags: RT Daily Blog, Young Adult
0COMMENTS SUBSCRIBE TO RSS FEED EMAIL SHARE PERMALINKREAD ENTIRE POST